DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 5-20 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 are being examined in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I invention (Claims 1-4) and species of SEQ ID NO:1, without a co-stimulatory domain, IL7Rα and TIM-3 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026.
Priority
This application is filed under 35 U.S.C 371 of PCT/US2022/073079 (filed on 06/22/2022), which claims priority to US provisional applications 63/332,060 (filed on 04/18/2022), 63/214,433 (filed on 06/24/2021) and 63/213,960 (filed on 06/23/2021).
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/30/2023, 7/22/2024 and 02/02/26 have been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(b) Rejection
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “an amino acid sequence selected…” which recitation renders the claim indefinite since “an” AA sequence can read on any fragment of the recited SEQ ID NOs. It is suggested to change the term “an” to “the”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Chaudhary et al
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chaudhary et al (WO 2020/028444; 2/6/2020; filed on 7/30/2019 or earlier).
The instant claims recite “A chimeric receptor comprising an extracellular domain of TIM-3, LAG-3, DR5, or CD112R and an intracellular domain of a pro-inflammatory interleukin and/or a co-stimulatory domain.”
Chaudhary et al, throughout the publication, teach various chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising domains from different proteins (e.g. Abstract; Claims). The reference teaches a CAR comprising DR5 as the extracellular domain, and CD27 or OX40 as the co-stimulatory domain (e.g. [0013]). The reference also teaches a CAR with DR5 and CD27 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2435 (e.g. Claim 47; [0013]), which SEQ ID NO:2435 contains the same exact sequence as the instant SEQ ID NO:30. Thus the reference’s teaching read on the instant claims 1, 3 and 4.
Jarjour et al
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jarjour et al (US 2019/0241910; 8/8/2019; filed on 3/10/2017 or earlier; cited in IDS).
Jarjour et al, throughout the publication, teach various chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising domains from different proteins (e.g. [0008]).
For claim 1, the reference teaches “flip receptor” comprising exodomain (i.e. extracellular domain), intracellular, and co-stimulatory signaling domain (e.g. [0051]). The reference teaches the “exodomain” can be Lag-3, TIM-3 (e.g. [0053]), and the co-stimulatory signaling domain can be CD28 or CD27, or CD278 (ICOS) or CD134 (OX40) (e.g. 0058)).
For claim 2, the reference teaches “flip receptor” with exodomain of LAG-3 or TIM-3 extracellular ligand binding domain (e.g. [0411]-[0412]), and endodomains (i.e. intracellular domain) of the flip receptor maybe IL-7 receptor (e.g. [0418]), which the IL-7 receptor encompasses alpha and gamma subunits, as evidenced by McElroy et al. (PNAS. Vol.109(7): 2503-2508; 2012). Thus, one of skilled in the art would immediately envisage either the IL-7 receptor alpha or the gamma subunit endodomain is used to generate the flip receptor since it is one of the two choices.
For claim 3, the reference teaches co-stimulatory signaling domain can be CD28 or CD27, or CD278 (ICOS) or CD134 (OX40) (e.g. 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Jarjour and Chaudhary
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jarjour et al (US 2019/0241910; 8/8/2019; filed on 3/10/2017 or earlier; cited in IDS), in view of Chaudhary et al (WO 2020/028444; 2/6/2020; filed on 7/30/2019 or earlier).
Jarjour et al, throughout the publication, teach various chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising domains from different proteins (e.g. [0008]), as discussed supra.
Jarjour et al do not explicitly teach the chimeric receptor has the amino acid sequence selected from SEQ ID NO: 1 to 32 as recited in claim 4.
However, Chaudhary et al, throughout the publication, teach various chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising domains from different proteins (e.g. Abstract; Claims). The reference teaches a CAR comprising DR5 as the extracellular domain, and CD27 or OX40 as the co-stimulatory domain (e.g. [0013]). The reference also teaches a CAR with DR5 and CD27 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2435 (e.g. Claim 47; [0013]), which SEQ ID NO:2435 contains the same exact sequence as the instant SEQ ID NO:30.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a CAR with the DR5 extracellular domain and CD27 intracellular domain with the specific sequence of SEQ ID NO: 30, because Chaudhary teaches various CAR of various sequences are routine and known in the art.
In addition, because both the Jarjour and Chaudhary references teach making various chimeric receptors by combining extracellular domains, intracellular domain, and co-stimulatory signaling domain from various known proteins, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one protein domain for another (such as IL-7Rα) to achieve the predictably result of generating chimeric receptors with desired functions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success of achieving such modifications since both cited references have demonstrated generating various chimeric receptors using domains of various proteins.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 19/611,925 in view of Jarjour et al (US 2019/0241910; 8/8/2019; filed on 3/10/2017 or earlier; cited in IDS), and Chaudhary et al (WO 2020/028444; 2/6/2020; filed on 7/30/2019 or earlier).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The reference application claims the followings:
A chimeric receptor that binds CD 112, wherein the chimeric receptor comprises a CD112R extracellular domain (ECD).
4. (Original) The chimeric receptor of claim 1, wherein the chimeric receptor comprises an intracellular or transmembrane co-stimulatory signaling motif.
5. (Original) The chimeric receptor of claim 4, wherein the intracellular or transmembrane co-stimulatory signaling motif comprises of CD28, 41BB, OX40, Myd88, ICOS, CD2, CD226, BAFF-R, TACI, CD3( or IL2RB.
26. (Currently amended) The pharmaceutical composition of any of claims 23-24 claim 23,further comprising: an antagonist of PD-1, PD-Ll, CTLA-4, Lag-3, TIM-3, TIGIT, CD96, PVRL1, PVRL2, PVRL3, PVRL4, CD155, CD47, CD39 and/or IL-27 and/or an agonist of OX40, CD28, CD40L, LFA-1, ICOS, and/or 4-1BB.
The reference application does not claim the intracellular domains are from IL-7Rα, and the co-stimulatory signaling domain is from CD27.
However, Chaudhary et al, throughout the publication, teach various chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising domains from different proteins (e.g. Abstract; Claims). The reference teaches a CAR comprising DR5 as the extracellular domain, and CD27 or OX40 as the co-stimulatory domain (e.g. [0013]). The reference also teaches a CAR with DR5 and CD27 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2435 (e.g. Claim 47; [0013]), which SEQ ID NO:2435 contains the same exact sequence as the instant SEQ ID NO:30.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a CAR with the DR5 extracellular domain and CD27 intracellular domain with the specific sequence of SEQ ID NO: 30, because Chaudhary teaches various CAR of various sequences are routine and known in the art.
In addition, because both the Jarjour and Chaudhary references teach making various chimeric receptors by combining extracellular domains, intracellular domain, and co-stimulatory signaling domain from various known proteins, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one protein domain for another (such as IL-7Rα) to achieve the predictably result of generating chimeric receptors with desired functions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success of achieving such modifications since both cited references have demonstrated generating various chimeric receptors using domains of various proteins.
Allowable Subject Matter
The amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1-29, and 31-32 are free of prior art searched.
Conclusion and Correspondence
No claims are allowed.
/SUE X LIU/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616