DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 23-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/21/26 with respect to the species claims, species restriction A, which was persuasive and therefore the species are rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taviot-Gueho et al. “Synthesis and Structural Characterization of two new rare earth manganese germanates. . .” (TG) and in view of Yashima (JP 2015/063438) and in view of JP 5869169.
TG describes the compound CeMn2Ge4O12 (title). This compound meets at least one of Formula I, II or III.
As to the oxygen generation feature, TG does not specifically disclose this feature.
Yashima teaches a composition with the formula: AxA’yBXz (formula A) (page 4, line 11). Where A and A’ can be one of: Mn, Co or Ce (see page 4, last two para) and B can be Ge (page 5, lines 3-6) and X can be an oxide (page 5, lines 7-8). The composition can be used in a number of devices, to include batteries, catalyst, photocatalyst, oxygen concentrators, electrodes, catalysts, oxygen separation membranes, oxygen permeable membranes and others (see page 6, lines 28-31).
The reference does not specifically describe a source configured to generate oxygen ions via a redox reaction. The “configured to” feature is an intended use feature, but the oxygen feature will be treated even though the device does not actively claim the oxygen feature.
‘169 teaches an oxide catalyst for oxygen evolution reactions (title). The reference describes an A-site ordered oxide as an oxygen generating catalyst (page 6, last para.) that has the formula: AA’3B4O12 (Claim 1, line 1), where A can be Ce, A’ can be Mn and B can be Ge (Claim 1). The compound is part of an air electrode catalyst layer for use in a metal air battery (see page 5, “Air Electrode Catalyst Layer”, para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the mixed oxide of TG in the air-generating air electrode of a battery of ‘169 because Yashima explains that these mixed oxides are effective in a number of devices, to include electrodes and batteries.
As to the composition classified as an oxygen ion transport material, where oxygen ions are transported, this is considered an intended use feature. The system can generate oxygen, as described by ‘169, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition used the same way would have the same effectiveness.
As to the other compounds, they are alternative to each other to meeting one meets the entire claim.
As to Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19, the claims further limits the specific oxygen ion transport material, which is an optional embodiment of claim 1 (i.e. the oxygen ion transport material is either one of formula I, formula II or formula III) and therefore not required. As such, claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19 are rejected based on identical/substantially identical reasons as claims 1, 12.
As to Claims 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13, TG teaches the composition of CeMn2Ge4O12 (abstract). The reference explains that the oxidation states of each is: 4+ for Ce, 2+ for Mn (abstract). Ge typically has an oxidation state of +4, which is balanced by the -2 O oxidation state (since the formula is CeMn2Ge4O12 (abstract of TG). In the formula of Formula I of Claim 1, A is Ce and would have an x value of 4, B of formula I is Mn and the y value is 2 and the C value is Ge and the z value is 4.
As to Claim 21, JP ‘169 teaches that the oxide catalyst is used in air electrodes (see “air electrode catalyst layer” on page 6).
As to Claim 22, Yashima teaches that this mixed oxide can be used in oxygen separation membranes or electrodes (see page 6, lines 28-32).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TG, Yashima and JP ‘169 as applied to claim 20 above, and in view of Yamamura (CN 106104909).
JP ‘169 describes that their catalyst electrode of the A-site ordered oxide is combined with a Pt-counter electrode (Example 1). The device contains an electrolyte (example 1), but the reference does not describe the structure of Claim 22.
Yamamura describes an air electrode placed in a battery (title). The structure of the electrode is made such that there is an air electrode (Fig. 4, 22), followed by an electrolyte at 25 (see Fig. 4, 25) and a counter electrode on the other side (see Fig. 4, 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the air electrode by placing the air electrode on one side, followed by an electrolyte with a counter electrode on the other side, as taught by Yamamura for use with the air battery of TG, Yashima and JP ‘169 because inclusion of air electrodes in batteries is effective when placed in this structure.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 July 24, 2026