CTNF 18/565,624 CTNF 89788 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. DETAILED NON-FINAL ACTION This is the initial Office Action (OA), on the merits, based on the 18/565,624 application filed on November 30, 2023. Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-14 are examined, on the merits, in this Office action. The examined claims are directed to an apparatus. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on May 7, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Information Disclosure Statement The Examiner has considered the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2024, 07/18/2025 & 08/01/2025. Please refer to the signed copy of the PTO-1449 form attached herewith. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims should be checked for punctuation consistency. For example, claim 1 recites: “A booster unit, provided with a fluid inlet port and a fluid outlet port, the booster unit comprising: a booster pump, provided with a pump fluid inlet and a pump fluid outlet, wherein the pump fluid outlet is connected to the fluid outlet port; and a housing, provided in the housing, wherein the housing comprises an outer housing and an inner housing; the inner housing is at least partially mounted in the outer housing; the booster pump is provided in an inner cavity of the inner housing; and a fluid channel is formed between the outer housing and the inner housing; a fluid inlet of the fluid channel is connected to the fluid inlet port, and a fluid outlet of the fluid channel is connected to the pump fluid inlet.” The underlined ‘ands’ may be unnecessary. But, an ‘and’ seems necessary after the latter ‘inner housing’ and before the last clause starting with ‘a fluid inlet.’ Claim 4 has a similar issue where the conjunctive (and) should be placed before the last clause beginning with ‘the first intermediate port’ and removed from placement after the clause ending with “the outlet cylindrical portion.” Claims 2-14 depend on claim 1 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Dong (CN110173419)(IDS of 08-01-2025; Examiner provided English Machine Translation is referenced below) . Note that these are apparatus claims. In the patentability analysis below, the italicized portions represent functional aspects, whereas the bolded portions represent structure. Regarding claim 1 , Dong discloses a booster unit, provided with a fluid inlet port 3 and a fluid outlet port 13 ([0017], Fig. 1), the booster unit comprising: a booster pump 2, provided with a pump fluid inlet 3 and a pump fluid outlet 8, wherein the pump fluid outlet 8 is connected to the fluid outlet port 13 ([0002], [0022]); and a housing 4, provided in the housing 1, wherein the housing comprises an outer housing 1 and an inner housing 4; the inner housing is at least partially mounted in the outer housing (Fig. 1); the booster pump 2 is provided in an inner cavity of the inner housing 4; and a fluid channel 3, 12 is formed between the outer housing and the inner housing (Fig. 1); a fluid inle t of the fluid channel (to the right) is connected to the fluid inlet port, and a fluid outlet of the fluid channel is connected to the pump fluid inlet ([0022], Fig. 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. The inventive entity for a particular application is based on some contribution to at least one of the claims made by each of the named inventors. MPEP §2137.01. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN110173419) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Solomon (US4836924)(IDSes of 2/27/2024 and 08/01/2025) . Note that these are apparatus claims. In the patentability analysis below, the italicized portions represent functional aspects, whereas the bolded portions represent structure. The analysis considers the alternate concepts of the various potential embodiments in a particular reference. Regarding claim 2 , Dong discloses the booster unit according to claim 1, except wherein the booster pump is configured to be movable relative to the housing. Examiner interest movable as including separable and adjustable. For example a separable booster pump would be more readily accessible for maintenance. Solomon discloses a reverse osmosis system including a reverse osmosis filter with a reverse osmosis membrane having an inlet port coupled to a source of feed water under predetermined pressure via a feed water inlet conduit, a product water outlet port for filtered outlet product water, and a brine outlet port for brine (Abstract). A pump coupled into the feed water inlet conduit between the source of feed water and the inlet port of the filter and driven by the feed water under pressure ( Id .). One may interpret the pump as a booster pump. The pump can advantageously include a housing and a piston reciprocable in the housing to increase the pressure of the feed water (col. 1, lines 42-53). The pump of this invention also controls the flow of brine from the reverse osmosis filter to drain. In addition, the brine is used for certain pump control functions ( Id .). The control of the flow of brine is accomplished by a brine valve ( Id .). Means is provided for changing the position of the brine valve to control the flow of brine ( Id .). With this invention, the change of position of the brine valve, e.g., from open to closed or closed to open, is used to reverse the direction of movement of the piston ( Id .). The housing has a cavity, and the piston reciprocates in the cavity and divides the cavity into an inlet chamber communicating with an inlet port and an outlet chamber communicating with an outlet port (col. 2, lines 6-16). To achieve a pressure boost, the piston is a differential area piston and has a first relatively large area face in the inlet chamber and a second smaller area face in the outlet chamber ( Id .). This enables the fluid in the inlet chamber to drive the piston on a pumping stroke and deliver fluid at increased pressure at the outlet port. ( Id .). If at the time when the claimed invention was effectively filed, it were considered desirable for any reason to have better access to the booster pump’s components, such as for maintenance and repair, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to make the booster pump movable and separable for that purpose. Additionally, movability by itself in insufficient to render otherwise known device patentably distinguishable unless there are new and unexpected results . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN110173419) in view of Solomon (US4836924), as applied to claim 2 above, further in view Gordon (US20080156731) . Regarding claim 3 , Dong discloses the booster unit according to claim 2, wherein the housing further comprises an upper cover , and the upper cover is mounted to an open end of the inner housing so that the upper cover and the inner housing together define an accommodation space for accommodating the booster pump (Fig. 1, where the inner housing is connected to the outer housing); except wherein the bottom of the booster pump is supported by a lower elastic member so that the booster pump is configured to be movable in an axial direction of the housing in the accommodation space . Gordon discloses an apparatus for desalinating seawater to yield desalinated water and a concentrate features a structure positioned on the surface of a body of seawater; a water desalination system installed on the structure, a water intake system installed on the structure; a concentrate discharge system installed on the structure and a device for removing the desalinated water per day from the apparatus so that it can be transferred to a land-based facility (Abstract). In one embodiment, a shock absorbing/dampening device features one or more elastic spring elements mounted in communication with one or more of the mechanical devices on the structure ([0372]). The springs may be double elastic springs and may be helical in shape ( Id .). A combination of shock absorbing/dampening devices selected from one or more of elastic springs, viscous dampers, dashpots, and hydraulic pistons are utilized to reduce the impact and absorb the shock associated with movement of mechanical and non-mechanical devices on the structure ([0376]). While the shock absorbers may be mounted beneath any mechanical or non-mechanical device on the structure, these shock absorbers can also be mounted beside, above, or diagonal to any of the devices on the structure to absorb shock and vibration caused by movement of the equipment ( Id .). However, when the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ suitable materials, including elastic members, cushions, flexible mats and such, for housing and moving the booster pump in any appropriate direction, and to use such elastic, flexible, cushion, and/or mat like shock-absorbing materials for traditional engineering reasons such as to dampening the booster pump’s noise and vibration, reduce the impact and absorb the mechanical shock, prevent friction and wear between and inner housing wall, associated with any movement of mechanical and non-mechanical devices on and within the structure, and to generally ensure smooth, quiet operation while maintaining a compact assembly (Gordon, [0376]). Regarding claims 4-8 , Dong, Solomon and Gordon combined discloses or suggests the booster unit according to claim 3, wherein the booster pump is provided with an inlet cylindrical portion surrounding the pump fluid inlet and an outlet cylindrical portion surrounding the pump fluid outlet (Fig. 1); one end of the fluid outlet port passes through the upper cover and is sealedly joined to the outlet cylindrical portion, and the fluid outlet port is movable in the axial direction relative to the outlet cylindrical portion; and the booster unit is further provided with a first intermediate port (one may interpret any port in the housing between the first and last as an intermediate port); one end of the first intermediate port is sealedly joined to the inlet cylindrical portion ([0009], [0015], [0019], [0022]); another end of the first intermediate port is fluidly connected to the fluid outlet of the fluid channel; except the first intermediate port is movable in the axial direction relative to the inlet cylindrical portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the port movable for better access to its components (see claim 2 analysis). Additional Disclosures Included : Claim 5 : The booster unit further comprises a first seal and a second seal ([0009], [0015]); the one end of the fluid outlet port is sealedly joined to the outlet cylindrical portion by means of the first seal, and the one end of the first intermediate port is sealedly joined to the inlet cylindrical portion by means of the second seal (claim 2 analysis); Claim 6 : The another end of the first intermediate port is fluidly connected to the fluid outlet of the fluid channel by means of a second intermediate port (claim 2 analysis); Claim 7 : The upper cover is provided with a first cylindrical portion through which the fluid outlet port passes and a second cylindrical portion through which the first intermediate port passes; and the first cylindrical portion and the second cylindrical portion extend from the upper cover towards the inside of the accommodation space; the first cylindrical portion is adapted to be spaced apart from the outlet cylindrical portion in the axial direction, and the second cylindrical portion is adapted to be spaced apart from the inlet cylindrical portion in the axial direction (claim 2 analysis); and Claim 8 : The first cylindrical portion is aligned with the outlet cylindrical portion, and/or the second cylindrical portion is aligned with the inlet cylindrical portion (Fig. 1, claims 2 and 4 analyses). Regarding claims 9-12 , Dong, Solomon and Gordon combined discloses or suggests the booster unit according to claim 7, except wherein a first baffle is fixed to the fluid outlet port, the first baffle is located between the first cylindrical portion and the outlet cylindrical portion in the axial direction; and a second baffle is fixed to the first intermediate port, the second baffle is located between the second cylindrical portion and the inlet cylindrical portion in the axial direction. Gordon discloses a series of baffles 925, and a mixing barrier 935 comprising a plurality of apertures 935, wherein water taken in through the mixing water intake system 920 (i.e. native water) and the concentrate are forced through the mixing barrier and mixed before flowing to the concentrate discharge system 207 ([0154]). The size, shape, location and number of apertures 935 are selected to optimize mixing of the concentrate with the native water ( Id .). The baffles may be oriented horizontally, transversely, or longitudinally, wherein adjacent baffles are coupled to opposing sides of the mixing tank ([0179]). The baffles are arranged in a staggered relation such that a portion of each baffle overlaps with an adjacent baffle ( Id .) The water taken in and the concentrate follows a convoluted route before reaching the concentrate discharge system ( Id .). When the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include traditional first and second baffles as a design consideration and for traditional engineering reasons such as an improved flow control mechanism to balancing fluid flow dynamics, preventing membrane misalignment and expansion from high pressure water, minimize hydraulic shock, and held direct concentrate away from the system, as is evidenced in Gordon. Additional Disclosures Included : Claim 10 : The booster unit is provided with a first upper elastic member and a second upper elastic member (claim 3 analysis); the first upper elastic member surrounds the outlet cylindrical portion, and is configured to bias the first baffle towards the first cylindrical portion (claim 3 and 9 analyses); and the second upper elastic member surrounds the inlet cylindrical portion, and is configured to bias the second baffle towards the second cylindrical portion (claim 3 and 9 analyses); and Claim 11 : The booster unit is further provided with a flexible mat , and the flexible mat is configured to cover the upper cover (claim 3 and 9 analyses; alternately, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a flexible mat for reasons similar to inclusion of a elastic member, such as shock adsorption, vibration dampening, component protection and noise reduction); and Claim 12 : The booster unit is further provided with a cushion , and the cushion is provided between an outer peripheral wall of the booster pump and an inner wall of the inner housing (claims 3, 9 and 11 analysis, where one may employ the cushion for similar reasons to the flexible member and flexible mat) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN110173419), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Woodling et al. (US20110318237) . Regarding claims 13 and 14 , Dong discloses the booster unit according to claim 1, except wherein the fluid channel extends helically in the axial direction of the housing. Ultraviolet reactors having an ultraviolet light source for treating a fluid are disclosed (Abstract). In one embodiment, a reactor is disclosed which includes a vessel having an inlet for receiving fluid and an outlet for discharging fluid, wherein the vessel further includes a plurality of segmented baffles (Abstract). The UV reactor 100 further includes spiral or helically shaped first 114 and second 116 baffles which extend around the first 106 and second 108 UV lamps, respectively ([0023]). In a preferred embodiment, the first 114 and second 116 baffles each include 10 coils or layers ( Id .). The first 114 and second 116 baffles serve to guide or channel fluid in a helical flow path which corresponds to the shape of the respective baffles 114,116 as fluid flows from the first end 110 to the second end 112 of the vessel 102 ( Id .). When the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more connected fluid flow channels, with appropriate fluid inlets and fluid outlets, that extend helically in the axial direction of the housing to guide the fluid in a spiral or helical flow path to increases the hydraulic retention time of the fluid, enhance radial mixing, reduce dead zones (Woodling, [0024]), as well as for traditional engineering reasons such as the space efficiency obtained by maximizing the length of the path that the water travels to a compact, tightly contained cylindrical space, helping to cool the pump motor, preventing stagnant areas, optimizing fluid velocity, and ensuring a more even pressure distribution. Additional Disclosure Included : Claim 14 : The fluid channel comprises a first flow channel and a second flow channel ; the first flow channel and the second flow channel are fluidly connected to each other, and extend helically and alternately with each other in the axial direction of the housing; the first flow channel has the fluid inlet, and the second flow channel has the fluid outlet (claim 13 analysis). Conclusion Examiner recommends that Applicant carefully review each identified reference and all objections/rejections before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the pertinent objections/rejections and the prior art. With respect to the patentability analysis, Examiner has attempted to claim map to one or more of the most suitable structures or portions of a reference. However, with respect to all OAs, Examiner notes that citations to specific pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, figures or reference numerals, in any prior art or evidentiary reference, and any interpretation of such references, should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably disclosed and/or suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. The use of publications and patents as references is not limited to what one or more applicant/inventor/patentee describes as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain. MPEP §2123. Examiner further recommends that for any substantive claim amendments made in response to this Office Action, or to otherwise advance prosecution, or for any remarks concerning support for added subject matter or claim priority, that Applicant include either a pinpoint citation to the original Specification ( i.e . page and/or paragraph and/or line number and/or figure number) to indicate where Applicant is drawing support for such amendment or remarks, or a clear explanation indicating why the particular limitation is implicit or inherent to the original disclosure. Electronic Inquiries Any inquiry concerning this communication or an earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hayden Brewster whose telephone number is (571) 270-1065. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 9 AM - 4 PM. Alternatively, to contact the examiner, Applicant may send a communication, via e-mail or fax. Examiner’s direct fax number is: (571) 270-2065. Examiner's official e-mail address is: "Hayden.Brewster@uspto.gov." However, since e-mail communication may not be secure, Examiner will not respond to a substantive e-mail unless Applicant’s communication is in accordance with the provisions of MPEP §502.03 & related sections that discuss the required Authorization for Internet Communication (AIC). Nonetheless, all substantive communications will be made of record in Applicant’s file. To facilitate the Internet communication authorization process, Applicant may file an appropriate letter, or may complete the USPTO SB439 fillable form available at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf, preferably in advance of any substantive e-mail communication. Since one may use an electronic signature with this particular form, Applicant is encouraged to file this form via the Office’s system for electronic filing of patent correspondence ( i.e ., the electronic filing system (Patent Center)). Otherwise, a handwritten signature is required. In addition to Patent Center, Applicant can submit their Internet authorization request via US Postal Service, USPTO Customer Service Window, or Central Fax. Examiner can also provide a one-time oral authorization, but this will only apply to video conferencing. It is improper to request Internet Authorization via e-mail. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and via video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) form available at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice, or Applicant may call Examiner, if preferable. Applicant can access a general list of patent application forms at either https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms-patent-applications-filed-or-after-september-16-2012 (applications filed on or after September 16, 2012) or https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms (applications filed before September 16, 2012). Note that the language in an AIR form is not a substitute for the requirements of an AIC, where appropriate. The mere filing of an Applicant Initiated Interview Request Form (PTOL-413A) or a Letter Requesting Interview with Examiner, in EFS-Web, may not apprise Examiner of such a request in a timely manner. If attempts to reach the Examiner are unsuccessful, Applicant may reach Examiner’s supervisor, Bobby Ramdhanie at 571-270-3240. The central fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HAYDEN BREWSTER/Examiner, AU 1779 'No Matter Where You Come from, So Long as You Are a Black Man [Woman], You Are an African' -- Peter Tosh.'No Matter Where You Come from, So Long as You Are a Black Man [Woman], You Are an African' -- Peter Tosh. Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 2 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 3 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 4 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 5 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 6 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 7 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 8 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 9 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 10 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 11 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 12 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 13 Art Unit: 1779 Application/Control Number: 18/565,624 Page 14 Art Unit: 1779