DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 1-8, drawn to a method of additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional metal part, in the reply filed on 05/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a Group II: claims 9-17, drawn to an installation for additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional metal part, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Therefore, claims 1-8 are currently under examination on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 recites “-“ in front of some steps of “- providing” and “- printing”, but does not recite any “-“ in front of some other steps of “driving” and “compacting”. While these are not error or not any grammatical mistakes, however, it would be better if Applicant either use “-“ or not in front of all the steps for the uniformity in claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "substantially horizontal" in line 4, renders the claim indefinite because it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language, as it is not clear what whether it is horizontal or not.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the tangential speed" and "the portion" in line 4. There are insufficient antecedent basis for both of these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 also recites the limitation "a positive component" in line 6, renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what is “a positive component”, specification also does not provide any definition or any indication what is a positive component.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Andrew E. Kuklinski [US20200038958A1] (provided in the IDS) (Kuklinski hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kuklinski discloses a method of additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional metal part (method for additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional (3D) object, a binder jetting process for additive manufacturing, interchangeably herein as three- dimensional (3D) printing, a thin layer of unbound powder, followed by deposition of a liquid agent in a two-dimensional (2D) pattern or image that represents a single "slice" of a 3D shape representing a 3D object (also referred to interchangeably herein as a 3D part, see Kuklinski’s Abstract, [0026]) comprising:
- providing a container (the metering apparatus, 120, e.g. hopper is configured to dispense the unbound powder 105 onto the top surface 118 of the powder bed 122, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0031], [0034]) containing a powdered metal material (unbound powder 105, for metal binder jetting printing application see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, [0031]), in an example, unbound powder is metallic and/or metal powder, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0047]);
- providing a platform which is substantially horizontal and translationally movable along a vertical direction (see Kuklinski’s build box 123 for housing the powder bed 122, that is supported by a piston 107, or any suitable supporting structure (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, and [0046]) which is substantially horizontal and arrow shows translationally movable along a vertical direction as shown in Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B);
- providing a driving and compacting member (the controller 124 is configured to drive the at least one compaction roller 110, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032]-[0035]), mounted for translational movement along a horizontal direction (the multistage compaction apparatus 104 is configured to traverse the top surface of the powder bed 122 in a direction of travel 125, a horizontal direction as shown in the FIG. 1A, 1B, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032]-[0035]);
- driving, by the driving and compacting member, sequentially from said container to said platform a plurality of given quantities Q of said metal material to form a plurality of layers of said metal material (the metering apparatus 120 is configured to meter a powder flow 103 of unbound powder 105 from a hopper with a controlled flow rate onto a top surface 118 of the powder bed 122, in layer by layer, layer 108 and successive layer 108’, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0026], [0031] and [0032]);
- compacting, by the driving and compacting member, each of said layers of said metal material, so as to superimpose a plurality of compacted layers of said metal material on said platform (compaction apparatus 104 is configured to traverse the top surface of the powder bed 122 in a direction of travel 125, wherein at least one compaction roller 110 contact the pile 115 of unbound powder 105 and compaction roller 110 causes active motion of the unbound powder 105 and such active motion causes the unbound powder 105 to compact itself and produce the compacted amount 106 that is compacted further (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0035]) and the controller 124 of FIG. 1B, is configured to drive the multistage compaction apparatus 104 to produce the compacted layer 108 and successive compacted layers of the powder bed (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0033]));
- printing a binder in a predefined pattern on a surface of each of the compacted layers of said metal material (spreading of the thin layer of powder followed by a deposition of a liquid binder in a two-dimensional (2D) pattern or image that represents a single "slice" of a 3D shape representing a 3D object or interchangeably a 3D part. Following deposition of the liquid, another layer of powder is spread, and the process is being repeated to form the 3D shape composed of bound material, a bound part, inside the powder bed, (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, FIG. 4 [0026]-[0027]), and the printing apparatus is configured to jet fluid into compacted layers of the powder bed 122 to print a 3D object, 116 of FIG. 1B, (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, [0035])), comprising lower said platform after each print (in FIG. 1B a build box 123 for housing the powder bed 122 is supported by a piston 107 to move down within the build box 123 such that subsequent layers of the powder bed 122 may be formed, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, FIG. 4 [0046]);
wherein said driving and compacting member is driven, for each of the quantities Q of said metal material, in a translational direction so as to form a layer of said metal material (driving and compacting member 104 comprising the compaction roller 110 contacts the pile 115 of unbound powder 105 and is rotating in the first direction 117, such contact of the compaction roller 110 with the unbound powder 105 causes active motion of the unbound powder 105 and such active motion causes to compact itself and produce the compacted amount 106, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0035] –[0036]), and in a translational return direction to compact said formed layer (106 is compacted further in the second stage 121 of compaction, performed subsequent to the first stage 111, wherein the compaction roller 110 is configured to rotate in the second direction 126 contact the compacted amount 106 produced in previous first stage 111, in the direction of travel 125 to perform the second stage 121 of compaction. By driving the compaction roller 110 to rotate in the second direction 126, that is opposite the first direction 117, the compaction roller 110 applies a downward pressure to compress the compacted amount 106 and compacts the compacted amount 106 further, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0035] – [0036]).
Although Kuklinski is silent “forward direction” and “return direction”, as shown above teachings of Kuklinski’s and Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A and 1B, Kuklinski’s compaction roller is moving in a first direction 117, toward a translational direction (from right to left in the horizontal direction of travel 125, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B) to form a powder layer in in first stage 111 and then moving back in a second direction 126 toward a translational direction (from left to right in the in the horizontal direction of travel 125, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B) which is opposite to the first direction for compacting in second stage 121, as the compaction roller is moving two opposite directions in a translational linear path direction, therefore, Kuklinski anticipates the limitation of “forward direction” and a “return direction”, as one ordinary skill in the art, would interpret a first direction 117, toward a translational direction as a forward direction and a second direction 126 toward a translational direction as a return direction.
Regarding claim 4, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 4, wherein Kuklinski already discloses driving and compacting member is a rotating roller (driving and compacting member 104 comprises the compaction roller 110 is configured to rotate, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032]-[0033]), and
wherein said rotating roller is rotationally driven in a same direction of rotation in the translational forward and return directions (as shown above teachings of Kuklinski’s and Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A and 1B, Kuklinski’s compaction roller is moving in a first direction 117, rotationally driven clock-wise in a same direction from right to left in a forward translational horizontal direction (opposite to direction of travel 125) on top of powder (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B), and then moving back in a second direction 126 rotationally driven counter clock-wise in a same direction from left to right in a return translational horizontal direction which is to direction of travel 125, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B).
Regarding claim 6, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 and 4 are applicable to claim 6, wherein Kuklinski already discloses said roller is rotationally driven so that said roller rolls each of said layers of said metal material in said return direction (by driving the compaction roller 110 to rotate in the second direction 126, that is opposite the first direction 117, the compaction roller 110 applies a downward pressure to compress the compacted amount 106 and compacts the compacted amount 106 further, in return direction see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032] – [0036]).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang YongQiang, et.al. [CN106862570A] (machine translation is being used for the text and original provided in the IDS, is being used for the figures) (provided in the IDS) (Yong hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method of additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional metal part (3D printing technology, and a method for multi-nozzle control of metal powder 3D (3DP) molding, a metal part blank, see Yang’s [0002], [0013], [0014]) comprising:
- providing a container (hopper 8, see Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]) containing a powdered metal material (metal powder 2, Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]);
- providing a platform (substrate 3, Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]) is which is substantially horizontal (Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]) and translationally movable along a vertical direction (the molding cylinder rises slightly by a distance of T3, and then the molding cylinder descends by a distance of T3, see Yang’s FIG. 2 and 3, [0048]);
- providing a driving and compacting member (the powder spreading roller 7 removes a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling, see Yang’s FIG. 2, [0048])), mounted for translational movement along a horizontal direction (the powder spreading roller 7 moves horizontally while rotating around its own axis, from right to left and left to right see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3 [0048]);
driving, by the driving and compacting member, sequentially from said container to said platform a plurality of given quantities Q of said metal material to form a plurality of layers of said metal material and compacting, by the driving and compacting member, each of said layers of said metal material, so as to superimpose a plurality of compacted layers of said metal material on said platform (the metal powder particles 2 are placed into the molding cylinder in the molding chamber, to form a powder layer, the molding cylinder descends by a distance of T3, and the powder spreading roller 7 moves from left to right. During this process, the hopper 8 feeds powder, and the powder spreading roller 7 moves horizontally while rotating around its own axis to spread and compact the powder. The above process is repeated continuously until the processing is completed and a bonded and molded part blank 6 is formed, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]),
- printing a binder in a predefined pattern on the surface of each of the compacted layers of said metal material (nozzles are controlled to spray the binder onto the powder layer surface according to the specified path, so that the metal powder is connected and solidified to form a solidified powder layer, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), comprising lower said platform after each print (the powder spreading roller 7 removes a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling, and the actual layer thickness obtained is T2, as shown in Figure 3. Then the molding cylinder descends by a distance of T3, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]);
With respect to the “forward” and “return direction”, although, Yang is silent about these terms, Yang anticipates the limitation, wherein in that said driving and compacting member is driven, for each of the quantities Q of said metal material, in a translational forward direction so as to form a layer of said metal material (the powder spreading roller 7 moves from left to right, during this process, the powder spreading roller 7 moves horizontally while rotating around its own axis to spread and compact the powder, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), i.e. Yang’s powder spreading step, when the roller 7 moves from left to right anticipates a forward direction, and Yang anticipates in a translational return direction to compact said formed layer (the powder spreading roller 7 moves from right to left and during this process, the powder spreading roller 7 removes a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling to obtain an actual layer thickness T2, as shown in Figure 3, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), i.e. Yang’s powder compacting and leveling steps, as well as removing extra powder when the roller 7 moves from right to left anticipates return direction.
Regarding claim 2, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 2, in addition, Yang teaches said platform is raised before each driving of said driving and compacting member in a return direction (after a solidified powder layer (thickness T1), the molding cylinder rises slightly by a distance of T3, and then the powder spreading roller 7 moves from right to left to remove a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), i.e. Yang’s powder compacting and leveling steps, as well as removing extra powder when the roller 7 moves from right to left anticipates return direction.
Regarding claim 3, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, in addition, Yang teaches wherein said platform is lowered by a first height distance before each driving of said driving and compacting member in the forward direction (as shown in Yang’s FIG. 2 and 3, the platform is lowered to have the metal powder is pre-processed, and powder particles 2 are placed into the molding cylinder in the molding chamber, so that the metal powder is connected and solidified to form a solidified powder layer (thickness T1) including the molding cylinder descends by a distance of T3, during the powder spreading roller 7 moves from left to right. During this process, the hopper 8 feeds the powder, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), as shown above, Yang’s powder spreading step, when the roller 7 moves from left to right anticipates a forward direction, and
wherein said platform is raised by a second distance less than said first distance before each driving of said driving and compacting member in the return direction (after a solidified powder layer (thickness T1 first distance), the molding cylinder rises slightly by a distance of T3 (second distance), and then the powder spreading roller 7 moves from right to left to remove a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]). Yang’s powder compacting and leveling steps, as well as removing extra powder when the roller 7 moves from right to left anticipates return direction. In addition, T3 (the second distance) is less than the T1 (first distance) as shown in Yang’s FIG.3, as well as T3 is a quarter-thickness of the solidified powder layer T1, (see Yang’s [0025], FIG.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew E. Kuklinski [US20200038958A1] (provided in the IDS), (Kuklinski hereafter).
Regarding claim 5, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 and 4 are applicable to claim 5, in addition Kuklinski discloses the roller is rotationally driven in such a way that, when it is translationally driven in the forward direction, the tangential speed of the portion of the roller in contact with the powder material is oriented in a direction having a positive component with the forward driving direction of the roller (Kuklinski’s FIG. 5 shows a compaction roller 510 and a tangential direction of travel 532, the compaction roller 510 is configured to rotate in a direction 517 such that, at a contact point 534 between the roller compaction roller 510 and the top surface 518 of the powder bed 522, a tangential direction of travel 532 of the contact point 534 with the top surface 518 of the powder bed 522 is in a same direction as traversal of the compaction roller 510. That is, the tangential direction of travel 532 of the contact point 534 is in the same the direction of travel 525 of the compaction roller 510 across the top surface 518 and is in a same direction of spreading of the unbound powder 505 by the compaction roller 510 (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 5, [0074]). With respect to “having a positive component”, it is not clear what the limitation is, however, as shown above, Kuklinski discloses the powder material is oriented in a direction for having a new amount of powder to form a new layer on top of the previous layer (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0035] –[0036]) [0032] – [0036]), would meet the limitations.
Kuklinski further discloses sensing the height of the pile 115 of unbound powder metered onto the top surface 118 of the powder bed 122, height of the compacted amount 106, etc. may be used by the controller 124 to adjust parameters of the metering apparatus 120, multistage compaction apparatus 104, or a combination thereof. For example, to control a speed of rotation of the first direction 117 and the second direction 126 and the parameters adjusted may include position of the at least one compaction roller 110, rate of traversal, rate of dispensing, or any other suitable parameter or combination of parameters (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 2, [0062] –[0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to have Kuklinski’s teachings of tangential direction of travel of the contact point with the top surface of the powder bed and controlling the speed of rotation of compaction roll for adjusting the height of the of the compacted amount of powder, rate of dispensing, or any other suitable parameter or combination of parameters of the compaction as required by the application.
Claim 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew E. Kuklinski [US20200038958A1] (provided in the IDS), (Kuklinski hereafter), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yang YongQiang, et.al. [CN106862570A] (machine translation is being used for the text and original provided in the IDS, is being used for the figures) (provided in the IDS) (Yong hereafter).
Regarding claim 2, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 2, wherein Kuklinski discloses lowering of the platform after each print (the printing apparatus is configured to jet fluid into compacted layers of the powder bed 122 to print a 3D object, 116 of FIG. 1B, (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, [0035]) and as shown in FIG. 1B a build box 123 for housing the powder bed 122 is supported by a piston 107 to move down within the build box 123 such that subsequent layers of the powder bed 122 may be formed, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, FIG. 4 [0046]). As shown in Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, piston 107, it would have been obvious that Kuklinski’s platform can be move both direction as shown by the arrow of movement for piston 107, in the figure and therefore the platform can be raised (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B).
But Kuklinski is silent said platform is raised before each driving of said driving and compacting member in a return direction.
However, Yang teaches a method of additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional metal part, see Yang’s [0002], [0013], [0014]) comprising: providing a container (hopper 8, see Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]) containing a powdered metal material (metal powder 2, Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]); providing a platform (substrate 3, Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]) is which is substantially horizontal (Yang’s FIG. 2 [0037]) and translationally movable along a vertical direction, see Yang’s FIG. 2 and 3, [0048]).
Yang then teaches said platform is raised before each driving of said driving and compacting member in a return direction (the powder spreading roller 7 moves from right to left and during this process, the powder spreading roller 7 removes a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling to obtain an actual layer thickness T2, as shown in Figure 3, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), i.e. Yang’s powder compacting and leveling steps, as well as removing extra powder when the roller 7 moves from right to left anticipates return direction. The above process is repeated continuously until the processing is completed and a bonded and molded part blank 6 is formed, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]).
Yang is in the same field of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part and thus considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as well as Kuklinski.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Yang’s teachings of raising the platform with Kuklinski’s process to remove extra powder material and levelling the top layer of the powder for additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part.
Regarding claim 3, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, Kuklinski discloses lowering of the platform after each print (build box 123 for housing the powder bed 122 is supported by a piston 107 to move down within the build box 123 such that subsequent layers of the powder bed 122 may be formed, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1B, FIG. 4 [0046]).
But Kuklinski is silent about wherein said platform is lowered by a first height distance before each driving of said driving and compacting member in the forward direction and wherein said platform is raised by a second distance less than said first distance before each driving of said driving and compacting member in the return direction.
Yang teaches wherein said platform is lowered by a first height distance before each driving of said driving and compacting member in the forward direction (as shown in Yang’s FIG. 2 and 3, the platform is lowered to have the metal powder is pre-processed, and powder particles 2 are placed into the molding cylinder in the molding chamber, so that the metal powder is connected and solidified to form a solidified powder layer (thickness T1) including the molding cylinder descends by a distance of T3, during the powder spreading roller 7 moves from left to right. During this process, the hopper 8 feeds the powder, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]), as shown above, Yang’s powder spreading step, when the roller 7 moves from left to right anticipates a forward direction, and
wherein said platform is raised by a second distance less than said first distance before each driving of said driving and compacting member in the return direction (after a solidified powder layer (thickness T1 first distance), the molding cylinder rises slightly by a distance of T3 (second distance), and then the powder spreading roller 7 moves from right to left to remove a very thin layer from the bonded surface for leveling, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048]). Yang’s powder compacting and leveling steps, as well as removing extra powder when the roller 7 moves from right to left anticipates return direction. In addition, T3 (the second distance) is less than the T1 (first distance) as shown in Yang’s FIG.3, as well as T3 is a quarter-thickness of the solidified powder layer T1, (see Yang’s [0025], FIG.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Yang’s teachings of lowering the platform for depositing and spreading powder and raising the platform with Kuklinski’s process to remove extra powder material and levelling the top layer of the powder for additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part.
Claim 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew E. Kuklinski [US20200038958A1] (provided in the IDS), (Kuklinski hereafter) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Om Prakash et.al. [US20200101664A1] (provided in the IDS), (Prakash hereafter).
Regarding claim 7 and 8, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 7, but Kuklinski is silent about causing vibration of said compacted layers of said metal material.
However, Prakash discloses in additive manufacturing, process wherein powder is spread on a build plate and then fused together to form a desired part. Generally, powder spreading on the build plate or powder bed using a doctor blade or roller increases production cost (see Prakash’s [0004]). Therefore, Prakash discloses causing vibration of said compacted layers of said metal material (a build plate and compacting member) is configured to spread powder onto the build plate; and at least one vibration mechanism coupled to one or more of the build plate, see Prakash’s [0008]).
Prakash’s example vibratory compaction system 140 is integrated with the build plate 110, wherein the vibratory compaction system 140 is configured to produce one or more of in-plane vibrations 500 (see Prakash’s FIGS. 5 and 6) and out-of-plane vibrations 501 (see Prakash’s FIGS. 6 and 7) relative to, a powder supporting surface 510 (platform, see Prakash’s e.g., FIG. 5) of the build plate 110 or the powder bed 1199 (see Prakash’s FIG. 11), which effect relative movement between the powder particles (see Prakash’s FIG. 11) and cause compaction of the powder particles through, local rearrangement of the powder particles that provides an increased packing density and to expel possible air pockets trapped within the powder bed (see Prakash’s [0008]).
Prakash is in the same field of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part and thus considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as well as Kuklinski.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Prakash’s teachings of using vibratory compaction system for causing vibration with Kuklinski’s process of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part to increase packing density and to expel possible air pockets trapped within the powder bed for better compaction without using cost of production.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang YongQiang, et.al. [CN106862570A] (machine translation is being used for the text and original provided in the IDS, is being used for the figures) (provided in the IDS) (Yong hereafter) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Andrew E. Kuklinski [US20200038958A1] (provided in the IDS), (Kuklinski hereafter).
Regarding claim 4, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 4, wherein Yang discloses driving and compacting member is a rotating roller (spreading roller 7, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048])).
But, Yang is silent wherein said rotating roller is rotationally driven in a same direction of rotation in the translational forward and return directions.
However, Kuklinski already discloses driving and compacting member is a rotating roller (driving and compacting member 104 comprises the compaction roller 110 is configured to rotate, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032]-[0033]), and
wherein said rotating roller is rotationally driven in a same direction of rotation in the translational forward and return directions (as shown above teachings of Kuklinski’s and Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A and 1B, Kuklinski’s compaction roller is moving in a first direction 117, rotationally driven clock-wise in a same direction from right to left in a forward translational horizontal direction (opposite to direction of travel 125) on top of powder (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B), and then moving back in a second direction 126 rotationally driven counter clock-wise in a same direction from left to right in a return translational horizontal direction which is to direction of travel 125, see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B).
Kuklinski further teaches the process utilizes substantially uniform packing density may be considered to be substantially uniform based on amount of void space of the compacted layer 108, (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032]-[0033]).
Kuklinski is in the same field of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part and thus considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as well as Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to have Kuklinski’s teachings to modify Yang’s process of additive manufacturing for having uniform packing density.
Regarding claim 5, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 and 4 are applicable to claim 5, but Yang is silent about the roller is rotationally driven in such a way that, when it is translationally driven in the forward direction, the tangential speed of the portion of the roller in contact with the powder material is oriented in a direction having a positive component with the forward driving direction of the roller.
However, Kuklinski discloses the roller is rotationally driven in such a way that, when it is translationally driven in the forward direction, the tangential speed of the portion of the roller in contact with the powder material is oriented in a direction having a positive component with the forward driving direction of the roller (Kuklinski’s FIG. 5 shows a compaction roller 510 and a tangential direction of travel 532, the compaction roller 510 is configured to rotate in a direction 517 such that, at a contact point 534 between the roller compaction roller 510 and the top surface 518 of the powder bed 522, a tangential direction of travel 532 of the contact point 534 with the top surface 518 of the powder bed 522 is in a same direction as traversal of the compaction roller 510. That is, the tangential direction of travel 532 of the contact point 534 is in the same the direction of travel 525 of the compaction roller 510 across the top surface 518 and is in a same direction of spreading of the unbound powder 505 by the compaction roller 510 (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 5, [0074]). With respect to “having a positive component”, it is not clear what the limitation is, however, as shown above, Kuklinski discloses the powder material is oriented in a direction for having a new amount of powder to form a new layer on top of the previous layer (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0035] –[0036]) [0032] – [0036]), would meet the limitations.
Kuklinski further discloses sensing the height of the pile 115 of unbound powder metered onto the top surface 118 of the powder bed 122, height of the compacted amount 106, etc. may be used by the controller 124 to adjust parameters of the metering apparatus 120, multistage compaction apparatus 104, or a combination thereof. For example, to control a speed of rotation of the first direction 117 and the second direction 126 and the parameters adjusted may include position of the at least one compaction roller 110, rate of traversal, rate of dispensing, or any other suitable parameter or combination of parameters (see Kuklinski’s FIG. 2, [0062] –[0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to have Kuklinski’s teachings of tangential direction of travel of the contact point with the top surface of the powder bed to modify Yang’s process of additive manufacturing for controlling the speed of rotation of compaction roll for adjusting the height of the of the compacted amount of powder, rate of dispensing, or any other suitable parameter or combination of parameters of the compaction as required by the application.
Regarding claim 6, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 and 4 are applicable to claim 6, wherein Yang also teaches said roller is rotationally driven so that said roller rolls each of said layers of said metal material in said return direction, see Yang’s FIG. 2, 3, [0048])).
In addition, Kuklinski already discloses said roller is rotationally driven so that said roller rolls each of said layers of said metal material in said return direction (by driving the compaction roller 110 to rotate in the second direction 126, that is opposite the first direction 117, the compaction roller 110 applies a downward pressure to compress the compacted amount 106 and compacts the compacted amount 106 further, in return direction see Kuklinski’s FIG. 1A, 1B, [0032] – [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to have Kuklinski’s teachings to modify Yang’s process of additive manufacturing for having uniform packing density as well as a downward pressure to compress the compacted amount as required.
Claim 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang YongQiang, et.al. [CN106862570A] (machine translation is being used for the text and original provided in the IDS, is being used for the figures) (provided in the IDS) (Yong hereafter) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Om Prakash et.al. [US20200101664A1] (provided in the IDS), (Prakash hereafter).
Regarding claim 7 and 8, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 7, but Yang is silent about causing vibration of said compacted layers of said metal material.
However, Prakash discloses in additive manufacturing, process wherein powder is spread on a build plate and then fused together to form a desired part. Generally, powder spreading on the build plate or powder bed using a doctor blade or roller increases production cost (see Prakash’s [0004]). Therefore, Prakash discloses causing vibration of said compacted layers of said metal material (a build plate and compacting member) is configured to spread powder onto the build plate; and at least one vibration mechanism coupled to one or more of the build plate, see Prakash’s [0008]).
Prakash’s example vibratory compaction system 140 is integrated with the build plate 110, wherein the vibratory compaction system 140 is configured to produce one or more of in-plane vibrations 500 (see Prakash’s FIGS. 5 and 6) and out-of-plane vibrations 501 (see Prakash’s FIGS. 6 and 7) relative to, a powder supporting surface 510 (platform, see Prakash’s e.g., FIG. 5) of the build plate 110 or the powder bed 1199 (see Prakash’s FIG. 11), which effect relative movement between the powder particles (see Prakash’s FIG. 11) and cause compaction of the powder particles through, local rearrangement of the powder particles that provides an increased packing density and to expel possible air pockets trapped within the powder bed (see Prakash’s [0008]).
Prakash is in the same field of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part and thus considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as well as Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Prakash’s teachings of using vibratory compaction system for causing vibration with Yang’s process of additive manufacturing of a three dimensional metal part to increase packing density and to expel possible air pockets trapped within the powder bed for better compaction without using cost of production.
Conclusion
/NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1738