DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 11/30/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 5 have been canceled; claims 6 – 10 have newly added. Claims 6 – 10 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is repeat word “terminal” in line 2. It should be changed to “base station” (see claim 6). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (hereinafter “Wu”) (EP 2,211,573 A1) in view of Di Girolamo et al. (hereinafter “Di Girolamo”) (Pub # US 2024/0187140 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Wu discloses a method for a terminal apparatus (i.e., WCD/UE, see FIG. 5A) in for communicating with a base station apparatus (i.e., a network backbone, see FIG. 5A), the method comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the base station apparatus (see S500 in FIG. 5A, [0046] for the network backbone sends the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControllnformation message to the WCD, thus the WCD receives); and
resuming a radio bearer based at least on that the RRC reconfiguration message is the first RRC reconfiguration message received after successful completion of an RRC reestablishment procedure (see S504 – S512 in FIG. 5A, sere [0046] for radio bearer resumption, and see [0047] – [0049] for the WCD determines the received RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is the first received RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControllnformation message after successful completion of the RRC connection re-establishment, the WCD resumes the suspended signaling radio bearer, i.e., SRB2 and the suspended data radio bearers, i.e., DRBs).
Wu does not disclose the radio bearer for a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS).
In an analogous art, Di Girolamo discloses the Wireless communication device or the WTRU/UE (102 in Fig. 1B) include processor (118) and a transceiver (120) including transmit/receive elements (122) for receiving wireless signals and MBS is offered over new radio, which includes protocols for coordinating the mobility of the WTRU (see Di Girolamo, [0002], [0168]). Di Girolamo also discloses the radio bearer for the MBS (see Di Girolamo, [0004] for the WTRU configured to receive multiplexed MBS services via one or more MBS radio bearers (MRB) and/or one or more unicast data radio bearers (DRBs), see embodiment 61 in [0351] – [0353] for resume PDCP entity radio bearers of the inactive MBS session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Wu, and have the radio bearer for a Multicast Broadcast Service, as taught by Di Girolamo, such that provides efficiently multiplex MBS services and improves the reliability of MBS transmissions, as discussed by Di Girolamo (see Di Girolamo, [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses a base station apparatus (i.e., a network backbone, see FIG. 5A) for communicating with a terminal apparatus (i.e., WCD/UE, see FIG. 5A), the base station apparatus comprising:
transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message to the terminal apparatus (see S500 in FIG. 5A, [0046] for the network backbone sends, thus transmits, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControllnformation message to the WTRU); and
cause the terminal apparatus to resume a radio bearer for a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) based at least on that the RRC reconfiguration message is the first RRC reconfiguration message received after successful completion of an RRC reestablishment procedure(see S504 – S512 in FIG. 5A, sere [0046] for radio bearer resumption, and see [0047] – [0049] for the WCD determines whether (thus cause the WCD to determine) the received RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is the first received RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControllnformation message after successful completion of the RRC connection re-establishment, then the WCD resumes the suspended signaling radio bearer, i.e., SRB2 and the suspended data radio bearers, i.e., DRBs).
Wu does not disclose the radio bearer for a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS).
In an analogous art, Di Girolamo discloses the base station (114 in Fig. 1A, see [0149], [0154], [0168]) includes processor (91) and a transmitter (i.e., communication circuitry, alone or in combination with the processor, is used to perform the transmitting and receiving), and MBS is offered over new radio, which includes protocols for coordinating the mobility of the WTRU (see Di Girolamo, [0002], [0168]). Di Girolamo also discloses the radio bearer for the MBS (see Di Girolamo, [0004] for the WTRU configured to receive multiplexed MBS services via one or more MBS radio bearers (MRB) and/or one or more unicast data radio bearers (DRBs), see embodiment 61 in [0351] – [0353] for resume PDCP entity radio bearers of the inactive MBS session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Wu, and have the radio bearer for a Multicast Broadcast Service, as taught by Di Girolamo, such that provides efficiently multiplex MBS services and improves the reliability of MBS transmissions, as discussed by Di Girolamo (see Di Girolamo, [0002]).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Wu in view of Di Girolamo disclose wherein delivery mode 1 is defined for the radio bearer for the MBS, and the delivery mode 1 is used for delivery of multicast (see Di Girolamo, [0197]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Wu, and have delivery mode 1 is defined for the radio bearer for the MBS, and the delivery mode 1 is used for delivery of multicast such that provides high QoS (reliability, latency) requirement, as discussed by Di Girolamo (see Di Girolamo, [0197]).
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645