DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/566,131, dated on 12/01/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US 2017/0055273 A1).
Claims 1, 12, Sharma discloses a base station (first base station; Figs. 1-11), comprising:
a controller (controller; Fig. 11, el. 1104), which in operation, controls communication to a terminal (UE; Figs. 3-6, 8-10, 12) cooperating with another base station (second base station; Figs. 1-3, 8-10), based on information on a communication quality (channel state information (CSI); Another aspect of the present disclosure provides channel state information that includes, but is not limited to, at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), and a zone number; ¶25) between the base station and the terminal and information on a spatial condition (information regarding obstructed area, blockage area; However, an MMwave cellular system also has drawbacks. In an MMwave cellular system, objects ranging from a small size to large buildings, walls, and polls act as obstructions to a transmitted signal within a beam. These obstructions can create noise, block the signal, and deteriorate the quality of the signal; ¶10; Referring to FIG. 2, the network 200 includes a first base station 202, and a second base station 204 transmitting millimeter waves. The millimeter waves are overlapping at the edges of the beams and thereby forming overlapping zone. The beams from both the base station A 202 and the base station B 204 are being obstructed by plurality of obstructions, wherein due to high absorption in MMwave, NLOS paths remains weak in MMwave communication and thereby creating noise and blocking the transmission line of sight (LOS) path, resulting in high penetration losses during data transfer; ¶12) that possibly causes a fluctuation in radio wave propagation (fluctuation of SINR, signal reception; Another aspect of the present disclosure identifies, by the base station, a first zone where the UE encounters a blockage area by measuring a CSI parameter distribution for the first zone, performing time averaging across a preset number of previous sub frames, and deriving a CQI distribution over the preset number of previous sub frames to identify dips in the CSI information; ¶28; Another aspect of the present disclosure is that the signal is said to be blocked if there is no line of sight (LOS) path and the signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) is below a preset threshold; ¶29; ¶53; ¶57) of a signal to be transmitted to the terminal; and a communicator (transceiver; Fig. 11, el. 1102), which in operation, communicates with the terminal under the control of the controller (transceiver (Fig. 11, el. 1102) in communication with the terminal controller (Fig. 11, el. 1104)) (A method and an apparatus for providing zone based prediction. The method includes determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE), identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area; abstract; ¶14; ¶15; According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell; receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE); identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain; and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area. According to another aspect of the present disclosure, a base station for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication, wherein the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to receive channel state information (CSI) from the UE; and a controller configured to: determine a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, identify a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocate at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area;¶20-¶21; ¶30; ¶31; ¶58; As the UE 906 moves in the coverage zone, the first base station 902 identifies that, based on the current moving direction and status of the forthcoming zone, the UE 906 might encounter an obstruction at time t+T. As the UE 906 still has the resources available for accessing the network, it can be observed that data transfer remains adequate for a certain period of time. The first base station 902 identifies that the UE 906 requires additional network resources to avoid being affected by an obstruction. However, the first base station 902 fails to allocate additional network resources to the UE 906 for reasons such as, but not limited to, lack of additional network resources, an amount of network resources requested by the other UEs in the network coverage area is greater, and the like. It is understood that a person having ordinary skill in the art can understand that the base station may fail to provide additional network resources to the UE without departing from the scope and spirit of the present disclosure. Therefore, the first base station 902 identifies that one or more other neighboring base stations can allocate the additional amount of network resources to be provided to the UE 906 as defined in the 3GPP LTE-A standard. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, a base station can periodically receive status of neighboring base stations and can select the suitable neighboring base station based on at least one of, but not limited to, a number of UEs camping on the base station, SINR of the network resources allocated to the UEs, amount of time required to access the network resources by the UE, and the like, and a person having ordinary skill in the art can understand that any other parameters can be considered for selecting a suitable neighboring base station, without departing from the scope and spirit of the present disclosure. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, any method for selecting a suitable neighboring base station can be used for selecting the base station, without departing from the scope and spirit of the present disclosure; ¶84-¶85; As the UE 1006 moves in the coverage zone, the first base station 1002 identifies that, based on the current moving direction and status of the forthcoming zone, the UE 1006 might encounter an obstruction at time t+T. Therefore, the first base station 1002 can provide sufficient network resources to the UE 1006 so that even when the UE 1006 enters a blockage region, the quality of service should not deteriorate. Thus, the UE 806 can receive a sufficient allocation of network resources from the first base station 1002. Further, after a certain time interval, at time t+T2, the first base station 1002 identifies that the UE 1006 is entering an overlapping zone and is about to face an obstruction in the overlapping zone. The first base station 1002 identifies that the present allocation of network resources to the UE 1006 cannot maintain the current quality of service. Therefore, the first base station 1002 performs CoMP scheduling and further identifies a neighboring base station, the second base station 1004, as a suitable base station for providing network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region (e.g. obstruction). Therefore, the second base station 1004 receives a request from the first base station 1002 and provides network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region, and thereby maintains the quality of the service; ¶90; ¶91).
Claim 2, Sharma discloses wherein the controller predicts the radio wave propagation (channel state information (CSI); Another aspect of the present disclosure provides channel state information that includes, but is not limited to, at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), and a zone number; ¶25) between the base station (first base station; Figs. 1-11) and the terminal (UE; Figs. 3-6, 8-10, 12) by using the information on the spatial condition (information regarding obstructed area, blockage area; However, an MMwave cellular system also has drawbacks. In an MMwave cellular system, objects ranging from a small size to large buildings, walls, and polls act as obstructions to a transmitted signal within a beam. These obstructions can create noise, block the signal, and deteriorate the quality of the signal; ¶10; Referring to FIG. 2, the network 200 includes a first base station 202, and a second base station 204 transmitting millimeter waves. The millimeter waves are overlapping at the edges of the beams and thereby forming overlapping zone. The beams from both the base station A 202 and the base station B 204 are being obstructed by plurality of obstructions, wherein due to high absorption in MMwave, NLOS paths remains weak in MMwave communication and thereby creating noise and blocking the transmission line of sight (LOS) path, resulting in high penetration losses during data transfer; ¶12) and controls the communication to the terminal based on a prediction result (BS predicting the CSI of the Zones with obstruction as the UE moves; A method and an apparatus for providing zone based prediction. The method includes determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE), identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area; abstract; According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell; receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE); identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain; and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area. According to another aspect of the present disclosure, a base station for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication, wherein the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to receive channel state information (CSI) from the UE; and a controller configured to: determine a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, identify a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocate at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area;¶20-¶21; ¶22; With an aspect of predicting obstructions or blockages in zones of millimeter wave beams of a base station and achieving optimum throughput and resource utilization by various alternatives, the present disclosure describes zone based cooperation to a UE in a wireless network; ¶51; ¶58; During allocation of network resources to the UE, the base station waits for a time domain when the UE is in a blockage area, and based on a prediction time and also a time required to cooperate between multiple base stations for joint allocation using a coordinated multipoint (CoMP) technique, the base station can allocate one or more network resources to the UE; ¶62; Once the base station sets the PDCCH bit for prediction information, the base station can also provide an allocation in an uplink to transmit prediction information that includes geographical position values, moving direction, a Doppler shift, and the CSI. Based on the prediction information, the base station can derive a root mean square error (RMSE) between the CSI available for the zone and the instantaneous CSI received with the feedback. If the RMSE is below a threshold RMSE, RMSEthresh, then the base station is ready to predict the zone transition. The method of calculating RMSE and tracking the UE in the zones is described below in detail with respect to FIGS. 6 and 7; ¶67).
Claim 3, Sharma discloses wherein the controller controls the communication to the terminal based on a variation in the information on the spatial condition (BS1 adding resources, cooperate with BS2 so BS2 provide further resources and/or handing over to BS2 based on the obstructions; abstract; ¶14; ¶15; According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell; receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE); identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain; and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area. According to another aspect of the present disclosure, a base station for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication, wherein the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to receive channel state information (CSI) from the UE; and a controller configured to: determine a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, identify a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocate at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area;¶20-¶21; ¶58; ¶69; As the UE 1006 moves in the coverage zone, the first base station 1002 identifies that, based on the current moving direction and status of the forthcoming zone, the UE 1006 might encounter an obstruction at time t+T. Therefore, the first base station 1002 can provide sufficient network resources to the UE 1006 so that even when the UE 1006 enters a blockage region, the quality of service should not deteriorate. Thus, the UE 806 can receive a sufficient allocation of network resources from the first base station 1002. Further, after a certain time interval, at time t+T2, the first base station 1002 identifies that the UE 1006 is entering an overlapping zone and is about to face an obstruction in the overlapping zone. The first base station 1002 identifies that the present allocation of network resources to the UE 1006 cannot maintain the current quality of service. Therefore, the first base station 1002 performs CoMP scheduling and further identifies a neighboring base station, the second base station 1004, as a suitable base station for providing network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region (e.g. obstruction). Therefore, the second base station 1004 receives a request from the first base station 1002 and provides network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region, and thereby maintains the quality of the service; ¶90; ¶91).
Claim 4, Sharma discloses wherein the controller acquires configuration information on the communication to the terminal from an information processing apparatus (base station receiving configuration from network to implement the method for providing zone base cooperation to user equipment; title) that predicts the radio wave propagation between the base station and the terminal by using the information on the spatial condition (predicting the CSI of the Zones with obstruction as the UE moves; A method and an apparatus for providing zone based prediction. The method includes determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE), identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area; abstract; According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining, by a base station, a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell; receiving, by the base station, channel state information (CSI) from a user equipment (UE); identifying, by the base station, a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain; and allocating, by the base station, at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area. According to another aspect of the present disclosure, a base station for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication, wherein the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to receive channel state information (CSI) from the UE; and a controller configured to: determine a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, identify a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocate at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area;¶20-¶21; ¶22; With an aspect of predicting obstructions or blockages in zones of millimeter wave beams of a base station and achieving optimum throughput and resource utilization by various alternatives, the present disclosure describes zone based cooperation to a UE in a wireless network; ¶51; ¶58; During allocation of network resources to the UE, the base station waits for a time domain when the UE is in a blockage area, and based on a prediction time and also a time required to cooperate between multiple base stations for joint allocation using a coordinated multipoint (CoMP) technique, the base station can allocate one or more network resources to the UE; ¶62; Once the base station sets the PDCCH bit for prediction information, the base station can also provide an allocation in an uplink to transmit prediction information that includes geographical position values, moving direction, a Doppler shift, and the CSI. Based on the prediction information, the base station can derive a root mean square error (RMSE) between the CSI available for the zone and the instantaneous CSI received with the feedback. If the RMSE is below a threshold RMSE, RMSEthresh, then the base station is ready to predict the zone transition. The method of calculating RMSE and tracking the UE in the zones is described below in detail with respect to FIGS. 6 and 7; ¶67).
Claim 5, Sharma discloses wherein configuration information on the communication to the terminal is stored in a storage prior to installation of the base station (storing the configuration in a network node before the base station being configurated by the network to implement the method for providing zone base cooperation to user equipment; title).
Claim 6, Sharma discloses wherein the controller performs arbitration judgement for the communication to the terminal, based on the communication quality, and corrects a result of the arbitration judgement, based on the information on the spatial condition (making a determination based on the CSI and SINR and adjusting the result based on the Zones as the UE moves; abstract; ¶14; ¶15; According to another aspect of the present disclosure, a base station for providing zone based prediction in a wireless communication, wherein the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to receive channel state information (CSI) from the UE; and a controller configured to: determine a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, identify a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time domain, and allocate at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area; ¶21; ¶25; Even though, if the UE sends the zone information to the base station, the base station should have the CSI from all the arriving UE's for a certain zone. The base station should measure the CSI (CQI/PMI/RI) distribution for a given zone and then perform time/ensemble averaging across N previous sub frames, as shown in FIG. 7, wherein the channel state information can be information that includes, but is not limited to, a CQI, a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI) elevation (rank-elevation), a PMI-azimuthal (rank-azimuthal) for 3D beam forming, a rank indicator (RI), a zone number, and the like; ¶71; Referring to FIG. 10, the diagram of the network architecture 1000 illustrates how a UE 1006 moving in a network coverage area/zone of millimeter wave networks receives network resources for obstacle free service in the network area. The diagram 1000 includes a first base station 1002, a second base station 1004, and the UE 1006, wherein the first base station 1002 and the second base station 1004 are each based on a millimeter wave system that generates millimeter wave beams. According to FIG. 10, at time 0, the UE 1006 starts moving within the coverage zone of the first base station 1002. The first base station 1002 starts monitoring a current location, a moving direction of the UE 1006, and a status of the forthcoming zone in which the UE 1006 might move. At time t, the first base station 1002 observes that the UE 1006 is present in a non-blockage zone of the first base station 1002 and, thus, the UE 1006 is able to access resources allocated with very low SINR. As the UE 1006 moves in the coverage zone, the first base station 1002 identifies that, based on the current moving direction and status of the forthcoming zone, the UE 1006 might encounter an obstruction at time t+T. Therefore, the first base station 1002 can provide sufficient network resources to the UE 1006 so that even when the UE 1006 enters a blockage region, the quality of service should not deteriorate. Thus, the UE 806 can receive a sufficient allocation of network resources from the first base station 1002. Further, after a certain time interval, at time t+T2, the first base station 1002 identifies that the UE 1006 is entering an overlapping zone and is about to face an obstruction in the overlapping zone. The first base station 1002 identifies that the present allocation of network resources to the UE 1006 cannot maintain the current quality of service. Therefore, the first base station 1002 performs CoMP scheduling and further identifies a neighboring base station, the second base station 1004, as a suitable base station for providing network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region (e.g. obstruction). Therefore, the second base station 1004 receives a request from the first base station 1002 and provides network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region, and thereby maintains the quality of the service; ¶89-¶90; ¶91).
Claim 7, Sharma discloses wherein: the communicator forms a beam with directivity under directivity control of the controller, and the controller controls the communication to the terminal, based on information on a beam cooperating with the other base station (forming directivity beams toward the UE by the first and the second base stations as shown in figures1-6, 8-10; FIG. 2 is a schematic of a network architecture 200 illustrating obstructions in beams of the millimeter waves of base stations; ¶11; Referring to FIG. 2, the network 200 includes a first base station 202, and a second base station 204 transmitting millimeter waves. The millimeter waves are overlapping at the edges of the beams and thereby forming overlapping zone. The beams from both the base station A 202 and the base station B 204 are being obstructed by plurality of obstructions, wherein due to high absorption in MMwave, NLOS paths remains weak in MMwave communication and thereby creating noise and blocking the transmission line of sight (LOS) path, resulting in high penetration losses during data transfer; ¶12; Referring to FIG. 3, a user equipment (UE) 306 is illustrated moving in a network coverage area/zone of millimeter wave networks and how obstructions create obstacles to the UE 306 for accessing a network. The network architecture 300 includes a first base station 302, a second base station 304, and the UE 306, wherein the first base station 302 and the second base station 304 are each based on a millimeter wave system that generates millimeter wave beams; ¶14; In view of the foregoing, it is understood that, existing millimeter wave systems are prone to obstructions and the quality of service may degrade as the number of obstacles in a beam of a base station increases. There is no process or system that can identify and inform the quality of a beam before a UE starts using the spectrum of the beam. Further, there is no system or method that can provide a better spectrum to a UE upon creating zones within one or more beams, identifying in which zone the UE is present, and providing better quality of the spectrum to the UE; ¶16; FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram 600 illustrating zones of a beam of a millimeter wave base station and identifying movement of a UE within the zones of the millimeter wave base station, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. According to the diagram 600, a single beam of the millimeter wave base station can include a plurality of zones, wherein each and every zone can be of a different quality and frequency depending on the obstructions present in the zone, and thus resources provided by the zones of the beams can vary from zone to zone; ¶68; ¶89).
Claim 8, Sharma discloses wherein the information on the beam cooperating with the other base station indicates a beam having a geographical area overlapping with that of another beam among a plurality of the beams formed by a plurality of the base stations (the beam cooperating with the other base station indicating of having a geographical area overlapping/overlapping Zone; Figs. 1-3, 8-10; It can be observed that the base stations can be in close proximity to each other to cover a larger geographical area to provide better network coverage so that a user can take advantage of a seamless wireless network for various wireless applications, including but is not limited to, mobile originated (MO)/mobile terminating (MT) calling, messaging, data packet accessing and the like. As two or more base stations are in close proximity, the network coverage zone of the two or more base stations can overlap at the edge of the network zones and can form a network overlapping zone. The same overlapping of coverage zone can be observed between two or more cells of a base station; ¶6; FIG. 1 is a schematic of a network architecture 100 illustrating overlapping of coverage regions of two base stations.; ¶7; Referring to FIG. 1, in the network architecture 100, a first base station 102 and a second base station 104 have coverage regions of a particular zone and it can be observed that the coverage regions of the base stations overlap at the edge to form an overlapping zone. As the overlapping zone includes frequencies of both the first base station 102 and the second base station 104, the UE can experience better network accessibility. However, in actuality, the overlapping zone provides a lower quality of network accessibility due to increased signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR). The SINR in the overlapping zone is directly proportional to, and therefore increases, the error probability of packet detection, and thereby degrades the quality of service (QoS). In practical and real world situations, as more and more base stations are in close proximity, the situation worsens as the overlapping zones increase between two or more base stations; ¶8; Further, as the UE 306 enters the overlapping zone of the first base station 302 and the second base station 304, the second base station 304 provides a better network coverage area without any obstruction. Therefore, the UE 306 enters the coverage area of the second base station 304. Thus, the UE 306 can access the network. However, after a certain time period, the UE 306 encounters another obstruction in the coverage region of the second base station 304. Thus, another sudden dip in SINR can be observed in the timing graph of the UE 306. Thus, it can be observed that the UE 306 encounters serious difficulty in accessing the network because of the obstructions; ¶15; In another embodiment of the present disclosure, a plurality of base stations can allocate a plurality of network resources to a UE to continue service in a blockage area. The base station can communicate with one or more neighboring base stations having zones overlapping with each other and can seek help of the neighboring base station to provide additional network resources needed by the UE for obstacle free network access. A person having ordinary skill in the art can understand that any known method for selecting a neighboring base station for providing network resources to the UE can be used in the present method, without departing from the scope and spirit of the present disclosure; ¶60; As the UE 1006 moves in the coverage zone, the first base station 1002 identifies that, based on the current moving direction and status of the forthcoming zone, the UE 1006 might encounter an obstruction at time t+T. Therefore, the first base station 1002 can provide sufficient network resources to the UE 1006 so that even when the UE 1006 enters a blockage region, the quality of service should not deteriorate. Thus, the UE 806 can receive a sufficient allocation of network resources from the first base station 1002. Further, after a certain time interval, at time t+T2, the first base station 1002 identifies that the UE 1006 is entering an overlapping zone and is about to face an obstruction in the overlapping zone. The first base station 1002 identifies that the present allocation of network resources to the UE 1006 cannot maintain the current quality of service. Therefore, the first base station 1002 performs CoMP scheduling and further identifies a neighboring base station, the second base station 1004, as a suitable base station for providing network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region (e.g. obstruction). Therefore, the second base station 1004 receives a request from the first base station 1002 and provides network resources to the UE 1006 in a blockage region, and thereby maintains the quality of the service; ¶90).
Claim 9, Sharma discloses wherein the controller adjusts, based on the information on the spatial condition, power of the beam cooperating with the other base station (adjusting signal to interference and noise ratio for determination to cooperate with other base station to provide coverage to the UE in obstructed zones (spatial condition); FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram 400 illustrating creation of zones in a beam of a millimeter wave base station, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, zones can be created based on geographical position values that include, but are not limited to, latitude and longitude values, Cartesian coordinates, signal to interference ratio for a given geographical region and the like, In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the zones can be created based on the strengths of the zones. According to the present disclosure, the base station can identify the blockage regions in the network area based on the CSI. Therefore, the base station can consider one of the geographical position values along with the CSI for creating zones in the millimeter waves; ¶63; If blockages can be characterized appropriately, then the loss due to blockages can also be modelled. An obstruction can block either a signal, an interference, or both. This can be characterized in the form of Table 1 shown below. A signal is said to be blocked if there is no line of sight (LOS) path and the SINR is below a certain threshold; ¶76; According to the present disclosure, during a blockage and obstructions caused in existing arts, resources were over used, a scheduler must minimize scheduling for a UE without disturbing the quality of service (QoS). However, upon applying the method described by the present disclosure, it is observed that SINR improves for the UE, and thereby improving the QoS provided to the UE; ¶76; The first base station 802 starts monitoring the current location, moving direction of the UE 806, and the status of the forthcoming zone in which the UE 806 might move. At time t, the first base station 802 observes that the UE 806 is present in a non-blockage zone of the first base station 802 and, thus, the UE 806 is able to access resources allocated with very low SINR. i.e., for any given zone, coarse level CSI is known at the base station; ¶79; ¶83; Therefore, the first base station 902 identifies that one or more other neighboring base stations can allocate the additional amount of network resources to be provided to the UE 906 as defined in the 3GPP LTE-A standard. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, a base station can periodically receive status of neighboring base stations and can select the suitable neighboring base station based on at least one of, but not limited to, a number of UEs camping on the base station, SINR of the network resources allocated to the UEs, amount of time required to access the network resources by the UE, and the like, and a person having ordinary skill in the art can understand that any other parameters can be considered for selecting a suitable neighboring base station, without departing from the scope and spirit of the present disclosure. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, any method for selecting a suitable neighboring base station can be used for selecting the base station, without departing from the scope and spirit of the present disclosure; ¶85; ¶89; Referring to FIG. 11, the base station 1100 includes a transceiver 1102 configured to receive CSI from the UE, and a controller 1104 configured to: determine a plurality of zones by dividing a coverage area of a cell, identify a first zone from the plurality of zones where the UE encounters an obstructed area based on the CSI at a time, and allocate at least one resource to the UE to compensate for signal losses if the UE enters the obstructed area, wherein the controller 1104 is configured to set an indicative bit in broadcast system information, to inform the UE to send the CSI and geographical information to the at least one base station, set the indicative bit if the base station receives CSI having a level higher than an predetermined level for a geographical area, quantize CSI values based on averaged CSI for the geographical area, and mark the first zone, wherein the transceiver 1102 is configured to receive, from the UE, the CSI and the geographical information as RACH message, wherein the controller is configured to modify the identified zones, when the UE is in a connected mode, wherein for the modification of the identified zone, the controller 1104 is configured to set a bit in a PDCCH or a dedicated common control channel and an allocation in an upper line to inform the UE to send prediction information, recognize that the transceiver is configured to receive, from the UE, the prediction information comprising a Doppler shift, a moving direction, geographical information and the CSI upon the UE identifying the bit set in the PDCCH, derive, by a RMSE between the CSI available for the first zone and an instantaneous CSI received with feedback based on the transmitted prediction information, check if the RMSE is below a preset threshold, control the transceiver transmitting to the UE, information indicating that the base station is ready to predict a zone transition, if the RMSE is below the preset threshold, wherein the at least one resource allocated to the UE, a plurality of resources allocated to the UE by the base station before the UE enters the obstructed area, or a plurality of resources allocated to the UE to continue service in the obstructed area by a plurality of base stations, or a plurality of resources jointly allocated to the UE by at least one base stations if the obstructed area is predicted to be greater than the obstructed area in the identified first zone, wherein the controller 1104 is further configured to await the time if the UE is in the obstructed area; and allocate at least one resource to the UE based on a CoMP technique, wherein the CSI comprises at least one of a CQI, a PMI, a RI, and a zone number, wherein the controller is further configured to receive, from the UE, zone identification parameters, where the zone identification parameters comprise at least one of PRS and a geographical location of the UE based on OTDOA positioning, wherein the controller is further configured to receive, from the UE, information on at least one of a Doppler shift, a moving direction and instantaneous CSI, wherein the controller is further configured to: measure a CSI parameter distribution for the first zone, perform time averaging across a preset number of previous sub frames, and derive a CQI distribution over the preset number of previous sub frames to identify dips in the CSI, wherein a signal is said to be obstructed if there is no LOS path and the SINR is below a preset threshold; ¶93).
Claim 10, Sharma discloses wherein the controller adjusts, based on the information on the spatial condition, a threshold used for determination of whether to coordinate with the other base station (adjusting threshold for determination to cooperate with other base station to provide coverage to the UE in obstructed zones (spatial condition); Another aspect of the present disclosure identifies, by the base station, a first zone where the UE encounters a blockage area by measuring a CSI parameter distribution for the first zone, performing time averaging across a preset number of previous sub frames, and deriving a CQI distribution over the preset number of previous sub frames to identify dips in the CSI information; ¶28; Another aspect of the present disclosure is that the signal is said to be blocked if there is no line of sight (LOS) path and the signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) is below a preset threshold; ¶29; Once the base station sets the PDCCH bit for prediction information, the base station can also provide an allocation in an uplink to transmit prediction information that includes geographical position values, moving direction, a Doppler shift, and the CSI. Based on the prediction information, the base station can derive a root mean square error (RMSE) between the CSI available for the zone and the instantaneous CSI received with the feedback. If the RMSE is below a threshold RMSE, RMSEthresh, then the base station is ready to predict the zone transition. The method of calculating RMSE and tracking the UE in the zones is described below in detail with respect to FIGS. 6 and 7; ¶67; Even though, if the UE sends the zone information to the base station, the base station should have the CSI from all the arriving UE's for a certain zone. The base station should measure the CSI (CQI/PMI/RI) distribution for a given zone and then perform time/ensemble averaging across N previous sub frames, as shown in FIG. 7, wherein the channel state information can be information that includes, but is not limited to, a CQI, a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI) elevation (rank-elevation), a PMI-azimuthal (rank-azimuthal) for 3D beam forming, a rank indicator (RI), a zone number, and the like; ¶71).
Claim 11, Sharma discloses wherein the controller corrects, based on the information on the spatial condition, information on a distance from the base station to the terminal and estimates a location of the terminal by using the corrected information on the distance (estimates a location of the UE using the corrected information of the distance to the UE; Another aspect of the present disclosure identifies the first zone by providing, by the UE, zone identification parameters to the base station, where the zone identification parameters include a at least one of positioning reference signal (PRS) and a geographical location of the UE based on observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA) positioning. Another aspect of the present disclosure transmits, by the UE, information on a Doppler shift, a moving direction and instantaneous CSI to the base station; ¶26-¶27; Further, the method includes identifying a first zone where the UE encounters a blockage area based on the CSI at a time domain. The base station identifies a current zone in which the UE is currently present based on the CSI received from the UE, and based on the received CSI, the base station also identifies the direction in which the UE is moving, and thereby identifies the forthcoming zone. The UE can provide zone identification parameters to the base station, where the zone identification parameters include a positioning reference signal (PRS) and a geographical location of the UE based on observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA) positioning; ¶55; ¶63; ¶64; Referring to FIG. 6, a UE 602 can be present in zone Z-2 initially and accessing a millimeter wave for communication. The UE 602 can be providing one or more of, but is not limited to, CSI, a Doppler shift and moving direction information, a positioning reference signal (PRS), and the like to the base station 604 at a regular interval of a time period. Based on the CSI and PRS, a CQI can be identified by the base station 604. Based on the location information, moving direction information, and CQI, the base station 604 identifies that the UE 602 is moving from zone Z-2 to Z-6 and can estimate the CQI of the zone. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the base station 604 can have a zone strength equal to all of the zones present in the beam, wherein the CQI of the different zones can be collected from different UEs present in the beam and stored for future reference; ¶69; ¶70).
Claim 13, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 13 disclosed by Sharma, a radio communication system (Figs. 1-12), comprising: a first base station (first base station; Figs. 1-11); a second base station (second base station; Figs. 1-3, 8-10); and a terminal (UE; Figs. 3-6, 8-10, 12).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471