DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Applicant’s amendments of claim(s) 1, 18, and 20 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026
is acknowledged.
Applicant’s cancellation of claim(s) 21-22 and 24 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is
acknowledged.
Claims 1-20, 23, and 25-27 are under examination.
Applicant's arguments, filed 08/03/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or
objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections
and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently
being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites in step iii) “at least a precipitating agent”. The examiner interprets this phrase to mean that while the precipitating agent must be added, anything else may also be added. Therefore, any prior art which reads on a precipitating agent and anything else, reads on this step.
Claim 18 recites “forming a reaction mixture” in lines 1-2 of subsection b). The examiner notes that the specification does not define this phrase. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets any prior art reading on adding an acid to the solution such that a mixture is formed such that a reaction can occur, whether or not the prior art states a reaction occurs, reads on this limitation.
Claim 23 recites step iv) “isolating the gadolinium complex from said solution of the gadolinium complex.” The examiner interprets this to mean isolating the gadolinium complex from the solution containing the gadolinium complex to mean purifying the gadolinium complex after the process of manufacturing it. Therefore, any prior art which reads on the purification of the gadolinium complex, reads on this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, 23, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boi, V.; et al. (US 2018/0362511 A1) and Lessing, P. A.; et al. (Lessing, P. A.; Erickson, A. W. Synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate neutron absorber. Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2003, 23, 3049-3057) and Platzek, J.; et al. (US 2012/0309962 A1).
Boi, V.; et al. (hereafter referred to as Boi) is drawn to dimeric contrast agents (title; abstract; pg 1, para [0018]; pg 3, para [0055], formula II; pg 4, para [0057]-[0059]; pg 2, para [0026]); pg 4, para [0063]; pg 4, para [0064], formula IIA; pg 4, para [0065-[0067]; pg 11, para [0147], scheme 1, compound 7; pg 15, para [0217]; claim 3; claim 6; claim 7) and methods of manufacturing them (pg 10, Scheme 1, compound 5; pg 11, Scheme 12, compound 3; pg 16, scheme 5, compound 3; pg 15, para [0217]; pg 16, scheme 5, compound 4; pg 16, scheme 5, final compound; pg 16, para [0227]; pg 22, Table A, chelate complex 3; claim 7) and states a design incentive for minimizing free gadolinium metal ions since they are extremely toxic (pg 1, para [0007], lines 10-15).
As to claim 1, Boi teaches a process for manufacturing a solution of gadolinium complex of formula I (pg 11, scheme 1, compound 7), wherein R is a C3-C12 hydroxyalkyl comprising at least 2 hydroxyl groups (pg 2, para [0026], lines 5-6; pg 4, para [0059]; pg 11, para [0148], line 5) comprising i) providing a solution of a dimeric ligand of formula Ia (pg 11, Scheme 1, compound 6; pg 11, Scheme 2, compound) wherein R is as defined above (pg 2, para [0026], lines 5-6; pg 4, para [0059]; pg 11, para [0148], line 5); and ii) adding a molar excess of gadolinium metal ions (pg 16, para [0230], lines 1-2; pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) where the gadolinium metal ions are 6.1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions with respect to 3 mmol of dimeric ligand (pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) which is equivalent to a 2.05 mmols of gadolinium metal ions to 1 mmol dimeric ligand.
Boi does not teach adding a precipitating agent.
Lessing, P. A.; et al. (hereinafter referred to as Lessing) is drawn to synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate (title; abstract; introduction, lines 1-3; pg 3051, col 1, chemical reactions) to precipitate free gadolinium from solution using phosphate (abstract (lines 1-4; pg 3049, col 2, para 1, lines 1-7) with a generic method for precipitating gadolinium (pg 3049, col 2, para 2, lines 1-6).
Lessing teaches adding at least a precipitating agent selected from the group consisting of phosphate, monohydrogen phosphate, dihydrogen phosphate, and orthophosphoric acid (pg 3049, col 2, para 2, lines 1-4; pg 3051, col 2, para 1, lines 6-17; pg 3051, col 2, para 2, lines 9-20; pg 3051, col 1, para 3).
The scope and content of the prior art, whether in the same field of endeavor as that of the applicant’s invention or a different field of endeavor included a similar or analogous device (method, or product) for precipitating gadolinium. There was a design incentive to remove extremely toxic free gadolinium metal ions in Boi (states a design incentive for minimizing free gadolinium metal ions since they are extremely toxic (pg 1, para [0007], lines 10-15)) which would have prompted adaptation of the known device (method, or product) with the method of Lessing. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art were encompassed in known variations or in a principle known in the prior art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the identified design incentives, could have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art, and the claimed variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(F).
Lessing does not teach the addition of oxalate.
Platzek, J.; et al. (hereinafter referred to as Platzek) is drawn to a methods for the preparation of a complex starting from pure gadolinium and method of purification (title; abstract; pg 2, para [0013]; pg 2, para [0021]-[0022]) such that free gadolinium in formulations do not exist by removing free gadolinium through precipitation (pg 1, para [0002]) by using oxalate or phosphate to remove free gadolinium (pg 2, para [0015], pg 2, para [0021]; pg 2, para [0023]; claim 5; claim 6).
There was a design incentive of removing free gadolinium from solution which would have prompted adaptation of the known device (method or product) of Boi with the method of Platzek. Where the design incentive is to remove extremely toxic free gadolinium metal ions in Boi (states a design incentive for minimizing free gadolinium metal ions since they are extremely toxic (pg 1, para [0007], lines 10-15)). The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art were encompassed in known variations or in a principle known in the prior art. There a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the identified design incentives, could have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art, and the claimed variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill int eh art. See MPEP 2143(I)(F).
As to claim 2, Boi teaches R of formulae I and Ia is a C5-C7 polyol (pg 2, para [0026]; pg 2, para [0039]; pg 4, para [0065]-[0066]; claim 4; claim 5; claim 6).
As to claim 3, Boi teaches compound 1 (pg 15, para [0217]; pg 16, scheme 5, final compound; pg 22, Table A, chelate complex 3) and compound 1a (pg 16, scheme 5, compound 4; claim 7).
As to claim 4, Lessing teaches monohydrogen phosphate (pg 3050, col 2, para 1, line 11; pg 3050, para 2, lines 17-20).
Lessing does not teach oxalate addition.
Platzek teaches an oxalate ion source (pg 2, para [0015], line 4; claim 5).
As to claim 5, Platzek teaches addition of the precipitating agent to a solution containing complexed gadolinium (pg 2, para [0014], lines 5-8).
As to claim 6, Lessing teaches using an excess precipitating agent with respect to gadolinium metal ions (pg 3051, col 1, section 2.1.1., para 2, lines 1-2; pg 3051, col 1, section 2.1.1., para 6, lines 1-2).
Lessing does not teach the specific molar excess of the precipitating agent to the gadolinium metal ions.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, Lessing teaches that the precipitating agent is in excess. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have adjusted the explicit excess to achieve predictable outcome.
As to claim 7, Lessing teaches using an excess precipitating agent with respect to gadolinium metal ions (pg 3051, col 1, section 2.1.1., para 2, lines 1-2; pg 3051, col 1, section 2.1.1., para 6, lines 1-2).
Lessing does not teach the specific molar excess of the precipitating agent to the gadolinium metal ions.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, Lessing teaches that the precipitating agent is in excess. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have adjusted the explicit excess to achieve predictable outcome.
As to claim 8, Lessing teaches using an excess precipitating agent with respect to gadolinium metal ions (pg 3051, col 1, section 2.1.1., para 2, lines 1-2; pg 3051, col 1, section 2.1.1., para 6, lines 1-2).
Lessing does not teach the specific molar excess of the precipitating agent to the gadolinium metal ions.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, Lessing teaches that the precipitating agent is in excess. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have adjusted the explicit excess to achieve predictable outcome.
As to claim 9, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). This fully includes the claimed pH range of 4.5 or higher.
As to claim 10, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining to a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). This fully includes the claimed pH range of 4.7 or higher. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values at 4.7 or higher.
As to claim 11, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). This fully includes the claimed pH range of 4.9 or higher. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values at 4.9 or higher.
As to claim 12, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). This fully includes the claimed pH range of 5.5 or higher. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values at 5.5 or higher.
As to claim 13, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). Which overlaps with the claimed pH range of 10.0 or lower. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values below 10.0.
As to claim 14, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). Which overlaps with the claimed pH range of 9.0 or lower. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values below 9.0.
As to claim 15, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). Which overlaps with the claimed pH range of 8.5 or lower. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values below 8.5.
As to claim 16, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). Which overlaps with the claimed pH range of 7.5 or lower. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values below 7.5.
As to claim 17, Platzek teaches adjusting and/or maintaining at a pH value of 4.5 or higher (pg 2, para [0021], line 11). Which overlaps with the claimed pH range of 6.5 or lower. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or maintain the pH values below 6.5.
As to claim 18, Boi teaches a process to obtain the dimeric ligand (pg 11, para [0148]) by a) providing a solution of the protected dimeric ligand of formula Ib (pg 11, para [0149], Scheme 2, compound 3; wherein R is a C3-C12 hydroxyalkyl comprising at least 2 hydroxyl groups (pg 2, para [0026]); and n and m are 1 (pg 11, para [0149], compound 3); and R1 is a C1-C6 alkyl (pg 10, para [0140]; pg 10, para [0147]; pg 11, para [0149]; pg 16, para [0218]); and step b) adding an acid to the solution to lower the pH of the reaction mixture (pg 16, para [0227]).
Boi does not teach step c) heating and/or maintaining the reaction temperature higher than 40oC.
Boi does teach heating and/or maintaining the reaction temperature at room temperature which results in the solution comprising the dimeric ligand. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, Boi teaches a temperature less than the claimed temperature. But both temperatures give the same dimeric ligand. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have adjusted the temperature to achieve predictable outcome.
As to claim 19, Platzek teaches an additional purification step after the precipitation of free gadolinium (pg 2, para [0014], step c); pg 2, para [0022]; claim 4).
As to claim 20, Platzek teaches quantitative removal of free gadolinium metal ions. This value lies within the claimed range of less than 350 ppm vs. the amount of gadolinium complex. In such cases, where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 23, Boi teaches a process for manufacturing an isolated gadolinium complex of formula I (pg 11, para [0148]); wherein R is a C3-C12 hydroxyalkyl comprising at least 2 hydroxyl groups (pg 2, para [0026]); and isolating the gadolinium complex from the solution of the gadolinium complex (pg 16, para [0230], lines 6-11).
As to claim 25, Boi teaches R is a pentyl-tetraol (pg 4, para [0065]; claim 6) and a hexyl-pentaol (pg 4, para [0066]; claim 6).
As to claim 26, Lessing teaches sodium hydrogen phosphate (pg 3050, col 2, para 1, line 11).
As to claim 27, Platzek teaches further purification by an adsorbent resin (pg 2, para [0014], step c); claim 4, step c); pg 2, para [0022], lines 1-4).
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Patent No. 10,407,412; Patent No. 11,401,262; and Copending Application No. 19/118,461
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,407,412 in view of Boi, V.; et al. (US 2018/0362511 A1) and Lessing, P. A.; et al. (Lessing, P. A.; Erickson, A. W. Synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate neutron absorber. Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2003, 23, 3049-3057). The teachings of Boi and Lessing as applied in the previous rejection are incorporated in this rejection.
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8, 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,401,262 in view of Boi, V.; et al. (US 2018/0362511 A1) and Lessing, P. A.; et al. (Lessing, P. A.; Erickson, A. W. Synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate neutron absorber. Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2003, 23, 3049-3057). The teachings of Boi and Lessing as applied in the previous rejection are incorporated in this rejection.
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11-14, 16-18, 23-24, 26, 28-30, and 32-33 of copending Application No. 19/118,461 in view of Boi, V.; et al. (US 2018/0362511 A1) and Lessing, P. A.; et al. (Lessing, P. A.; Erickson, A. W. Synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate neutron absorber. Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2003, 23, 3049-3057). The teachings of Boi and Lessing as applied in the previous rejection are incorporated in this rejection. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The instant claims require a process for manufacturing a solution of a gadolinium complex having formula 1 with 3 steps where step i) is providing a dimeric ligand of formula Ia, with a polyol step ii) is adding gadolinium metal ions to the dimeric ligand, and step iii) is adding at least a precipitating agent.
Conflicting claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,407,412 (hereinafter referred to as ‘412), U.S. Patent No. 11,401,262 (hereinafter referred to as ‘262), and copending Application No. 19/118,461 (hereinafter referred to as ‘461) teach the dimeric chelator according to formula I with a polyol.
Conflicting claims of ‘412, ‘262, and ‘461 do not teach a process of making the dimeric chelator with a 2.05 or more molar excess of gadolinium to the dimeric chelator.
Conflicting claims of ‘412, ‘262, and ‘461 do not teach specific precipitating agents.
Regarding a process of making the dimeric chelator, Boi teaches a process for manufacturing a solution of gadolinium complex of formula I (pg 11, scheme 1, compound 7), wherein R is a C3-C12 hydroxyalkyl comprising at least 2 hydroxyl groups (pg 2, para [0026], lines 5-6; pg 4, para [0059]; pg 11, para [0148], line 5) comprising i) providing a solution of a dimeric ligand of formula Ia (pg 11, Scheme 1, compound 6; pg 11, Scheme 2, compound) wherein R is as defined above (pg 2, para [0026], lines 5-6; pg 4, para [0059]; pg 11, para [0148], line 5); and ii) adding a molar excess of gadolinium metal ions (pg 16, para [0230], lines 1-2; pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) where the gadolinium metal ions are 6.1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions with respect to 3 mmol of dimeric ligand (pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) which is equivalent to a 2.05 mmols of gadolinium metal ions to 1 mmol dimeric ligand.
A person having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods of any of ‘412, ‘262, and ‘461 with the known method of Boi, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and therefore, obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the at least a precipitating agent, Lessing teaches adding at least a precipitating agent selected from the group consisting of phosphate, monohydrogen phosphate, dihydrogen phosphate, and orthophosphoric acid (pg 3049, col 2, para 2, lines 1-4; pg 3051, col 2, para 1, lines 6-17; pg 3051, col 2, para 2, lines 9-20; pg 3051, col 1, para 3).
The scope and content of Lessing, whether in the same field of endeavor as that of the applicant’s invention or a different field of endeavor included a similar or analogous device (method, or product) for precipitating gadolinium. And, there was a design incentive to remove extremely toxic free gadolinium metal ions in Boi (as described above) which would have prompted adaptation of the known device (method, or product) with the method of Lessing. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art were encompassed in known variations or in a principle known in the prior art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the identified design incentive, could have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art, and the claimed variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2143(I)(F).
Co-pending Application No. 18/718,945 and Co-pending Application No. 18/017,939
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 24-25 of copending Application No. 18/718,945 in view of Lessing, P. A.; et al. (Lessing, P. A.; Erickson, A. W. Synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate neutron absorber. Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2003, 23, 3049-3057). The teachings of Lessing as applied in the previous rejection are incorporated in this rejection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-15 of copending Application No. 18/017,939 in view of Lessing, P. A.; et al. (Lessing, P. A.; Erickson, A. W. Synthesis and characterization of gadolinium phosphate neutron absorber. Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2003, 23, 3049-3057). The teachings of Lessing as applied in the previous rejection are incorporated in this rejection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The instant claims require a process for manufacturing a solution of a gadolinium complex having formula 1 with 3 steps where step i) is providing a dimeric ligand of formula Ia, with a polyol, step ii) is adding gadolinium metal ions to the dimeric ligand, and step iii) is adding at least a precipitating agent.
Conflicting claims of Co-pending Application No. 18/718,945 (hereinafter referred to as ‘945) and Co-pending Application No. 18/017,939 (hereinafter referred to as ‘939) a process for manufacturing a solution of a gadolinium complex having formula 1 with 3 steps where step i) is providing a dimeric ligand of formula Ia, with a polyol, step ii) is adding gadolinium metal ions to the dimeric ligand.
Conflicting claims of ‘945 and ‘939 do not teach a molar excess of 2.05 or more of gadolinium to dimeric chelator.
Conflicting claims of ‘945 and ‘939 do not teach a precipitating agent.
Regarding a molar excess of gadolinium of 2.05 or more compared to dimeric chelator, Boi teaches a process for manufacturing a solution of gadolinium complex of formula I (pg 11, scheme 1, compound 7), wherein R is a C3-C12 hydroxyalkyl comprising at least 2 hydroxyl groups (pg 2, para [0026], lines 5-6; pg 4, para [0059]; pg 11, para [0148], line 5) comprising i) providing a solution of a dimeric ligand of formula Ia (pg 11, Scheme 1, compound 6; pg 11, Scheme 2, compound) wherein R is as defined above (pg 2, para [0026], lines 5-6; pg 4, para [0059]; pg 11, para [0148], line 5); and ii) adding a molar excess of gadolinium metal ions (pg 16, para [0230], lines 1-2; pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) where the gadolinium metal ions are 6.1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions with respect to 3 mmol of dimeric ligand (pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) which is equivalent to a 2.05 mmols of gadolinium metal ions to 1 mmol dimeric ligand.
A person having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods of any of ‘945 and ‘939 with the known method of Boi, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and therefore, obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the at least a precipitating agent, Lessing teaches adding at least a precipitating agent selected from the group consisting of phosphate, monohydrogen phosphate, dihydrogen phosphate, and orthophosphoric acid (pg 3049, col 2, para 2, lines 1-4; pg 3051, col 2, para 1, lines 6-17; pg 3051, col 2, para 2, lines 9-20; pg 3051, col 1, para 3).
The scope and content of Lessing, whether in the same field of endeavor as that of the applicant’s invention or a different field of endeavor included a similar or analogous device (method, or product) for precipitating gadolinium. And, there was a design incentive to remove extremely toxic free gadolinium metal ions in Boi (as described above) which would have prompted adaptation of the known device (method, or product) with the method of Lessing. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art were encompassed in known variations or in a principle known in the prior art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the identified design incentive, could have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art, and the claimed variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2143(I)(F).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are not obvious because the cited references fail to teach or suggest all the elements of the pending claims. Particularly, applicant argues that Boi does not teach the amended claim 1 limitation of “2.05 moles or more of gadolinium metal ions are added to the solution with respect to 1 mole of the dimeric ligand provided in step i)”. Applicant states that a person of skill in the art would not be motivated to increase the gadolinium amount beyond that used in Boi as evidenced by Boi’s recitation of the extreme toxicity of gadolinium to living organisms. The applicant states that free gadolinium is an impurity that the art seeks to remove from gadolinium-containing pharmaceutical compositions. Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a molar excess of toxic gadolinium metal ions would result in more toxic gadolinium metal ions after complexation.
Respectfully, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. Boi teaches adding a molar excess of gadolinium metal ions (pg 16, para [0230], lines 1-2; pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) where the gadolinium metal ions are 6.1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions with respect to 3 mmol of dimeric ligand (pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3). The ratio of 6.1:3 mmol is equivalent to a 2.05:1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions to dimeric ligand. At this condition, Boi teaches the amended limitation of claim 1.
Applicant argue that Lessing and Platzek fail to teach the molar excess of gadolinium and therefore none of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest the deliberate introduction of the claimed gadolinium excess during complexation.
Respectfully the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. Boi teaches adding a molar excess of gadolinium metal ions (pg 16, para [0230], lines 1-2; pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) where the gadolinium metal ions are 6.1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions with respect to 3 mmol of dimeric ligand (pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3). The ratio of 6.1:3 mmol is equivalent to a 2.05:1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions to dimeric ligand. At this condition, Boi teaches the amended limitation of claim 1.
Applicant state that the conflicting claims of ‘412, ‘262, and ’939 do not recite the “2.05 moles or more excess of gadolinium metal ions are added to the solution with respect to 1 mole of the dimeric ligand provided in step i)”. The applicant argues that the other cited references fail to cure this deficiency.
Respectfully, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. Boi teaches adding a molar excess of gadolinium metal ions (pg 16, para [0230], lines 1-2; pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3) where the gadolinium metal ions are 6.1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions with respect to 3 mmol of dimeric ligand (pg 18, para [0246], lines 1-3). The ratio of 6.1:3 mmol is equivalent to a 2.05:1 mmols of gadolinium metal ions to dimeric ligand. At this condition, Boi teaches the amended limitation of claim 1.
Applicant argues that the conflicting claims of ‘461 and ‘945 should not be applied as double patenting since they have a later priority date than the instant application if all other rejections are withdrawn.
Respectfully, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. All rejections have been maintained or amended to reflect the change in scope of the amendment of claim 1.
The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN M LEWOCZKO/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612