DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13 & 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190127685A1 (FATTAH et al.) and TIMM et al., Scientific Reports, 21 October 2013 (21-10-2013), Vol. 3, Document 3000, pp. 1-8.
Fattah teaches a method a label-free method to generate three dimensional cellular patterns using magnetic manipulation (abstract). The method comprises
suspending cells in a paramagnetic culture medium comprising gadolinium, wherein the cells are diamagnetic and create a magnetic susceptibility difference (abstract; [0005], [0011], [0014]). The cells and culture medium are seeded into microwell plates and are placed over an array of magnet pairs, wherein each magnet pair creates a magnetic field gradient ([0012-0013]; Fig. 6). The magnetic susceptibility difference and the magnetic field gradient drive cells towards a spaced region between the magnets in the magnet pair having the lowest magnetic field strength to create a cellular aggregate, wherein cell-free areas are present ([0007-0011]; Fig 6). Different cellular aggregate shapes may be produced depending on the placement of the magnets (Fig. 4). D1 further discloses that the paramagnetic culture medium contains salts (paragraph [0069]) and discloses the use of ECM coated microwell plate surfaces (paragraph [0082]). Fatta further teaches the use of the cellular aggregates SO produced in drug discovery screening and cell signaling assays [0058-0064]. It would be obvious at the time the invention was filed to generate ring-shaped cellular aggregates because Fattah teaches that different placement of magnet pairs can be used to generate different shapes of cellular aggregates. Fattah teaches using their cellular aggregates in drug discovery screening and cell signaling assays.
Fattah does not specify the generation of cellular aggregates with a cell-free
area wherein the cellular aggregate surrounds the cell-free area and does not specify the corresponding use of a magnet pair that comprises an outer magnet and an inner magnet wherein the cellular aggregate is formed in the spaced region between the magnets. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was field to use magnetic
patterning to generate cellular aggregates in the form of rings, i.e. comprising a cell-free-area wherein the cellular aggregate surrounds the cell-free arca, for use in cellular migration assays and toxicity screening because Timm teaches using magnetic patterning to generate cellular aggregates in the form of rings, i.e. comprising a cell-free-area wherein the cellular aggregate surrounds the cell-free area, for use in cellular migration assays and toxicity screening (whole document).
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657