DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 12/4/2023 and 2/1/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“calculation unit” in claim(s) 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4 recites “it” in line 2 where it is not clear which elements within the claims that it refers to.
Claim 6 recites “characterised in that the long exposure time (TL) is less than the image production rate of at least one of said sensors from said at least two sensors” which recites a first unit “the long exposure time (TL)” compared to a second unit “the image production rate” where the first unit is a time unit while the second unit is a rate unit (e.g. frame per time unit). This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how two different units are compared and how they should be read as claimed.
Claim 9 recites “it” in line 2 where it is not clear which elements within the claims that it refers to.
Claim 10 recites “it” in line 2 from the bottom where it is not clear which elements within the claims that it refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 9 is directed to a “Computer program product comprising program code instructions” claimed in the absence of any underlying medium or other system, but a “program” is not a method, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The claim thus falls outside the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101 and is therefore nonstatutory. If the specification includes written description support, this rejection could be overcome by claiming the invention as being stored in a nontransitory computer readable medium; however, see MPEP 2111.05 for a discussion of functional and nonfunctional descriptive material as related to computer readable media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laroia (US 20140192214 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Laroia teaches Method for generating a video stream comprising a set of high dynamic range images, called HDR video stream, from a plurality of standard dynamic range images that are obtained by reading at least two image sensors each having an image production rate , each sensor comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix, and each associated with a photoelectric conversion element for converting received light into electric charge and accumulating said electric charge over a light exposure time (Figs. 1-4, 10, 21; paras. 0074, 0157), method comprising a plurality of iterations of creating high dynamic range images comprising:
- determining (D1) at least three sensor exposure times comprising: a short exposure time TC, a long exposure time TL and an intermediate exposure time TI, such that TC<TI<TL (step 410; paras. 0165, 0287);
- at least one iteration of reading (D2) sensors, from said at least two sensors, delivering at least three successive images (IC, II, IL), depending on said at least three sensor exposure times (TC, TI, TL) (para. 0165);
- saving (D3), within at least three dedicated memory areas (ZM#1, ZM#2, ZM#3), said at least three successive images (IC, II, IL), each memory area being dedicated to a sensor exposure time from said at least three sensor exposure times (Fig. 21; paras. 0165, 0253);
- generating (D4) a high dynamic range image from information extracted from said at least three successive images (IC, II, IL) saved respectively within said at least three dedicated memory areas (ZM#1, ZM#2, ZM#3) (steps 424-432);
- adding (D5) said high dynamic range image to said HDR video stream (step 432; paras. 0074, 0167-0171), the method being implemented so that at any moment an image acquired at the short time (IC), an image acquired at the intermediate time (II) and an image acquired at the long time (IL) are respectively present within said at least three dedicated memory areas (ZM#1, ZM#2, ZM#3) (para. 0165).
Regarding claim 2, Laroia teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to Method for generating an HDR video stream according to characterised in that said determination of said at least three sensor exposure times (TC, TI, TL) comprises determining the intermediate exposure time TI depending on said short exposure time TC and on the long exposure time TL (Figs. 10, 25; para. 0287; three sensor exposure times 1/90, 1/60 and 1/30 sec; the 1/60 sec is determined as medium between the long and the short exposure time).
Regarding claim 6, Laroia teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the long exposure time (TL) is less than the image production rate of at least one of said sensors from said at least two sensors (Figs. 10, 25; para. 0074).
Regarding claim 7, Laroia teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the generation of a high dynamic range image of a current iteration of creating a high dynamic range image is implemented from information extracted from at least three current successive images (IC, II, IL) and is implemented at the same time as said iterations of reading sensors, from said at least two sensors, delivering at least three successive images (IC, II, IL) of the following iteration of creating a high dynamic range image (Figs. 10, 25; paras. 0074, 0161, 0287).
Regarding claim 8, Laroia teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the image rate of the HDR stream is at least equal to the image rate of at least one image sensor from the said at least two image sensors (Figs. 10, 25; paras. 0074, 0161, 0287; HDR video stream is generated by iteratively combining each captured group of three different exposure images captured at a same time into a corresponding HDR video frame; Thus, it is a 1:1 rate).
Regarding claim 9, Laroia teaches Computer program product comprising program code instructions for implementing a method according to claim 1, when it is executed by a processor (Fig. 1; para. 0077).
Regarding claim 10, Laroia teaches Device (Figs. 1) for generating a video stream comprising a set of high dynamic range images, called HDR video stream, from a plurality of standard dynamic range images that are obtained by reading at least two image sensors each having an image production rate, each sensor comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix, and each associated with a photoelectric conversion element for converting received light into electric charge and accumulating said electric charge over a light exposure time, characterised in that it comprises a calculation unit adapted to implement the steps of the method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1 (as presented in claim 1).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kiser et al (US 11375135 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kiser teaches Method for generating a video stream comprising a set of high dynamic range images, called HDR video stream, from a plurality of standard dynamic range images that are obtained by reading at least two image sensors each having an image production rate , each sensor comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix, and each associated with a photoelectric conversion element for converting received light into electric charge and accumulating said electric charge over a light exposure time (Figs. 7-10, 13), method comprising a plurality of iterations of creating high dynamic range images comprising:
- determining (D1) at least three sensor exposure times comprising: a short exposure time TC, a long exposure time TL and an intermediate exposure time TI, such that TC<TI<TL (Fig. 13);
- at least one iteration of reading (D2) sensors, from said at least two sensors, delivering at least three successive images (IC, II, IL), depending on said at least three sensor exposure times (TC, TI, TL) (Figs. 8, 13);
- saving (D3), within at least three dedicated memory areas (ZM#1, ZM#2, ZM#3), said at least three successive images (IC, II, IL), each memory area being dedicated to a sensor exposure time from said at least three sensor exposure times (Fig. 10; col. 15, line 59 to col. 16, line 5);
- generating (D4) a high dynamic range image from information extracted from said at least three successive images (IC, II, IL) saved respectively within said at least three dedicated memory areas (ZM#1, ZM#2, ZM#3) (Figs. 9, 10, 13; col. 17, lines 10-25);
- adding (D5) said high dynamic range image to said HDR video stream, the method being implemented so that at any moment an image acquired at the short time (IC), an image acquired at the intermediate time (II) and an image acquired at the long time (IL) are respectively present within said at least three dedicated memory areas (ZM#1, ZM#2, ZM#3) (Figs. 9, 10, 13; col. 17, lines 10-25).
Regarding claim 2, Kiser teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to Method for generating an HDR video stream according to characterised in that said determination of said at least three sensor exposure times (TC, TI, TL) comprises determining the intermediate exposure time TI depending on said short exposure time TC and on the long exposure time TL (Figs. 8, 13).
Regarding claim 6, Kiser teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the long exposure time (TL) is less than the image production rate of at least one of said sensors from said at least two sensors (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Kiser teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the generation of a high dynamic range image of a current iteration of creating a high dynamic range image is implemented from information extracted from at least three current successive images (IC, II, IL) and is implemented at the same time as said iterations of reading sensors, from said at least two sensors, delivering at least three successive images (IC, II, IL) of the following iteration of creating a high dynamic range image (Figs. 8-10, 13).
Regarding claim 8, Kiser teaches Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the image rate of the HDR stream is at least equal to the image rate of at least one image sensor from the said at least two image sensors (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Kiser teaches Computer program product comprising program code instructions for implementing a method according to claim 1, when it is executed by a processor (Fig. 7; col. 13, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 10, Kiser teaches Device (Figs. 7-10, 13) for generating a video stream comprising a set of high dynamic range images, called HDR video stream, from a plurality of standard dynamic range images that are obtained by reading at least two image sensors each having an image production rate, each sensor comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix, and each associated with a photoelectric conversion element for converting received light into electric charge and accumulating said electric charge over a light exposure time, characterised in that it comprises a calculation unit adapted to implement the steps of the method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1 (as presented in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laroia (US 20140192214 A1) in view of Morimura et al (JP-2014176449-A).
Regarding claim 2, in the alternative, the broader feature claimed in claim 2 compared to claim 5 is also rejected for the same reason presented below in claim 5.
Regarding claim 5, Laroia teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
characterised in that the intermediate exposure time (TI) is obtained as the square root of the product of the short exposure time (TC) and of the long exposure time (TL).
However, in the same field of endeavor Morimura teaches
characterised in that the intermediate exposure time (TI) is obtained as the square root of the product of the short exposure time (TC) and of the long exposure time (TL) (page 10, lines 36-43: “The exposure time at the medium time exposure is set based on the exposure times at the new long exposure time and the short exposure time, and is, for example, the square root of the ratio between the new long exposure time and the short exposure time.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Morimura in Laroia to have characterised in that the intermediate exposure time (TI) is obtained as the square root of the product of the short exposure time (TC) and of the long exposure time (TL) for optimizing exposure times of the captured images for suppressing decreasing the signal to noise of the generated HDR images yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laroia (US 20140192214 A1) in view of Kang et al (US 20050243177 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4, Laroia teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
Claim 3: Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the short exposure time (TC) is calculated so that it produces, during the reading of a sensor from said at least two sensors, a standard dynamic range image of which a percentage of white-saturated pixels is less than a predetermined threshold.
Claim 4: Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the long exposure time (TL) is calculated so that it produces, during the reading of a sensor from said at least two sensors, a standard dynamic range image of which a percentage of black-saturated pixels is less than a predetermined threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kang teaches
Claim 3: Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the short exposure time (TC) is calculated so that it produces, during the reading of a sensor from said at least two sensors, a standard dynamic range image of which a percentage of white-saturated pixels is less than a predetermined threshold (Figs. 5; paras. 0089-0093).
Claim 4: Method for generating an HDR video stream according to claim 1, characterised in that the long exposure time (TL) is calculated so that it produces, during the reading of a sensor from said at least two sensors, a standard dynamic range image of which a percentage of black-saturated pixels is less than a predetermined threshold (Figs. 5; paras. 0089-0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Kang in Laroia to have features of claims 3-4 for optimizing exposure times of captured images based on a current scene so that improved HDR video images can be optimized yielding a predicted result.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637