DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 6-11) are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant alleged that “Claim 6 is the method counterpart of Claim 1 and recites the same control logic. In addition to the features identified by the Election/Restriction Requirement, Claims 1 and 6 further share at least the following technical features: (i) identifying a frequency band of the switching signal with respect to a target container to be inductively heated; and (ii) generating suitability evaluation information about the target container on the basis of the identified frequency band and the measured output of the induction heating, and outputting the information. Neither feature is disclosed by Yoon.” – see detail on pages 1-3 of the Response to Election/Restriction dated 09/15/2026.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
It is noted that the Examiner did not state that the prior art Yoon discloses the features “(i) identifying a frequency band of the switching signal with respect to a target container to be inductively heated; and (ii) generating suitability evaluation information about the target container on the basis of the identified frequency band and the measured output of the induction heating, and outputting the information” as alleged by the Applicant. In contrast, in the requirement for restriction/election set forth in the office action dated 07/15/2026, Examiner indicated that Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of an inverter, switching signal, a working coil performs induction heating by high frequency power; this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0141793 A1). Yoon et al. discloses an inverter (see Yoon Abstract), switching signal (see Yoon Abstract & Par.0051), a working coil performs induction heating by high frequency power (Yoon Par.0043 discloses a working coil performs induction heating by high frequency power). Examiner did not indicate that Yoon discloses the features “(i) identifying a frequency band of the switching signal with respect to a target container to be inductively heated; and (ii) generating suitability evaluation information about the target container on the basis of the identified frequency band and the measured output of the induction heating, and outputting the information” as alleged by the Applicant since as provided in 37 CFR 1.475(b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475(c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, Claims 1-5, drawn to “An electric range”.
Group II, Claims 6-11, drawn to “A control method for an electric range”.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of an inverter, switching signal, a working coil performs induction heating by high frequency power; this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0141793 A1). Yoon et al. discloses an inverter (see Yoon Abstract), switching signal (see Yoon Abstract & Par.0051), a working coil performs induction heating by high frequency power (Yoon Par.0043 discloses a working coil performs induction heating by high frequency power), as explained above.
Therefore, the requirement for restriction/election set forth in the office action dated 07/15/2026 is deemed proper. Accordingly, claims 6-11 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-5 are examined as follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRIC RANGE
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 12) and claim 5 (line 3) recite the limitation “the container”. This should be changed to “the target container” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 11).
Claims 2-5 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“measurement unit for measuring the output of the induction heating” in claim 1 (line 6) and “measurement unit” in claim 1 (line 13). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “for measuring the output of the induction heating” / “measurement” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). It is noted that the Specification and the Drawings of the Instant Application do not provide sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function of the measurement unit, see detail explanation below in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section.
“output unit for outputting a processing result of the controller” in claim 1 (line 8) and “output unit” in claim 1 (line 14). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “for outputting a processing result of the controller” / “output” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). It is noted that the Specification of the Instant Application describes: “The output unit 170 outputs processing results from the controller 160. For example, the output unit 170 may output processing results from the controller 160 in various formats including graphics by the control of the controller 160.” in Par.40. Therefore, for examination purposes, the limitation “output unit” will be interpreted as “graphics output” or any format of output, or equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.40.
“input unit for receiving selection information for one of a plurality of cooking modes” in claim 5 (lines 1-2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “for receiving selection information for one of a plurality of cooking modes” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). It is noted that the Specification of the Instant Application describes: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 4, the user may enter selection information for a cooking mode through the input unit 180, and the entered selection information for the cooking mode is provided to the controller 160 (S410)” in Par.54. One ordinary skill in the art would understand the input unit as selection for input in form of buttons, touch screen, or via user interface. For examination purposes, the limitation “input unit” will be interpreted as selection for input in form of buttons, touch screen, or via user interface, or equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “measurement unit for measuring the output of the induction heating” in line 6 and “measurement unit” in line 13. Claim limitations “measurement unit for measuring the output of the induction heating” and “measurement unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. See the Claim Interpretation section above.
The proper test for meeting the definiteness requirement is that the corresponding structure (or material or acts) of a means- (or step-) plus-function limitation must be disclosed in the specification itself in a way that one skilled in the art will understand what structure (or material or acts) will perform the recited function. See Atmel Corp. v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1381, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1230 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
If there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claim fails to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The disclosure of the structure (or material or acts) may be implicit or inherent in the specification if it would have been clear to those skilled in the art what structure (or material or acts) corresponds to the means- (or step-) plus-function claim limitation. See id. at 1380, 53 USPQ2d at 1229; In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997). However, "[a] bare statement that known techniques or methods can be used does not disclose structure" in the context of a means plus function limitation. Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technology Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 952, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (Disclosure that an invention "may be controlled by known differential pressure, valving and control equipment" was not a disclosure of any structure corresponding to the claimed "control means for operating [a] valving " and the claim was held indefinite).
Whether a claim reciting an element in means- (or step-) plus-function language fails to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because the specification does not disclose adequate structure (or material or acts) for performing the recited function is closely related to the question of whether the specification meets the description requirement in 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See In re Noll, 545 F.2d 141, 149, 191 USPQ 721, 727 (CCPA 1976) (unless the means-plus-function language is itself unclear, a claim limitation written in means-plus- function language meets the definiteness requirement in 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, so long as the specification meets the written description requirement in 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph).
The invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not exempt an applicant from compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs. See Donaldson, 16 F.3d at 1195, 29 USPQ2d at 1850; In re Knowlton, 481 F.2d 1357, 1366, 178 USPQ 486, 493 (CCPA 1973) ("[The sixth paragraph of section 112] cannot be read as creating an exception either to the description requirement of the first paragraph … or to the definiteness requirement found in the second paragraph of section 112. Means-plus-function language can be used in the claims, but the claims must still accurately define the invention.").
In this case, the specification of the Instant Application describes: “The measurement unit 150 measures the output of the induction heating by the heating unit 140 and provides a measurement result to the controller 160.” in Par.38. However, the structure of the measurement unit is not described in the specification. Furthermore, the drawings of the Instant Application use a rectangular box to represent the measurement unit, see the measurement unit 150 in Fig.1 of the drawings of the Instant Application. Therefore, the specification and drawings of the Instant Application do not describe and illustrate what structure(s) define the measurement unit. Rather, the specification merely repeats substantially the claimed language. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised as to what structures correspond to the claimed function. As a result of this deficiency, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-5 are rejected by virtue of their dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the output” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “output” recited previously.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “measurement unit for measuring the output of the induction heating” in line 6 and “measurement unit” in line 13. Claim limitations “measurement unit for measuring the output of the induction heating” and “measurement unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. See the Claim Interpretation section above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the specification of the Instant Application describes: “The measurement unit 150 measures the output of the induction heating by the heating unit 140 and provides a measurement result to the controller 160.” in Par.38. However, the structure of the measurement unit is not described in the specification. Furthermore, the drawings of the Instant Application use a rectangular box to represent the measurement unit, see the measurement unit 150 in Fig.1 of the drawings of the Instant Application. Therefore, the specification and drawings of the Instant Application do not describe and illustrate what structure(s) define the measurement unit. It is unclear how to determine the functional equivalents. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 2-5 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the ratio” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “ratio” recited previously.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the ratio” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “ratio” between the identified frequency band and a preset frequency band recited previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brosnan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0014647 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brosnan discloses an electric range (system 100, Brosnan Fig.1) comprising:
an inverter (inverter module 108, Brosnan Fig.1) for outputting high frequency power by switching direct current power according to a switching signal (switching control signals 132, Brosnan Fig.3 & Par.0029) to be inputted (Brosnan Par.0021 discloses: “The power source 102 also includes a conventional rectifier circuit for rectifying the power signal to provide a rectified power signal to resonant inverter module 108. The resonant inverter module 108 drives the induction heating coil 110 with high frequency current . This creates a magnetic field, which is magnetically coupled into the cooking vessel 112. The magnetic coupling, also referred to as eddy currents, inductively heats the pan 112 or other object placed on, over or near the induction heating coil 110.”, Brosnan Par.0029 discloses: “The resonant inventor module 108 is provided with switching devices Q1 and Q2, such as for example transistors, which provide power to the load, which in this example comprises the induction coil 110, and, if present, the pan 112 shown in FIG. 1. The controlled switching of the induction coil 110 provides high frequency current from the power supply 102. The directions indicated by A and B, are the directions of the current flow through the induction coil 110, as controlled by the switching of devices Q1 and Q2. In one embodiment, the controller 118 includes or is operatively coupled to a switching unit that provides the controlled switching of the devices Q1 and Q2 based on one or more switching control signals 132 from the controller 118.”, and Brosnan Par.0031 discloses: “When transistor Q1 is triggered on (and Q2 is off) positive voltage is applied to the heating coil 110. When transistor Q2 is triggered on (and Q1 is off) negative voltage is applied to the induction heating coil 110. This application of voltage will induce a current through the induction coil 110 in either direction A or B.”; therefore, the inverter module 108 for outputting high frequency power by switching direct current power according to switching signal to be inputted);
a heating unit (heating unit includes induction coil 110, Brosnan Fig.1) including a working coil (induction coil 110, Brosnan Fig.1) for performing induction heating by the high frequency power (Brosnan discloses the induction coil 110 for performing induction heating by the high frequency power because Brosnan Par.0021 discloses: “The resonant inverter module 108 drives the induction heating coil 110 with high frequency current. This creates a magnetic field, which is magnetically coupled into the cooking vessel 112. The magnetic coupling, also referred to as eddy currents, inductively heats the pan 112 or other object placed on, over or near the induction heating coil 110.”);
a measurement unit (sensor circuit 114, Brosnan Fig.1 & Par.0025) for measuring the output of the induction heating (Brosnan Par.0025 discloses: “A current detector in the form of a sensor circuit 114 senses the current supplied to the heating coil 110 by the inverter circuit 108. The sensor circuit 114 generally produces a signal representative of the current through a current transducer or a resistive shunt. The sensor circuit 114 is generally configured to produce a voltage output that is representative of the current flowing through the inverter circuit 108. The feedback circuit 116 is configured to amplify and condition the output from the sensor circuit 114 before sending it to the controller 118. Controller 18 processes the signal from feedback circuit 116 to generate information related to the current magnitude, pan presence, and proximity of the system to resonance (full power).”, and Brosnan Par.0039 identifies the output power delivered to pan 112. Therefore, the sensor circuit 114 for measuring the output of the induction heating.);
a controller (controller 118, Brosnan Fig.1); and
an output unit (“displays” of the user interface 120, Brosnan Fig.1 & Par.0024) for outputting a processing result of the controller (controller 118, Brosnan Fig.1) (Brosnan Par.0024 discloses: “The system 100 also includes a user interface 120 that is operatively connected to the controller 118. The user interface 120 can be integrated with the induction heating system 100, or located remotely from the induction heating system 100. In one embodiment, the user interface 120 can be coupled to the controller via a network or a wireless connection. The user interface 120 is generally configured to communicate information to the user and allow the user to provide commands and instructions to the system 100, such as a power level desired to be delivered to the pan 112. The user interface 120 can include various sensory input and feedback devices, including for example knobs, buttons, touchkeys, displays, meters, gauges, indicators, speakers, chimes and buzzers. Displays can include for example, liquid crystal display(s), touch screen display(s) or near touch display(s). Indicators can include lights, light emitting diode (LED) indicators, vacuum fluorescent displays (VFD's), organic light emitting diodes (OLED) and other discrete lighting and indicator devices. It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments to relay induction cooking related information to a user.”, Brosnan Par.0047 discloses: “The power and position information can be relayed to the user via the user interface 120.”, Brosnan Par.0048 discloses: “The information as to the placement, movement or shifting of the pan 112 on the induction coil 110 can be displayed to the user in any suitable fashion through the user interface 120. The information can be displayed as part of a one-time test mode, or in real time. For example, in one embodiment, the information is displayed to the user in real time and can include how much power is being delivered as well as power input, power output and efficiency, while the pan 112 is being shifted in order to determine optimal placement. In one embodiment, the controller 120 is configured to process the power input, power output and efficiency information while the pan 112 is being shifted and provide the user with an indication of the optimal placement of the pan 112.”, and Brosnan Par.0050 discloses: “the system 100 can include more than one induction coil 110. However, the total amount of power that the system 100 can deliver at one time is limited. Thus, in a situation where multiple induction coils 110 need to be run at substantially the same time, there can be a need to limit or alter the amount of power delivered to maintain the system 100 within an acceptable region. Here again, this information can be calculated by the controller 118 and presented to the user via the user interface 120.”),
wherein the controller (controller 118, Brosnan Fig.1) is configured to determine a frequency of the switching signal on the basis of target power to control the output of the working coil (induction coil 110, Brosnan Fig.1) (Brosnan Par.0023 discloses: “The frequency of the current supplied to the induction coil 110 by inverter module 108 and hence the output power of the induction coil 110 is controlled by controller 118 which controls the switching frequency of the inverter module 108. The controller 118 generally includes, is coupled to or is in communication with, one or more processors that are operable, inter alia, to determine and monitor the power being delivered to the pan 112.”, and Brosnan Par.0026 discloses: “ the controller 118 is operative to control the frequency of the power signal generated by inverter module 108 to operate the induction coil 110 at the power level corresponding to the setting selected by the user via the user interface 120. The controller 118 processes and analyzes the output from the feedback circuit 116 to determine, inter alia, the presence of a pan 112 on the induction coil 110, a size and type of the pan 112 and the appropriate frequency of the power circuit to drive the induction heating coil 110 at the user selected power setting. The controller 118 is configured to control power to the induction coil 110, which can include turning the power off, based on the determined size and type of pan 112, or lack thereof.”), identify a frequency band of the switching signal with respect to a target container (pan 112, Brosnan Fig.1) to be inductively heated (Brosnan Par.0025 discloses the controller 118 analyzes feedback across a frequency spectrum and determines the resonant frequency with the particular pan present, Brosnan Par.0052 discloses: “By analyzing the characteristics of the feedback signal 141 across a frequency spectrum, the disclosed embodiments can determine whether a cooking vessel is present on the induction heating coil 110, the size and type of the cooking vessel and the appropriate frequency required to drive the induction heating coil 110 at the user selected power setting. Also, operating at the resonant frequency is key to the optimal amount of power transfer from the induction coil 110 to the vessel 112 shown in FIG. 1. Analysis of the feedback signal 141 as a function of switching frequency can also be used to detect the resonant frequency of the system 100 with a vessel in position for heating.”, and Brosnan Fig.2 & Par.0027 discloses the associated desired operating frequency range, whose resonant boundary shifts depending on the pan-coil interaction.), generate suitability evaluation information about the container (pan 112, Brosnan Fig.1) on the basis of the identified frequency band and the output of the induction heating measured by the measurement unit (sensor circuit 114, Brosnan Fig.1) (Brosnan Pars.0038, 0041, 0044, 0055 explain in detail generate suitability evaluation information about the pan 112 on the basis of the identified frequency band and the output of the induction heating measured by the sensor circuit 114. In summary, Brosnan Par.0038 discloses using proximity of operating frequency to resonance as measure of efficiency; Brosnan Par.0041 discloses determining pan quality from power coupled to the pan at the operational frequency, relative to maximum system output; Brosnan Par.0044 discloses evaluating power delivered at the resonance imposed by the pan; and Brosnan Par.0055 explicitly links that determination to the pan quality features.), and then control that the information is outputted through the output unit (“displays” of the user interface 120, Brosnan Fig.1) (Brosnan Par.0041 discloses reporting whether the pan is suitable for induction cooking, Brosnan Par.0047 discloses: “The power and position information can be relayed to the user via the user interface 120.”, Brosnan Par.0048 discloses: “The information as to the placement, movement or shifting of the pan 112 on the induction coil 110 can be displayed to the user in any suitable fashion through the user interface 120. The information can be displayed as part of a one-time test mode, or in real time. For example, in one embodiment, the information is displayed to the user in real time and can include how much power is being delivered as well as power input, power output and efficiency, while the pan 112 is being shifted in order to determine optimal placement. In one embodiment, the controller 120 is configured to process the power input, power output and efficiency information while the pan 112 is being shifted and provide the user with an indication of the optimal placement of the pan 112.”, Brosnan Par.0050 discloses: “the system 100 can include more than one induction coil 110. However, the total amount of power that the system 100 can deliver at one time is limited. Thus, in a situation where multiple induction coils 110 need to be run at substantially the same time, there can be a need to limit or alter the amount of power delivered to maintain the system 100 within an acceptable region. Here again, this information can be calculated by the controller 118 and presented to the user via the user interface 120.”, and Brosnan Par.0053 & Fig.12 connects frequency determination, efficiency determination, and presentation of pan quality information.).
Regarding claim 5, Brosnan discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Brosnan also discloses further comprising:
an input unit (input device of the user interface 120, Brosnan Fig.1 & Par.0024) (Brosnan Par.0024 discloses: “The user interface 120 can include various sensory input and feedback devices, including for example knobs, buttons, touchkeys, displays, meters, gauges, indicators, speakers, chimes and buzzers.”) for receiving selection information for one of a plurality of cooking modes (Brosnan Par.0025 discloses: “the user interface 120 enables the user to establish the power output of the heating coil by selecting a power setting from a plurality of user selectable settings”), wherein the controller (controller 118, Brosnan Fig.1) generates suitability evaluation information about the container (pan 112, Brosnan Fig.1) (Brosnan Pars.0041, 0044-0047, 0055 disclose the controller 118 determines pan quality or compatibility and provides suitability feedback) based on the output of the induction heating (Brosnan Par.0041 discloses the pan quality is determined using power coupled to the pan at an operational frequency, and Brosnan Par.0055 discloses: “if special feature selected is the pan quality feature, the controller 118 determines the presence of the pan 112 on the inverter 110. One exemplary process of determining the presence of a pan 112 on the inverter is disclosed in the afore mentioned commonly owned U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/154,190 (GE 242578-1 US) entitled “INDUCTION COOKTOP PAN SENSING”. The controller 118 can determine what input power and/or output power is being delivered at the resonance that the pan 112 imposes on the system.”), the identified frequency band (Brosnan Par.0052 discloses: “By analyzing the characteristics of the feedback signal 141 across a frequency spectrum, the disclosed embodiments can determine whether a cooking vessel is present on the induction heating coil 110, the size and type of the cooking vessel and the appropriate frequency required to drive the induction heating coil 110 at the user selected power setting. Also, operating at the resonant frequency is key to the optimal amount of power transfer from the induction coil 110 to the vessel 112 shown in FIG. 1. Analysis of the feedback signal 141 as a function of switching frequency can also be used to detect the resonant frequency of the system 100 with a vessel in position for heating.”, and Brosnan Fig.2 & Par.0027 disclose the operating range as cited and explained in detail in the rejection of claim 1 above), and the selection information (Brosnan Par.0026 discloses: “the controller 118 is operative to control the frequency of the power signal generated by inverter module 108 to operate the induction coil 110 at the power level corresponding to the setting selected by the user via the user interface 120. The controller 118 processes and analyzes the output from the feedback circuit 116 to determine, inter alia, the presence of a pan 112 on the induction coil 110, a size and type of the pan 112 and the appropriate frequency of the power circuit to drive the induction heating coil 110 at the user selected power setting. The controller 118 is configured to control power to the induction coil 110, which can include turning the power off, based on the determined size and type of pan 112, or lack thereof.”; furthermore, Brosnan Par.0053 connects a desired power setting with determining operating frequency, efficiency, and displaying pan quality information, and Brosnan Par.0054 discloses user selects a burner power level and obtain pan quality feedback during cooking, specifically, Brosnan Par.0054 discloses: “The aspects of the disclosed embodiments allow the system 100 to be operated normally while cooking, but allow the user to cycle through and choose the various type of special feature feedback they desire. Thus, the user sets a burner to a certain power level, begins cooking and during cooking can change the feedback type, which is typically a standard power level, to features such as True Wattage Reading, Efficiency, Pan Quality, and Power Sharing between burners.”.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brosnan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0014647 A1) in view of Cingoski (NPL, “Determination of Output Characteristics of Quasi-Resonant Power Converter with Computer Simulation”, Published 2015).
Regarding claim 2, Brosnan discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Brosnan also discloses
wherein the controller (controller 118, Brosnan Fig.1) calculates output efficiency based on the ratio between the output of the induction heating and the target power (Brosnan Par.0040 discloses calculating the output efficiency from ratio of the output power to the input power (i.e., target power that is inputted)), calculates frequency efficiency (Brosnan Par.0038 discloses calculating the frequency efficiency), and generates suitability evaluation information about the target container (pan 112, Brosnan Fig.1) based on the output efficiency and the frequency efficiency (Brosnan Par.0041 discloses using efficiency to indicate cookware quality and report suitability, Brosnan Pars.0044 & 0055 disclose determining pan quality using power delivered at the pan imposed resonance, and Brosnan Par.0053 discloses connects operating frequency determination, efficiency determination, and output of pan quality information.).
Brosnan does not explicitly disclose:
calculates frequency efficiency based on the ratio between the identified frequency band and a preset frequency band
Cingoski teaches:
calculates frequency efficiency based on the ratio between the identified frequency band and a preset frequency band (Cingoski Fig.5a on page 170 teaches frequency efficiency based on the ratio between the identified frequency band and a preset frequency band, specifically, Cingoski Fig.5a shows plot of frequency efficiency against that frequency ratio)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brosnan, by adding the teaching of frequency efficiency based on the ratio between the identified frequency band and a preset frequency band, as taught by Cingoski, in order to provide a quantitative indication of how efficiently the cookware operates at the selected frequency, thereby helping the user select cookware that delivers the desired heating power with lower energy losses.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brosnan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0014647 A1) in view of Cingoski (NPL, “Determination of Output Characteristics of Quasi-Resonant Power Converter with Computer Simulation”, Published 2015), and further in view of Snowball (U.S. Patent No. 6,153,863 A).
Regarding claim 4, Brosnan in view of Cingoski teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the preset frequency band includes a frequency at which the inverter has minimum switching loss when the target container is inductively heated based on the target power.
Snowball teaches an electric range (Snowball Abstract):
wherein the preset frequency band (Snowball Col.4 lines 65-67 teaches: “SW1 and SW2 are controlled so that the cycle repeats at the resonant frequency of the heating coil L and capacitor C.”) includes a frequency at which the inverter has minimum switching loss when the target container is inductively heated based on the target power (Snowball Col.3 lines 17-20 teaches: “SW1 and SW2 are Switched at or near the resonant frequency of the tuned circuit LC, So that losses are kept to a minimum.”, and Snowball Col.3 lines 10-17 teaches: “a pan P is stood on the inductive heating coil Land the heating apparatus is energised. Initially C is discharged, however, when SW1 is closed C and C2 are charged from the supply through L. When C is fully charged SW1 opens and SW2 closes, whereupon C discharges through L and C1. This cycle is repeated continuously, thereby providing an alternating magnetic field in induction heating coil L.”, Snowball Col.3 lines 42-55 & Col.4 lines 1-11 teach potentiometer VR selects desired heat setting, power control circuit APC compares sensed feedback with that setting, and microprocessor M adjusts frequency, and Snowball Col.4 lines 65-67 teaches: “SW1 and SW2 are controlled so that the cycle repeats at the resonant frequency of the heating coil L and capacitor C.”; therefore, Snowball teaches the preset frequency band includes a frequency at which the inverter has minimum switching loss when the target container is inductively heated based on the target power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brosnan in view of Cingoski, by adding the teaching of the preset frequency band includes a frequency at which the inverter has minimum switching loss when the target container is inductively heated based on the target power, as taught by Snowball, in order to provide a reference associated with efficient inverter operation, thereby helping the user identify cookware suitable for energy efficient heating at the selected power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Brosnan in view of Cingoski teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the controller inputs the output efficiency and the frequency efficiency into a data table that includes a plurality of output efficiency values and a plurality of frequency efficiency values as factors and stores a plurality of result values corresponding to the factors, so as to generate result values corresponding to the output efficiency and the frequency efficiency, among the plurality of result values, as suitability evaluation information about the target container.
Additionally, the prior art Kim et al. (KR 20190101824 A, Translation is attached) discloses an electric range comprising a controller inputs equivalent resistance value and equivalent impedance value into a data table that includes a plurality of equivalent resistance values and a plurality of equivalent impedance values as factors and stores a plurality of result values corresponding to the factors, so as to generate result values corresponding to the output, among the plurality of result values, as suitability evaluation information about the target container. However, Kim does not disclose the output efficiency and the frequency efficiency as two input values included in the data table.
Furthermore, the prior art Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 20140300317 A1) discloses an electric range comprising a table data associates detected frequency, charging efficiency, and a displayed rating. The controller derives efficiency from detected frequency and reports it to the user. However, frequency is used to derive efficiency; two independently calculated efficiencies are not used together as lookup inputs.
Accordingly, when consider the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, Applicant(s)’ claim 3 also encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 3: “wherein the controller inputs the output efficiency and the frequency efficiency into a data table that includes a plurality of output efficiency values and a plurality of frequency efficiency values as factors and stores a plurality of result values corresponding to the factors, so as to generate result values corresponding to the output efficiency and the frequency efficiency, among the plurality of result values, as suitability evaluation information about the target container”.
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Park (U.S. Patent No. 9,474,106 B2) discloses an apparatus and method of controlling a heating element of an electric range. The apparatus for controlling a heating element of an electric range includes: a plurality of heating elements; an input unit to which an output adjustment value for each of the plurality of heating elements is input from a user; a calculation unit that calculates the sum of output power of each heating element corresponding to the output adjustment value input by the input unit; and a controller that compares the sum of output power calculated by the calculation unit with a predetermined power limit and linearly controls output of each heating element based on a result of comparison.
Brasseur et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0242238 A1) discloses a method for checking an ideal position of a cooking pot above an induction coil of an induction cooking hob. Further, Brasseur also discloses an induction cooking hob including a system for checking an ideal position of a cooking pot above an induction coil of said induction cooking hob.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/16/2026