DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/12/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claims 1 and 5 have been considered, but are not persuasive. The new ground of rejection cites NAKAMURA WO 2015159592A1 (by change at least the rejection the second coating (total first 3 layers in table 2 or total first 2 layers in table 2 for wavelength shift coat SC) instead of total 4 layers in table 2) as teaching the amended claim limitations in claims 1 and 5.
Claim Objections
Claim objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 7, “a thickness the first coating” should be “a thickness of the first coating”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAKAMURA WO 2015159592A1 (see document of 18565835_2025-11-05_WO_2015159592_A1_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 1, NAKAMURA discloses a lens module, in at least figs.5-11, comprising N lenses disposed sequentially from an object side to an image side thereof (see figs.5, 8 and 10), wherein the N lenses include:
a plurality of first coated lenses (L1 and L2 in fig.5, L1-L3 in fig.8, or L1-L4 in fig.10) in which a first coating (normal coat NC) is applied to at least one surface thereof; and
a plurality of second coated lenses (L3 and L4 in fig.5, L4-L5 in fig.8, or L5-L6 in fig.10) in which a second coating (wavelength shift coat SC) is applied to at least one surface thereof,
wherein the plurality of first coated lenses are a first lens (L1) and a second lens (L2) among the N lenses (see figs.5, 8 and 10),
wherein the plurality of second coated lenses are the remaining lenses among the N lenses except for the first lens and the second lens (see figs.5, 8 and 10),
wherein the first lens is disposed closest to the object side (see figs.5, 8 and 10),
wherein a thickness of the first coating (total 4 layers in table 3 for normal coat NC) is greater than a thickness of the second coating (total first 3 layers in table 2 for wavelength shift coat SC)(see tables 2 and 3), and
the plurality of first coated lenses are lenses in which an angle (θ) between a line at a predetermined angle with respect to an optical axis and a normal line of a point at which the line comes into contact with an object side surface is 50° or more (see figs.5, 8 and 10, a predetermined angle can be any angle such as about 90°, so that an angle (θ) can be 50° or more).
Regarding claim 3, NAKAMURA discloses a difference between the thickness of the first coating and the thickness of the second coating is 10% or more of the thickness of the second coating (see tables 2 and 3, the thicknesses of the first coating is 253, the thicknesses of the second coating is 197, so the difference is 28.42%).
Regarding claim 4, NAKAMURA discloses the first coating is applied to the object side surface and an image side surface of at least one of the plurality of first coated lenses (see figs.5, 8 and 10, page 9, 2nd paragraph), and the second coating is applied to an object side surface and an image side surface of at least one of the plurality of second coated lenses (see figs.5, 8 and 10 and page 4, last line to page 5 first line discloses the second coating is applied to both surfaces of the lens closest to the image side).
Regarding claim 5, NAKAMURA discloses a lens module, in at least figs.5-11, comprising N lenses disposed sequentially from an object side to an image side thereof (see figs.5, 8 and 10), wherein the N lenses include:
a first coated lens (L1 or L2 in fig.5, L1, L2 or L3 in fig.8, or L1, L2, L3 or L4 in fig.10) to which a first coating (total 3 layers in table 3 for normal coat NC) is applied; and
a second coated lens (L3 or L4 in fig.5, L4 or L5 in fig.8, or L5 or L6 in fig.10) to which a second coating (total first 2 layers in table 2 for wavelength shift coat SC) is applied,
wherein the first coated lens is disposed closest to the object side (see figs.5, 8 and 10),
wherein a thickness of the first coating is greater than a thickness of the second coating (see tables 2 and 3),
wherein the first coating includes a first layer (1) to an Xth layer (3) disposed sequentially on a surface of a lens (see table 3),
wherein the second coating includes a first layer (1) to a Yth layer (2) disposed sequentially on a surface of a lens (see table 2),
wherein the first layer has the smallest thickness among the first layer to the Xth layer in the first coating (see table 3),
wherein the first layer has the smallest thickness among the first layer to the Yth layer in the second coating (see table 2), and
wherein a thickness (124nm) of the Xth layer of the first coating is greater than a thickness (34nm) of the Yth layer of the second coating (see tables 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, NAKAMURA discloses a thickness (29nm) of an (X−1)th layer of the first coating is greater than a thickness (17nm) of a (Y−1)th layer of the second coating (see tables 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, NAKAMURA discloses a difference between the thickness of the first coating and the thickness of the second coating is 10% or more of the thickness of the second coating (see tables 2 and 3, the thicknesses of the first coating is 168, the thicknesses of the second coating is 51, so the difference is 229.41%).
Regarding claim 12, NAKAMURA discloses an object side surface and an image side surface of the first coated lens include the first coating (see figs.5, 8 and 10, page 9, 2nd paragraph), and an object side surface and an image side surface of the second coated lens include the second coating (see figs.5, 8 and 10 and page 4, last line to page 5 first line discloses the second coating is applied to both surfaces of the lens closest to the image side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAMURA WO 2015159592A1 (see document of 18565835_2025-11-05_WO_2015159592_A1_M.pdf) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, NAKAMURA does not explicitly disclose a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more is higher than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more, and a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less is lower than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less.
However, NAKAMURA discloses the first anti-reflective coating and the second anti-reflective coating are four-layers structures with different layer thicknesses which means these two anti-reflective coatings have different transmittance at different incident angles.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more is higher than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more, and a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less is lower than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less because these two anti-reflective coatings having different thickness, since The Applicant has not disclosed that a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more is higher than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more, and a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less is lower than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less because these two anti-reflective coatings having different thickness solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the other transmittance relationship between two coatings for the purpose of increasing light transmittance of the lens module.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAMURA WO 2015159592A1 (see document of 18565835_2025-11-05_WO_2015159592_A1_M.pdf) as applied to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15, NAKAMURA does not explicitly disclose a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more is higher than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more, and a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less is lower than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less.
However, NAKAMURA discloses the first anti-reflective coating and the second anti-reflective coating are four-layers structures with different layer thicknesses which means these two anti-reflective coatings have different transmittance at different incident angles.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more is higher than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more, and a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less is lower than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less because these two anti-reflective coatings having different thickness, since The Applicant has not disclosed that a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more is higher than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 50° or more, and a transmittance of the first coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less is lower than a transmittance of the second coating at an angle of incidence of 0° or more and 40° or less because these two anti-reflective coatings having different thickness solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the other transmittance relationship between two coatings for the purpose of increasing light transmittance of the lens module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “a value of the X and a value of the Y are the same”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 9-11 are depended on claim 8 so they are allowable for the same reason.
NAKAMURA WO 2015159592A1, does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “a value of the X and a value of the Y are the same”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 9-11 are depended on claim 8 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871