Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 16-19 in the reply filed on February 10, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has failed to establish serious burden as there would be overlapping search among the groups. This is not found persuasive because the Groupings (i.e. Groups I-IV) do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the reasons as stated in the previous office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The Examiner requests a “Brief Description of the Drawing” and its header before “Detailed Description of the Invention” header on page 13 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kochvar et al. (US 2002/0161088, already cited in PTO-892 dated 12/10/2025), hereinafter “Kochvar.”
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Kochvar teaches, in one example, a water-soluble film comprising a 50/50 mix, i.e., 1:1 ratio, of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) having a molecular weight (MW) of 6,000 and a degree of hydrolysis of 80%, and PVA having a MW of 78,000 and a degree of hydrolysis of 88%, and 20 wt% 1,4 CHDM (i.e., cyclohexanedimethanol, see [0037]), a principal solvent which reads on the plasticizer (see 3rd film in the Table on page 5).
Kochvar teaches the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Kochvar anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochvar as applied to claims 1-3 and 6 above.
Regarding claims 4-5, 16 and 18, Kochvar teaches the features as discussed above. Kochvar, as discussed above, teaches 50/50 mix, i.e., 1:1 ratio, of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) having a molecular weight (MW) of 6,000 and PVA having a MW of 78,000 (see 3rd film in the Table on page 5). In addition, Kochvar teaches that plasticizers may be included in the film-forming composition to help provide flexibility to the film in the range from 0% to 40% by weight of the film-forming composition, and some examples include glycerine (also known as glycerol), poly(alkylene glycols), and alkane diols like 1,2-propanediol and 1,6 hexanediol (see [0044]). Kochvar also teaches that some materials have dual function serving both as a principal solvent and as plasticizer (see [0044]). In another example, Kochvar teaches Film 2 which comprises 18 wt% 1,6-hexanediol and 2 wt% glycerine (see [0050]). Kochvar, however, fails to specifically disclose the incorporation of 18 wt% 1,6-hexanediol and 2 wt% glycerine, say as the principal solvent and plasticizer in the example discussed above, i.e., 3rd film in the Table on page 5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the 20 wt% 1,4 CHDM (i.e., cyclohexanedimethanol in the 3rd film in the Table on page 5, as discussed above, with
18 wt% 1,6-hexanediol and 2 wt% glycerine because these are the other preferred principal solvents acting as plasticizers as shown in Film 2 in [0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Kochvar, as discussed above, teaches that one of the plasticizers include 1,2-propanediol or 1,2 propylene glycol (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Kochvar, as discussed above, teaches plasticizers like 1,6 hexanediol and glycerol (see [0044]), and one example includes 18 wt% 1,6 hexanediol and 2 wt% glycerine or glycerol, whose ratio is 18:2 or 9:1. Kochvar, however, fails to specifically disclose the ratio of the two plasticizers from 1:1 to 8:1.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap (8:1 vs 9:1) but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761