DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 12/18/2025. Currently claims 1-15 are pending in the application; with claims 7-15 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Oztan et al. (Oztan et al.: "Microstructure and mechanical properties of three dimensional-printed continuous fiber composites", Journal of Composite Materials, Vol 53 (2) Page 271-280, First Published July 13, 2018), hereafter, referred to as “Oztan”.
Regarding claim 1, Oztan teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing build material composition in (Abstract, Table 2), comprising polyamide (nylon) particles present in an amount of at least 83.5 or 83.3 wt.% based on a total weight of the build material composition; and a filler material consisting of aramid (Kevlar) fibers having an average aspect ratio ranging from about 0.1 mm/20 µm to about 1.2 mm/16 µm, (i.e., with approximate fiber dimensions specified in Fig. 9(b) that are within the claimed range), wherein the aramid fibers are present in an amount of 16.5 or 16.7 wt.% based on the total weight of the build material composition (Table 2). Oztan also teaches that the 3D articles are printed on a Mark One 3D printer featuring FFF printing technology (Chapter Materials and Methods).
Regarding claim 6, Oztan teaches that polyamide (nylon) particles are present in an amount of 83.5 or 83.3 wt.% (equivalent to up to about 98%) based on the total weight of the material; by teaching aramid fibers are present in an amount of 16.5 or 16.7 wt.% based on the total weight of the build material composition (Table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Oztan et al. (Oztan et al.: "Microstructure and mechanical properties of three dimensional-printed continuous fiber composites", Journal of Composite Materials, Vol 53 (2) Page 271-280, First Published July 13, 2018), in view of Nauka et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0126631 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Nauka”.
Regarding claim 2, Oztan teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing build material composition in (Abstract, Table 2), comprising polyamide (nylon) particles and a filler material consisting of aramid (Kevlar) fibers. But Oztan fails to explicitly teach that the composition comprises of a flow aid present in an amount up to 0.2 wt. % based on the total weight of the build material composition. However, Nauka teaches that a flow aid is present in composition for 3D printing in up to 2 wt. % quantity (claims 7, and 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the teaching of Nauka, and combine to have such an agent to improve fluidity in claimed composition for 3D article printing (KSR Rationale A, MPEP 2143). Since both the references deal with a composition used in a 3D printing process, one would have a reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Oztan et al. (Oztan et al.: "Microstructure and mechanical properties of three dimensional-printed continuous fiber composites", Journal of Composite Materials, Vol 53 (2) Page 271-280, First Published July 13, 2018), in view of Dickson et al. (Andrew N. Dickson et al.: “Fabrication of continuous carbon, glass and Kevlar fibre reinforced polymer composites using additive manufacturing”, Additive Manufacturing, Volume 16, August 2017, Pages 146-152), hereafter, referred to as “Dickson”.
Regarding claims 3-5, Oztan teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing build material composition in (Abstract, Table 2), comprising polyamide (nylon) particles and a filler material consisting of aramid (Kevlar) fibers. Oztan also teaches that the aramid fibers are present in an amount of 16.5 or 16.7 wt.% based on the total weight of the build material composition (Table 2). But Oztan fails to explicitly teach that the aramid fibers are present in an amount ranging form about 2 wt. % to about 14 wt. %. However, Dickson teaches in Table 3, presence of aramid fibers in nylon material composition for 3D printing in quantity of 8 and 10 wt.% of the total material weight. It would also have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the property of the final article will depend on the size and amount of the fibers used in the composition. Therefore, the size (including the aspect ratio) of aramid fibers and the amount is selected by a person skilled in the art depending on specified properties of the material to optimize the 3D article printed thereof. Oztan and Dickson teaches different quantity of aramid fibers for the composition in line with optimization. Therefore, maintaining the average aspect ratio of the aramid fibers ranges from about 0.5 mm/20 μm to about 0.55 mm/16 μm, and the aramid fibers are present in an amount ranging from about 2 wt. % to about 14 wt. % based on the total weight of the build material composition (as claimed in claim 3); and the average aspect ratio of the aramid fibers ranges from about 0.7 mm/20 μm to about 0.85 mm/16 μm, and the aramid fibers are present in an amount ranging from about 2 wt. % to about 10 wt. % based on the total weight of the build material composition (as claimed in claim 4); and the average aspect ratio of the aramid fibers ranges from about 1.1 mm/20 μm to about 1.2 mm/16 μm, and the aramid fibers are present in an amount ranging from about 2 wt. % to about 4 wt. % based on the total weight of the build material composition (as claimed in claim 5); would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Responses to Arguments
The Applicant argued in the “Remarks” submitted in the response of 12/18/2025, regarding the Examiner’s assertion in the “Restriction Requirement” that recent developments in additive manufacturing have made this technique a novel tool to supplement and/or replace conventional manufacturing methods, by showing to reinforce polymers with continuous and high-strength fibers and enhance their mechanical strength (please see US2018/0356118 as requested). Therefore, the use of polymers and fibers is well known in the 3D printing literature, and disqualification of a prior art based on a discussion of pros and cons of a technology is not persuasive regarding the restriction requirement.
Additionally, the Applicant’s argument filed on 12/18/2025 regarding the 102 rejections has also been fully considered. Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 1 has been carefully considered, but is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that in Fig. 9B, Oztan teaches an SEM image showing microstructural features of failed 3D printed specimens, showing insufficiency of the bonding between the reinforcement and the matrix. However, the Examiner’s position is that the processing deficiency resulting in insufficient bonding does not take away the dimensional teaching regarding the aspect ratio of the fibers that could be analyzed from a figure, based on the recited independent composition claim of the instant application. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that based on the teaching of Oztan. the rejection set forth in this office action address the scope of the claim as recited, and is relevant.
Because the rejections are being maintained on the amended independent claims, and since there is no substantive arguments on the rejections against the references applied against rest of the dependent claims, these rejections are being maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742