Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swars, US 5.165,304
Claim 10. At Fig. 1, Swars shows a hollow shaft (see also title) that could be used for an electric motor (see “various applications” at col 3, line 58), the shaft comprising:
a hollow shaft body comprising at least two hollow components (7-9 & 10), wherein a first hollow component/pipe section (7-9) of the at least two hollow components is inside a second hollow component (10) of the at least two hollow components,
the first hollow component and the second hollow component are joined together (see fixed” at col. 3, line 8),
the first hollow component comprises a central through opening having an inner diameter and a further hollow component (1) is inserted into the first hollow component,
wherein the further hollow component is joined to an inner circumference of the central through opening of the first hollow component while abutting thereon (see fixed” at col. 3, line 8).
Swars does not expressly disclose the first hollow component (7-9) and the second hollow component (10) are joined together via solder. However, Swars does disclose at col. 3, lines 20- 23 that hollow components can be joined by solder (53). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow shaft of Swars by using solder to join together the he first hollow component (7-9) and the second hollow component (10).
Claim 11. The at least two hollow components further comprise at least one further hollow component (11) positioned on an outer circumference of the first hollow component (7-9).
Claim 12. Fig. 1 shows a bearing seat at least at one end (7) of one of the at least two hollow components.
Claim 17. Fig. 1 shows a pipe body (5) positioned in the shaft body at a distance from the inner circumference of the first hollow component (7-9).
Claim 19. Fig. 1 shows the shaft body is a hollow cylinder.
Claim 20. Fig. 1 shows the at least two hollow components are rotationally symmetrical.
In the reply filed April 28, 2026, applicant argues first hollow component/pipe section (7-9) is not a pipe section because “the components identified by the Office (7-9 and 10) are solid or thick-walled structural elements”. However the only components identified in this or the previous Office action as the first hollow component are sleeves 7-9. Fig. 1 clearly shows sleeves 7-9 constitute a pipe section.
Applicant further argues that the “obviousness rationale improperly fills missing limitations without explanation”. However there’s nothing missing or improper about the obviousness rationale. As noted above, Swars discloses the first and second hollow components are joined together, but doesn’t disclose that this is accomplished by solder. Thereafter reason why it would have been obvious to accomplish this with solder is clearly stated (see “Swars does disclose at col. 3, lines 20- 23 that hollow components can be joined by solder (53))”.
Claims 10-12, 14 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linscott, US 4,203,044 in view of Browne, US 492,266.
Claim 10. Linscott discloses a hollow shaft for an electric motor (col. 4, lines 10-11), the shaft comprising:
a hollow shaft body comprising at least two hollow components (18, 20), wherein a first hollow component (18) of the at least two hollow components is inside a second hollow component (20) of the at least two hollow components,
the first hollow component and the second hollow component are joined together (col. 1, lines 23-24 and col. 2, lines 43-44),
the first hollow component comprises a central through opening (see Fig. 1) having an inner diameter and a further hollow component (70) is inserted into the first hollow component,
wherein the further hollow component is joined to an inner circumference (52) of the central through opening of the first hollow component while abutting thereon.
Linscott does not expressly disclose the first hollow component (18) and the second hollow component (20) are joined together via solder. At page 1, lines 53-66, Browne teaches using solder to join coils (i.e. windings 20 of Linscott) in the manufacture of a shaft in order to provide unimpaired union. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow shaft of Linscott by using solder to join together the first hollow component (18) and the second hollow component (20) in order to provide unimpaired union as taught by Browne.
Claim 11. Linscott shows the at least two hollow components further comprise at least one further hollow component (22) positioned on an outer circumference of the first hollow component (18).
Claim 12. Fig. 1 of Linscott shows a bearing (30) seat at least at one end of one of the at least two hollow components.
Claim 14. At page 1, lines 53-54, Browne discloses the solder is copper-based.
Claim 17. Fig. 1 of Linscott shows a pipe body (62) positioned in the shaft body at a distance from the inner circumference (50) of the first hollow component (18).
Claim 18. At col. 3, lines 56-66 and Figs. 2-3, Linscott discloses the pipe body (92) comprises openings (78) oriented in a longitudinal axis of the shaft body at angle (90 degrees) to the longitudinal axis of the shaft body.
Claim 19. Fig. 1 of Linscott shows the shaft body is a hollow cylinder.
Claim 20. Fig. 1-3 of Linscott show the at least two hollow components are rotationally symmetrical.
In the reply filed April 28, 2026, applicant argues Linscott’s first hollow component (18) is not a pipe section because it is a solid or thick-walled component. However the first hollow component is shaft 18. Fig. 1 clearly shows shaft 18 is a pipe section.
Applicant further argues that second hollow component (20) is not a pipe section. The argument is moot since the second hollow component is not recited as a pipe section in the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 & 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679