DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 8-12, 14, 15 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-12, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20230156583, hereinafter “Murray”), in view of Ishii (US 20230262591), and further in view of Sebire et al. (US 20230276324, hereinafter “Sebire”).
Regarding claim 1, Murray discloses,
A method (Methods, systems, or devices may assist in performing slice-based cell selection and reselection, see abstract) comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a network, information related to slice-based cell reselection (Slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling. Slice-based cell reselection parameters may include, but are not limited to hysteresis values, offsets or thresholds that are used when calculating the S and R criterion while performing slice-based cell (re-)selection…..The RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers, [0200]-0206]),
wherein the information related to slice-based cell reselection includes information related to cell reselection priorities for slicing (Absolute priorities of different NR frequencies or inter-RAT frequencies may be determined, at least in part, by the S-NSSAIs that are available on that frequency. This may be referred to as S-NSSAI based reselection priorities handling…the priority of a frequency is equal to the priority of the S-NSSAI with the highest priority on that frequency. For scenarios where two frequencies have the same priority, the number of S-NSSAIs configured with that priority may also be considered when determining the priority of a frequency, [0169]-[0170]);
determining, by the wireless device, a slice priority list for intended network slices, based on the information related to slice-based cell reselection (the NAS Layer may order the S-NSSAI's in the CRS-NSSAI in priority order and, once cell (re-)selection is completed, the RRC layer may provide the NAS layer with an indication of whether the selected cell supports each S-NSSAI in the CRS-NSSAI…upper layers may provide the AS with an indication of the priority of an S-NSSAIs to enable ranking of cells based on S-NSSAI availability, e.g. based on which slice are supported by the cell. For example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the priority of an S-NSSAI, e.g. High, Medium, Low, [0132]-[0135]).
selecting, by the wireless device, a network slice having a highest priority (the cell reselection decision UE may be based on the priorities of the S-NSSAIs available in a cell, e.g. the UE may perform cell reselection to the cell supporting the highest priority S-NSSAI or the highest number of S-NSSAIs configured with the highest priority if multiple S-NSSAIs are configured with the same priority, [0192]);
performing, by the wireless device, a first cell reselection procedure from at least one frequency which supports the selected network slice (An S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency. Therefore, upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available, [0134]; if a higher priority S-NSSAI that is not available in the Serving Cell is available on another frequency (or frequencies), the UE shall perform measurements of that frequency (or frequencies), [0173]).
However, Murray does not expressly teach the exact ordered of sequence recited in Claim 1: first performing a reselection procedure on at least one frequency supporting the highest-priority selected slice; then, based on no suitable cell being found, performing a second reselection procedure based on barring at least one cell that does not support any intended network slice; and then, based on no suitable cell being found from the second procedure, performing a third cell reselection procedure without barring at least one such non-supporting cell. Murray teaches slice-based priorities, frequency selection, suitability, steering away from cells not supporting slices, and slice-based barring generally (see above), but it does not clearly disclose the above claimed three-stages.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishi discloses, the missing slice-based cell-barring mechanism (it may be desired to restrict camping on certain cells for wireless terminals supporting specific network slices, [0168]);
Ishii further teaches that the wireless terminal receives system information including network slice cell barring information, and that such barring information includes (one or more network slice identifiers of network slices for which the cell is barred, [0171])
Ishii also teaches teach that the wireless terminal checks whether the S-NSSAI of interest is included in the advertised network slice cell barring information and determines whether the serving cell is “barred” or “not barred” (see, [0174]-[0175]) and choosing network slice(s) desired by the terminal, receiving system information comprising network slice cell barring information, and determining whether the cell is barred for the network slice(s) (see [0177]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murry by specifically providing performing, by the wireless device, a second cell reselection procedure based on barring at least one cell which does not support any of the intended network slices, as taught by Ishii for the purpose of providing techniques to enhance resource selection in a sliced network [0009].
Further, the combination of Murray and Ishii together does not teach the based on that a suitable cell is not found from the second cell reselection procedure, performing ... a third cell reselection procedure without barring at least one cell which does not support any of the intended network slices. Ishii teaches determining whether a cell is barred or not barred for selected slice(s), but it does not clearly teach the additional step of later removing the slice-based barring and performing a further/default reselection procedure after the slice-barring-based procedure fails. In the same field of endeavor, Sebire discloses, slice-specific priority behavior where the UE may attempt cell reselection to cells supporting high-priority slices “as a priority (e.g., performed first) and while attempting reselection to cells that do not support the high-priority slices is performed as a lower priority, such as “performed later” or “performed only if there are no cells that support the high priority slices [0109] and the UE may use regular or default cell reselection-related information and/or regular or default cell reselection criteria [0111].”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Murray and Ishii by specifically providing performing ... a third cell reselection procedure without barring at least one cell which does not support any of the intended network slices, as taught by Sebire for the purpose of providing ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC) devices with high reliability and very low latency [0004].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Murray discloses, wherein the at least one frequency evaluated in the first slice-aware cell reselection procedure is excluded from candidates for the second cell reselection procedure and the third cell reselection procedure (If that cell and other cells have to be excluded from the candidate list, the UE shall not consider these as candidates for cell reselection. This limitation shall be removed when the highest ranked cell changes or the CRS-NSSAI changes…. For scenarios where the cells on a given frequency layer in the UEs Registration Area are configured with the same S-NSSAI, e.g. are configured to support the same slices, the UE may exclude cells on the same on the same frequency as candidates for cell reselection, [0180]-[0182]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Murray discloses, wherein the information related to slice-based reselection includes information related to a specific frequency and information related to one or more network slices supported by the specific frequency (An S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency. Therefore, upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available. For example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency (or frequencies) on which an S-NSSAI is available, [0134]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), further Murray discloses, wherein the information related to slice-based reselection includes information related to the slice priority list (Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) includes one or a list of S-NSSAIs, [0090]; upper layers may provide the AS with an indication of the priority of an S-NSSAIs to enable ranking of cells based on S-NSSAI availability, e.g. based on which slice are supported by the cell. For example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the priority of an S-NSSAI, e.g. High, Medium, Low, [0135]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Murray discloses, wherein the method further comprises, receiving, by the wireless device from the network, network slice restrictions information (NAS or AS signaling may be used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN, e.g. the frequency (or frequencies), cells, RNAs, TAs, or RAs that support a given network slice. For example, Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer, [0122]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), further Murray discloses, wherein the network slice restrictions information includes information related to a specific area in which a certain network slice is valid and/or information related to a specific time period during which a certain network slice is valid (Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer [0123]..Therefore, upper layers may provide an indication of the availability of the S-NSSAIs. For example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate in which Tracking Area(s), RAN Notification Area(s) or cell(s) an S-NSSAI is available, [0133].)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), further Murray discloses, wherein the method further comprises, determining, by the wireless device, that one or more network slices are not valid, based on the network slice restrictions information (After being informed of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN, the UE may determine whether or not a given cell supports the network slice based on the cell's Physical Cell ID (PCI); corresponding RNA, TA, or RA, [0122]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Murray discloses, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (each WTRU may comprise or be embodied in any type of apparatus or device configured to transmit or receive wireless signals, including, by way of example only, user equipment (UE), [0309]).
Regarding claim 15, Murray discloses,
A wireless device (Fig. 14F; 102) in wireless communication system (Methods, systems, or devices may assist in performing slice-based cell selection and reselection, see abstract) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 14f; 120);
a memory (Fig. 14f; 130 and 132); and
at least one processor (Fig. 14f; 118) operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory and adapted to perform operation (It is understood that the entities performing the steps illustrated herein, such as FIG. 1-FIG. 9, may be logical entities. The steps may be stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, a device, server, [0304]), the operation comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a network, information related to slice-based cell reselection (Slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling. Slice-based cell reselection parameters may include, but are not limited to hysteresis values, offsets or thresholds that are used when calculating the S and R criterion while performing slice-based cell (re-)selection…..The RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers, [0200]-0206]),
wherein the information related to slice-based cell reselection includes information related to cell reselection priorities for slicing (Absolute priorities of different NR frequencies or inter-RAT frequencies may be determined, at least in part, by the S-NSSAIs that are available on that frequency. This may be referred to as S-NSSAI based reselection priorities handling…the priority of a frequency is equal to the priority of the S-NSSAI with the highest priority on that frequency. For scenarios where two frequencies have the same priority, the number of S-NSSAIs configured with that priority may also be considered when determining the priority of a frequency, [0169]-[0170]);
determining, by the wireless device, a slice priority list for intended network slices, based on the information related to slice-based cell reselection (the NAS Layer may order the S-NSSAI's in the CRS-NSSAI in priority order and, once cell (re-)selection is completed, the RRC layer may provide the NAS layer with an indication of whether the selected cell supports each S-NSSAI in the CRS-NSSAI…upper layers may provide the AS with an indication of the priority of an S-NSSAIs to enable ranking of cells based on S-NSSAI availability, e.g. based on which slice are supported by the cell. For example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the priority of an S-NSSAI, e.g. High, Medium, Low, [0132]-[0135]).
selecting, by the wireless device, a network slice having a highest priority (the cell reselection decision UE may be based on the priorities of the S-NSSAIs available in a cell, e.g. the UE may perform cell reselection to the cell supporting the highest priority S-NSSAI or the highest number of S-NSSAIs configured with the highest priority if multiple S-NSSAIs are configured with the same priority, [0192]);
performing a first cell reselection procedure from at least one frequency which supports the selected network slice (An S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency. Therefore, upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available, [0134]; if a higher priority S-NSSAI that is not available in the Serving Cell is available on another frequency (or frequencies), the UE shall perform measurements of that frequency (or frequencies), [0173]).
However, Murray does not expressly teach the exact ordered of sequence recited in Claim 15: first performing a reselection procedure on at least one frequency supporting the highest-priority selected slice; then, based on no suitable cell being found, performing a second reselection procedure based on barring at least one cell that does not support any intended network slice; and then, based on no suitable cell being found from the second procedure, performing a third cell reselection procedure without barring at least one such non-supporting cell. Murray teaches slice-based priorities, frequency selection, suitability, steering away from cells not supporting slices, and slice-based barring generally (see above), but it does not clearly disclose the above claimed three-stages.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishi discloses, the missing slice-based cell-barring mechanism (it may be desired to restrict camping on certain cells for wireless terminals supporting specific network slices, [0168]);
Ishii further teaches that the wireless terminal receives system information including network slice cell barring information, and that such barring information includes (one or more network slice identifiers of network slices for which the cell is barred, [0171])
Ishii also teaches teach that the wireless terminal checks whether the S-NSSAI of interest is included in the advertised network slice cell barring information and determines whether the serving cell is “barred” or “not barred” (see, [0174]-[0175]) and choosing network slice(s) desired by the terminal, receiving system information comprising network slice cell barring information, and determining whether the cell is barred for the network slice(s) (see [0177]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murry by specifically providing performing, by the wireless device, a second cell reselection procedure based on barring at least one cell which does not support any of the intended network slices, as taught by Ishii for the purpose of providing techniques to enhance resource selection in a sliced network [0009].
Further, the combination of Murray and Ishii together does not teach the based on that a suitable cell is not found from the second cell reselection procedure, performing ... a third cell reselection procedure without barring at least one cell which does not support any of the intended network slices. Ishii teaches determining whether a cell is barred or not barred for selected slice(s), but it does not clearly teach the additional step of later removing the slice-based barring and performing a further/default reselection procedure after the slice-barring-based procedure fails. In the same field of endeavor, Sebire discloses, slice-specific priority behavior where the UE may attempt cell reselection to cells supporting high-priority slices “as a priority (e.g., performed first) and while attempting reselection to cells that do not support the high-priority slices is performed as a lower priority, such as “performed later” or “performed only if there are no cells that support the high priority slices [0109] and the UE may use regular or default cell reselection-related information and/or regular or default cell reselection criteria [0111].”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Murray and Ishii by specifically providing performing ... a third cell reselection procedure without barring at least one cell which does not support any of the intended network slices, as taught by Sebire for the purpose of providing ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC) devices with high reliability and very low latency [0004].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Murray, Ishii and Sebire discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further Murray discloses, wherein the at least one frequency evaluated in the first slice-aware cell reselection procedure is excluded from candidates for the second cell reselection procedure and the third cell reselection procedure (If that cell and other cells have to be excluded from the candidate list, the UE shall not consider these as candidates for cell reselection. This limitation shall be removed when the highest ranked cell changes or the CRS-NSSAI changes…. For scenarios where the cells on a given frequency layer in the UEs Registration Area are configured with the same S-NSSAI, e.g. are configured to support the same slices, the UE may exclude cells on the same on the same frequency as candidates for cell reselection, [0180]-[0182]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2023153359: The cell reselection method involves acquiring (S20) slice frequency information from a base station indicating a correspondence relationship between a network slice, a frequency, and a frequency priority by an user equipment. The frequency is measured (S22) by the user equipment. The frequencies in the network slice are excluded (S24) from slice-specific cell reselection when the user equipment has measured the frequency and the cell with the highest rank in the frequency not supporting the network slice.
US 11564138: Apparatuses, systems, and methods for a wireless device avoiding reselection or handover to cells of different operators. The wireless device may attach to a first base station of a first network operator. The wireless device may determine that a neighboring base station is associated with a second network operator. Based on determining the neighboring base station is associated with the second network operator, the wireless device may exclude the third base station from handover or reselection.
US 20180352491: The equipment has a processor for determining whether a required network slice/service is supported by a network node. The processor performs a set of mobility management procedures. The processor selects a master node (MN), or intra-MN handover or inter-MN handover to MN, selects or reselects a secondary node (SN), intra-SN handover to another SN, and modifies an existing SN, or adds a next SN. The processor changes an anchor node to a target.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641