Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings fail to show solder joining the first and second hollow components as recited in claim 1; and profiling formed as teeth, ribs, grooves and slots on the inner and/or outer circumference of hollow components 7, 8, 9 as described in paragraphs 048 & 058 and recited in claims 15-16. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. No new matter may be added. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the detailed description of the invention fails to describe details corresponding to the limitations of claim 14.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it begins with a phrase that can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12-13, 15-16 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woody, US 2020/0251963.
Claim 10. Woody discloses a hollow shaft (100) for an electric motor (see title), the shaft comprising:
a hollow shaft body comprising at least two hollow components (102 & 101, 108), wherein a first hollow component (102) of the at least two hollow components is inside a second hollow component (101, 108) of the at least two hollow components,
the first hollow component and the second hollow component are joined together via solder (paragraph 0016),
the first hollow component comprises a central through opening having an inner diameter (see Fig. 1) and a further hollow component (104) is inserted into the first hollow component,
wherein the further hollow component is joined to an inner circumference of the central through opening of the first hollow component while abutting thereon (see Fig. 1).
Claim 12. Fig. 1 shows a bearing seat at least at one end (101) of one of the at least two hollow components.
Claim 13. The at least two hollow components (102 & 101, 108) comprise different metallic materials. See copper at paragraph 0015 and iron at paragraph 0038.
Claim 15 & 16. Fig. 6 shows at least one (102) of the at least two hollow components comprises a profiling/slots on an inner circumference or an outer circumference thereof.
Claim 20. Figs. 1 & 5 show the at least two hollow components are rotationally symmetrical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swars, US 5.165,304
Claim 10. At Fig. 1, Swars shows a hollow shaft (see also title) that could be used for an electric motor (see “various applications” at col 3, line 58), the shaft comprising:
a hollow shaft body comprising at least two hollow components (7-9 & 10), wherein a first hollow component (7-9) of the at least two hollow components is inside a second hollow component (10) of the at least two hollow components,
the first hollow component and the second hollow component are joined together (see fixed” at col. 3, line 8),
the first hollow component comprises a central through opening having an inner diameter and a further hollow component (1) is inserted into the first hollow component,
wherein the further hollow component is joined to an inner circumference of the central through opening of the first hollow component while abutting thereon (see fixed” at col. 3, line 8).
Swars does not expressly disclose the first hollow component (7-9) and the second hollow component (10) are joined together via solder. However, Swars does disclose at col. 3, lines 20- 23 that hollow components can be joined by solder (53). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow shaft of Swars by using solder to join together the he first hollow component (7-9) and the second hollow component (10).
Claim 11. The at least two hollow components further comprise at least one further hollow component (11) positioned on an outer circumference of the first hollow component (7-9).
Claim 12. Fig. 1 shows a bearing seat at least at one end (7) of one of the at least two hollow components.
Claim 17. Fig. 1 shows a pipe body (5) positioned in the shaft body at a distance from the inner circumference of the first hollow component (7-9).
Claim 19. Fig. 1 shows the shaft body is a hollow cylinder.
Claim 20. Fig. 1 shows the at least two hollow components are rotationally symmetrical.
Claims 10-12, 14 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linscott, US 4,203,044 in view of Browne, US 492,266.
Claim 10. Linscott discloses a hollow shaft for an electric motor (col. 4, lines 10-11), the shaft comprising:
a hollow shaft body comprising at least two hollow components (18, 20), wherein a first hollow component (18) of the at least two hollow components is inside a second hollow component (20) of the at least two hollow components,
the first hollow component and the second hollow component are joined together (col. 1, lines 23-24 and col. 2, lines 43-44),
the first hollow component comprises a central through opening (see Fig. 1) having an inner diameter and a further hollow component (70) is inserted into the first hollow component,
wherein the further hollow component is joined to an inner circumference (52) of the central through opening of the first hollow component while abutting thereon.
Linscott does not expressly disclose the first hollow component (18) and the second hollow component (20) are joined together via solder. At page 1, lines 53-66, Browne teaches using solder to join coils (i.e. windings 20 of Linscott) in the manufacture of a shaft in order to provide unimpaired union. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow shaft of Linscott by using solder to join together the first hollow component (18) and the second hollow component (20) in order to provide unimpaired union as taught by Browne.
Claim 11. Linscott shows the at least two hollow components further comprise at least one further hollow component (22) positioned on an outer circumference of the first hollow component (18).
Claim 12. Fig. 1 of Linscott shows a bearing (30) seat at least at one end of one of the at least two hollow components.
Claim 14. At page 1, lines 53-54, Browne discloses the solder is copper-based.
Claim 17. Fig. 1 of Linscott shows a pipe body (62) positioned in the shaft body at a distance from the inner circumference (50) of the first hollow component (18).
Claim 18. At col. 3, lines 56-66 and Figs. 2-3, Linscott discloses the pipe body (92) comprises openings (78) oriented in a longitudinal axis of the shaft body at angle (90 degrees) to the longitudinal axis of the shaft body.
Claim 19. Fig. 1 of Linscott shows the shaft body is a hollow cylinder.
Claim 20. Fig. 1-3 of Linscott show the at least two hollow components are rotationally symmetrical.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jackson discloses a hollow cylindrical shaft (10) comprising multiple hollow components (12, 14, 20) joined by solder (col. 3, lines 6-10)
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679