DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-11, 13-14, 19, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200337641 A1) in view of Riviere et al. (US 20210137421 A1, as cited by applicant’s IDS filed 12/15/2023), hereinafter Riviere in view of Gupta et al. (US 20190212323 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a detection apparatus for placement on an investigation zone (97) of an epidermis of a human or animal subject (title), said detection apparatus (100) comprising: a structure defining a microfluidic circuit (8) ([0012]: “a flexible microfluidic device of the flexible epidermal microfluidic platform”, Fig 1A, elements 120-125), the structure comprising an entry orifice (4) allowing passage of sweat from the epidermis ([0046]: “inlets 124”), the microfluidic circuit (8) comprising at least one microfluidic channel (9) for guiding a flow of sweat (98) ([0044]: “includes a channel 121 that spans across at least a portion of the second flexible layer 1”, [0047-0049]: “controlling inflow and outflow of biofluids, such as sweat… Next, the fluid travels through the channel 121”) the microfluidic channel (9) being in communication with the entry orifice (4) ([0046]: “the inlets 124 can be connected to the channel 121 by tributary channels that span off of the channel 121 to the inlets 124”), at least one electrochemical sensor (10) ([0047]: “the electrodes are provided for analyte detection”) configured to produce at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of a biomarker ([0115]: “provide temporal evaluation of sweat biomarker concentrations”) dissolved in the flow of sweat (98) in the microfluidic channel (9) ([0045]: “is configured to align the flexible layer 110 and the second flexible layer 120 such that the two or more electrodes 111 and the reference electrode 112 of the flexible layer 110 are aligned with the reservoir 123”), wherein the electrochemical sensor (10) comprises at least four electrodes ([0010]: "electrochemical system that can include… four electrode") disposed successively in a longitudinal direction of the microfluidic channel (9) (Fig 1A elements 112, 111A, and 111B, consistent with Fig 11 of applicant’s specification), the at least four electrodes comprising a reference electrode (21), a working electrode, and a counter-electrode (30) ([0042]: "a working electrode, counter electrode and reference electrode") wherein the electrochemical sensor is further configured to perform at least one additional operation from among the following: depleting a chemical species in the flow of sweat in the microfluidic channel (9), said chemical species having an oxidation potential lower than the oxidation potential of nitric oxide, and producing a signal that is representative of a flow rate of the flow of sweat in the microfluidic channel (9) ([0101]: “After 12 min, the sensing chamber was completely filled, and as predicted in the theoretical calculations for the 4 inlet system (FIG. 2A), the sweat reached the outlet within less than 15 min. Considering the total empty (void) volume of the example device (e.g., 8.72 μL) and the time to complete reservoir filling (e.g., 13.4 min), the actual sweat flow rate was experimentally estimated to be 0.66 μL/min; e.g., assuming 4 sweat pores in each inlet, the minimum flow rate per gland was estimated to be 0.04 μL/min”).
Wang fails to disclose detecting at least nitric oxide dissolved in sweat and producing at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of a nitric oxide. Wang additionally fails to specify two working electrodes.
Riviere discloses a detection apparatus for placement on an investigation zone of an epidermis (abstract) detecting at least nitric oxide dissolved in sweat ([0061]: “conveying the sweat produced in the investigation zone to the sensing element 5 so that the nitric oxide dissolved therein is detected”) and producing at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of a nitric oxide ([0028]: “containing electronics for receiving the raw measurements from the electrochemical sensor, converting them into an NO concentration”), and two working electrodes ([0018]: “as electrolyte between two work electrodes”).
As Wang discloses a wide variety of biomarkers ([0183]: “electrolyte, glucose, lactate, a pro-inflammatory cytokine, an anti-inflammatory cytokine, a catecholamine, a neuropeptide, and/or a protein.”), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to expand the biomarkers detected by Wang to include detection of nitric oxide dissolved in sweat as disclosed by Riviere in order to obtain a more robust data set. Additionally, as Wang discloses that four or more electrodes may be used ([0052]) but does not specify how many are working electrodes, it would have been obvious to modify the two electrodes to working electrodes as disclosed by Riviere in order to further clarify the number of working electrodes and obtain multiple analyte measurements (Riviere [0067]: “several sensing units advantageously makes it possible to obtain a cutaneous map of NO production within the zone covered”).
Wang as modified by Riviere fails to disclose wherein the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to produce the signal that is representative of the flow rate by measuring a delay (At) between a variation in current in a first one of the at least two working electrodes (20) and a variation in current in a second one of the at least two working electrodes (23).
Gupta discloses wherein an electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to produce the signal that is representative of the flow rate by measuring a delay (At) between a variation in current in a first one of the at least two working electrodes (20) and a variation in current in a second one of the at least two working electrodes (23) ([0120]: “Predictable dead-time and/or time constants associated with each of the two electrodes are used within an algorithmic framework in order to correct or reconcile the temporal response (delay and lag) mismatch between the two (or more) electrodes, and thereby enable more accurate computation of glucose through the differential (ratiometric) computational methods applied to the signals from the electrodes.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the sensor disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere to produce the signal that is representative of the flow rate by measuring a delay (At) between a variation in current in a first one of the at least two working electrodes (20) and a variation in current in a second one of the at least two working electrodes as disclosed by Gupta in order to enable a more accurate computation of the target analyte by accounting by time constraints (Gupta [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses in which the structure is a multilayer structure (1) (Fig 1A) comprising a lower layer (3) (Fig 1A element 130) and at least one layer atop the lower layer (3) ((Fig 1A element 129), the microfluidic circuit (8) extending parallel to the lower layer (3) (Fig 1A), and the lower layer (3) comprising said entry orifice (Fig 1A elements 130 connected to 124, [0048]: “one or more holes 131 that align with the one or more inlets 124 of the flexible layer 120”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang further discloses the multilayer structure (1) comprises an upper layer (7) (Fig 1A element 110) and at least one middle layer (6) situated between the lower layer (3) and the upper layer (7) (Fig 1A element 120), the microfluidic circuit (8) being formed in a thickness of the at least one middle layer (6) (Fig 1A element 120).
Regarding claim 4, Wang further discloses in which the at least one middle layer comprises a first middle layer (6) (Fig 1A element 120) and a second, sealing middle layer (26) situated between the first middle layer (6) and the upper layer (7) ([0067]: “A second layer of polyimide of the same thickness as the bottom layer was placed on the sensor/interconnect layer on a neutral mechanical plane, as depicted in FIG. 1D.”), the second, sealing middle layer (26) comprising an opening (28) at the electrodes (Fig 1D).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses in which the multilayer structure (1) comprises an upper layer (7) (Fig 1A element 120) and an outlet orifice (13) traversing the upper layer (7), in which the at least one microfluidic channel (9) is in communication with the outlet orifice (13) ([0130]: “through the opposing end of the channel 121 and exits the device through the one or more outlets 125.”).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses in which the at least four electrodes are disposed on an inner face of the upper layer (7) closing the microfluidic channel (9) at a top and/or on an upper face of the lower layer (3) closing the microfluidic channel (9) at a bottom (Fig 1A, elements 111A and 111B on 110).
Regarding claim 8, Wang further discloses in the direction of the flow (98), the at least four electrodes comprise in succession the first working electrode (20) for measuring the concentration of nitric oxide, the second working electrode (23) for measuring the concentration of nitric oxide (Fig 1B, as modified by Riviere) , and the counter- electrode, the reference electrode (21) being placed at a position immediately upstream of the first working electrode (20) or immediately downstream of the second working electrode (23) (Fig 1B).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further discloses in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to produce a signal that is representative of instantaneous production of nitric oxide in the investigation zone (97) on the basis of the signal that is representative of the concentration of nitric oxide and of the signal that is representative of the flow rate of the flow of sweat (98) ([0111]: “low flow rate detection of sweat metabolites. Flow injection analysis under slow injection conditions (20 μL/min) included: (A) Glucose detection profile (i) calibration curve and (ii) minimum detected concentration (50 μM).”, as modified by Riviere to include nitric oxide).
Regarding claim 11, Wang further discloses in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to produce the signal that is representative of the concentration of nitric oxide by an electrical, especially amperometric, measurement between at least one of said working electrodes (20, 23) and the counter-electrode (30). ([0113]: “example real-time on-body amperometric response for sweat metabolites using an example flexible epidermal microfluidic device in accordance with the present technology”, wherein the microfluidic device includes a working, reference, and counter electrode).
Regarding claim 13, Riviere discloses in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to produce a signal that is representative of a concentration in the flow of sweat of at least one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide and peroxynitrite, dissolved in sweat ([0074]: “will detect nitrite contained in the sweat”).
Regarding claim 14, Wang further discloses which the electrochemical sensor (10) comprises a third working electrode (25) between the first or second working electrode (20, 23) and the counter-electrode for measuring the chemical compound.
Regarding claim 19, Wang further discloses in which the microfluidic circuit (8) comprises a plurality of microfluidic channels (9) each guiding a flow of sweat, which are connected in derivation from one another to the entry orifice (4) (Fig 1A in which there are branches to the channels).
Regarding claim 24, Wang discloses a communication device (17) configured to transmit one or more measurement signals produced by the detection apparatus (100) to a storage or post-processing apparatus. ([0057]: “and a wireless communications unit to wirelessly transmit the processed signals to an external device.”).
Claim(s) 7 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Riviere in further view of Simons et al. (US 20190260053 A1), hereinafter Simons.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses a detection apparatus for placement on an investigation zone (97) of an epidermis of a human or animal subject (title), said detection apparatus (100) comprising: a structure defining a microfluidic circuit (8) ([0012]: “a flexible microfluidic device of the flexible epidermal microfluidic platform”, Fig 1A, elements 120-125), the structure comprising an entry orifice (4) allowing passage of sweat from the epidermis ([0046]: “inlets 124”), the microfluidic circuit (8) comprising at least one microfluidic channel (9) for guiding a flow of sweat (98) ([0044]: “includes a channel 121 that spans across at least a portion of the second flexible layer 1”, [0047-0049]: “controlling inflow and outflow of biofluids, such as sweat… Next, the fluid travels through the channel 121”) the microfluidic channel (9) being in communication with the entry orifice (4) ([0046]: “the inlets 124 can be connected to the channel 121 by tributary channels that span off of the channel 121 to the inlets 124”), at least one electrochemical sensor (10) ([0047]: “the electrodes are provided for analyte detection”) configured to produce at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of a biomarker ([0115]: “provide temporal evaluation of sweat biomarker concentrations”) dissolved in the flow of sweat (98) in the microfluidic channel (9) ([0045]: “is configured to align the flexible layer 110 and the second flexible layer 120 such that the two or more electrodes 111 and the reference electrode 112 of the flexible layer 110 are aligned with the reservoir 123”), wherein the electrochemical sensor (10) comprises at least four electrodes ([0010]: "electrochemical system that can include… four electrode") disposed successively in a longitudinal direction of the microfluidic channel (9) (Fig 1A elements 112, 111A, and 111B, consistent with Fig 11 of applicant’s specification), the at least four electrodes comprising a reference electrode (21), a working electrode, and a counter-electrode (30) ([0042]: "a working electrode, counter electrode and reference electrode") wherein the electrochemical sensor is further configured to perform at least one additional operation from among the following: depleting a chemical species in the flow of sweat in the microfluidic channel (9), said chemical species having an oxidation potential lower than the oxidation potential of nitric oxide, and producing a signal that is representative of a flow rate of the flow of sweat in the microfluidic channel (9) ([0101]: “After 12 min, the sensing chamber was completely filled, and as predicted in the theoretical calculations for the 4 inlet system (FIG. 2A), the sweat reached the outlet within less than 15 min. Considering the total empty (void) volume of the example device (e.g., 8.72 μL) and the time to complete reservoir filling (e.g., 13.4 min), the actual sweat flow rate was experimentally estimated to be 0.66 μL/min; e.g., assuming 4 sweat pores in each inlet, the minimum flow rate per gland was estimated to be 0.04 μL/min”).
Wang fails to disclose detecting at least nitric oxide dissolved in sweat and producing at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of a nitric oxide. Wang additionally fails to specify two working electrodes.
Riviere discloses a detection apparatus for placement on an investigation zone of an epidermis (abstract) detecting at least nitric oxide dissolved in sweat ([0061]: “conveying the sweat produced in the investigation zone to the sensing element 5 so that the nitric oxide dissolved therein is detected”) and producing at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of a nitric oxide ([0028]: “containing electronics for receiving the raw measurements from the electrochemical sensor, converting them into an NO concentration”), and two working electrodes ([0018]: “as electrolyte between two work electrodes”).
As Wang discloses a wide variety of biomarkers ([0183]: “electrolyte, glucose, lactate, a pro-inflammatory cytokine, an anti-inflammatory cytokine, a catecholamine, a neuropeptide, and/or a protein.”), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to expand the biomarkers detected by Wang to include detection of nitric oxide dissolved in sweat as disclosed by Riviere in order to obtain a more robust data set. Additionally, as Wang discloses that four or more electrodes may be used ([0052]) but does not specify how many are working electrodes, it would have been obvious to modify the two electrodes to working electrodes as disclosed by Riviere in order to further clarify the number of working electrodes and obtain multiple analyte measurements (Riviere [0067]: “several sensing units advantageously makes it possible to obtain a cutaneous map of NO production within the zone covered”).
Wang as modified by Riviere fails to disclose a working electrode in the form of a depletion electrode.
Simons discloses a working electrode in the form of a depletion electrode ([0063]: “one fuel component is depleted at the electrode while the other component diffuses to the lower layers of the cell.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the first working electrode disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere to the depletion electrode as disclosed by Simons in order to ensure that the electrode are selective to the target analyte (Simons [0063]: “there may be a need to separate the oxidant from the reductant or otherwise ensure that each electrode is selective to one component in the presence of the other”).
Regarding claim 26, Wang further discloses in which at least four electrodes comprise in succession, in the direction of the flow , the depletion electrode (as modified by Simons above), the second working electrode (23) for measuring the concentration of nitric oxide (Fig 1E, as modified by Riviere), and the counter-electrode (Fig 1E 2, wherein the counter electrode is downstream of the working electrode), the reference electrode (21) being placed at a position immediately upstream of the first working electrode (20) (Fig 1E 3, wherein the reference electrode is upstream of the working electrode) or immediately downstream of the second working electrode (23).
Claim(s) 12, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Riviere in further view of Marquant et al. (US 20200140914 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified by Riviere discloses the detection apparition of claim 1 but fails to disclose in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes (20, 23) to an electrical potential for oxidation of nitric oxide.
Marquant discloses in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes (20, 23) ([0145]: “the polarity is polarizing the enzyme containing electrode positively.”) to an electrical potential for oxidation of nitric oxide ([0141]: “nitrosoaniline gets reduced to a phenylene-diamine, which than can be oxidized on the positive polarized electrode”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to apply the electrochemical sensor configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes to an electrical potential for oxidation of a compound disclosed by Marquant to the electrochemical sensor detecting nitric oxide as disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere in order to improve differentiation of the detected molecule (Marquant [0145]).
Regarding claim 18 Wang as modified by Riviere discloses the detection apparition of claim 1 but fails to disclose in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes (20, 23) during a determined time with a periodic recurrence.
Marquant discloses in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes (20, 23) ([0145]: “the polarity is polarizing the enzyme containing electrode positively.”) during a determined time with a periodic recurrence. ([0141]: “In a first part of the test sequence (1000 ms-4000 ms… a third amperometric step (7000 ms-10000 ms in FIG. 8), the reversed polarity is applied”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to apply the electrochemical sensor configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes to an electrical potential for oxidation of a compound disclosed by Marquant to the electrochemical sensor detecting nitric oxide as disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere in order to improve differentiation of the detected molecule (Marquant [0145]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang as modified by Riviere discloses in which the plurality of microfluidic channels (9) comprises an additional microfluidic channel (9) comprising an electrochemical sensor (10) (Fig 1A element 121), the electrochemical sensor (10) comprising at least three electrodes disposed successively in a longitudinal direction of the additional microfluidic channel (9) (Fig 1E 2 and 3), the at least three electrodes comprising a reference electrode (21) (Fig 1E 3 element 156), a counter- electrode (30) (Fig 1E 2 element 154) and at least one working electrode (Fig 1E 2 element 152). They fails to disclose the additional electrochemical sensor (10) being configured to polarize the electrodes to an electrical potential for oxidation of a chemical compound selected from nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide and peroxynitrite and being configured to produce at least one signal that is representative of a concentration of said chemical compound dissolved in a flow of sweat in the additional microfluidic channel (9).
Marquant discloses in which the electrochemical sensor (10) is configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes (20, 23) ([0145]: “the polarity is polarizing the enzyme containing electrode positively.”) to an electrical potential for oxidation of nitric oxide ([0141]: “nitrosoaniline gets reduced to a phenylene-diamine, which than can be oxidized on the positive polarized electrode”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to apply the electrochemical sensor configured to polarize at least one of said working electrodes to an electrical potential for oxidation of a compound disclosed by Marquant to the electrochemical sensor detecting nitric oxide as disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere in order to improve differentiation of the detected molecule (Marquant [0145]).
Claim(s) 15-17 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Riviere in further view of Sehgal et al. (US 20230014592 A1), hereinafter Sehgal.
Regarding claim 15, Wang as modified by Riviere discloses the detection apparatus of claim 1 but fails to disclose a colorimetric detection device (18) connected to the channel (9) downstream of the electrochemical sensor (10), the colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a hydrophilic porous body impregnated with a chemical reagent capable of reacting with one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide, peroxynitrite, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitric oxide, carbon monoxide and hypochlorous acid, dissolved in sweat, so as to provide a colored indicator indicating a quantity of said chemical compound in the flow of sweat (98).
Seghal discloses a colorimetric detection device ([0031]: “at least two quantitative inorganic colorimetric determinations of respective preselected inorganic units or compounds”) (18) connected to the channel (9) downstream of the electrochemical sensor ([0191-0192]: “the microfluidic channel arrangement comprises at least one microfluidic furcated channel branching at least a first branch and a second branch… Each of the first branch and second branch may comprise a first reaction site downstream from the inlet and a second reaction site downstream”) (10), the colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a hydrophilic porous body impregnated with a chemical reagent ([0127-0128]: “The support disc may be of any material capable of supporting the chemical(s) for the reagent disc… support disc may advantageously have a mean pore size of 1 μm or less, such as a mean pore size of 0.8 μm or less, such as a mean pore size of 0.5 μm or less.”) capable of reacting with one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide, peroxynitrite, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitric oxide, carbon monoxide and hypochlorous acid, dissolved in sweat ([0058]: “the inorganic colorimetric determinations comprise a determination of at least one of the inorganic units… nitrite,”), so as to provide a colored indicator indicating a quantity of said chemical compound in the flow of sweat (98) ([0102]: “The color parameter may represent a ratio of activities of chromoionophores and/or ionophore versus. The concentration of the target ion of the inorganic unit and/or in the sample.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the detection apparatus disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere to include the colorimetric sensor disclosed by Seghal in order to allow for visualization of invisible inorganic compounds ([0006]: “a colorimeter introduces chemical reagents and light providing a way to “see” these invisible compounds.”)
Regarding claim 16, Seghal further discloses reagent comprises a Griess reagent capable of reacting with the nitrite ion dissolved in the flow of sweat ([0275]: “a reaction disc carrying a griess reagent”).
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Riviere discloses the detection apparatus of claim 5 but fails to disclose a colorimetric detection device (18) connected to the channel (9) downstream of the electrochemical sensor (10), the colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a hydrophilic porous body impregnated with a chemical reagent capable of reacting with one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide, peroxynitrite, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitric oxide, carbon monoxide and hypochlorous acid, dissolved in sweat, so as to provide a colored indicator indicating a quantity of said chemical compound in the flow of sweat (98), and wherein the colorimetric detection device (18) is disposed in the outlet orifice.
Seghal discloses a colorimetric detection device ([0031]: “at least two quantitative inorganic colorimetric determinations of respective preselected inorganic units or compounds”) (18) connected to the channel (9) downstream of the electrochemical sensor ([0191-0192]: “the microfluidic channel arrangement comprises at least one microfluidic furcated channel branching at least a first branch and a second branch… Each of the first branch and second branch may comprise a first reaction site downstream from the inlet and a second reaction site downstream”) (10), the colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a hydrophilic porous body impregnated with a chemical reagent ([0127-0128]: “The support disc may be of any material capable of supporting the chemical(s) for the reagent disc… support disc may advantageously have a mean pore size of 1 μm or less, such as a mean pore size of 0.8 μm or less, such as a mean pore size of 0.5 μm or less.”) capable of reacting with one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide, peroxynitrite, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitric oxide, carbon monoxide and hypochlorous acid, dissolved in sweat ([0058]: “the inorganic colorimetric determinations comprise a determination of at least one of the inorganic units… nitrite,”), so as to provide a colored indicator indicating a quantity of said chemical compound in the flow of sweat (98) ([0102]: “The color parameter may represent a ratio of activities of chromoionophores and/or ionophore versus. The concentration of the target ion of the inorganic unit and/or in the sample.”), and wherein the colorimetric detection device (18) is disposed in the outlet orifice ([0258]: “and with respective reaction chambers 37 with reaction discs comprising respective colorimetric reaction agents. As shown the branch lengths L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 from the inlet to the respective reaction chambers 37 differs, such that L1 and L5 are longer than L2 and L4, which again are longer than L3.”, wherein the colorimetric detection occurs at the end of the channel).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the detection apparatus disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere to include the colorimetric sensor disclosed by Seghal in order to allow for visualization of invisible inorganic compounds ([0006]: “a colorimeter introduces chemical reagents and light providing a way to “see” these invisible compounds.”).
Regarding claim 21, Wang as modified by Riviere discloses the detection apparatus as claimed in claim 19 but fails to disclose in which the plurality of microfluidic channels comprises an additional microfluidic channel (109) comprising a colorimetric detection device (18), the colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a hydrophilic porous body impregnated with a chemical reagent capable of reacting with one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide, peroxynitrite, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitric oxide, carbon monoxide and hypochlorous acid, so as to provide a colored indicator indicating a concentration or a quantity of the chemical compound dissolved in a flow of sweat in the additional microfluidic channel (109).
Seghal discloses a plurality of microfluidic channels comprising an additional microfluidic channel (109) comprising a colorimetric detection device (18) ([0031]: “at least two quantitative inorganic colorimetric determinations of respective preselected inorganic units or compounds”, [0191-0192]: “the microfluidic channel arrangement comprises at least one microfluidic furcated channel branching at least a first branch and a second branch… Each of the first branch and second branch may comprise a first reaction site downstream from the inlet and a second reaction site downstream”) (10), the colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a hydrophilic porous body impregnated with a chemical reagent ([0127-0128]: “The support disc may be of any material capable of supporting the chemical(s) for the reagent disc… support disc may advantageously have a mean pore size of 1 μm or less, such as a mean pore size of 0.8 μm or less, such as a mean pore size of 0.5 μm or less.”) capable of reacting with one of the following chemical compounds: nitrite ion, hydrogen peroxide, peroxynitrite, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, nitric oxide, carbon monoxide and hypochlorous acid, dissolved in sweat ([0058]: “the inorganic colorimetric determinations comprise a determination of at least one of the inorganic units… nitrite,”), so as to provide a colored indicator indicating a quantity of said chemical compound in the flow of sweat (98) ([0102]: “The color parameter may represent a ratio of activities of chromoionophores and/or ionophore versus. The concentration of the target ion of the inorganic unit and/or in the sample.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the detection apparatus disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere to include the colorimetric sensor disclosed by Seghal in order to allow for visualization of invisible inorganic compounds ([0006]: “a colorimeter introduces chemical reagents and light providing a way to “see” these invisible compounds.”)
Regarding claim 22, Seghal further discloses in which the additional channel (109) comprises a chrono-sampling system connected to the entry orifice (4) (Fig 4), the chrono-sampling system including a plurality of chambers configured to fill sequentially with sweat (Fig 4 element 37), and in which a plurality of colorimetric detection devices (18) are disposed in said chambers ([0233]: “Each of the second reaction site 5a, 5b, 5c comprises a respective reaction disc r1 r2, r3 comprising colorimetric reaction agents”), each colorimetric detection device (18) comprising a chemical reagent capable of reacting with a chemical compound ([0233]), such that the colorimetric detection devices disposed in said chambers provide a colored indicator indicating a cumulative quantity of said chemical compound in the flow of sweat in the additional microfluidic channel (109) ([0102]: “The color parameter may represent a ratio of activities of chromoionophores and/or ionophore versus. The concentration of the target ion of the inorganic unit and/or in the sample.”).
Regarding claim 23, Seghal further discloses comprising an optical sensor configured to produce a measurement signal that is representative of an intensity of a color of the chemical reagent in the visible or ultraviolet spectrum ([0089]: “The chromoionophore comprises a chromophoric moiety and an ionophoric moiety, where the ionophoric moiety interacts with the target ions present in the sample, resulting in the chromophoric moiety changing its radiation absorption properties e.g. in the ultraviolet and/or the visible regions of the spectrum. For example, a change in an intensity of an absorption maximum may be measured and the ion concentration may be determined accordingly”).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Riviere in further view of Wildhaber et al. (US 20200397352 A1).
Wang as modified by Riviere fails to disclose a portable device comprising a detection apparatus (100) as claimed in claim 1, the portable device being implemented in the form of: a watch, a telephone, a fabric, a headband, a garment or an undergarment.
Wildhaber discloses a portable device comprising a detection apparatus (100) (title, [0007]), the portable device being implemented in the form of: a watch, a telephone, a fabric, a headband, a garment or an undergarment ([0153]: “The microchip or microchip assembly may be integrated on a printed-circuit board (PCB) e.g., a flex PCB). The PCB may be incorporated into a portable electronic device such as a patch, a wristband device, a watch, a smartphone, or a tablet computer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the portable device disclosed by Wildhaber in order to improve accessibility of the detection apparatus disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-25 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, Wang as modified by Riviere fails to disclose “measuring a delay (At) between a variation in current in a first one of the at least two working electrodes (20) and a variation in current in a second one of the at least two working electrodes (23)”. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang in view of Riviere in further view of Gupta (see rejection above).
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 7 and new claim 26 on pages 15-16 of Remarks has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). While Wang and Riviere do not disclose a depletion electrode, this limitation is disclosed by Simons. While Simons may not be directed to a sweat sensor, this configuration is disclosed by Wang as modified by Riviere. Additionally, Simons discloses depletion of a species at an electrode (see above). MPEP 2183 states that a prior art element is equivalent when (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Kemco Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1364, 54 USPQ2d 1308, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2000). In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Simons further provides a motivation to allow for depletion at an electrode to improve selectivity (see rejection above). As such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (US20230320631A1) – discloses detection of a time-delay
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVYA SHOBANA BALAJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DEVIN B HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791