DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the second conductor (40, 40') is connected to the first electrically conducting heating element (4) a position on the first electrically conducting heating element (4) closer to said second end (80) than to said first end (70), the structured catalyst (10) being configured to direct an electrical current to run from the first conductor (40, 40') through the first electrically conducting heating element (4) to said second end” of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-15 recite “a structured catalyst” in line 1 which should be changed to --the structured catalyst--.
Claim 13 recites “the first electrically conducting heating element a position” which should be changed to --the first electrically conducting heating element at a position--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the second conductor (40, 40') is connected to the first electrically conducting heating element (4) a position on the first electrically conducting heating element (4) closer to said second end (80) than to said first end (70), the structured catalyst (10) being configured to direct an electrical current to run from the first conductor (40, 40') through the first electrically conducting heating element (4) to said second end” which is indefinite. More specifically, claim 13 depends from claim 12 which recites that the first conductor is closer to the first end than the second end. As shown in the figures 1A and 1B and claim 12, that the first and second conductors are in contact and connection of the heating element to the first conductor is carried out though second connector. As such, the second heating element cannot be closer to the second end than the first, if the first is closer to the first end. As such, meets and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
Claim 16 which depends from claim 1 recites “an inlet”, “an outlet”, “a first end” and “a second end.” However, claim 1 also recites these limitations. As such, it cannot be ascertained whether these are the same inlets, outlets, first ends and second ends or if they are different. If they are the same, they should be recited as --the inlet--, --the outlet--, --the first end--, and --the second end-- in claim 16. If they are different, they should be named differently.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 0450872 to Standard Oil Co Ohio (Standard Oil).
Regarding claim 1, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst for catalyzing an endothermic reaction of a feed gas to convert it to a product gas, said structured catalyst comprising at least one ceramic element (20, 30, fig. 1) and a first electrically conducting heating element (30, 34, fig. 1 or 46, fig. 1), the ceramic element (2) extending in a longitudinal direction from a first end to a second end (fig. 1), where said first end forms an inlet (22, fig. 1) to said structured catalyst for said feed gas and said second end forms an outlet (24, fig. 1) for said product gas, wherein at least a part of the ceramic element supports a catalytically active material (catalyst), wherein the first electrically conducting heating element is fixed to the ceramic element (fig. 1), and wherein one of the ceramic element and the first electrically conducting heating element is arranged at least partly circumferentially around the other one of the ceramic element and the first electrically conducting heating element (fig. 1; 20 is around 30, 34 and 46 is around 20).
Regarding claim 2, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the ceramic element is porous (catalyst bed 20 is shown to be porous in fig. 1 and feed gas goes through it as recited in page 4, lines 50-51 and page 6, lines 36-42).
Regarding claim 3, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, wherein the ceramic element comprises a plurality of ceramic parts arranged in a row to form the ceramic element (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, wherein the first electrically conducting heating element at least partly supports a porous ceramic coating (46 also supports 14 which is made of alumina; page 5, lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 5, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, further comprising a second electrically conducting heating element (the other of 30, 34, fig. 1; abstract or 46 fig. 1) extending in the longitudinal direction from the first end to the second end, wherein the second electrically conducting heating element is connected to the first electrically conducting heating element at the second end (via 35, 16 and 14, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, wherein the ceramic element forms an elongated shape (fig. 1) and comprises a cavity (where 30 is arranged, fig. 1) arranged along the longitudinal direction, and wherein at least a part of the first electrically conducting heating element is arranged in the cavity (where 30 is arranged, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claims 5, wherein the ceramic element forms an elongated shape (fig. 1) and comprises a cavity (where 30 is arranged, fig. 1) arranged along the longitudinal direction, and wherein at least a part of the first electrically conducting heating element is arranged in the cavity (where 30 is arranged, fig. 1), wherein the second electrically conducting heating element (46, fig. 1) is arranged along an outer surface of the ceramic element (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, wherein the first electrically conducting heating element (46, fig. 1) forms an elongated tube being arranged circumferentially around the ceramic element.
Regarding claim 9, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 8, wherein the first electrically conducting heating element comprises a wire forming a helical pattern around the ceramic element (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, wherein an outer surface of the ceramic element (2) comprises a plurality of grooves (15).
Regarding claim 11, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 10, wherein the first electrically conducting heating element (4) is arranged at least partly in the grooves (15).
Regarding claim 15, Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to any of the preceding claims, wherein the first electrically conducting heating element (4) comprises a metallic material being an alloy comprising one or more substances selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cr, Al, Co, Ni, Zr, Cu, Ti, Mn, Si, Y, and C (nickel; page 4, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 16, Standard Oil discloses a reactor system for carrying out an endothermic reaction of a feed gas, said reactor system comprising:
a) a structured catalyst (10) according to claim 1 (See above);
b) a pressure shell (12, fig. 1) housing said structured catalyst (10), said pressure shell comprising an inlet (22, fig. 1) for letting in said feed gas and an outlet (24, fig. 1) for letting out product gas, wherein said inlet is positioned so that said feed gas enters said structured catalyst in a first end and said product gas exits said catalyst from a second end; and
c) a heat insulation layer (14, fig. 1) between said structured catalyst and said pressure shell.
Regarding claim 17, Standard Oil discloses a method of using the reactor according to claim 16, wherein the endothermic reaction is selected from the group consisting of steam methane reforming (page 4, lines 52-53), hydrogen cyanide formation, methanol cracking, ammonia cracking, reverse water gas shift, and dehydrogenation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Standard Oil.
Regarding claim 12 Standard Oil discloses a structured catalyst according to claim 1, further comprising at least a first and a second conductor (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the two heating element will have conductors to supply electricity/fuel to the heater), wherein the first conductor (power supply of heater 46 outside of housing 12, fig. 1) is electrically connected to the first electrically conducting heating element (46, fig. 1) and to an electrical power supply, wherein said electrical power supply is dimensioned to heat at least part of said first electrically conducting heating element to a temperature of at least 500*C by passing an electrical current through said electrically conducting heating element (Page 5, lines 11-16).
However, Standard oil does not explicitly disclose that the first conductor being connected at a position on the first electrically conducting heating element closer to said first end than to said second end.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first conductor being connected at a position on the first electrically conducting heating element closer to said first end than to said second end, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04).
Additional Subject Matter
Even though claims 13-14 are not rejected under prior art, they are rejected under 112(b) for being indefinite, and hence are not patentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12,599,884 to Park et al.
US 12,109,561 to Carver et al.
US 12,098,079 to Beach et al.
US 11,325,070 to Smith et al.
US 2022/0362736 to Mortensen et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746