DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-45 are canceled. Therefore, claims 1-15 are currently pending in this Application.
Priority
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/053304 02/10/2023
This application has PRO 63/309,250 02/11/2022
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements, filed on April 02, 2026 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copies of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/1176070.
Claims 1-15, are directed to a method of slowing an increase in brain ventricular volume in a patient comprising administering ponesimod,
wherein the patient has multiple sclerosis (MS).
In regards to claims 1-7, WO 2021/1176070 teach ponesimod for use in slowing brain volume loss in a patient in need thereof, in particular in a patient with multiple sclerosis (see, claims 1-7; . The dosage regimen in WO 2021/1176070 corresponds exactly to that of the instant claims (see claims 7-8 and specification page 8, paragraphs 44-46).
In regards to claims 7-12, WO 2021/1176070 teach wherein the patient has a base line EDSS score of less than or equal to 3.5 (see paragraph 068). The prior art further teach wherein the standard care treatment comprises teriflunomide (see paragraph 0120).
In regards to claims 12-15, WO 2021/1176070 teach wherein the patient has a base line EDSS score of less than or equal to 3.5 (see paragraph 068). The prior art further teach wherein the standard care treatment comprises teriflunomide (see paragraph 0120).
In regards, to claims 13-15, the description of the instant application and the prior art both describe that slowing down an increase in brain ventricular volume and reducing the rate of brain volume loss are a clinical outcome in the treatment of multiple sclerosis. Therefore, since the same products and doses are used in the treatment, the slowing of the increase of the ventricular volume is inherently covered by the prior art. Therefore, claims 1-15 are anticipated by the prior art.
Telephone Inquiry
/Kamal A Saeed/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626