DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 50 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blakborn (US 11,588,282).
Regarding claim 50, Blakborn discloses a chassis connector, for mating a mechanically lockable plug connection with a cable connector matched to the chassis connector as a counterpart and insertable into an opening of the chassis connector, to enable a signal transmission, by a mating of the plug connection between the chassis connector and the cable connector, the chassis connector is adapted to be fastened to a mounting plate and to be fixedly supported by the mounting plate in the mounted state on the mounting plate, and the mounting plate has a mounting plate recess for the chassis connector and/or the cable connector, with the chassis connector being formed to be applied to and supported on a region of the mounting plate surrounding the mounting plate recess, and the mounting plate has a front side which is directed to a side from where the cable connector is adapted to be brought to the chassis connector, which is in the mounted state on the mounting plate, and an oppositely directed rear side, wherein the chassis connector comprises: a signal transmission contact element (at 7) which is provided to contact a cable-connector-side signal transmission contact element counterpart by the mating of the plug connection and to thereby provide the signal transmission across the plug connection, and a supporting skirt region (30) configured to provide a support effect for the cable connector with respect to loading forces acting on the cable connector perpendicular to the cable connector insertion direction in a condition generated by the insertion of the connector (intended use), a first chassis connector part (2) and a second chassis connector part (3) formed in at least two parts, wherein the first and the second chassis connector parts are provided for direct fastening to the mounting plate, wherein the first chassis connector part has a first-part flange (not labeled, above 11 in Fig. 1) adapted to be applied to the rear side of the mounting plate and the second chassis connector part has a second-part flange (not labeled, including 18 in Fig. 1) adapted to be applied to the front side of the mounting plate, the first chassis connector part comprises the signal transmission contact element, and the second chassis connector part comprises the supporting skirt region (25), wherein supporting forces applied by the supporting skirt region and counteracting loading forces are adapted to be at least partially carried by the mounting plate in the mounted state of the second part by the direct fastening of the second chassis connector part to the mounting plate (intended use).
Regarding claim 54, Blakborn discloses the second chassis connector part (3) having mechanical key counterparts (29) provided to cooperate with key elements of the cable connector matched thereto such that the cable connector is insertable into the chassis connector in only one specific rotational orientation predetermined by the key counterparts (intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-53, 55-59, and 62-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blakborn in view of Dobler (US D679,653).
Regarding claim 51, Dobler teaches the first chassis connector part (middle cylinder of bottom connector in Fig. 2) comprising a mechanical retaining element (at least one of four blocks on outer circumference) which is provided to block a cable-connector-side retaining element counterpart with respect to an axial movement in the cable connector extraction direction within as a first part of a locking mechanism which is actuatable by rotation of the cable connector in a screwing-in direction in a state of the cable connector at least partially inserted into the chassis connector (intended use), and the second chassis connector part (outer cylinder of bottom connector in Fig. 2) comprising a mechanical locking element (right side inner slot) which is provided to cause, as a second part of the locking mechanism which is actuatable by displacement of a latch slider on the cable connector side, an engagement of a latch of the cable connector connected to the latch slider into the locking element and thus to block the cable connector with respect to a rotation in an unscrewing direction which is directed opposite to the screwing-in direction (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the connector parts with a retaining element and a locking element, as taught by Dobler, in order to provide a quick and secure attachment to a respective mating cable connector.
Regarding claim 52, Dobler teaches the mechanical retaining element formed as a groove assembly, wherein grooves of the groove assembly first extend axially and thus serve as key counterparts for key elements of the cable connector, and then extend normally to an axis or slightly oblique to normal to the axis and serve here as a retaining component, wherein the retaining element counterpart is formed as a lug assembly which is inserted into the groove assembly by the insertion of the plug connection and is blocked against axial withdrawal by a groove assembly region extending normally or slightly obliquely to normal to the axis, or the mechanical retaining element formed as a lug assembly (at least one of four blocks on outer circumference of middle cylinder of Fig. 2) and the retaining element counterpart is formed as a groove assembly, wherein grooves of the groove assembly, in the inserted state, first extend axially and thus serve as key elements for the lug assembly serving as key counterparts (intended use), and then extend normally to the axis or slightly obliquely to normal to the axis, and the groove assembly region extending normally or slightly obliquely to normal to the axis engages behind the lug assembly as a result of the insertion of the plug connection and the cable plug-in connector is thereby blocked against axial extraction (intended use).
Regarding claim 53, Dobler teaches the retaining element arranged and provided with an oblique path (intended use) such that by and upon actuation of the first part of the locking mechanism (intended use), the retaining element counterpart is moved along the oblique path until the retaining element counterpart encounters a rotational stop, which is further provided on the second chassis connector part, and thus a final insertion position of the cable connector in the chassis connector is reached (intended use).
Regarding claim 55, Blakborn discloses a chassis connector, for mating a mechanically lockable plug connection with a cable connector matched to the chassis connector as a counterpart and insertable into an opening of the chassis connector, to enable a signal transmission by a mating of the plug connection between the chassis connector and the cable connector, wherein the chassis connector is provided to be fastened to a mounting plate and to be fixedly supported by the mounting plate in a mounted state on the mounting plate, and the mounting plate has a mounting plate recess for at least one of the chassis connector or the cable connector, the chassis connector is formed to be applied to and supported on a region of the mounting plate surrounding the mounting plate recess, and the mounting plate has a front side which is directed to the side from where the cable connector is adapted to be brought to the chassis connector, which is in a mounted state on the mounting plate, and an oppositely directed rear side, wherein the chassis connector comprises: a first chassis connector part (2) and a second chassis connector part (3) formed in at least two separable parts, wherein both the first and second chassis connector parts are provided for direct fastening to the mounting plate, wherein the first chassis connector part has a first-part flange (not labeled, above 11 and receiving 22 in Fig. 1) adapted to be applied to the rear side of the mounting plate and the second chassis connector part has a second-part flange (not labeled, including 20 in Fig. 1) adapted to be applied to the front side of the mounting plate.
Dobler teaches a mechanical retaining element (at least one of four blocks on middle cylinder on bottom connector in Fig. 2) which is provided for blocking a cable-connector-side retaining element counterpart with respect to an axial movement in a cable connector extraction direction as a first part of a locking mechanism which is actuatable by rotation of the cable connector in a screwing-in direction in a state of the cable connector being at least partially inserted into the chassis connector (intended use); and a mechanical locking element (at right side inner slot of outer cylinder of bottom connector in Fig. 2) which is provided to cause, as a second part of the locking mechanism which is actuatable by displacement of a latch slider on the cable connector side, an engagement of a latch of the cable connector connected to the latch slider into the locking element and thus to block the cable connector with respect to a rotation in the unscrewing direction which is directed opposite to the screwing-in direction; and the first [chassis connector] part (middle cylinder of bottom connector in Fig. 2) has (i.e. engages) the mechanical retaining element, and the second [chassis connector] part (outer cylinder of bottom connector in Fig. 2) has (i.e. engages) the mechanical locking element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the connector parts with a retaining element and a locking element, as taught by Dobler, in order to provide a quick and secure attachment to a respective mating cable connector.
Regarding claim 56, Blakborn discloses the first chassis connector part comprising a signal transmission contact element (at 30) provided to contact a cable-connector-side signal transmission contact element counterpart by mating the plug connection and thereby provide signal transmission across the plug connection (intended use).
Regarding claim 57, Blakborn discloses the second chassis connector part comprising a supporting skirt region (at 30) configured to provide a supporting action for the cable connector with respect to loading forces acting on the cable connector perpendicular to a cable connector insertion direction in a state generated by the mating of the plug connection, wherein supporting action forces applied by the supporting skirt region and counteracting loading forces are adapted to be at least partially carried by the mounting plate in a state of the second part mounted on the mounting plate by the direct fastening of the second part to the mounting plate (intended use).
Regarding claim 58, Blakborn discloses the second chassis connector part having mechanical key counterparts (29) which are provided to cooperate with key elements of the cable connector matched thereto such that the cable connector is insertable into the chassis connector in only one specific rotational orientation predetermined by the key counterparts.
Regarding claim 59, Dobler teaches a cover (Fig. 2) for the opening, the cover arranged in a fixed manner on the second-part flange, and the cover is openable and closable by a pivot joint and has a sealing component such that, in a closed state of the cover, the sealing component sealingly closes the opening. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a cover, as taught by Dobler, in order to protect the connector from contaminants.
Regarding claim 62, Blakborn discloses the first-part flange having blind bores (19) provided for mounting on the mounting plate, wherein each of the blind bores is provided for receiving a fastener adapted to originate from the mounting plate for fastening the first-part flange to the mounting plate.
Regarding claim 63, Blakborn discloses at least one of the first-part flange or the second-part flange comprises a sealing element (23) surrounding the opening, configured to create a sealing effect by pressing against the mounting plate when the chassis connector is applied to the mounting plate.
Regarding claim 64, Blakborn discloses the sealing element formed integrally (i.e. attached) with the first-part flange and the second-part flange, respectively.
Claims 65-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Dobler in view of Liu (US 11,705,680) and Lerner et al. (US 4,671,587).
Regarding claim 65, Dobler discloses a chassis connector, for precisely mating a mechanically lockable plug connection with a cable connector matched to the chassis connector as a counterpart and insertable into an opening of the chassis connector, enabling a signal transmission, by a mating of the plug connection between the chassis connector and the cable connector, wherein the chassis connector is adapted to be fastened to a mounting plate and to be fixedly supported by the mounting plate in the mounted state on the mounting plate, and the mounting plate has a mounting plate recess for the chassis connector and/or the cable connector, the chassis connector is formed to be applied to and supported on a region of the mounting plate surrounding the mounting plate recess, and the mounting plate has a front side which is directed to the side from where the cable connector can be brought to the chassis connector, which is in a mounted state on the mounting plate, and an oppositely directed rear side, wherein the chassis connector comprises: a signal transmission contact element (inside socket) which is adapted to contact a cable- connector-side signal transmission contact element counterpart by the mating of the plug connection and to thereby provide a signal transmission across the plug connection (intended use); and mechanical locking mechanism elements (right side slot of outer cylinder in Fig. 2), which are adapted to bring about a locking cooperation of the locking mechanism elements with cable-connector-side locking mechanism counterpart elements as a locking mechanism by actuation of a cable-connector-side latch slider such that the cable connector, which is inserted in the chassis connector in a locked state, is blocked with respect to rotation and axial movement in a cable connector extraction direction (intended use); a flange (outer plate with screw holes, Fig. 2) to be applied to the mounting plate and holes for fasteners for direct fastening of the chassis connector to the mounting plate; a cover (on left side of plate) for the opening, wherein the cover is openable and closable by a pivot joint, the opening sealable by a sealing assembly (cover).
Liu teaches a cover (18c, Fig. 4) that covering the socket, the holes for the fasteners, as well as any fasteners inserted therein, are sealable by a sealing assembly which enters a sealing state by closing the cover, the sealing assembly comprising a sealing skirt (at 18c) and a sealing skirt counterpart (at 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a cover that includes sealing the fastener holes, as taught by Liu, in order to protect the faceplate and fasteners.
Lerner teaches a sealing skirt (at 20b, 78, Figs. 5) matched in a shape and dimensions thereof to the sealing skirt counterpart (at 34) such that radial tension is produced by elastic deformation of the sealing skirt over the sealing skirt counterpart over an entire circumference of the sealing skirt, and the sealing skirt and the sealing skirt counterpart each have a curved profile over the entire circumference and are convex in shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a radially sealing skirt, as taught by Lerner, in order to provide a hermetic seal.
Regarding claim 66, Liu teaches the sealing skirt counterpart arranged around the opening on the flange and the sealing skirt is arranged on the cover (Fig. 4), or the sealing skirt arranged around the opening on the flange and the sealing skirt counterpart is arranged on the cover.
Regarding claim 67, Dobler discloses the locking mechanism elements comprising a mechanical retaining element (at least four lugs around middle cylinder on bottom connector in Fig. 2) which is configured for blocking a cable-connector-side retaining element counterpart with respect to an axial movement in the cable connector extraction direction as a first part of the locking mechanism which is actuatable by rotation of the cable connector in a screwing-in direction in a state of the cable connector being at least partially inserted into the chassis connector (intended use), and a mechanical locking element (right side slot of outer cylinder in Fig. 2) which provided to cause, as a second part of the locking mechanism which is actuatable by displacement of a latch slider on the cable connector side, an engagement of a latch of the cable connector connected to the latch slider into the locking element and thus to block the cable connector with respect to a rotation in an unscrewing direction which is directed opposite to the screwing-in direction (intended use).
Regarding claim 68, Lie teaches the sealing skirt counterpart or the sealing skirt encloses holes provided for mounting on the mounting plate by piercing fasteners (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 69, Lerner teaches the flange and cover designed to match each other such that in the closed state of the cover, a labyrinth seal formed which provides a first sealing stage (radial) with a throttling effect (intended use), and a second sealing stage (axial) downstream of the first sealing stage provided by slipping the sealing skirt over the sealing skirt counterpart (intended use).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding claim 50, please note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention (e.g. configure to) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the direction of insertion proposed by the Applicant does not appear correct. Please note that Blakborn discloses the use of coding elements 28/29 to ensure the proper orientation between the plug (1) and mating plug (8). The use of such coding elements would not make sense in the direction of “insertion” proposed by the Applicant, but require insertion along direction IV in Fig. 3. Nonetheless, even if the direction proposed by the applicant is considered, component 30 still provide support perpendicular to that direction (i.e. left to right in Fig. 3).
In response to applicant's arguments regarding claim 55, against the references individually (i.e. against Dobler), please note that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, please note that Blakborn discloses the two separable parts.
In response to Applicant's arguments regarding claim 65, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a circular shape) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, Lerner teaches radial tension produced by elastic deformation of the sealing skirt counterpart (at 34) over an entire circumference of the sealing skirt (20b, 78). Please note that circumference is defined as the enclosing boundary of a curved geometric figure, and is not limited to a circle, nor does it exclude a semi-circle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833