DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 4/30/2025 and 1/18/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP2010132802A Google Patents English Translation) in view of Ko et al. (US 7,053,131 B2).
Takahashi et al. teach scouring (page 11, last line of 2nd paragraph) a cotton textile product (see, last line of 7th paragraph on page 9 of the attached 25 page pdf translation). Takahashi et al. teach claim 1 step (a) of bringing a fluid containing supercritical carbon dioxide (see page 11, paragraphs 6 and 8), a methanol co-solvent (Example 1) and a nonionic surfactant, namely, polyoxyethylene lauryl ether (see page 8, 4th line within last paragraph on the bottom).
Takahashi et al. do not teach a step of irradiating the textile product with an electron beam as required by claim 1.
In the analogous art of treating cellulose with supercritical fluid, Ko et al. establish that it is commonly known to dry cellulosic webs with electronic beam irradiation without causing significant densification or compression in the drying process. See col.7,ln.3-14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the scouring method of Takahashi et al. with the claimed step of irradiating with an electron beam as claimed and taught by Ko et al. to limit the densification and compression of the cellulose. One of ordinary skill is motivated to combine the teachings of Takahashi et al. with that of Ko et al. since both are in the analogous art of treating cellulose.
With respect to claims 3 and 7, Takahashi et al. teach scouring (page 11, last line of 2nd paragraph) a cotton textile product (see, last line of 7th paragraph on page 9 of the attached 25 page pdf translation).
Takahashi et al. encompass claim 4 by teaching bringing a fluid containing supercritical carbon dioxide (see page 11, paragraphs 6 and 8), a methanol co-solvent (Example 1) and a nonionic surfactant, namely, polyoxyethylene lauryl ether (see page 8, 4th line within last paragraph on the bottom).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP2010132802A Google Patents English Translation) in view of Medoff (US20150082556A1)
Takahashi et al. teach scouring (page 11, last line of 2nd paragraph) a cotton textile product (see, last line of 7th paragraph on page 9 of the attached 25 page pdf translation). Takahashi et al. teach claim 1 step (a) of bringing a fluid containing supercritical carbon dioxide (see page 11, paragraphs 6 and 8), a methanol co-solvent (Example 1) and a nonionic surfactant, namely, polyoxyethylene lauryl ether (see page 8, 4th line within last paragraph on the bottom).
Takahashi et al. do not teach a step of irradiating the textile product with an electron beam as required by claim 1.
In the analogous art of treating fibrous cellulosic textile materials, Medoff teach irradiating cellulosic materials at any stage of the processing (see figures 1-3) for example [0199] relatively a high dose of very low energy radiation may be applied to a textile having a sizing or other coating that is to be removed. The penetration depth of the radiation is selected so that only the coating is irradiated. The dose is selected so that the radiation will partly or fully breakdown the coating, e.g., to allow the coating to be rinsed off of or otherwise removed from the textile. Electron beam radiation is generally preferred for this process, as penetration depth can be readily and accurately controlled. See also claims 2-3 and [0045-0050] of Medoff describing benefits to the cellulose at any stage of processing as disclosed in figure 1. It is the Examiner’s position that this also encompasses the claims 2 and 8 method step of irradiating before scouring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the scouring method of Takahashi et al. with the claimed step of irradiating with an electron beam as claimed and taught by Medoff to favorably alter various selected properties of cellulosic fibers by applying ionizing radiation at any stage of processing including textile having a sizing or other coating that is to be removed in scouring. One of ordinary skill is motivated to combine the teachings of Takahashi et al. with that of Medoff since both are in the analogous art of treating cellulose.
With respect to claims 3 ,5 and 7, Takahashi et al. teach scouring (page 11, last line of 2nd paragraph) a cotton textile product (see, last line of 7th paragraph on page 9 of the attached 25 page pdf translation).
Takahashi et al. encompass claims 4 and 6 by teaching bringing a fluid containing supercritical carbon dioxide (see page 11, paragraphs 6 and 8), a methanol co-solvent (Example 1) and a nonionic surfactant, namely, polyoxyethylene lauryl ether (see page 8, 4th line within last paragraph on the bottom).
Conclusion
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/PREETI KUMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 1761