DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Instances in the claims such as ‘protection target value determinator’, ‘a rotation speed determinator’, etc. are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as incorporating a processor in accordance with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea (mental process) of determining a rotation speed for a compressor based on comparing data.
Claim 1 recites a refrigeration cycle device, i.e. a machine, which is a statutory category of invention. The claim recites:
a protection target value determinator configured to determine, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle circuit; and
a rotation speed determinator configured to: compare a capability rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a temperature to be adjusted by the refrigeration cycle circuit asymptotic or identical to a capability target value and a protection rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a value of the protection variable asymptotic or identical to the protection target value, and determine as an operating rotation speed of the compressor, a smaller one of the capability rotation speed and the protection rotation speed that may be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea (mental processes), see MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, i.e. a refrigeration cycle device comprising: a refrigeration cycle circuit comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)), and an operating state detector configured to detect an operating state of the refrigeration cycle circuit (insignificant extra-solution elements – mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05 I A, MPEP 2106.05(g) MPEP 2106.05(d))) do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Note that a refrigeration cycle devices comprising: a refrigeration cycle circuit comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant are well-understood, routine and conventional, see for example Vaisman et al. U.S. Patent No. 11692742 [col. 1] and the other references cited below.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, refrigeration cycle device comprising: a refrigeration cycle circuit comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)), and an operating state detector configured to detect an operating state of the refrigeration cycle circuit (insignificant extra-solution elements – mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05 I A, MPEP 2106.05(g) MPEP 2106.05(d))) are not considered significantly more. Considering the additionally elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 merely recites various type of variables. Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 4 recites the type of operating state data that is collected. Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 5 recites a storage configured to store a correspondence between the outside temperature or the indoor temperature and the protection target value (applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C), wherein the protection target value determinator is configured to determine the protection target value by referring to the correspondence stored in the storage (mental process). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 6 recites the type of operating state data that is collected. Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 7 recites a storage configured to store an operation map indicating an operating pressure range or an operating temperature range of the refrigerant (applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C), wherein the protection target value determinator is configured to determine the protection target value corresponding to the operating state by referring to the operation map stored in the storage (mental process). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 8 recites a control method for a refrigeration cycle device, i.e. a process, which is a statutory category of invention. However, the method is similar to that recited in claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 9-13 recite similar limitations to claims 3-7 and are rejected under the same respective rationales.
Claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program, i.e. a manufacture, which is a statutory category of invention. However, the process performed by the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is similar to that recited in claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationale. Note that a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program is considered applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C, and not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 15-19 recite similar limitations to claims 3-7 and are rejected under the same respective rationales.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the English translation of Mori et al. WIPO publication No. 2020183560, published 9/17/2020 (hereinafter Mori) in view of Schuster et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120010753 (hereinafter Schuster).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches a refrigeration cycle device [0012 — As shown in FIG. 1 , an air conditioning apparatus 1, which is a refrigeration cycle apparatus, includes a control device 2, a compressor 3, a four-way valve 4, an outdoor heat exchanger 5, an electric expansion valve 6, and an indoor heat exchanger 7. The compressor 3, the four-way valve 4, the outdoor heat exchanger 5, the electric expansion valve 6, and the indoor heat exchanger 7 are connected by pipes through which a refrigerant flows.] comprising:
a refrigeration cycle circuit comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant [0012-0016, Fig. 1 — The refrigerant compressed by the compressor 3 to a high temperature and pressure is discharged from the compressor 3 . The refrigerant then passes through the piping indicated by the solid line of the four-way valve 4, and is liquefied under high pressure by dissipating heat to the outside of the room in the outdoor heat exchanger 5.];
an operating state detector configured to detect an operating state of the refrigeration cycle circuit [0013, 0021 — The air conditioning device 1 is equipped with a compressor temperature sensor 10, a discharge temperature sensor 11, an outdoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 12, an indoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 13, a room temperature sensor 14, a high-pressure sensor 15, a low-pressure pressure sensor 16, and a current sensor 17 as necessary]; and
a rotation speed determinator configured to: compare a capability rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a temperature to be adjusted by the refrigeration cycle circuit asymptotic or identical to a capability target value [0020 — The capacity control unit 101 defines the room temperature obtained from the room temperature sensor 14 as the current capacity value indicating the current capacity, and the set room temperature determined at the appropriate time as the capacity target value, and calculates the capacity rotation speed, which is the rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to bring the room temperature closer to or equal to the set room temperature.] and a protection rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a value of the protection variable asymptotic or identical to the protection target value [0021 — The protection control unit 102 calculates a protection rotation speed, which is a rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to timely or predeterminedly bring the protection variable, which is a predetermined variable required to protect the equipment that constitutes the air conditioning unit 1, into approximation or agreement with a protection target value. Here, the predetermined variables are the compressor temperature, the discharge temperature, the condensing temperature, the evaporating temperature, the high pressure, the low pressure, and the current. The compressor temperature is the temperature detected by the compressor temperature sensor 10], and determine as an operating rotation speed of the compressor, a smaller one of the capability rotation speed and the protection rotation speed [0024, 0037-0039 — The rotation speed selection unit 103 includes a minimum rotation speed selection unit 105 . The minimum rotation speed selection unit 105 selects the smallest rotation speed from the capacity rotation speed output from the capacity control unit 101 and each protection rotation speed output from the protection control unit 102 as the control rotation speed].
But Mori fails to clearly specify a protection target value determinator configured to determine, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle circuit.
However, Schuster teaches a protection target value determinator configured to determine, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle circuit [0019, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided].
Mori and Schuster are analogous art. They relate to heating and cooling systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Mori, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Mori teaches the rotation speed determinator comprises an I (integral) controller, a PI (proportional-integral) controller, or a PID (proportional-integral-derivative) controller configured to control the protection variable to be asymptotic to the protection target value [0021 — The protection control unit 102 calculates a protection rotation speed, which is a rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to timely or predeterminedly bring the protection variable, which is a predetermined variable required to protect the equipment that constitutes the air conditioning unit 1, into approximation or agreement with a protection target value. Here, the predetermined variables are the compressor temperature, the discharge temperature, the condensing temperature, the evaporating temperature, the high pressure, the low pressure, and the current. The compressor temperature is the temperature detected by the compressor temperature sensor 10; 0027-0030 — Figure 3 is a block diagram showing an example of the configuration of the PI controller 111, which is a controller that performs proportional (P) and integral (I) control. The PI controller 111 corresponds to the PI controllers included in the capacity control unit 101 and the protection control unit 102 shown in FIG.; 0042, 0095 — The capacity control unit 101 and the protection control unit 102 are not limited to PI controllers, but may be configured as dynamic controllers including at least an integrator, and may be, for example, PID (proportional-integral-derivative) controllers or I (integral) controllers].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Mori teaches the protection variable includes any one of a discharge temperature of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor, a condensation temperature of the refrigerant, an evaporation temperature of the refrigerant, a high pressure of the refrigerant, and a low pressure of the refrigerant [0021 — The protection control unit 102 calculates a protection rotation speed, which is a rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to timely or predeterminedly bring the protection variable, which is a predetermined variable required to protect the equipment that constitutes the air conditioning unit 1, into approximation or agreement with a protection target value. Here, the predetermined variables are the compressor temperature, the discharge temperature, the condensing temperature, the evaporating temperature, the high pressure, the low pressure, and the current. The compressor temperature is the temperature detected by the compressor temperature sensor 10; 0012-0016, Fig. 1 — The refrigerant compressed by the compressor 3 to a high temperature and pressure is discharged from the compressor 3].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Schuster teaches the operating state includes an outside temperature or an indoor temperature [0019, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Mori, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop defined by an outdoor temperature and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Schuster teaches a storage configured to store a correspondence between the outside temperature or the indoor temperature and the protection target value, wherein the protection target value determinator is configured to determine the protection target value by referring to the correspondence stored in the storage [0019-0020, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided… Other system conditions may also be monitored by the system controller 110 to determine whether the compressor is operating within system condition thresholds. FIG. 3 illustrates a function graph operating map having an acceptable operation envelope; 0021 — system controller 110 identifies another operating map function (stored in memory) having an envelope threshold that includes the present system condition data. If the system condition will not exceed the threshold envelope of an identified operating map function, the system controller 110 may change an operating parameter associated with the identified operating map function--changing the threshold envelope so that the system condition value falls into an acceptable threshold envelope in block 411].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Mori, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Mori teaches the operating state includes a condensation temperature or a high pressure of the refrigerant, and an evaporation temperature or a low pressure of the refrigerant [0021 — The protection target values are the compressor temperature upper limit, discharge temperature upper limit, condensation temperature upper limit, evaporation temperature lower limit, high-pressure pressure upper limit, low-pressure pressure lower limit, and current upper limit].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Schuster teaches a storage configured to store an operation map indicating an operating pressure range or an operating temperature range of the refrigerant, wherein the protection target value determinator is configured to determine the protection target value corresponding to the operating state by referring to the operation map stored in the storage [0020-0021 — Other system conditions may also be monitored by the system controller 110 to determine whether the compressor is operating within system condition thresholds. FIG. 3 illustrates a function graph operating map having an acceptable operation envelope. The envelope is defined by a function of condensing temperature (of the refrigerant), evaporating temperature (of the refrigerant), and compressor current. FIG. 3 illustrates an operating map at a particular compressor 102 operating speed. As the speed of the compressor 102 changes, the function may change--varying the operation envelope. In operation, for example, if the condensing temperature and evaporating temperature approach or fall outside the acceptable operation envelope, the system controller 110 may determine whether the condensing temperature and evaporating temperature may fall inside an acceptable operation envelope of the compressor 102 at a different compressor speed. Thus, the variable speed compressor 102 allows the system controller 110 to operate the compressor 102 within an acceptable operation envelope by changing the speed of the compressor 102… system controller 110 identifies another operating map function (stored in memory) having an envelope threshold that includes the present system condition data. If the system condition will not exceed the threshold envelope of an identified operating map function, the system controller 110 may change an operating parameter associated with the identified operating map function--changing the threshold envelope so that the system condition value falls into an acceptable threshold envelope in block 411].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Mori, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as suggested by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 8, Mori teaches a control method for a refrigeration cycle device comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant [0012-0022 — As shown in FIG. 1 , an air conditioning apparatus 1, which is a refrigeration cycle apparatus, includes a control device 2, a compressor 3, a four-way valve 4, an outdoor heat exchanger 5, an electric expansion valve 6, and an indoor heat exchanger 7. The compressor 3, the four-way valve 4, the outdoor heat exchanger 5, the electric expansion valve 6, and the indoor heat exchanger 7 are connected by pipes through which a refrigerant flows… The control device 2 controls the rotation speed of the compressor 3 based on various sensor information or external input… The refrigerant compressed by the compressor 3 to a high temperature and pressure is discharged from the compressor 3 . The refrigerant then passes through the piping indicated by the solid line of the four-way valve 4, and is liquefied under high pressure by dissipating heat to the outside of the room in the outdoor heat exchanger 5.], the control method comprising:
detecting an operating state of the refrigeration cycle device [0013, 0021 — The air conditioning device 1 is equipped with a compressor temperature sensor 10, a discharge temperature sensor 11, an outdoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 12, an indoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 13, a room temperature sensor 14, a high-pressure sensor 15, a low-pressure pressure sensor 16, and a current sensor 17 as necessary]; and
comparing a capability rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a temperature to be adjusted by the refrigeration cycle device asymptotic or identical to a capability target value [0020 — The capacity control unit 101 defines the room temperature obtained from the room temperature sensor 14 as the current capacity value indicating the current capacity, and the set room temperature determined at the appropriate time as the capacity target value, and calculates the capacity rotation speed, which is the rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to bring the room temperature closer to or equal to the set room temperature.] and a protection rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a value of the protection variable asymptotic or identical to the protection target value [0021 — The protection control unit 102 calculates a protection rotation speed, which is a rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to timely or predeterminedly bring the protection variable, which is a predetermined variable required to protect the equipment that constitutes the air conditioning unit 1, into approximation or agreement with a protection target value. Here, the predetermined variables are the compressor temperature, the discharge temperature, the condensing temperature, the evaporating temperature, the high pressure, the low pressure, and the current. The compressor temperature is the temperature detected by the compressor temperature sensor 10], and determining as an operating rotation speed of the compressor a smaller one of the capability rotation speed and the protection rotation speed [0024, 0037-0039 — The rotation speed selection unit 103 includes a minimum rotation speed selection unit 105 . The minimum rotation speed selection unit 105 selects the smallest rotation speed from the capacity rotation speed output from the capacity control unit 101 and each protection rotation speed output from the protection control unit 102 as the control rotation speed].
But Mori fails to clearly specify determining, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle device.
However, Schuster teaches determining, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle device [0019, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided].
Mori and Schuster are analogous art. They relate to heating and cooling systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Mori, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mori and Schuster teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori in view of Schuster and further in view of Takayama U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190203962 (hereinafter Takayama).
Regarding claim 14, Mori teaches a device causing a refrigeration cycle device comprising a compressor configured to compress a refrigerant [0012 — As shown in FIG. 1 , an air conditioning apparatus 1, which is a refrigeration cycle apparatus, includes a control device 2, a compressor 3, a four-way valve 4, an outdoor heat exchanger 5, an electric expansion valve 6, and an indoor heat exchanger 7. The compressor 3, the four-way valve 4, the outdoor heat exchanger 5, the electric expansion valve 6, and the indoor heat exchanger 7 are connected by pipes through which a refrigerant flows] to:
detect an operating state of the refrigeration cycle device [0013, 0021 — The air conditioning device 1 is equipped with a compressor temperature sensor 10, a discharge temperature sensor 11, an outdoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 12, an indoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 13, a room temperature sensor 14, a high-pressure sensor 15, a low-pressure pressure sensor 16, and a current sensor 17 as necessary]; and
compare a capability rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a temperature to be adjusted by the refrigeration cycle device asymptotic or identical to a capability target value [0020 — The capacity control unit 101 defines the room temperature obtained from the room temperature sensor 14 as the current capacity value indicating the current capacity, and the set room temperature determined at the appropriate time as the capacity target value, and calculates the capacity rotation speed, which is the rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to bring the room temperature closer to or equal to the set room temperature.] and a protection rotation speed of the compressor necessary to make a value of the protection variable asymptotic or identical to the protection target value [0021 — The protection control unit 102 calculates a protection rotation speed, which is a rotation speed command for the compressor 3 required to timely or predeterminedly bring the protection variable, which is a predetermined variable required to protect the equipment that constitutes the air conditioning unit 1, into approximation or agreement with a protection target value. Here, the predetermined variables are the compressor temperature, the discharge temperature, the condensing temperature, the evaporating temperature, the high pressure, the low pressure, and the current. The compressor temperature is the temperature detected by the compressor temperature sensor 10], and determine as an operating rotation speed of the compressor, a smaller one of the capability rotation speed and the protection rotation speed [0024, 0037-0039 — The rotation speed selection unit 103 includes a minimum rotation speed selection unit 105 . The minimum rotation speed selection unit 105 selects the smallest rotation speed from the capacity rotation speed output from the capacity control unit 101 and each protection rotation speed output from the protection control unit 102 as the control rotation speed].
But Mori fails to clearly specify a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program and determining, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle device.
However, Schuster teaches determining, based on the operating state, a protection target value of a protection variable regarding the refrigeration cycle device [0019, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided].
Mori and Schuster are analogous art. They relate to heating and cooling systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Mori, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
But the combination of Mori and Schuster fails to clearly specify a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program.
However, Takayama teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program [0040-0043, Fig. 4 — software or firmware is described as the program 90 and is stored in the memory 92. The processor 91 reads and executes the program 90 stored in the memory 92 to perform the functions of the components that constitute the compressor inverter drive unit 9… a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium containing a plurality of computer-executable instructions for driving the compressor-driving inverter circuit 2].
Mori, Schuster and Takayama are analogous art. They relate to heating and cooling systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by the combination of Mori and Schuster, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Takayama.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reliably and repeatably operate the cooling/heating device using known computer technology to store control instructions, as suggested by the teachings of Takayama [0040-0043]. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known controller comprising a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program of Takayama for the known controller of Mori for the predicable result of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program causing a refrigeration cycle device to control a compressor.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Schuster teaches the operating state includes an outside temperature or an indoor temperature [0019, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop defined by an outdoor temperature and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Schuster teaches causes the refrigeration cycle device to: store a correspondence between the outside temperature or the indoor temperature and the protection target value; and determine the protection target value by referring to the correspondence [0019-0020, Fig. 2 — FIG. 2 includes graphs of exemplary embodiments of functions for controlling the system 100. The graphs 202 and 204 illustrate examples of functions of the operating envelopes for a compressor 102. The graph 202 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature (operating state) and compressor speed for a cooling compressor operating in a cooling mode, and the graph 204 is a function of outdoor ambient temperature and compressor speed for a heating compressor operating in a heating mode. The normal operation portions of the graphs 202 and 204 are defined by the maximum and minimum compressor speeds that vary as a function of the outdoor ambient temperature. In operation, the system controller 110 receives the outside temperature and determines whether the compressor 102 is operating within the normal operation envelope. If the compressor 102 is not operating in the normal operation envelope, the system controller 110 may vary the speed of the compressor 102 by sending a control signal to the inverter controller 114. The functions illustrated in FIG. 2 are examples of functions for an example compressor 102. The functions may vary when a compressor 102 having different design specifications are used in the system 100. By varying the commanded operating parameters of the compressor, undesirable shutdowns of the compressor may be avoided… Other system conditions may also be monitored by the system controller 110 to determine whether the compressor is operating within system condition thresholds. FIG. 3 illustrates a function graph operating map having an acceptable operation envelope; 0021 — system controller 110 identifies another operating map function (stored in memory) having an envelope threshold that includes the present system condition data. If the system condition will not exceed the threshold envelope of an identified operating map function, the system controller 110 may change an operating parameter associated with the identified operating map function--changing the threshold envelope so that the system condition value falls into an acceptable threshold envelope in block 411].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Mori, Schuster and Takayama, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as taught by Schuster [0019].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Schuster teaches causing the refrigeration cycle device to: store an operation map indicating an operating pressure range or an operating temperature range of the refrigerant; and determine the protection target value corresponding to the operating state by referring to the operation map [0020-0021 — Other system conditions may also be monitored by the system controller 110 to determine whether the compressor is operating within system condition thresholds. FIG. 3 illustrates a function graph operating map having an acceptable operation envelope. The envelope is defined by a function of condensing temperature (of the refrigerant), evaporating temperature (of the refrigerant), and compressor current. FIG. 3 illustrates an operating map at a particular compressor 102 operating speed. As the speed of the compressor 102 changes, the function may change--varying the operation envelope. In operation, for example, if the condensing temperature and evaporating temperature approach or fall outside the acceptable operation envelope, the system controller 110 may determine whether the condensing temperature and evaporating temperature may fall inside an acceptable operation envelope of the compressor 102 at a different compressor speed. Thus, the variable speed compressor 102 allows the system controller 110 to operate the compressor 102 within an acceptable operation envelope by changing the speed of the compressor 102… system controller 110 identifies another operating map function (stored in memory) having an envelope threshold that includes the present system condition data. If the system condition will not exceed the threshold envelope of an identified operating map function, the system controller 110 may change an operating parameter associated with the identified operating map function--changing the threshold envelope so that the system condition value falls into an acceptable threshold envelope in block 411].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by the combination of Mori, Schuster and Takayama, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Schuster.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to keep the compressor within an acceptable operating envelop and avoid undesirable shutdowns, as suggested by Schuster [0019].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rajan et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170227246 a system and method for minimizing condenser fan cycling for low ambient temperature.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119