DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Effects of the nanostructured SiO2 coating on the performance of LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4 cathode materials for high-voltage Li-ion batteries), in view of Ooyama et al. (US 20070224506 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Fan teaches a cathode containing a mass comprising: (1) a lithium-containing cathode active material comprising manganese (page 2, left column, lines 8-11),
(2) SiO₂ in particulate form (page 2, right column, last 4 lines),
(3) carbon in electrically conductive form (page 2, left column, last 7 lines), and
(4) binder polymer (PVDF) (page 2, left column, last 7 lines), wherein said mass is coated on a current collector/(aluminum foil) (page 2, left column, last 7 lines).
Fan fails to teach wherein the molar manganese content is in a range of from 50 mol-% to 85 mol-% referring to metals other than lithium contained in said cathode active material. Ooyama teaches a cathode active material comprising a coating layer made of a compound including Li, at least one selected from Ni and Mg, and O is arranged on complex oxide particles represented by Li.sub.1+xCo.sub.1-yM.sub.yO.sub.2-z, where M is at least one kind selected from the group consisting of Mg, Al, B, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Ni, Cu, Zn, Mo, Sn, W, Zr, Y, Nb, Ca and Sr (Abstract & para. [0021]-[0023]), wherein the molar manganese content is in a range of 0-70% (para. [0027]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 50 mol-% to 85 mol-% referring to metals other than lithium contained in said cathode active material, in order to provide a cathode active material that possesses a maximum amount of lithium insertion and maximum capacity (para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the cathode active material of Fan et al. comprise a molar manganese content in a range of from 0 mol-% to 70 mol-%, as taught by Ooyama, in order to provide a cathode active material that possesses a maximum amount of lithium insertion and maximum capacity.
Fan fails to teach wherein SiO₂ has an average particle diameter (D50) in a range of from 5 nm to 100 nm. Ooyama further teaches wherein the cathode active material comprises SiO₂ having an average particle diameter (D50) in a range of 5-20 nm (para. [0083]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of from 5 nm to 100 nm, in order to provide an appropriate precursor layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the SiO₂ in Fan et al. comprise an average particle diameter (D50) in a range of from 5 nm to 20 nm, as taught by Ooyama, in order to provide an appropriate precursor layer.
With respect to claim 3, Fan teaches wherein the cathode according to claim 1 comprising:
(1) 80% by weight cathode active material (page 2, left column, last 12 lines), which touches the instantly claimed range of from 80 % to 95%,
(2) 1% by weight SiO₂ in particulate form (page 2, left column, last 12 lines), which touches the instantly claimed range of from 1 % to 10%,
(3) 13 wt. % carbon in electrically conductive form (page 2, left column, last 12 lines), which almost touches the instantly claimed range of from 1% to 10% by weight,
(4) 7% by weight of binder polymer (page 2, left column, last 12 lines), which almost touches the instantly claimed range of from 1% to 5%, percentages referring to a sum of (1), (2), (3), and (4).
Though the ranges in sections (3) and (4) above are outside the instantly claimed ranged, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try optimizing the percentages of the prior art in order to determine optimal values that balance cost of material for constructing the cathode and optimal performance of the same; therefore, one skilled in the art would have been able to arrive at the instantly claimed ranges by routine experimentation for optimization purposes.
With respect to claim 4, Fan teaches wherein said SiO₂ is selected from the group consisting of spray-dried silica and fumed silica (page 2, left column, Experiment 2, 2nd paragraph).
With respect to claim 5, Fan teaches wherein the cathode active material has a composition LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4 (page 2, left column, 4th paragraph).
With respect to claim 6, Fan teaches wherein the cathode active material has a composition Li₁+xTM₁-xO₂₂ wherein X is in a range of from 0.1 to 0.35, and TM is a combination of elements of a general formula (NiaCobMnc)1-d M¹d (I)
wherein
a is in a range of from 0.20 to 0.40,
b being in a range of from zero to 0.20,
c being in a range of from 0.60 to 0.70, and
d being in a range of from zero to 0.02, M¹ is selected from the group consisting of Al, Ti, Zr, W, Mo, Mg, and Nb, and a+b+c=1 – Fan teaches (NiaCobMnc)1-d M¹d wherein b and d are equal to zero (i.e. Ni0.5Co0Mn1.5 – see page 2, left column, 4th paragraph).
With respect to claim 7, Fan teaches wherein a >b (i.e. Ni0.5Co0Mn1.5 (0.5 > 0) - page 2, left column, 4th paragraph).
With respect to claim 8, Fan teaches wherein an electrochemical cell containing: (A) a cathode according to claim 1 (page 2, left column, lines 8-11 and last paragraph).
With respect to claim 9, Ooyama further teaches wherein the electrochemical cell further comprising: (B) a separator (23) which is impregnated with a liquid electrolyte (para. [0044]), and teaches wherein the electrolyte can comprise glass fibers instead of a liquid electrolyte (para. [0094]); therefore, the glass electrolyte layer would function as both the electrolyte and the separator. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to replace the liquid electrolyte in Fan et al. with a glass electrolyte, which would function as a separator, in order to provide a simpler structure.
With respect to claim 10, Fan in view of Ooyama teaches a process for manufacturing a cathode according to claim 1, as set forth above, wherein said process comprises the following steps:
(a) combining material of sections (1)-(4) of claim 1 above
in the presence of an organic solvent (EC/DMC – page 2, left column, last paragraph) or of water,
(b) applying the mixture from step (a) to a current collector (page 2, left column, last paragraph), and
(c) removing the water or the organic solvent from step (a) (during the drying step - page 2, left column, last 3 paragraphs).
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 6/23/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725