DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-23 are pending and examined below. This action is in response to the claims filed 5/20/26.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks Information Disclosure Statement section filed 5/20/26, is partially persuasive for the following reasons.
DE 10 2016 010 618 does have a legible English abstract, the rest of the translation is too blurry for accurate OCR or manual review. Due to the legible English abstract, the abstract has been considered and the line is removed in the updated annotated IDS.
DE 10 2019 007 848 is too blurry and small font for accurate OCR or manual review and is still lined-through in the updated annotated IDS.
DE 10 2019 113 516 is too blurry and small font for accurate OCR or manual review and is still lined-through in the updated annotated IDS.
JP H02-295418 does have a legible English abstract, the rest of the translation is too blurry for accurate OCR or manual review. Due to the legible English abstract, the abstract has been considered and the line is removed in the updated annotated IDS.
The office can only adequately consider references submitted that are submitted in legible English. Simply submitting a document is not sufficient for the office to sufficiently review the reference for consideration. If the applicant would like the office to consider specific references it is requested that the documents are resubmitted with proper translations in sufficient quality that they can be actually reviewed. If there is an associated copending application/PG Publication/granted patent filed with the USPTO for the intended references to be considered, including the specific document number in a new IDS with the identified correlations would also be sufficient to consider the references as requested.
New IDS as well as updated annotated IDS documents are included in this action.
Applicant did not address 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretations in view of arguments filed 5/20/26, therefore 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretations are maintained and reiterated below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) filed on 5/20/26, regarding 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive in view of amendments filed 5/20/26. 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks 35 USC § 102filed on 5/20/26, regarding 35 USC § 102 rejections are persuasive in view of amendments filed 5/20/26.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of further citations to the art of record below.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim elements include the following:
image recognition device, disclosed in the Specification ¶7 as a camera
gripping means, disclosed in Specification ¶19 as “may be tweezers, a suction cup or the like, is fastened to a robot arm, which is freely movable three-dimensionally”
processing means, disclosed in Specification ¶48 as a tool
Claim Objections
Claims 11-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, the newly amended claim element recites “determining a targeted depositing position on a conveyor device based the patterns and features of the plant that are recognized” whereas it appears to be missing the word “on” as follows:
“determining a targeted depositing position on a conveyor device based on the patterns and features of the plant that are recognized”
Appropriate correction is required. Dependent claims are likewise objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Von Rundstedt et al. (US 2019/0183078).
Regarding claim 1, Von Rundstedt discloses a device and method for propagating plants including an apparatus for processing at least one plant, comprising at least one conveyor device for transporting the plant (¶10),
at least one image recognition device (¶28 -image recognition unit),
at least one gripping means for depositing of the at least one plant on a targeted depositing position on the conveyor device (¶10-11, ¶28-29, and ¶36-37 – gripper corresponding to the recited gripping means for placing the individual clones into the culture medium corresponding to the recited targeted depositing position on the second conveyor element), and
at least one processing means for processing the plant lying on the conveyor device (¶6 - individual clones are automatically transported away by a second gripper for further processing), wherein
the image recognition device is configured to recognize patterns and features of the plant to determine the targeted depositing position on the conveyor device, and the processing means is configured for processing the plant after the plant has been deposited and is lying on the conveyor device (¶10-11 and ¶36-37 – image recognition unit determines a position on the individual clones which appears to be particularly suitable in order to grasp the clone by way of a second gripper and place it in a prepared container of culture medium corresponding to the recited recognize patterns and features of the plant to determine the targeted depositing position in the container on the conveyor device for processing the plant after it has been deposited and is lying on in the culture medium on the conveyor device).
Regarding claim 2, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the image recognition device has at least one camera for recording a 2D or 3D image of the plant (¶28 - image recognition unit 22 is preferably a CCD camera), and
wherein the image recognition device has a neural network or an algorithm, by which the plant as well as individual components and features of the plant can be recognized (¶28 - image recognition unit 22 is preferably a CCD camera, which is connected to the electronic control system and recognizes specific shapes corresponding to the recited algorithms to recognize plant components and features) and,
based on the recognized patterns and features of the plant, the plant can be deposited in a targeted manner on the conveyor device by the gripping means and can be processed by the processing means (¶28-30 – image recognition unit recognizes shapes and patterns in the plant material for proper handling).
Regarding claim 3, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the processing means has at least one tool, comprising scissors, a scalpel, a hot wire, a laser beam, a plasma jet, a water jet, tweezers, pliers, or a spatula, wherein the tool is selectively movable three-dimensionally (¶9, ¶18, and ¶35 - the plant is automatically cut by a blade, a laser beam, a waterjet, or a plasma beam into clones of the plant which are used to make multiple precise cuts on the plants once inside the enclosure corresponding to the recited selectively movable in 3D).
Regarding claim 4, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the conveyor device is a belt conveyor, wherein a material of the conveyor device reflects electromagnetic radiation and/or is permeable for a fluid (¶18 and ¶36-38 – the conveyor/belt is positioned in the sterile room and is designed to be sterilized with electromagnetic radiation corresponding to the recited reflects electromagnetic radiation and the use of a waterjet cutter implicitly discloses permeable conveyor).
Regarding claim 5, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the processing means is movable at the same time relative to the conveyor device, wherein the relative speed of the tool to the plant during the processing of the plant is 0 m/s (¶18 – both the conveyor and the laser are movable at the same time where the laser is movable such that it can follow the cutting lines on the plants therefore disclosing that the processing means and the conveyor device are movable such that the relative speed of the tool to the plant is 0 m/s).
Regarding claim 6, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the processing means is a laser, the focus of which can be concentrated on the plant transported on the conveyor device (¶18 - The laser, which can be a CO2 laser, for example, is mounted so it is movable in such a way that it can follow the cutting lines computed by the image recognition unit exactly and can thus cut multiple clones out of the plant).
Regarding claim 7, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein a plurality of processing means are arranged on the conveyor device in order to carry out successive processing steps on the plant and/or to simultaneously process a plurality of plants in parallel (¶8, ¶35, and Fig. 1 – laser making multiple cuts on each individual plant successively corresponding to the recited successive processing steps).
Regarding claim 8, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein at least one further gripping means is arranged at one end of the conveying device in order to grasp the processed plant or a component of the plant in a targeted manner and to supply same to a further processing step and/or to sort the processed plant or a component of the plant (¶6-8, ¶30, and Fig. 1 – individual clones corresponding to the recited processed plant or component of the plant is picked up via a second gripper corresponding to the recited at least one further gripping means for further processing).
Regarding claim 9, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the apparatus has a sterile or non-sterile processing space in which the at least one conveyor device, the at least one image recognition device, the at least one gripping means and the at least one processing means are arranged, wherein the sterile processing space has at least one introduction lock and at least one discharge lock (¶23-25 and Fig. 1 – sterile atmosphere in the room with airlock type access corresponding to the recited the sterile processing space has at least one introduction lock and at least one discharge lock where the conveyors, grippers, and lasers are inside the sterile room).
Regarding claim 10, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein a plurality of parallel conveyor devices, which can be operated at the same or different speeds, each transport at least one plant, which can be individually processed by a plurality of processing means (¶23-30 and Fig. 1 – multiple conveyor devices are disclosed in parallel processes to transport and process a plurality of plants).
Regarding claim 11, Von Rundstedt further discloses a method for processing at least one plant (Abstract), comprising
detecting the at least one plant by an image recognition device in order to recognize patterns and features of the plant (¶28 - image recognition unit),
determining a targeted depositing position on a conveyor device based on the patterns and features of the plant that are recognized, depositing the plant by a gripping means at the targeted depositing position on the conveyor device for transporting the plant (¶10-11 and ¶36-37 – image recognition unit determines a position on the individual clones which appears to be particularly suitable in order to grasp the clone by way of a second gripper and place it in a prepared container of culture medium corresponding to the recited recognize patterns and features of the plant to determine the targeted depositing position in the container on the conveyor device for processing the plant after it has been deposited and is lying on in the culture medium on the conveyor device) and
processing the plant lying on the conveyor device by at least one processing means (¶6 - individual clones are automatically transported away by a second gripper for further processing).
Regarding claim 12, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein images of the plant are recorded by at least one camera of the image recognition device (¶28 - image recognition unit 22 is preferably a CCD camera), and
a neural network or an algorithm on the basis of the images is used to determine positions on the plant at which processing by the processing means can be carried out particularly efficiently (¶28 - image recognition unit 22 is preferably a CCD camera, which is connected to the electronic control system and recognizes specific shapes corresponding to the recited algorithms to recognize plant components and features),
wherein the plant is held by the gripping means during the recording of the images or is already lying on the conveyor device (¶9 and ¶28-30 – image recognition unit recognizes shapes and patterns in the plant material for proper handling while the plant is hanging on the first gripper).
Regarding claim 13, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the plant is deposited on the conveyor device by the gripping means, depending on the position determined by the neural network or the algorithm, specifically in such a way that the plant can be processed directly and optimally by the processing means (¶28 – image recognition unit identifies optimal cutting lines/positioning on the conveyor/gripper).
Regarding claim 14, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein a plurality of plants are deposited by the gripping means next to one another on the conveyor device, depending on the position determined by the neural network or the algorithm, specifically in such a way that the plurality of plants can be processed directly and optimally in one process step by the processing means (¶32-38 - a plurality of the plants are transferred from one conveyor to another conveyor via the gripper depending on the position determined by the image recognition unit to be optimally cut before being loaded and removed to prepare a new batch corresponding to the recited optimally processing in one process step by the processing means).
Regarding claim 15, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the conveyor device is assigned two, three or more processing means and a plant which is transported on the conveyor device is processed successively by the processing means (¶32-38 – plants are successively introduced into the clean room and then processed successively over multiple conveyors/arms/cutters).
Regarding claim 16, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the conveyor device is assigned two, three or more processing means and a plurality of plants are processed simultaneously by the processing means (¶32-38 – plants are successively introduced into the clean room and then processed successively over multiple conveyors/arms/cutters while other plants are simultaneously moved through the process).
Regarding claim 17, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the processing means, is at least partially moved at the same time with the plant, which is lying on the conveyor device (¶18 – both the conveyor and the laser are movable at the same time where the laser is movable such that it can follow the cutting lines on the plants on the conveyor device).
Regarding claim 18, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein a focus of a laser which is used as a processing means is moved with the plant, which is lying on the conveyor device, such that the maximum radiation intensity is directed onto the plant (¶28-30 – laser is directed to make pinpoint accurate cuts on the plant corresponding to the recited maximum radiation intensity directed onto the plant).
Regarding claim 19, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the conveyor device is operated continuously or periodically or cyclically, wherein the conveyor device is briefly stopped during periodic or cyclic operation of the conveyor device for processing the plant (¶35-38 – the procedure is continued until the container 12 no longer has plants 13. The empty container 12 is then transported away by the conveyor element 18 and transferred out of the room 11 through the access 15. At the same moment, a new container 12 is transferred inward through the access 15 into the room 11 and a container moves into the position in which the individual plants 13 can again be grasped by the gripper 20 corresponding to the recited continuous operations. Given that the system operates continuously in the exemplary disclosure, requirements during periodic or cyclic operation are not required. However, when the continuous process does stop, the system stops corresponding to the recited periodic/cyclic operation).
Regarding claim 20, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein a plurality of plants on a plurality of parallel conveyor devices are processed in parallel and simultaneously by a plurality of processing means or a plurality of plants on a plurality of parallel conveyor devices are processed successively by a processing means (¶23-30 and Fig. 1 – multiple conveyor devices are disclosed in parallel processes to transport and process a plurality of plants).
Regarding claim 21, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the processing of the plant involves cutting the plant, cloning, sampling, meristemization, micrografting, selective processing of plant tissue, growth stimulation, irradiation of the plant for bioactivation and/or pathogen elimination, disruption of dormancy by perforating a seed coat, processing and treatment of seeds, seed coats, embryos, zygotes, or proembryos, processing and treatment of plant organs for in vitro culture, including at least one of meristem, axillary buds, root tips, leaf and peduncle pieces, adventitious shoots, callus cultures, solitary cells, microspores, ovaries, anthers, pollen, fruits and microcuttings, treatments against bacteria and fungal spores and/or a sorting process (¶18 - The laser, which can be a CO2 laser, for example, is mounted so it is movable in such a way that it can follow the cutting lines computed by the image recognition unit exactly and can thus cut multiple clones out of the plant).
Regarding claim 22, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein a plurality of plants are sorted according to type and quality, quantity, amount, shape, or size (¶17 and ¶28 – plants are moved based on detected shapes and size patterns corresponding to the recited sorted according to the shape/size).
Regarding claim 23, Von Rundstedt further discloses wherein the processing of the plant takes place in a sterile environment, wherein the at least one plant is transported automatically into the sterile environment and automatically out of the sterile environment again (¶23-25 and Fig. 1 – sterile atmosphere in the room with airlock type access corresponding to the recited at least one plant is transported automatically into the sterile environment and automatically out of the sterile environment again).
Additional References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mor (US 2020/0281122) discloses a robotic harvesting machine including utilizing precise controlling of cutting and placing of fruits (¶50).
McDaniel (US 2022/0016780) discloses an autonomous gripper/placing device including utilizing specific workspace locations for placement of a workpiece (¶126-127).
Faulring et al. (US 2022/0087106) discloses a harvester with automated capabilities including utilizing specific targeted placement positions for releasing a plant on a moving machine (¶89).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J. REDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665