DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Table 3 in para 89, the text is blurry and unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 20 , and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the…alkyne monomer unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites a “TGTB’…TGTGTG or TG’TG’TG’ conformation...” However, it is unclear what the symbols of “T” and “G” represent. It appears “T” stands for “trans” and “G” stands for “gauche.”
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the…vinylfluoride monomer unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites a “TGTB’…TGTGTG or TG’TG’TG’ conformation...” However, it is unclear what the symbols of “T” and “G” represent. It appears “T” stands for “trans” and “G” stands for “gauche.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-21, and 24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/116618 A1 in which US 2023/0022870 A1 to Domingues Dos Santos et al. is used below as the US Equivalent. (hereinafter Santos).
Regarding claims 1-8, 11-21, and 24 , Santos teaches a P(VDF-TrFE-CFE) terpolymer with a molar composition of 66/27/7 (para 196), is dissolved in DMSO and mixed with triethylamine (TEA) and reacted to form a content of 1.9 mol% or 2.5 mol% of double bonds in the terpolymer as shown by Ramen spectrum shown signals of the -C=C- double bond and -CF=CH- (para 196-201), which meets the claimed fluorinated alkyne of claims 1 and 14, i.e. FA. Santos further teaches the mol% of ethylenic units ranges from preferable 1-2 mol% in the P(VDF-TrFE-CFE) terpolymer (para 102 and 104). The resulting terpolymer would be P(VDF-TrFE-CFE-FA), in a molar ratio of 66/27/5.1/1.9 and meets the claimed VDF, TrFE, and CFE mol% amounts in claims 2-7 and 15-20. Santos further teaches the polymers are crystalline and relaxor ferroelectric (para 124) can be formulated in a composition, exhibits electrocaloric effect, and formed into a film that can be stretched 10-700% to increase crystallinity, and can be formed to a thickness of 1-100 microns, preferably 1-10 micron for optimum electrocaloric effect. (para 155-169) and specifically 14 microns thick. (para 191).
In regard to the claimed properties of thickness strain, trans or TG conformation, elastic modulus, actuation, strain response, electromechanical coupling factor, and/or piezoelectric coefficient, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polymer composition of Santos to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Santos teaches a substantially identical P(VDF-TrFE-CFE-FA) terpolymer, in mol% all within the claimed ratio, specifically 1.9 mol% of the double bond, i.e. FA, and similarly, the Applicant teaches the same P(VDF-TrFE-CFE-FA) terpolymer and mol% ranges, and the Applicant further states in their specification that it is the addition of the FA at 1.9 mol% in the P(VDF-TrFE-CFE-FA) terpolymer that results having all the claimed properties, and these properties are also directly related to the configuration of all-trans bonds, and/or TGTG’ bonds. (See para 56, 77, 78, 84-86, Table 1 and 2, of Applicant’s US publication). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766