DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Application filed on 11/30/2023 and the preliminary amendment filed on the same date, in which claims 1-30 are pending wherein claims 1, 10, 17, 25 are recited in independent form. The present Application claims foreign priority to GR 20210100541 filed 08/06/2021 and is a 371 of PCT/US2022/074211 with a filing date of 07/27/2022.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner has not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations for the specification. The Examiner notes limitations set forth in the alternative using language including but not limited to “one or more of”, only require the teaching of one of the alternative in the prior art and not all.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, 17, 25 recite the limitation "as same usage" the is not clearly defined in the claims such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the meaning of the term in the context of the claim such that the limitations of the claims are particularly pointed out and distinctly claimed. Therefore, the claims fail to particularly point out and distinctly that which the Applicant regards as the invention. The remaining pending claims depend on claims 1, 10, 20 and inherit the limitation noted above and fail to provide any further limitations which overcome the rejection. Therefore, the dependent claims also are rejected for the same reasoning. Therefore, claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, the claim sets forth limitations in quotation marks (i.e. “ “), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the impact of the use of the quotation marks on the requirements of the claims. Therefore, the claims fail to particularly point out and distinctly that which the Applicant regards as the invention. The remaining pending claims depend on claims 1, 10, 20 and inherit the limitation noted above and fail to provide any further limitations which overcome the rejection. Therefore, the dependent claims also are rejected for the same reasoning. Therefore, claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication US-20220210667 to Fan et al (hereinafter d1) in view of WIPO Publication WO-2021151394 to Guo (hereafter d2) in view of US Patent Application Publication US-20190349964 to Liou (hereinafter d3).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: receive, from a network entity, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters; and receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” d1 discloses system (see d1 Figs. 2-3) including at least an apparatus for wireless communication at both a user equipment and a network entity (see Figs. 10-11) including at least a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see d1 para. 0188-0198, 0211-0237), configured to execute a method of communication between the UE and the NW entity (see d1 Figs. 5-9) including receive, from a network entity, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters (see d1 Figs 5-6, para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018);
As to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” , d1 discloses a method for reception of SRS resources sets which may be performed multiple times, which may not directly align with the limitations required by the claims. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed SRS resource set configuration may differ in syntax, under a BRI it may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters”, wherein d1 in view of d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 lines 10-13), and further suggests embodiments including a method (see d2 Figs. 3, 7-9) which suggests in the disclosure of Fig.8, pg.13 In. 24- pg. 14 In.13, that in the embodiment of Figures 8-9 provides a different way of providing two different time domain behaviors to be used for SRS transmission. Specifically, in this second embodiment, the network device 200 configures the terminal device 100 with SRS information comprising two SRS resource sets, both set for codebook transmission or both set of non-codebook transmission. The SRS resource (s) in the first set comprise different time domain behavior to the SRS resource (s) in the second set. Hence, flexibility is achieved by configuring the terminal device 100 with more than one time domain behavior for SRS transmission. At step S51, the terminal device 100 receives a configuration of a first SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource configured with first time domain behavior and a second SRS resource set comprising a second SRS resource configured with second time domain behavior. In this second embodiment, step S51 involves receiving the radio resource control (RRC) parameter SRS-Config in the BWPUplinkDedicated information element (IE). The SRS-Config parameter is configured with a first SRS-Resource Set and a second SRS Resource Set ... In this second embodiment, the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'. In this second embodiment, the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', and 'semipersistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semi-persistent At step S52, the terminal device 100 determines whether to transmit the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior. Then at step S53, the terminal device 100 transmits the determined one (s) of the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “same usage” d1 in view of d2 disclose usage (see d2 para. 004, 0010, 0015, 0018, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046) , which may not directly align with the Applicant assertions. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed usage may differ in syntax, and likely, under a BRI, meets the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “usage”, wherein d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further discloses usage (see d3 para. 0432, 0512, 0572, 0584, 0620) well as DCI formats (see d3 para. 0538-0539 equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591). Thus, starting from d1 in view of d2 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1in view of d2 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in view of d2 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a non-codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the subset of parameters is a second subset of parameters, and wherein a first subset of parameters are the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters and indicate one or more of: a resource type including an aperiodic resource type, a periodic resource type, or a semi-persistent resource type; a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an aperiodic SRS or an associated CSI-RS for a periodic SRS and a semi-persistent SRS; power control parameters including an alpha value, a nominal power value, a pathloss reference signal, or SRS power control adjustment states; a slot offset; or a pathloss reference signal list” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic' 'periodic', and 'semi-persistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semipersistent (see d2 Fig. 8 pg. 13 line 24- pg. 14 line 13).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the subset of parameters that is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicate one or more of: an SRS resource identifier list; or an SRS resource set identifier” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest he following SRS parameters are semi-statically configurable by the higher layer parameter SRS-Resource: - srs-Resourceld determines SRS resource configuration identity. - Number of SRS ports as defined by the higher layer parameter nrofSRS-Ports and described in sub clause 6.4.1.4 of 3GPP TS 38.214 V15.5.0: "NR; Physical layer procedures for data". - Time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission and A secondary time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType2nd, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission (see d2 pg. 13). It is also suggested that the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the lowest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set. Alternatively, the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the highest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see d2 pg. 17 line 24-45).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with a first downlink control information (DCI) format and the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with a second DCI format” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with DCI format 0 2 or DCI format 1 2” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33); and that in embodiments relating to codebook transmission (i.e. when usage for the first and second SRS resource sets is set to 'codebook'), the PUSCH can be scheduled with a DCI format 0_1 (see d2 pg. 16 line 42). Additionally, as discussed above, according to some embodiments, the terminal device 100 can be configured with two SRS resource sets for codebook based transmission. Alternatively, the terminal device 100 can be configured with two SRS resource sets for non-codebook based transmission. In each SRS resource set, the terminal device 100 can be configured with one or more SRS resources. For codebook based PUSCH transmission, PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in both SRS resource sets. Alternatively, for codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in one particular SRS resource set configured for codebook based transmission, which can be pre-configured or pre-defined. For non-codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one or more SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in both SRS resource sets. Alternatively, for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one or more SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in one particular SRS resource set configured for codebook based transmission, which can be pre-configured or pre-defined (see d2 D1 pg. 19 starting at Iine 17).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with a first SRS resource set, and wherein the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with a second SRS resource set” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with an "SRS resource set to add or modify list" parameter, and wherein the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with an "SRS resource set to add or modify list for downlink control information format 0_2" parameter” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33); and that in embodiments relating to codebook transmission (i.e. when usage for the first and second SRS resource sets is set to 'codebook'), the PUSCH can be scheduled with a DCI format 0_1 (see d2 pg. 16 line 42). Additionally, as discussed above, according to some embodiments, the terminal device 100 can be configured with two SRS resource sets for codebook based transmission. Alternatively, the terminal device 100 can be configured with two SRS resource sets for non-codebook based transmission. In each SRS resource set, the terminal device 100 can be configured with one or more SRS resources. For codebook based PUSCH transmission, PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in both SRS resource sets. Alternatively, for codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in one particular SRS resource set configured for codebook based transmission, which can be pre-configured or pre-defined. For non-codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one or more SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in both SRS resource sets. Alternatively, for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one or more SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in one particular SRS resource set configured for codebook based transmission, which can be pre-configured or pre-defined (see d2 D1 pg. 19 starting at Iine 17).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, as to the limitations “An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters; and transmit, to the UE, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a first subset of parameters is the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters, and a second subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” d1 discloses system (see d1 Figs. 2-3) including at least an apparatus for wireless communication at both a user equipment and a network entity (see Figs. 10-11) including at least a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see d1 para. 0188-0198, 0211-0237), configured to execute a method of communication between the UE and the NW entity (see d1 Figs. 5-9) including receive, from a network entity, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters (see d1 Figs 5-6, para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018);
As to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” , d1 discloses a method for reception of SRS resources sets which may be performed multiple times, which may not directly align with the limitations required by the claims. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed SRS resource set configuration may differ in syntax, under a BRI it may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters”, wherein d1 in view of d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 lines 10-13), and further suggests embodiments including a method (see d2 Figs. 3, 7-9) which suggests in the disclosure of Fig.8, pg.13 In. 24- pg. 14 In.13, that in the embodiment of Figures 8-9 provides a different way of providing two different time domain behaviors to be used for SRS transmission. Specifically, in this second embodiment, the network device 200 configures the terminal device 100 with SRS information comprising two SRS resource sets, both set for codebook transmission or both set of non-codebook transmission. The SRS resource (s) in the first set comprise different time domain behavior to the SRS resource (s) in the second set. Hence, flexibility is achieved by configuring the terminal device 100 with more than one time domain behavior for SRS transmission. At step S51, the terminal device 100 receives a configuration of a first SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource configured with first time domain behavior and a second SRS resource set comprising a second SRS resource configured with second time domain behavior. In this second embodiment, step S51 involves receiving the radio resource control (RRC) parameter SRS-Config in the BWPUplinkDedicated information element (IE). The SRS-Config parameter is configured with a first SRS-Resource Set and a second SRS Resource Set ... In this second embodiment, the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'. In this second embodiment, the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', and 'semipersistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semi-persistent At step S52, the terminal device 100 determines whether to transmit the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior. Then at step S53, the terminal device 100 transmits the determined one (s) of the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “same usage” d1 in view of d2 disclose usage (see d2 para. 004, 0010, 0015, 0018, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046) , which may not directly align with the Applicant assertions. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed usage may differ in syntax, and likely, under a BRI, meets the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “usage”, wherein d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further discloses usage (see d3 para. 0432, 0512, 0572, 0584, 0620) well as DCI formats (see d3 para. 0538-0539 equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591). Thus, starting from d1 in view of d2 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1in view of d2 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in view of d2 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a non-codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first subset of parameters that is the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicates one or more of: a resource type including an aperiodic resource type, a periodic resource type, or a semi-persistent resource type; a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an aperiodic SRS or an associated CSI-RS for a periodic SRS and a semi-persistent SRS; power control parameters including an alpha value, a nominal power value, a pathloss reference signal, or SRS power control adjustment states; a slot offset; or a pathloss reference signal list” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic' 'periodic', and 'semi-persistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semipersistent (see d2 Fig. 8 pg. 13 line 24- pg. 14 line 13).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second subset of parameters that is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicates one or more of: a slot offset; an SRS resource identifier list; an aperiodic SRS resource trigger that triggers an aperiodic SRS transmission; an aperiodic SRS resource trigger list; or an SRS resource set identifier” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest he following SRS parameters are semi-statically configurable by the higher layer parameter SRS-Resource: - srs-Resourceld determines SRS resource configuration identity. - Number of SRS ports as defined by the higher layer parameter nrofSRS-Ports and described in sub clause 6.4.1.4 of 3GPP TS 38.214 V15.5.0: "NR; Physical layer procedures for data". - Time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission and A secondary time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType2nd, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission (see d2 pg. 13). It is also suggested that the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the lowest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set. Alternatively, the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the highest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see d2 pg. 17 line 24-45).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein: the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1; and the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with DCI format 0_2 or DCI format 1_2” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, as to the limitation “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with a first SRS resource set, and wherein the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with a second SRS resource set” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, as to the limitations “A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters; and receiving, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a first subset of parameters is the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters, and a second subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” d1 discloses system (see d1 Figs. 2-3) including at least an apparatus for wireless communication at both a user equipment and a network entity (see Figs. 10-11) including at least a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see d1 para. 0188-0198, 0211-0237), configured to execute a method of communication between the UE and the NW entity (see d1 Figs. 5-9) including receive, from a network entity, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters (see d1 Figs 5-6, para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018);
As to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” , d1 discloses a method for reception of SRS resources sets which may be performed multiple times, which may not directly align with the limitations required by the claims. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed SRS resource set configuration may differ in syntax, under a BRI it may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters”, wherein d1 in view of d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 lines 10-13), and further suggests embodiments including a method (see d2 Figs. 3, 7-9) which suggests in the disclosure of Fig.8, pg.13 In. 24- pg. 14 In.13, that in the embodiment of Figures 8-9 provides a different way of providing two different time domain behaviors to be used for SRS transmission. Specifically, in this second embodiment, the network device 200 configures the terminal device 100 with SRS information comprising two SRS resource sets, both set for codebook transmission or both set of non-codebook transmission. The SRS resource (s) in the first set comprise different time domain behavior to the SRS resource (s) in the second set. Hence, flexibility is achieved by configuring the terminal device 100 with more than one time domain behavior for SRS transmission. At step S51, the terminal device 100 receives a configuration of a first SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource configured with first time domain behavior and a second SRS resource set comprising a second SRS resource configured with second time domain behavior. In this second embodiment, step S51 involves receiving the radio resource control (RRC) parameter SRS-Config in the BWPUplinkDedicated information element (IE). The SRS-Config parameter is configured with a first SRS-Resource Set and a second SRS Resource Set ... In this second embodiment, the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'. In this second embodiment, the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', and 'semipersistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semi-persistent At step S52, the terminal device 100 determines whether to transmit the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior. Then at step S53, the terminal device 100 transmits the determined one (s) of the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “same usage” d1 in view of d2 disclose usage (see d2 para. 004, 0010, 0015, 0018, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046) , which may not directly align with the Applicant assertions. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed usage may differ in syntax, and likely, under a BRI, meets the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “usage”, wherein d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further discloses usage (see d3 para. 0432, 0512, 0572, 0584, 0620) well as DCI formats (see d3 para. 0538-0539 equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591). Thus, starting from d1 in view of d2 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1in view of d2 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in view of d2 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a non-codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein the first subset of parameters that is the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicates one or more of: a resource type including an aperiodic resource type, a periodic resource type, or a semi-persistent resource type; a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an aperiodic SRS or an associated CSI-RS for a periodic SRS and a semi-persistent SRS; power control parameters including an alpha value, a nominal power value, a pathloss reference signal, or SRS power control adjustment states; a slot offset; or a pathloss reference signal list” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic' 'periodic', and 'semi-persistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semipersistent (see d2 Fig. 8 pg. 13 line 24- pg. 14 line 13).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 21, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein the second subset of parameters that is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicates one or more of: a slot offset; an SRS resource identifier list; an aperiodic SRS resource trigger that triggers an aperiodic SRS transmission; an aperiodic SRS resource trigger list; or an SRS resource set identifier” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest he following SRS parameters are semi-statically configurable by the higher layer parameter SRS-Resource: - srs-Resourceld determines SRS resource configuration identity. - Number of SRS ports as defined by the higher layer parameter nrofSRS-Ports and described in sub clause 6.4.1.4 of 3GPP TS 38.214 V15.5.0: "NR; Physical layer procedures for data". - Time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission and A secondary time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType2nd, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission (see d2 pg. 13). It is also suggested that the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the lowest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set. Alternatively, the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the highest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see d2 pg. 17 line 24-45).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 22, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein: the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1; and the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with DCI format 0_2 or DCI format 1_2” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 23, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with a first SRS resource set, and wherein the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with a second SRS resource set” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 24, as to the limitation “The method of claim 17, wherein the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with an "SRS resource set to add or modify list" parameter, and wherein the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with an "SRS resource set to add or modify list for downlink control information format 0_2" parameter” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33); and that in embodiments relating to codebook transmission (i.e. when usage for the first and second SRS resource sets is set to 'codebook'), the PUSCH can be scheduled with a DCI format 0_1 (see d2 pg. 16 line 42). Additionally, as discussed above, according to some embodiments, the terminal device 100 can be configured with two SRS resource sets for codebook based transmission. Alternatively, the terminal device 100 can be configured with two SRS resource sets for non-codebook based transmission. In each SRS resource set, the terminal device 100 can be configured with one or more SRS resources. For codebook based PUSCH transmission, PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in both SRS resource sets. Alternatively, for codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in one particular SRS resource set configured for codebook based transmission, which can be pre-configured or pre-defined. For non-codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one or more SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in both SRS resource sets. Alternatively, for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission, the PUSCH can be scheduled by a DCI format and the DCI field of SRS resource indicator in the DCI indicates one or more SRS resources of those SRS resources configured in one particular SRS resource set configured for codebook based transmission, which can be pre-configured or pre-defined (see d2 D1 pg. 19 starting at Iine 17).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 25, as to the limitations “A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters; and transmitting, to the UE, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a first subset of parameters is the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters, and a second subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” d1 discloses system (see d1 Figs. 2-3) including at least an apparatus for wireless communication at both a user equipment and a network entity (see Figs. 10-11) including at least a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see d1 para. 0188-0198, 0211-0237), configured to execute a method of communication between the UE and the NW entity (see d1 Figs. 5-9) including receive, from a network entity, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters (see d1 Figs 5-6, para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018);
As to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters” , d1 discloses a method for reception of SRS resources sets which may be performed multiple times, which may not directly align with the limitations required by the claims. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed SRS resource set configuration may differ in syntax, under a BRI it may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “receive, from the network entity, a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, wherein a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters”, wherein d1 in view of d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 lines 10-13), and further suggests embodiments including a method (see d2 Figs. 3, 7-9) which suggests in the disclosure of Fig.8, pg.13 In. 24- pg. 14 In.13, that in the embodiment of Figures 8-9 provides a different way of providing two different time domain behaviors to be used for SRS transmission. Specifically, in this second embodiment, the network device 200 configures the terminal device 100 with SRS information comprising two SRS resource sets, both set for codebook transmission or both set of non-codebook transmission. The SRS resource (s) in the first set comprise different time domain behavior to the SRS resource (s) in the second set. Hence, flexibility is achieved by configuring the terminal device 100 with more than one time domain behavior for SRS transmission. At step S51, the terminal device 100 receives a configuration of a first SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource configured with first time domain behavior and a second SRS resource set comprising a second SRS resource configured with second time domain behavior. In this second embodiment, step S51 involves receiving the radio resource control (RRC) parameter SRS-Config in the BWPUplinkDedicated information element (IE). The SRS-Config parameter is configured with a first SRS-Resource Set and a second SRS Resource Set ... In this second embodiment, the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'. In this second embodiment, the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', and 'semipersistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semi-persistent At step S52, the terminal device 100 determines whether to transmit the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior. Then at step S53, the terminal device 100 transmits the determined one (s) of the first SRS resource using the first time domain behavior and/or the second SRS resource using the second time domain behavior.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “same usage” d1 in view of d2 disclose usage (see d2 para. 004, 0010, 0015, 0018, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046) , which may not directly align with the Applicant assertions. However, the Examiner contends, although the disclosed usage may differ in syntax, and likely, under a BRI, meets the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitation “usage”, wherein d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further discloses usage (see d3 para. 0432, 0512, 0572, 0584, 0620) well as DCI formats (see d3 para. 0538-0539 equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591). Thus, starting from d1 in view of d2 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1in view of d2 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in view of d2 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 26, as to the limitation “The method of claim 25, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 27, as to the limitation “The method of claim 25, wherein the same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a non-codebook usage” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first SRS resource set comprises a single first SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the first SRS resource set being set to 'codebook', and the second SRS resource set comprises a single second SRS resource configured for codebook based transmission i.e. with usage of the second SRS resource set being set to 'codebook'.... In other alternative embodiments, the first and second SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based transmission i.e. with usage set to 'non-Codebook', and each SRS resource set comprises one or more e.g. up to four SRS resources (see d1 para. 0004, 0010, 0015, 0018;, 0020, 0024, 0028, 0032, 0044, 0046; d2 Fig. 8, pg. 13 line 24 – pg. 14 line 13);
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 28, as to the limitation “The method of claim 25, wherein the first subset of parameters that is the same between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicates one or more of: a resource type including an aperiodic resource type, a periodic resource type, or a semi-persistent resource type; a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for an aperiodic SRS or an associated CSI-RS for a periodic SRS and a semi-persistent SRS; power control parameters including an alpha value, a nominal power value, a pathloss reference signal, or SRS power control adjustment states; a slot offset; or a pathloss reference signal list” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest the first time domain behavior or 'first resource type' is set to one of 'aperiodic', 'periodic', having a slot level periodicity and slot level offset, and 'semi-persistent', having a slot level periodicity, while the second time domain behavior or 'second resource type' is set to a different one of 'aperiodic' 'periodic', and 'semi-persistent'. In some embodiments, one of the time domain behaviors is set to aperiodic and that the other one is set to periodic or semipersistent (see d2 Fig. 8 pg. 13 line 24- pg. 14 line 13).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 29, as to the limitation “The method of claim 25, wherein the second subset of parameters that is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters indicates one or more of: a slot offset; an SRS resource identifier list; an aperiodic SRS resource trigger that triggers an aperiodic SRS transmission; an aperiodic SRS resource trigger list; or an SRS resource set identifier” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest he following SRS parameters are semi-statically configurable by the higher layer parameter SRS-Resource: - srs-Resourceld determines SRS resource configuration identity. - Number of SRS ports as defined by the higher layer parameter nrofSRS-Ports and described in sub clause 6.4.1.4 of 3GPP TS 38.214 V15.5.0: "NR; Physical layer procedures for data". - Time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission and A secondary time domain behavior of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resourceType2nd, which may be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS transmission (see d2 pg. 13). It is also suggested that the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the lowest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set. Alternatively, the 'first' SRS resource set may refer to the SRS resource set having the highest ID e.g. set using SRS-ResourceSetID among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see d2 pg. 17 line 24-45).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 30, as to the limitation “The method of claim 25, wherein: the first SRS resource set configuration is associated with downlink control information (DCI)format0_1 or DCI format 1_l; and the second SRS resource set configuration is associated with DCI format 0_2 or DCI format 1_2” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, when taken together as a valid combination suggest DCI formats which are equivalent to 0 2 or 1 2 (see d3 para. 0591, 0538-0539; d2 pg. 1 line 47-pg. 2 line 8; pg. 2 line 23-48; pg. 16 lines 1-13, 19-28; pg. 16 line 42-pg. 17 line 23; pg. 19 lines 17-33).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d2 pg. 3 lines 1-2). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (SRS) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve performance (see d3 para. 0003-0004). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (SRS resource set configuration) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643