DETAILED ACTION
Maintained rejections
Rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(a) as lacking an enabling disclosure is maintained.
Rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 over Nagamoto in view of Adams is maintained.
Reply to applicant’s remarks follows the repeated text of the rejections of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10-19 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) the nature of the invention; (b) the breadth of the claims; (c) the state of the prior art; (d) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (e) the existence of working examples; (f) the relative skill of those in the art; (g) whether the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure is "undue"; and (h) the level of predictability in the art (MPEP 2164.01 (a)).
Nature of the invention and Breadth of the claims:
Claims are directed to a method of preventing Raybaud’s. The subject population of claim 1 is not limited and encompasses any subject. The dose required to achieve claimed prevention is also not limited and includes any dose of compound 1. Compound 1 is known as APD791 and will be referred to as such.
State of the prior art and level of predictability in the art:
On page 1 of the specification applicants disclose:: “Raynaud’s presents in primary and secondary forms. The cause of primary Raynaud’s is not known. Vascular abnormality with this form is thought to be purely functional and reversable without progressing to irreversible tissue injury. However, in some cases of primary Raynaud’s progress to secondary. The specification also discloses “Raynaud’s is complex and likely involves an interplay between vascular factors, neural control mechanisms, and intravascular factors. Treatment approach for Raynaud’s is consistent in mild cases, but diverges in cases involving moderate to severe digital ulceration or underlying systemic sclerosis”.
APD791 is selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist. With regards to use of selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonists in treatment or prevention of Raynaud’s, Nagamoto et al (Pharmacology and Therapeutics, 2004, 104, 59-81) discloses administration of sarpogrelate, a selective 5HT2A receptor antagonist, to subjects with systemic sclerosis to study its effect on Raynaud’s phenomenon. Nagamoto teaches a significant decrease was found in frequency and duration of Raynaud’s phenomenon as well as symptoms associated with it (page 74, column 2, first paragraph). Nagamoto demonstrates that administration of an agent with the same activity as APD791 has failed to prevent the occurrence of Raynaud’s phenomenon.
Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples:
Working examples merely show the half life of medication and its effect on recovery time. Example 5 only indicates future studies and that the compound has efficacy on subjects with Raynaud’s or that the compound can prevent the occurrence of Raynaud’s.
Although, the specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970), lack of a working example is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.
Relative skill of those in the art and quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention:
Although the relative level of skill in the art is high, one of ordinary skill would not be able to treat cancer according to the claimed method without engaging in undue experimentation. Art suggests that 5HT2A receptor antagonism does not prevent occurrence of Raynaud’s and applicants have not provided any data that would suggest the opposite. Art demonstrates that Raynaud’s can be treated in subjects with systemic sclerosis via 5HT2A receptor antagonism, however the claimed subject population is not limited to those with systemic sclerosis and no data has been provided suggesting that 5HT2A antagonism can treat Raynaud’s in a population that does not have systemic sclerosis.
Thus, given these considerations, one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would not be able to practice the claimed method such that it can be used as contemplated in the specification without first engaging in substantial and undue experimentation. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, as lacking and enabling disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10-19 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagamoto et al (Pharmacology and Therapeutics, 2004, 104, 59-81) in view of Adams et al. (Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, 2009, 331(1), 96-103; submitted by application on 6/9/25).
Scope of prior art
Nagamoto teaches antagonists of 5-HT2A receptor and their therapeutic applications. Nagamoto teaches administration of sarpogrelate, a selective 5HT2A receptor antagonist, to subjects with systemic sclerosis to study its effect on Raynaud’s phenomenon. Nagamoto teaches a significant decrease was found in frequency and duration of Raynaud’s phenomenon as well as symptoms associated with it (page 74, column 2, first paragraph).
Ascertaining the difference
Current claims differ from Nagamoto in that a different selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist is administered. While Nagamoto teaches sarpogrelate, current claims are directed to compound 1, which is also known as APD791.
Secondary reference
Adams teaches APD791 and it’s activity as a 5-HT2A receptor antagonist. Adams teaches that APD791 is a 5-HT2A receptor antagonist like ketanserin, sarpogrelate, and AR246686 but with improved selectivity and pharmacokinetic profile (page 102, column 2, last paragraph; page 103, last paragraph).
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to try treating Raynaud’s phenomenon in subject with systemic sclerosis by administering to said subject APD791. From Nagamoto it is known that selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist sarpogrelate can be used for treatment Raynaud’s phenomenon in subject with systemic sclerosis. It would have been obvious to substitute APD791 for sarpogrelate because Adams teaches APD791 be a selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist that is an improvement over the previous agents including sarpogrelate. There is reasonable expectation of success because APD791 has the same physiological activity as sarpogrelate. There is motivation to try because Adams teaches APD791 to be an improvement.
Regarding claims 4-5, 16-18:
Claims 4-5 are directed to either symptoms or causes of Raynaud’s disease. Since Nagamoto teaches improvement in symptoms in Raynaud’s disease caused by systemic sclerosis, it would have been obvious to treat any subject who has Raynaud’s disease with an expectation that an improvement in symptoms would be achieved.
Claims 16-18 are directed to reduction in symptoms. Reduction in frequency and severity of symptoms is expected in view of Nagamoto.
Regarding Claims 10-15:
Claims 10-15 are directed to route of administration and form of the composition.
Both Nagamoto and Adams teach oral administration (Adams teaches this in the last paragraph).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to formulate APD791 into a suitable oral form which encompasses tablets and capsules. A skilled artisan would have also found it obvious to prepare APD791 as a pharmaceutically acceptable HCl. It is well known in the art to prepare HCl salts of active agents with the goal of improving dissolution and for preparation of stable formulations.
Lastly, regarding dose and frequency of administration a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to determine through routine experimentation the optimal effective and safe dose and frequency administration of APD791 for treatment of Raynaud’s disease.
Reply to applicant’s remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejections of record in the reply filed on 8/10/26.
Rejection under 35 USC 112(a):
Applicants have traversed the rejection on the grounds that the amendment of claims limiting the subject population to those with Raynaud’s disease secondary to systemic sclerosis overcomes the rejection of record. This is not persuasive. The claims are still directed to a method treating or preventing Raynaud’s disease. The rejection of record argues that applicants have not enabled prevention of Raynaud’s disease. As evidence for lack of enablement rejection sites Nagamoto:
“Nagamoto demonstrates that administration of an agent with the same activity as APD791 has failed to prevent the occurrence of Raynaud’s phenomenon.”
Applicants have not provided any additional data or an argument that would suggest that the claimed method of preventing Raynaud’s disease is enabled.
Applicants are enabled for treatment of Raynaud’s disease in a subject population that already presents with the disease.
Rejection under 35 USC 103:
Applicants have traversed the rejection on the grounds that neither reference, alone nor in combination, teaches every element of the claimed subject matter. Applicants are correct that neither reference alone teaches all of the limitations of the claimed subject matter. If a single reference had all the claim limitations the rejection would have relied only on that single reference. The rejection of record argues that treatment of Raynaud’s disease secondary to systemic sclerosis by administration of a selective antagonist of 5-HT2A receptor is described by Nagamoto. The rejection of record identifies use of the selective 5-HT2A antagonist APD791 instead of Nagamoto’s sarpogrelate is what distinguishes the current claims from Nagamoto. Rejection of record then provides a teaching by Adams directed APD791 being an improvement over sarpogrelate with regards to selectivity and pharmacokinetic profile. This improvement serves as motivation to use APD791 instead of sarpoglerate, as a selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist in the method of treating Raynold’s disease as described by Nagamoto. By providing two references that teach the limitations of the current claims, and by providing the rational and motivation to combine the references, the rejection of record establishes a prima facie case for obviousness.
With regards to amendment to claim 1 necessitating a dose of 10 to 200mg, Examiner maintains that a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to determine the optimal dose and frequency of administration through routine experimentation. Applicants have not provided arguments or evidence that arriving at the claimed dose is not routine. While Nagamoto teaches administration of a 300mg dose, when switching to APD791, a skilled artisan would not assume that the same 300mg dose is the appropriate dose. Adams teaches that APD791 has improved pharmacokinetics and selectivity. It would be obvious to determine the proper safe and effective dose for APD791, one that accounts for the improvement in selectivity and pharmacokinetics.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10-19 and 24-25 are pending
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10-19 and 24-25 are rejected
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628