DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 1-18 and 26-28) and Heat Pipe Species C (Figures 5A-5C) in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant's election with traverse of Heat Pipe Connection Species S7 (Figure 10C) in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species S5-S7 should be examined together since each species is directed towards spaced apart heat pipe from the heat source. This is found persuasive and Species S5-S7 will be examined together as obvious variants. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement between the remaining species of S1-S4, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3, 4, 8, 11, 12, and 18-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/07/2025.
Applicant asserts claim 15 reads on the elected species. However, claim 15 recites “the at least one heat pipe is bonded to the heat-producing component via a bonding layer”, wherein the elected Species S5-S7 is directed towards an indirect bonding via the substrate. Accordingly, claim 15 is additionally withdrawn from consideration.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 11/07/2025 are as follows:
Claims 29-33 are newly added;
Claims 1-33 are pending;
Claims 3, 4, 8, 11, 12, 15, and 18-25 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 26-33 are being examined.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the purported merits (i.e. “promoting effective heat transfer and robust bonding”) of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Currently, no claim limitation invokes 112(f).
“Wicking structure” of claim 1 does not invoke 112(f) since wicking structure is an art recognized term for generating capillary forces for moving liquid in a heat pipe and thus the words of the claim are understood by persons of ordinary skill in the art to have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure.
“Heat producing component” of claim 1 does not invoke 112(f) since heat producing component is an art recognized term for electrical or computer devices that generate heat on heat pipes and thus the words of the claim are understood by persons of ordinary skill in the art to have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 17 recite “W particles, Mo particles”, wherein it is unclear what the abbreviations “W” and “Mo” specifically refer to. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite. The applicant should refrain from utilizing abbreviations in claims. For examination purposes, “Mo” will be interpreted as referring to molybdenum and “W” will be interpreted as referring to Tungsten.
Claim 16 recites “the at least one heat pipe is bonded to a top surface of the heat-producing component, one or more heat pipes are bonded to a side surface of the heat-producing component, the at least one heat pipe is bonded to a bottom surface of the heat-producing component and the at least one heat pipe extends through the electrically insulating substrate, or any combination thereof”. It is unclear what the scope of the “or any combination thereof” encompasses. The claim appears to recite all the various combinations as a single combination and thus fails to recite any element in the alternative. Does “or any combination thereof” encompass single heat pipe at a single location, or does the limitation require at least two heat pipes? Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as reciting a list of alternatives, wherein a single heat pipe is considered a “combination thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 13, 16, 17, 29, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US2006/0151153A1, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 1. Chen teaches a heat pipe (20) comprising (Figure 1; Paragraphs 21, 24-27):
a structure having a sealed outer shell (22,21) comprising a copper composite that comprises copper nanoparticles, micron-sized copper particles, and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 24-27. Chen teaches a copper alloy, wherein the alloy is considered a coefficient of thermal expansion modifier. Further, the copper is comprised of copper particles of all sizes); and
a working fluid movable within an internal space (26) defined within the sealed outer shell, the internal space comprising a wicking structure (23) interposed between the sealed outer shell (22) and a hollow core (26), or a flow channel defined upon a surface of the sealed outer shell (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 27-28).
Re Claim 9. Chen teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) (Figure 1) comprising:
a heat-producing component (30) located upon or at least partially recessed within an electrically insulating substrate (11) (Figure 1; Paragraphs 21, 24-27); and
at least one heat pipe (20) in thermal communication with the heat-producing component, the at least one heat pipe comprising (Figures 1-2):
a structure having a sealed outer shell (22, 21) comprising a copper composite that comprises copper nanoparticles, micron-sized copper particles, and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 24-27. Chen teaches a copper alloy, wherein the alloy is considered a coefficient of thermal expansion modifier. Further, the copper is comprised of copper particles of all sizes); and
a working fluid movable within an internal space (26) defined within the sealed outer shell, the internal space comprising wicking structure (23) interposed between the sealed outer shell (22) and a hollow core (26), or a flow channel defined upon a surface of the sealed outer shell (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 27-28, 31).
Re Claim 2 & 10. Chen teaches the copper composite is formed through consolidation of copper nanoparticles with micron-size copper particles and the CTE modifier (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28; Chen teaches a copper alloy, wherein the alloy is considered a coefficient of thermal expansion modifier. Further, the copper is comprised of copper particles of all sizes).
Re Claim 5 & 13. Chen teaches a complementary part contacts the sealed outer shell and seals an upper surface of the flow channel (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28. The heat pipe is a sealed structure, thus a complementary part seals the heat pipe. Additionally, Figure 1 illustrates the heat pipe 20 inset into the substrate 11, thereby forming a complementary part that seals the outer shell of the heat pipe).
Re Claim 7 & 17. Chen teaches the CTE modifier comprises carbon fibers, W particles, Mo particles, diamond particles, boron nitride, aluminum nitride, carbon nanotubes, graphene, or any combination thereof (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28, wherein paragraph 25 teaches the CTE is carbon nanotubes, which is interpreted as a carbon fiber).
Re Claim 16. Chen teaches the at least one heat pipe is bonded to a top surface of the heat-producing component, one or more heat pipes are bonded to a side surface of the heat-producing component, the at least one heat pipe is bonded to a bottom surface of the heat-producing component and the at least one heat pipe extends through the electrically insulating substrate, or any combination thereof (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28; Figure 1 illustrates the at least one heat pipe extends through the electrically insulating substrate).
Re Claim 29. Chen teaches the flow channel is defined upon the surface of the sealed outer shell and is a closed loop that extends between a hot end and a cold end of the heat pipe (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28).
Re Claim 31. Chen teaches the complementary part is formed from a copper composite that comprises copper nanoparticles, micron-sized copper particles, and a CTE modifier (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28; Chen teaches an integral heat pipe assembly, and thus all components are formed of the same material).
Re Claim 32. Chen teaches the complementary part has a CTE that at least substantially matches the CTE of the sealed outer shell (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28; Chen teaches an integral heat pipe assembly, and thus all components are formed of the same material).
Re Claim 33. Chen teaches the sealed outer shell and the complementary part are sealed with a metallurgical bond, wherein the metallurgical bond is formed from at least partial fusion of a copper nanoparticle paste composition disposed between the sealed outer shell and the complementary part (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28; Chen teaches an integral heat pipe assembly, and thus all components are formed of the same material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2006/0151153A1, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 6 & 14. Chen teaches the copper is formed of nano sized particles (Paragraph 25) but fails to specifically teach the copper composite has a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the copper composite to have a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the copper composite with a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30%, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV, A).
Re Claim 27. Chen teaches the copper is formed of nano sized particles (Paragraph 25) but fails to specifically teach the copper composite comprises about 30% to about 98% copper nanoparticles by weight and about 0.1 to about 15% micron-scale particles by weight. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the copper composite comprise about 30% to about 98% copper nanoparticles by weight and about 0.1 to about 15% micron-scale particles by weight, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the copper composite comprise about 30% to about 98% copper nanoparticles by weight and about 0.1 to about 15% micron-scale particles by weight, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV, A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the copper composite comprise about 30% to about 98% copper nanoparticles by weight and about 0.1 to about 15% micron-scale particles by weight, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re Claim 28. Chen teaches the copper is formed of nano sized particles (Paragraph 25) but fails to specifically teach at least a portion of the copper nanoparticles are in a range of from about 1 to about 10 nm in size and the remaining copper nanoparticles are in a range of 25 to about 50 nm in size. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have at least a portion of the copper nanoparticles are in a range of from about 1 to about 10 nm in size and the remaining copper nanoparticles are in a range of 25 to about 50 nm in size, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have at least a portion of the copper nanoparticles are in a range of from about 1 to about 10 nm in size and the remaining copper nanoparticles are in a range of 25 to about 50 nm in size, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV, A).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2006/0151153A1, as cited in the IDS) in view of Nakako (US2023/0356294A1).
Re Claim 26. Chen teaches copper nanoparticles (Paragraph 25) but fails to specifically teach the copper nanoparticles have a surfactant coating containing one or more surfactants on their surface.
However, Nakako teaches it is known to add surfactants to copper paste to improve wetting of the paste (Paragraph 64).
Therefore, in view of Nakako's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add surfactant coating to the copper nanoparticles of Chen in order to improve the wetting of the composition. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add surfactant coating to the copper nanoparticles of Chen since it is known that surfactant can be used to reduce the surface tension of paste, which is beneficial to the stable existence of particles in copper paste. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add surfactants to the copper, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2006/0151153A1, as cited in the IDS) in view of Roper (US9835383B1).
Re Claim 30. Chen teaches a valve connected to the flow channel (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 24-28).
However, Roper teaches a filling port (40) of a heat pipe (100) comprises a valve (Figure 1; Column 10 lines 19-36). Roper teaches the benefit of the valve is to temporary seal the filling port so that the amount of working fluid can be adjusted after testing.
Therefore, in view of Roper's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a valve to Chen in order to temporary seal the filling port so that the amount of working fluid can be adjusted after testing, thereby achieving optimal working conditions for the heat pipe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763