DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the solvent" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusho et al. (JP 2016-204597), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, in view of Sugita (JP H09-137137A), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 14-16; Furusho et al. teaches a polymerizable composition using 5-70% by weight of N-substituted (meth)acrylamides [09, 012, 021], 0.1-10% by weight a photoinitiator [035], 1-70% by weight of a monofunctional monomer, and 1-50% by weight of a polyfunctional monomer (crosslinking component) [022]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05.
Furusho et al. fails to teach the composition further comprising a thermoplastic resin having no reactivity with the N-containing monomer or the monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer. Sugita teaches an acrylic tacky adhesive tape comprising acrylic compounds and further comprising a thermoplastic resin thickener, such as poly(methyl)methacrylate [0026], in an amount of up to 20 parts (e.g. 10 parts) by weight of the photopolymerizable mixture [0027]. Furusho et al. and Sugita are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely pressure sensitive adhesive compositions. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the 5 parts by weight of the thermoplastic resin thickener, as taught by Sugita, to the composition of Furusho et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust the viscosity and achieve sufficient shear strength, as suggested by Sugita [0025-0026].
Furusho et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the composition has a viscosity of 5-500 Pa·s as measured at 25°C and a rotation rate of 10 rpm using an E-type viscometer. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. glass transition temperature, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I & II.
The Examiner makes note that “a cured product being obtained by..” is a product by process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)); see MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 2; Furusho et al. teaches the composition may further comprise a solvent [045], but not explicitly required, thus present in an amount of 0% which falls within the range required by the claim.
Regarding claim 3; Furusho et al. teaches the composition further comprises antifoaming agents (defoamer) [060].
Regarding claim 4; Furusho et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the cured product has a glass transition temperature of 20 to -30°C. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. glass transition temperature, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Regarding claims 6-9; Furusho et al. teaches an adhesive sheet comprising the composition as set forth above on a substrate, and further teaches an adhesive laminate [078, 087].
Regarding claims 12-13; Furusho et al. teaches N-vinyl caprolactam as a suitable N-substituted monomer [012].
Regarding claim 17; Furusho et al. teaches suitable polyfunctional monomers include di(meth)acrylates (radically polymerizable monomer) [024].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 12-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767