Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cimino (US3036650A) in view of Park (US20060267304A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cimino discloses a lower travelling body (1; Figures 1-2) of a mobile crane (column 1, lines 8-14, crawler crane), the lower travelling body (1) comprising: a car body (2) that supports an upper slewing body (column 1, lines 8-53, turntable, superstructure) of the mobile crane in such a way as to allow the upper slewing body to rotate around a slewing center axis (SCA; see Cimino annotated Figure 2 below; superstructure rotates about carrier frame 2 axis); a right crawler frame (RCF) extending in a front-to-rear direction on a right side relative to the slewing center axis; a left crawler frame (LCF) extending in the front-to-rear direction on a left side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA); a coupling portion (CP) that couples the car body (2) to the right crawler frame (RCF) and to the left crawler frame (LCF), the coupling portion (CP) including at least one coupling member (CP and 40); a pair of right wheels (20, 21 on RCF) supported rotatably on a front end part and a rear end part of the right crawler frame (RCF), respectively; a pair of left wheels (20, 21 on LCF) supported rotatably on a front end part and a rear end part of the left crawler frame (LCF), respectively; a plurality of right rollers (23 on RCF) spaced in the front-to-rear direction between the pair of right wheels (20, 21 on RCF) and rotatably supported on a lower part of the right crawler frame (RCF), the plurality of right rollers (23 on RCF) including a right front end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 20) located at head of the right rollers (23 on RCF) and a right rear end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 21) located at tail of the right rollers (23 on RCF); and a plurality left rollers (23 on LCF) spaced in the front-to-rear direction between the pair of left wheels (20, 21 on LCF) and rotatably supported on a lower part of the left crawler frame (LCF), the plurality of left rollers (23 on LCF) including a left front end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 20) located at head of the left rollers (23 on LCF) and a left rear end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 21) located at tail of the left rollers (23 on LCF), wherein the coupling portion (CP) includes a front load receiving surface (FLRS) and a rear load receiving surface (RLRS) that are counter to the car body (2), a right front load transmission surface (RFLT) and a right rear load transmission surface (RRLT) that are counter to the right crawler frame (RCF), and a left front load transmission surface (LFLT) and a left rear load transmission surface (LRLT) that are counter to the left crawler frame (LCF), wherein the front load receiving surface (FLRS) is a surface configured to receive a front load from the car body (2), the front load being a load that the car body (2) receives from the upper slewing body (turntable, superstructure) when a cargo-to-be-lifted is hung on the upper slewing body (turntable, superstructure) on a front side relative to the lower travelling body (1), the right front load transmission surface (RFLT) is a surface configured to transmit the front load to the right crawler frame (RCF), and the left front load transmission surface (LFLT) is a surface configured to transmit the front load to the left crawler frame (LCF), wherein the rear load receiving surface (RLRS) is a surface configured to receive a rear load from the car body (2), the rear load being a load that the car body (2) receives from the upper slewing body (turntable, superstructure) when the cargo-to-be-lifted is hung on the upper slewing body (turntable, superstructure) on a rear side relative to the lower travelling body (1), the right rear load transmission surface (RRLT) is a surface configured to transmit the rear load to the right crawler frame (RCF), and the left rear load transmission surface (LRLT) is a surface configured to transmit the rear load to the left crawler frame (LCF), and wherein the coupling portion (CP) is configured such that a right front straight line (RFS), which is a straight line passing through any point included in the front load receiving surface (FLRS) and through any point included in the right front load transmission surface (RFLT), passes through, in plan view, the right front end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 20) or a point on the front side relative to the right front end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 20), that a left front straight line (LFS), which is a straight line passing through any point included in the front load receiving surface (FLRS) and through any point included in the left front load transmission surface (LFLT), passes through, in plan view, the left front end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 20) or a point on the front side relative to the left front end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 20), that a right rear straight line (RRS), which is a straight line passing through any point included in the rear load receiving surface (RLRS) and through any point included in the right rear load transmission surface (RRLT), passes through, in plan view, the right rear end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 21) or a point on the rear side relative to the right rear end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 21), and that a left rear straight line (LRS), which is a straight line passing through any point included in the rear load receiving surface (RLRS) and through any point included in the left rear load transmission surface (LRLT), passes through, in plan view, the left rear end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 21) or a point on the rear side relative to the left rear end roller (roller 23 closest to wheel 21), and wherein the at least one coupling member (CP) include: a front axle (FA) that couples the right crawler frame (RCF) to the left crawler frame (LCF) and that supports the car body (2), on the front side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA); and a rear axle (RA) that couples the right crawler frame (RCF) to the left crawler frame (LCF) and that supports the car body (2), on the rear side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA), wherein the front axle (FA) includes a front middle part (central area of front axle FA) connected to a part of the car body (2) that is located on the front side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA), and the rear axle (RA) includes a rear middle part (central area of rear axle RA) connected to a part of car body (2A) that is located on the rear side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA), but fails to teach a right front part extending diagonally frontward to the right from the front middle part and connected to the right crawler frame, and a left front part extending diagonally frontward to the left from the front middle part and connected to the left crawler frame, the front axle having a shape in which a front surface of the front middle part is located on the rear side relative to a front surface of the right front part and to a front surface of the left front part, a right rear part extending diagonally rearward to the right from the rear middle part and connected to the right crawler frame, and a left rear part extending diagonally rearward to the left from the rear middle part and connected to the left crawler frame, the rear axle having a shape in which a rear surface of the rear middle part is located on the front side relative to a rear surface of the right rear part and to a rear surface of the left rear part.
Cimino, Annotated Figure 2
Park teaches a similar lower travelling body and further teaches a right front part (RFP; see Park annotated Figure 3 below) extending diagonally frontward to the right from the front middle part (FMP) and connected to the right crawler frame (RCF), and a left front part (LFP) extending diagonally frontward to the left from the front middle part (FMP) and connected to the left crawler frame (LCF), the front axle (FA) having a shape in which a front surface of the front middle part (FMP) is located on the rear side relative to a front surface of the right front part (RFP) and to a front surface of the left front part (LFP), a right rear part (RRP) extending diagonally rearward to the right from the rear middle part (RMP) and connected to the right crawler frame (RCF), and a left rear part (LRP) extending diagonally rearward to the left from the rear middle part (RMP) and connected to the left crawler frame (LCF), the rear axle (RA) having a shape in which a rear surface of the rear middle part (RMP) is located on the front side relative to a rear surface of the right rear part (RRP) and to a rear surface of the left rear part (LRP). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lower travelling body of Cimino to include the front and rear diagonal coupling parts as taught by Park in order to reduce cost and material and further provide a dampening connection.
Park, Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claims 2-3, Cimino discloses wherein the coupling portion (CP) includes: a right front continuous part (RFC; see Cimino annotated Figure 2 above) that in plan view, extends continuously from the front load receiving surface (FLRS) to the right front load transmission surface (RFLT) along the right front straight line (RFS); and a left front continuous part (LFC) that in plan view, extends continuously from the front load receiving surface (FLRS) to the left front load transmission surface (LFLT) along the left front straight line (LFS); wherein the coupling portion (CP) includes: a right rear continuous part (RRC) that in plan view, extends continuously from the rear load receiving surface (RLRS) to the right rear load transmission surface (RRLT) along the right rear straight line (RRS); and a left rear continuous part (LRC) that in plan view, extends continuously from the rear load receiving surface (RLRS) to the left rear load transmission surface (LRLT) along the left rear straight line (LRS).
Regarding claim 5, Cimino discloses wherein the at least one coupling member (CP and 40) include: a right coupling member (RCM; see Cimino annotated Figure 2 above) that couples the car body (2) to the right crawler frame (RCF) on the right side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA); and a left coupling member (LCM) that couples the car body (2) to the left crawler frame (LCF) on the left side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA), wherein the front load receiving surface (FLRS) includes a right front load receiving surface (RFLR) located on the right side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA) and a left front load receiving surface (LFLR) located on the left side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA), wherein the rear load receiving surface (RLRS) includes a right rear load receiving surface (RRLR) located on the right side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA) and a left rear load receiving surface (LRLR) located on the left side relative to the slewing center axis (SCA), wherein the right coupling member (RCM) has the right front load receiving surface (RFLR), the right rear load receiving surface (RRLR), the right front load transmission surface (RFLT), and the right rear load transmission surface (RRLT), and wherein the left coupling member (LCM) has the left front load receiving surface (LFLR), the left rear load receiving surface (LRLR), the left front load transmission surface (LFLT), and the left rear load transmission surface (LRLT).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, in the last paragraph of page 17, in pages 18-20, and in the first paragraph of page 21, the applicant argued that the disclosure of Cimino fails to teach a right front part extending diagonally frontward to the right from the front middle part and connected to the right crawler frame, and a left front part extending diagonally frontward to the left from the front middle part and connected to the left crawler frame, the front axle having a shape in which a front surface of the front middle part is located on the rear side relative to a front surface of the right front part and to a front surface of the left front part, a right rear part extending diagonally rearward to the right from the rear middle part and connected to the right crawler frame, and a left rear part extending diagonally rearward to the left from the rear middle part and connected to the left crawler frame, the rear axle having a shape in which a rear surface of the rear middle part is located on the front side relative to a rear surface of the right rear part and to a rear surface of the left rear part.
The examiner agrees with the applicant wherein the disclosure of Cimino fails to teach a right front part extending diagonally frontward to the right from the front middle part and connected to the right crawler frame, and a left front part extending diagonally frontward to the left from the front middle part and connected to the left crawler frame, the front axle having a shape in which a front surface of the front middle part is located on the rear side relative to a front surface of the right front part and to a front surface of the left front part, a right rear part extending diagonally rearward to the right from the rear middle part and connected to the right crawler frame, and a left rear part extending diagonally rearward to the left from the rear middle part and connected to the left crawler frame, the rear axle having a shape in which a rear surface of the rear middle part is located on the front side relative to a rear surface of the right rear part and to a rear surface of the left rear part. However, the disclosure of Park teaches the limitations as described above. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment does not overcome the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein each of the right middle axle and the left middle axle is positioned in such a way as to overlap a left-to-right straight line in plan view, the left-to-right straight line passing through the slewing center axis in a left-to-right direction which is a horizontal direction perpendicular to the front-to-rear direction, and the right middle axle has a shape extending rightward along the left-to-right straight line from a part of the car body that is located on the right side relative to the slewing center axis, to the right crawler frame, and the left middle axle has a shape extending leftward along the left-to-right straight line from a part of the car body that is located on the left side relative to the slewing center axis, to the left crawler frame.
Cimino teaches the above lower traveling body of a mobile crane and further teaches wherein the coupling portion includes: a right front connection portion connected to the right crawler frame on the front side relative to the slewing center axis; a right rear connection portion connected to the right crawler frame on the rear side relative to the slewing center axis; and wherein the coupling portion further includes: a left front connection portion connected to the left crawler frame on the front side relative to the slewing center axis; a left rear connection portion connected to the left crawler frame on the rear side relative to the slewing center axis; wherein the at least one coupling member include: a front axle having the right front connection portion and the left front connection portion, the front axle coupling the right crawler frame to the left crawler frame on the front side relative to the slewing center axis and being connected to the car body; a rear axle having the right rear connection portion and the left rear connection portion, the rear axle coupling the right crawler frame to the left crawler frame on the rear side relative to the slewing center axis and being connected to the car body, but fails to teach a right middle connection portion connected to the right crawler frame at a position at which the right middle connection portion is separated rearward from the right front connection portion and is separated frontward from the right rear connection portion and a left middle connection portion connected to the left crawler frame at a position at which the left middle connection portion is separated rearward from the left front connection portion and is separated frontward from the left rear connection portion; a right middle axle having the right middle connection portion, the right middle axle coupling the car body to the right crawler frame on the rear side relative to the front axle and on the front side relative to the rear axle; and a left middle axle having the left middle connection portion, the left middle axle coupling the car body to the left crawler frame on the rear side relative to the front axle and on the front side relative to the rear axle; a right coupling member having the right front connection portion, the right rear connection portion, and the right middle connection portion and a left coupling member having the left front connection portion, the left rear connection portion, and the left middle connection portion, wherein each of the right middle axle and the left middle axle is positioned in such a way as to overlap a left-to-right straight line in plan view, the left-to-right straight line passing through the slewing center axis in a left-to-right direction which is a horizontal direction perpendicular to the front-to-rear direction, and the right middle axle has a shape extending rightward along the left-to-right straight line from a part of the car body that is located on the right side relative to the slewing center axis, to the right crawler frame, and the left middle axle has a shape extending leftward along the left-to-right straight line from a part of the car body that is located on the left side relative to the slewing center axis, to the left crawler frame.
Maedo teaches a similar lower travelling body and further teaches right middle connection portion connected to the right crawler frame at a position at which the right middle connection portion is separated rearward from the right front connection portion and is separated frontward from the right rear connection portion and a left middle connection portion connected to the left crawler frame at a position at which the left middle connection portion is separated rearward from the left front connection portion and is separated frontward from the left rear connection portion; a right middle axle having the right middle connection portion, the right middle axle coupling the car body to the right crawler frame on the rear side relative to the front axle and on the front side relative to the rear axle; and a left middle axle having the left middle connection portion, the left middle axle coupling the car body to the left crawler frame on the rear side relative to the front axle and on the front side relative to the rear axle; a right coupling member having the right front connection portion, the right rear connection portion, and the right middle connection portion and a left coupling member having the left front connection portion, the left rear connection portion, and the left middle connection portion, but fails to teach wherein each of the right middle axle and the left middle axle is positioned in such a way as to overlap a left-to-right straight line in plan view, the left-to-right straight line passing through the slewing center axis in a left-to-right direction which is a horizontal direction perpendicular to the front-to-rear direction, and the right middle axle has a shape extending rightward along the left-to-right straight line from a part of the car body that is located on the right side relative to the slewing center axis, to the right crawler frame, and the left middle axle has a shape extending leftward along the left-to-right straight line from a part of the car body that is located on the left side relative to the slewing center axis, to the left crawler frame.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein the left front space and the right front space formed in the area between the front axle and the rear axle being spaces where the front leg of the left front jack device and the front leg of the right front jack device are allowed to be positioned respectively in a state in which the left front jack device and the right front jack device are set at diagonal front positions at which the front beam of the left front jack device and the front beam of the right front jack device extend diagonally frontward to the left and diagonally frontward to the right, respectively, from the car body, and the left rear space and the right rear space formed in the area between the front axle and the rear axle being spaces where the rear leg of the left rear jack device and the rear leg of the right rear jack device are allowed to be positioned respectively in a state in which the left rear jack device and the right rear jack device are set at diagonal rear positions at which the rear beam of the left rear jack device and the rear beam of the right rear jack device extend diagonally rearward to the left and diagonally rearward to the right, respectively, from the car body.
Claim 8 is allowable because it is a dependent of claim 6.
Claims 10-13 are allowable because they are dependents of claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666