Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant further elected the species of the plurality of first cluster comprising a plurality of genes consisting of FAP, MMP2, CDH11, PRRX1, GAS1, ALPL, DLX5, and ZEB1, and the species of the second cluster comprising a plurality of genes consisting of INHBA, LOXL2, MMP14, WNT5A, TWIST2, ITGA5, PLAU and GREM1.
Claim 1 has been searched, commensurate in scope with the election to consider detecting a CAF subset differentially expressing “a plurality” of genes in the first elected set and/or “a plurality” of genes in the second elected set. Upon searching, the Puram reference was identified which teaches additional cluster 0 and cluster 3 genes, and so the search was expanded to include these, and these are REJOINED to the elected species. Specifically, any gene that is listed in instant claim 1 and Table S5 of Puram is rejoined to the elected combination.
Claim 9 has been examined to require at least (5) genes from the first and second elected and rejoined sets.
While the election of species refers to GREM1, TWIST2, MMP14 and WNT5A, these genes are recited in instant claim 1 as having an extra “1” at the end. As the recited genes “GREM11, TWIST21, and WNT5A1” do not appear to be known genes, the claims are indefinite. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the election and the claim have been examined for the species recited in the election of species paper.
Applicant is advised to review ALL genes recited in claims 1, both parts. A cursory review finds that many genes listed appear to have an extra “1” at the end, though it is not immediately apparent when a “1” in the final position if a gene name may be a mistake and may be intended. These genes do not appear to have known counterparts in public databases, such as genecards.org. As a courtesy, the examiner has noticed that at least the following non-elected genes appear to have problematic recitations of an extra “1” at the end of the gene recitation: VCAN1, Loxl11, MFAP21, MMP111, Adam121, Postn1, Tpm11, Tpm21, Serpinh11, Col3A11, col5a21, Col6a311, col5a11, Tnfrsf12a1, Col1a11, and GREM11. Any correction must have adequate basis in the original specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The elected genes “MMP14, WNT5A and TWIST2” appear in part (a)(2) of claim 1 with an extra “1” at the end of the genes. This makes it indefinite if the claim intends to recite MMP14 or MMP141, for example. As MMP141, WNT5A1, and TWIST21 do not appear to be known genes (as queried at genecards.org and using google) the claims have been interpreted to recite the genes listed in the election, in the interest of compact prosecution. Correction and identification of basis for the correction is required.
The claims recite the relative terms “enrichment” and “differentially expressing” without giving any standard or basis for how to determine the relative feature. That is, it is unclear how much must be detected to be detecting “enrichment” or what the “differential” expression is relative to.
In claims 8 and 10, it is unclear which fibroblasts “the fibroblasts” refer to. The claim previous mentions a CAF subset but not “the fibroblasts in the tumor biopsy.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puram et al. (2017, Cell 171, 1611–1624) in view of Cramer et al. (Oral Oncology 99 (2019) 104460; pages 1-10).
Puram teaches a method comprising detecting in a tumor biopsy from a subject an enrichment of a CAF subset differentially expressing the Cluster-0 genes FAP and CDH11, see supplemental Table S5 which discloses that FAP and CDH11 are differentially expressed between CAF subsets, FAP and CDH11. See Table S5 which discloses that these genes are “CAF1” genes.
Regarding claim 9, the reference teaches at least 5 of the first and second cluster genes are CAF1 genes, meaning they are differentially expressed in the CAF1 subset.
These include from Cluster-0 at least: AEBP1, CLEC11A, CDH11, CTGF, and FAP, and from Cluster-3 at least: ANXA5, AQP1, LOXL2, WNT5A, TWIST2, ITGA5, PLAU, and GREM1.
Puram teaches that the tested tumors were from patients having head and neck squamous cell carcinoma, see p. e3, “Human Tumor Specimens”.
The reference teaches that a small fragment of a human tumor speciman was snap frozen for bulk whole exome sequencing and single-cell RNA-seq, see p. e3. Single-cell profiles of non-malignant cells highlighted the composition of the tumor microenvironment (TME, p. 1613).
The reference teaches that analysis partitioned cancer associated fibroblasts (CAF) into two types CAF1 and CAF2, and that the intra-tumoral CAF heterogeneity is consistent with the view that CAFs are involved in complex and structural paracrine interactions in the tumor microenvironment (p. 1614, first column, Table S5, Figures S2E). Further, the reference teaches that tumors with both high CAF scores and high p-EMT scores had a particularly high propensity for metastasis (Figure S7I and p. 1622).
Puram does not teach treating the subject with an immunotherapy.
Cramer teaches that recent clinical trials demonstrated improved outcome from the immune checkpoint inhibitors in HNSCC compared with the standard of care. The reference reports on a variety of clinical trials where immunotherapy, including anti-PD1 antibodies pembrolizumab and nivolumab improved one or more of overall survival and quality of life relative to standard of care therapy in HNSCC. The reference reports many instances of immunotherapy with anti-PD1-PD-L1 agents, throughout. The reference teaches that immunotherapy is rapidly altering the therapeutic landscape in HNSCC improving survival and reducing toxicity compared with established treatments (p. 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have modified the method taught by Puram to have treated the HNSCC patients disclosed therein with immunotherapy, in particular anti-PD1 antibodies. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a way to ameliorate disease while improving survival and reducing toxicity compared to other established treatments.
About claims 5 and 10, figure S2D shows that the relative proportion of CAF1 and CAF2 subsets of all fibroblasts. Where the CAF are on the far left, and the figure describes that the CAF1 and 2 subpopulations are separated by 9 on the PC2 axis. The reference does not teach that at least 30% of the cells were CAF1. However, it would have been obvious to have treated all patients that have HNSCC, including those that have more than 30% CAF1 cells, in order to ameliorate disease. There is no disclosed criticality for that cutoff in the context of the instant claim.
7. Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puram et al. in view of Mei et al. (Cancer Medicine. 2020;9:640–652).
Puram teaches a method comprising detecting in a tumor biopsy from a subject an enrichment of a CAF subset differentially expressing the Cluster-0 genes FAP and CDH11, see supplemental Table S5 which discloses that FAP and CDH11 are differentially expressed between CAF subsets, FAP and CDH11. See Table S5 which discloses that these genes are “CAF1” genes.
Regarding claim 9, the reference teaches at least 5 of the first and second cluster genes are CAF1 genes, meaning they are differentially expressed in the CAF1 subset.
These include from Cluster-0 at least: AEBP1, CLEC11A, CDH11, CTGF, and FAP, and from Cluster-3 at least: ANXA5, AQP1, LOXL2, WNT5A, TWIST2, ITGA5, PLAU, and GREM1.
Puram teaches that the tested tumors were from patients having head and neck squamous cell carcinoma, see p. e3, “Human Tumor Specimens”.
The reference teaches that a small fragment of a human tumor specimen was snap frozen for bulk whole exome sequencing and single-cell RNA-seq, see p. e3. Single-cell profiles of non-malignant cells highlighted the composition of the tumor microenvironment (TME, p. 1613).
The reference teaches that analysis partitioned cancer associated fibroblasts (CAF) into two types CAF1 and CAF2, and that the intra-tumoral CAF heterogeneity is consistent with the view that CAFs are involved in complex and structural paracrine interactions in the tumor microenvironment (p. 1614, first column, Table S5, Figures S2E). Further, the reference teaches that tumors with both high CAF scores and high p-EMT scores had a particularly high propensity for metastasis (Figure S7I and p. 1622).
Puram does not teach treating the subject with an immunotherapy.
Mei teaches a fourth generation CAR-T cell therapy for the treatment of HNSCC, and demonstrate excellent preclinical studies for patients with HNSCC. It would have been obvious to have modified the method taught by Puram by treating patients with CAR-T cells to kill the cancer cells. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mei demonstrates that the CAR-T cell they designed two different CAR-T cells that showed antitumor function in vitro and in vivo. See Abstract and throughout.
About claims 5 and 10, figure S2D shows that the relative proportion of CAF1 and CAF2 subsets of all fibroblasts. Where the CAF are on the far left, and the figure describes that the CAF1 and 2 subpopulations are separated by 9 on the PC2 axis. The reference does not teach that at least 30% of the cells were CAF1. However, it would have been obvious to have treated all patients that had HNSCC, including those that have more than 30% CAF1 cells, in order to ameliorate disease. There is no disclosed criticality for that cutoff in the context of the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-16 of copending Application No. 18942140 in view of Brodsky, (April 16, 2016. 8 pages. Obtained from #AACR16 Update: The Promise of Synthetic Biology and CAR T Cell Technologies - Cancer Research Institute on 9/18/2026.).
The copending claims teach detecting differential expression of 3 to 80 genes set forth in the recited tables. Table 1A of the copending application recites CDH11, FAP, GREM1, INHBA, MMP2, PLAU and MMP14, and table 2B of the copending application recites GREM1, MMP14, MMP2, LOXL2, WNT5A, GAS1, TWIST2, and IHNBA. Table 2B of the copending application also recites at least rejoined genes AEBP1, COL6A3, and LUM, which completes the “at least 5” cluster-0 genes required by claim 9.
The copending application does not teach treating with immunotherapy.
However, Brodsky discusses the promise of immunotherapy for the treatment of cancer, mentioning treatment with anti-PD1 therapy as well as using CAR-T therapy in combination. The reference teaches that the approach is feasible and capable of achieving durable response in patients.
It would have been obvious to have modified the methods of the copending claims to treat the patients with immunotherapy as discussed by Brodsky. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a patient with a durable response for the amelioration of cancer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kieffer et al. (Cancer Discov 2020;10:1330–51) teaches specific clusters of CAF that are associated with immunosuppression and immunotherapy resistance. See Abstract and throughout.
Juliet Switzer
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1682
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682