DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindbo et al. (US 2021/0032026).
Regarding claim 1, Lindbo et al. teaches a storage and retrieval system, figure 7a, comprising:
A) a grid framework structure, 14, including:
i) a plurality of storage columns configured for one or more storage containers, 10, to be stored in vertical stacks, 12,
ii) a track system, 22, arranged above the plurality of storage columns, the track system including a plurality of tracks arranged in a grid pattern, 22a and 22b in figure 8a, extending in a substantially horizontal plane and including a plurality of grid cells or grid spaces configured and arranged through which storage containers in a stack are transferrable between the plurality of storage columns and a top level of the track system, see figure 7c and 8a;
B) an inventory handling station assembly, 100, including a first access station at a first level, middle or upper presentation position 116 of figure 7a, and a second access station at a second level, lower presentation position 116 of figure 7c, the first level being vertically spaced from the second level, for gaining access to contents of storage containers at the first and second access stations at the first and second levels respectively, see figure 7a and paragraph 0074;
C) an upper level port column extending from the track system to the first access station at the first level for transferring storage containers between the track system and the inventory handling station assembly, see left and middle column with arrow 131 in figures 7c and 8a; and
D) a lower level port column extending from the track system to the second access station at the second level for transferring storage containers between the track system and the inventory handling station assembly, see right column with arrow 130 in figures 7c and 8a.
Regarding claim 2, Lindbo et al. teaches the first access station is laterally offset from the second access station, see figures 7c and 8b which show the lower most presentation position extending further outward from the storage columns and offset with respect to the middle and upper presentation position.
Regarding claim 3, Lindbo et al. teaches the first access station at least partially overlays the second access station, see overlapping upper, middle, and lower presentation positions in figures 7c and 8b.
Regarding claim 4, Lindbo et al. teaches the first level of the inventory handling station assembly comprises:
a drop-off area and a pick-up area arranged below the upper level port column for transferring storage containers between the track system and the drop-off area and the pick-up area at the first level, 132, see paragraphs 0077 and 0090; and
wherein the second level of the inventory handling station assembly comprises:
a drop-off area and a pick-up area arranged below the lower level port column for transferring storage containers between the track system and the drop-off and the pick-up area at the second level, 132, see paragraphs 0077 and 0090.
Regarding claim 5, Lindbo et al. teaches the upper and lower level port columns comprise:
a drop-off port column, 131, configured for allowing storage containers to be lowered from the track system to the drop-off area, see paragraph 0083; and
a pick-up port column, 131, configured for allowing storage containers to be picked up from the pick-up area towards the track system, see paragraph 0090.
Regarding claim 6, Lindbo et al. teaches the drop-off and pick-up areas at the first level are laterally offset from respective drop-off and pick-up areas at the second levels such that the drop-off and pick-up areas at each of the first and second level are arranged below their respective upper level port column and lower level port columns, see figures 7c and 8a.
7. The storage and retrieval system of any of claim 4, wherein the first level comprises;
a first conveyor system, 133, configured to convey one or more storage containers from the drop-off area to the pick-up area via the first access station, see paragraphs 0077 and 0078; and
wherein the second level comprises;
a second conveyor system, 133, configured to convey one or more storage containers from the drop-off area to the pick-up area via the second access station, see paragraphs 007 and 0078.
8. The storage and retrieval system of claim 7, wherein each of the first and second conveyor systems comprises:
an entry conveyor unit, an exit conveyor unit, and at least one access conveyor unit, wherein:
the entry conveyor unit is arranged in the drop-off area and is configured and arranged to transport a storage container in a first transport direction from the drop-off area to the first or second access station, see paragraphs 0077 and 0078 which describe dropping off a bin, 10, onto the landing portion and conveying the bin via the conveyor, 133, to the presentation position, 116,
the exit conveyor unit is arranged in the pick-up area and is configured and arranged to transport a storage container from the at least one access conveyor unit to the pick-up area in a second transport direction, see paragraphs 0090;
and the at least one access conveyor unit, 106, is configured and arranged to transport a storage container from the drop-off area to the pick-up area via a respective first or second access station in a third transport direction, see paragraph 0088.
Regarding claim 9, Lindbo et al. teaches the entry conveyor unit and the exit conveyor unit are arranged such that the first transport direction of the entry conveyor unit is opposite and parallel to the second transport direction of the exit conveyor unit; and
wherein the third transport direction of the at least one access conveyor unit is substantially orthogonal to both the first transport direction of the entry conveyor unit and the second transport direction of the exit conveyor unit, see figures 1, 7b, 7c and paragraphs 0077, 0078, 0088, and 0090.
Regarding claim 10, Lindbo et al. teaches the conveyor system is configured and arranged such that the first transport direction of the entry conveyor unit is substantially orthogonal to both the second transport direction of the exit conveyor unit and the third transport direction of the at least one access conveyor unit, see paragraph 0088 which describes transferring bins from the presentation position, 116, onto station conveyor 108, backline conveyor, 106, and then further onto another conveyor.
Regarding claim 11, Lindbo et al. teaches the grid framework structure comprises:
a first plurality of upright columns, 16, arranged to form the plurality of storage columns for one or more of the storage containers, 10, to be stacked between and be guided by the plurality of upright columns in a vertical direction, see figures 7c and 8a.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the applicant claims a storage and retrieval system of claim 1, wherein the grid framework structure comprises:
i) a second plurality of storage columns for one or more storage containers to be stored in vertical stacks;
ii) a second track system arranged above the second plurality of storage columns, the second track system including a plurality of tracks arranged in a grid pattern extending in a substantially horizontal plane and including a plurality of grid cells or grid spaces configured and arranged through which storage containers in a stack are transferrable between the second plurality of storage columns and a top level of the second track system, wherein the second track system is vertically spaced from the track system such that the track system and the second track system share a same inventory handling station assembly;
iii) a second upper level port column extending from the second track system to the first access station at the first level for transferring storage containers between the second track system and the inventory handling station assembly; and
iv) a second lower level port column extending from the second track system to the second access station at the second level for transferring storage containers between the second track system and the inventory handling station assembly.
It is known in the prior art to have storage and retrieval system with grid framework structures that comprises a first track system and a second track system vertically spaced from the first track system. For example, NO 20180750 teaches a first and second track system separated by a floor, and US 2024/0199326 teaches a first track system for smaller bins and a second track system that is vertically spaced from the first track system for larger bins. However, these examples do not teach or suggests that the second track systems have its own port columns for delivering containers to the handling stations assembly. Furthermore, modifying the Lindbo et al. reference with a second track system would not be an obvious modification without relying on improper use of hindsight. As such, claims 12 and those that depend therefrom, claims 13-20 are considered allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 and not relied upon are included to show additional examples of storage and retrieval systems with inventory handling station assemblies, similar to the invention claimed.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652
15 January 2026