DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the machine”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 recites: “possibly bevelled”. The phrase "possibly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22 – 24, 26 – 30, 32 – 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. US 2022/0388248 (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 22, Huang teaches: an additive manufacturing process for manufacturing a solid body designed to be delimited by a predefined outer surface, the additive manufacturing process comprising:
selecting at least one volume portion of the solid body, the at least one volume portion having a position surrounded at least partially by a remaining part of the solid body (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0055], [0056] - - fracture channels 412 is selected volume portion; non-channel portion 414 is a remaining portion);
preparing a three-dimensional model of the solid body by a computer, in which the selected volume portion is modelled in said position as a further body detached from and independent of said remaining part ([0057] - - the fracture channels may break down under a particular stress);
setting the model in a data interface format readable by a processing unit of an additive manufacturing machine ([0039] - - manufacturing file is in a data interface format);
supplying the model in said data interface format to the processing unit ([0041] - - additive manufacturing controller is the processing unit);
selecting at least a process parameter of the additive manufacturing machine suitable for influencing the densification of the further body and of the remaining part ([0036] - - the fracture channels are solidified to a lesser degree as compared to non-channel portions; “solidified to a lesser degree” is influencing the densification);
applying differently the process parameter for production of the further body and the remaining part, such that the further body is less densified than the remaining part ([0044], [0045], [0047] - - adjusting a density of fusing agent, detailing agent or emitting energy in the fracture channel); and
operating the additive manufacturing machine according to application of the process parameter for producing the solid body according to the model, thus obtaining said predefined outer surface (Fig. 7 [0064]-[0068] - - build the object).
Regarding claim 23, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: application of the selected process parameter influences a mechanical strength of the further body, such that the further body produced is weakened with respect to the remaining part produced ([0016] - - the fracture channels are weak enough to guide the cracks).
Regarding claim 24, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: application of the selected process parameter influences a treatment uniformity of the material of the further body, such that the further body produced has areas of material coupled with the remaining part and areas of material separated from the remaining part (Fig. 4A-4C, [0056]-[0057] - - the partially fused fracture channels, the fused areas are areas coupled with the remaining part; the not fused areas are areas separated from the remaining part).
Regarding claim 26, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the selected volume portion has a volume less than 1% of the volume of the solid body ([0043] - - adjusting a width of the fracture channels; thus the volume of the fracture channels is a design option of the user).
Claim 27 is substantially similar to claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 28, Huang teaches: a product, comprising:
a solid body delimited by an outer surface, the solid body including a first and a second inner portion with respect to the outer surface (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0055], [0056] - - fracture channels 412 is a first portion; non-channel portion 414 is a second portion);
wherein the first portion is less densified than the second portion ([0036] - - the fracture channels are solidified to a lesser degree as compared to non-channel portions; “solidified to a lesser degree” maps “solidified to a lesser degree”).
Regarding claim 29, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the first portion has a relative density less than 1 with reference to the second portion ([0036] - - the fracture channels are solidified to a lesser degree as compared to non-channel portions; “solidified to a lesser degree” means has a less density, thus the relative density is less than 1).
Regarding claim 30, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the first portion has a volume less than 1% of the volume of the solid body ([0043] - - adjusting a width of the fracture channels; thus the volume of the fracture channels is a design option of the user).
Regarding claim 32, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the first portion includes areas of material coupled to the remaining part and areas of material separated from the remaining part (Fig. 4A-4C, [0056]-[0057] - - the partially fused fracture channels, the fused areas are areas coupled with the remaining part; the not fused areas are areas separated from the remaining part).
Regarding claim 33, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the first portion is weakened with respect to the second portion ([0016] - - the fracture channels are weak enough to guide the cracks).
Regarding claim 34, Huang teaches: an additive manufacturing process of a solid body designed to be delimited by a predefined outer surface, the additive manufacturing process comprising:
selecting at least a volume portion of the solid body, the portion having a position surrounded at least partially by a remaining part of the solid body (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0055], [0056] - - fracture channels 412 is selected volume portion; non-channel portion 414 is a remaining portion);
preparing a three-dimensional model of the solid body by a computer, in which the selected volume portion is modelled in said position as an empty space and comprises a part of said predefined outer surface ([0057] - - a gap that defines the path of the fracture channels);
setting the model in a data interface format readable by a processing unit of an additive manufacturing machine ([0039] - - manufacturing file is in a data interface format);
providing the model in said data interface format to the processing unit ([0041] - - additive manufacturing controller is the processing unit); and
operating the additive manufacturing machine to produce the solid body according to the model, thus obtaining said predefined outer surface (Fig. 7 [0064]-[0068] - - build the object including a surface layer to obscure the fracture channels).
Regarding claim 35, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: modelling of the volume portion influences the production thereof in terms of mechanical strength, such that the volume portion produced is weakened with respect to the remaining part produced ([0016] - - the fracture channels are weak enough to guide the cracks).
Regarding claim 36, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: modelling of the volume portion influences the treatment uniformity of the material of the volume portion, such that the volume portion produced has areas of material coupled to the remaining part and areas of material separated from the remaining part (Fig. 4A-4C, [0056]-[0057] - - the partially fused fracture channels, the fused areas are areas coupled with the remaining part; the not fused areas are areas separated from the remaining part).
Regarding claim 37, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the selected volume portion has a thickness which extends along a first direction (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0056] - - width of the fracture channel is a thickness).
Regarding claim 38, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the selected volume portion extends along a second and a third direction orthogonal to each other throughout the extension of the solid body; the first direction being orthogonal to the second and to the third direction and corresponding to a construction direction of the additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 39, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: said thickness is uniform (Fig. 4 - - width of the fracture channel is uniform).
Regarding claim 40, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the selected volume portion has a rectangular cross-section (Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 41, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Huang further teaches: the selected volume portion has an omega or wedge-shaped cross-section, possibly bevelled (Fig. 5A, Fig. 5B show omega shaped cross section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2022/0388248 (hereinafter Huang) in view of Bobel et al. US 2020/0130060 (hereinafter Bobel).
Regarding claim 25, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Huang does not explicitly teach:
the additive manufacturing machine operates with an electron beam fusion technology ([0023] - - laser fusion); a process parameter of the electron beam fusion technology being selected from at least one of:
electron beam focus deviation;
electron beam current;
electron beam speed; or number of passages of the electron beam.
However, Bobel teaches:
the additive manufacturing machine operates with an electron beam fusion technology ([0019] - - electron beam melting; [0025] - - laser beam or electron beam); a process parameter of the electron beam fusion technology being selected from at least one of:
electron beam focus deviation;
electron beam current ([0029] - - manipulating intensity or pattern);
electron beam speed; or number of passages of the electron beam ([0029] - - manipulating intensity or pattern).
Huang and Bobel are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Huang, and incorporating using electron beam, as taught by Bobel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to perform additive manufacturing process, as suggested by Bobel ([0019]).
Claims 31 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2022/0388248 (hereinafter Huang) in view of SAJADI et al. US 2021/0354366 (hereinafter SAJADI).
Regarding claim 31, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Huang does not explicitly teach:
the first portion has a thickness between a minimum thickness of a layer that can be manufactured by the machine and 20 times said minimum thickness.
However, SAJADI teaches:
the first portion has a thickness between a minimum thickness of a layer that can be manufactured by the machine and 20 times said minimum thickness ([0051] - - the printer resolution at Z direction is 20µm; 20µm is a minimum thickness of a layer that can be manufactured by the machine; [0047] - - the thickness D2 is about 0.1mm which equals to 100µm; 100µm is 5 times 20µm).
Huang and SAJADI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Huang, and incorporating thickness of a portion being between a minimum thickness and 20 times said minimum thickness, as taught by SAJADI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to making structural elements having controlled mechanical failure characteristics, as suggested by SAJADI ([0004]).
Regarding claim 42, Huang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Huang does not explicitly teach:
said thickness is between a minimum thickness of a layer that can be manufactured by the machine and 20 times said minimum thickness.
However, SAJADI teaches:
said thickness is between a minimum thickness of a layer that can be manufactured by the machine and 20 times said minimum thickness ([0051] - - the printer resolution at Z direction is 20µm; 20µm is a minimum thickness of a layer that can be manufactured by the machine; [0047] - - the thickness D2 is about 0.1mm which equals to 100µm; 100µm is 5 times 20µm).
Huang and SAJADI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Huang, and incorporating thickness of a portion being between a minimum thickness and 20 times said minimum thickness, as taught by SAJADI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to making structural elements having controlled mechanical failure characteristics, as suggested by SAJADI ([0004]).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116