DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, claim 15 only recites that “the underwater vessel is a submarine,” when by definition, all underwater vessels are submarines. Therefore claim 15 contains no further limitations. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korganoff US 3,302,602.
Regarding claim 1, Korganoff discloses an underwater vessel comprising:
a body 1;
a thruster 26 operable to produce thrust, wherein the thruster is deployable from the body; and
an actuator assembly connected to the thruster and operable to deploy the thruster, wherein the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster in a configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical component when the thruster is operated.
Figure 1- Korganoff Figure 11
Regarding claim 2, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses that the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster 26 by rotation about an axis 24.
Regarding claim 3, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses that the thruster 26 is stowable in the body 1 (see Korganoff figure 11).
Regarding claim 4, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 3. Korganoff also discloses that the actuator assembly is operable to stow the thruster 26 (column 6, line 59-column 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 5, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses that the configuration is a first configuration, and the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster 26 in a second configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a horizontal component when the thruster is operated (column 6, line 59-column 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 6, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Korganoff also discloses that the actuator assembly is operable to move the thruster 26 from the first configuration to the second configuration (column 6, line 59-column 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 7, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Korganoff also discloses that the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster by rotation about a first axis 24, and the actuator assembly is operable to move the thruster 26 from the first configuration to second configuration by rotation about a second axis 67 (column 6, line 59-column 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 8, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Korganoff also discloses that the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster 26 in the second configuration in the event of failure of a primary propulsion system of the submarine, thereby to provide a secondary propulsion system (primary propulsion being propellers 38 and 39). Note that the actuation system can deploy the thrusters whenever it is desired.
Regarding claim 9, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses a control system arranged to control operation of the thruster 26 based on an operating condition of the vessel. Note that whatever commands operation of the thruster is considered a control system, and the operating condition can be anything from powered on, stationary, to moving in any direction.
Regarding claim 10, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Korganoff also discloses that the control system is arranged to control operation of the thruster 26 to maintain a substantially constant operating condition (such as “on,” “enabled” or “powered”).
Regarding claim 11, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Korganoff also discloses that the control system is arranged to:
control the actuator assembly to deploy the thruster in the first configuration; and
control operation of the thruster based on the operating condition of the vessel, to maintain a substantially constant operating condition (such as “on,” “enabled” or “powered”).
Regarding claim 13, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses that the thruster 26 is one of a plurality of thrusters.
Regarding claim 14, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 13. Korganoff also discloses that the thrusters 26 are independently operable. Note that this is true regardless of the control system.
Regarding claim 15, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses that the underwater vessel is a submarine.
Regarding claim 16, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Korganoff also discloses that the thruster 26 is stowable completely within the body 1.
Regarding claim 18, Korganoff discloses an underwater vessel comprising:
a body 1;
a thruster 26 operable to produce thrust, wherein the thruster is deployable from the body; and
an actuator assembly connected to the thruster and operable to
move the thruster between a stowed position within the body to a deployed position outside the body,
deploy the thruster in a first deployed configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical component when the thruster is operated, and
deploy the thruster in a second deployed configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a horizontal component when the thruster is operated (column 6, line 59-column 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 19, Korganoff discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 18. Korganoff also discloses that the control system is arranged to control operation of the thruster 26 to maintain a substantially constant operating condition (such as “on,” “enabled” or “powered”); and provide a secondary propulsion system for the vessel (primary propulsion being propellers 38 and 39).
Regarding claim 20, Korganoff discloses an underwater vessel comprising:
a body 1;
first and second thrusters 26 each independently operable to produce thrust, wherein the first and second thrusters are deployable from the body; and
a first actuator assembly connected to the first thruster and operable to
move the first thruster between stowed and deployed positions,
rotate the first thruster about a first axis so the first thruster can provide vertical thrust, and
rotate the first thruster about a second axis so the first thruster can provide horizontal thrust; and
a second actuator assembly connected to the second thruster and operable to
move the second thruster between stowed and deployed positions,
rotate the second thruster about a first axis so the second thruster can provide vertical thrust, and
rotate the second thruster about a second axis so the second thruster can provide horizontal thrust.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veronesi US 5,257,952 in view of Taylor US 4,831,297.
Regarding claim 1, Veronesi discloses an underwater vessel comprising:
a body 3;
a thruster 26 operable to produce thrust, wherein the thruster is deployable from the body; and
an actuator assembly 60, 80 connected to the thruster and operable to deploy the thruster, wherein the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster in a configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust when the thruster is operated.
Figure 2- Veronesi Figures 5A and 5B
Veronesi does not teach that the thrust has a vertical component when the thruster is operated. Taylor teaches an underwater vessel comprising:
a body M;
a thruster 10 operable to produce thrust; and
an actuator assembly connected to the thruster and operable to deploy the thruster, wherein the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster in a configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical component when the thruster is operated (column 5, lines 37-41).
Figure 3- Taylor Figures 10 and 12
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vessel of Veronesi with multiple thrusters, including some mounted on the side that are oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical component as taught by Taylor in order to increase the maneuverability and precision of the vessel.
Regarding claim 2, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi also teaches that the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster 26 by rotation about an axis 43, 45.
Regarding claim 3, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi also discloses that the thruster 26 is stowable in the body 13.
Regarding claim 4, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 3. Veronesi also teaches that the actuator assembly 60 is operable to stow the thruster 26.
Regarding claim 5, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Taylor also teaches that the configuration is a first configuration, and the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster 10 in a second configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a horizontal component when the thruster is operated (column 5, lines 37-41).
Regarding claim 6, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Veronesi and Taylor also teach that the actuator assembly 80 is operable to move the thruster 26 from the first configuration to the second configuration.
Regarding claim 7, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Veronesi and Taylor also teach that the actuator assembly 60 is operable to deploy the thruster 26 by rotation about a first axis 43, 45, and the actuator assembly 80 is operable to move the thruster from the first configuration to second configuration by rotation about a second axis.
Regarding claim 8, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Veronesi also teaches that the actuator assembly is operable to deploy the thruster 26 in the second configuration in the event of failure of a primary propulsion 9 system of the submarine, thereby to provide a secondary propulsion system (column 1, lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 9, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi also teaches a control system arranged to control operation of the thruster 26 based on an operating condition of the vessel. Note that whatever commands operation of the thruster is considered a control system, and the operating condition can be anything from powered on, stationary, to moving in any direction.
Regarding claim 10, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Veronesi also teaches that the control system is arranged to control operation of the thruster 26 to maintain a substantially constant operating condition (such as “on,” “enabled” or “powered”).
Regarding claim 11, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Veronesi also teaches that the control system is arranged to:
control the actuator assembly 60 to deploy the thruster 26 in the first configuration; and
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 4- Taylor Figure 3)]
control operation of the thruster based on the operating condition of the vessel, to maintain a substantially constant operating condition (such as “on,” “enabled” or “powered”).
Regarding claim 12, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi also teaches that the thruster 26 comprises a rim driven thruster (column 5, lines 10-17).
Alternatively, Taylor also teaches that the thruster 10 comprises a rim driven thruster (column 3, lines 44-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vessel of Veronesi with rim-driven thrusters as taught by Taylor in order to reduce mechanical complexity and simplify maintenance.
Regarding claim 13, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi also teaches that the thruster 26 is one of a plurality of thrusters (see Veronesi figure 8).
Alternatively, Taylor also teaches that the thruster 10 is one of a plurality of thrusters (see Veronesi figure 8). As stated above, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vessel of Veronesi with multiple thrusters, including some mounted on the side that are oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical component as taught by Taylor in order to increase the maneuverability and precision of the vessel.
Regarding claim 14, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 13. Veronesi and Taylor also teach that the thrusters 26 are independently operable. Note that this is true regardless of the control system.
Regarding claim 15, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi and Taylor teach that the underwater vessel is a submarine.
Regarding claim 16, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Veronesi also teaches that the thruster 26 is stowable completely within the body 3.
Regarding claim 17, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Neither Veronesi nor Taylor explicitly teach that the thruster is one of four thrusters, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add 4 (or more) thrusters in order to increase redundancy, power and/or maneuverability of the vessel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 18, Veronesi teaches an underwater vessel comprising:
a body 3;
a thruster 26 operable to produce thrust, wherein the thruster is deployable from the body; and
an actuator assembly 60, 80 connected to the thruster and operable to
move the thruster between a stowed position within the body (figure 5A) to a deployed position outside the body (figure 5B),
deploy the thruster in a first deployed configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a lateral component when the thruster is operated, and
deploy the thruster in a second deployed configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a longitudinal component when the thruster is operated.
Veronesi does not teach that the thrust can have a vertical or horizontal component when the thruster is operated. Taylor teaches an underwater vessel comprising:
a body M;
a thruster 10 operable to produce thrust; and
an actuator assembly connected to the thruster and operable to move the thruster, and
an actuator assembly connected to the thruster and operable to
deploy the thruster in a first deployed configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical component when the thruster is operated, and
deploy the thruster in a second deployed configuration in which the thruster is oriented to produce a thrust having a horizontal component when the thruster is operated (column 5, lines 37-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vessel of Veronesi with multiple thrusters, including some mounted on the side that are oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical or horizontal component as taught by Taylor in order to increase the maneuverability and precision of the vessel.
Regarding claim 19, Veronesi and Taylor teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 18. Veronesi also teaches that the control system is arranged to control operation of the thruster 26 to maintain a substantially constant operating condition (such as “on,” “enabled” or “powered”); and provide a secondary propulsion system for the vessel (column 1, lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 20, Veronesi teaches an underwater vessel comprising:
a body 3;
first and second thrusters 26 each independently operable to produce thrust, wherein the first and second thrusters are deployable from the body; and
a first actuator assembly 60, 80 connected to the first thruster and operable to
move the first thruster between stowed (figure 5A) and deployed (figure 5B) positions,
rotate the first thruster about a first axis so the first thruster can provide lateral thrust, and
rotate the first thruster about a second axis so the first thruster can provide longitudinal thrust; and
a second actuator assembly connected to the second thruster and operable to
move the second thruster between stowed (figure 5A)and (figure 5B) deployed positions,
rotate the second thruster about a first axis so the second thruster can provide lateral thrust, and
rotate the second thruster about a second axis so the second thruster can provide longitudinal thrust.
Veronesi does not teach that the thrust can have a vertical or horizontal component when the thruster is operated. Taylor teaches an underwater vessel comprising:
a body M;
first and second thrusters 10 each independently operable to produce thrust; and
a first actuator assembly connected to the first thruster and operable to
rotate the first thruster about a first axis so the first thruster can provide vertical thrust, and
rotate the first thruster about a second axis so the first thruster can provide horizontal thrust; and
a second actuator assembly connected to the second thruster and operable to
rotate the second thruster about a first axis so the second thruster can provide vertical thrust, and
rotate the second thruster about a second axis so the second thruster can provide horizontal thrust (column 5, lines 37-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vessel of Veronesi with multiple thrusters, including some mounted on the side that are oriented to produce a thrust having a vertical or horizontal component as taught by Taylor in order to increase the maneuverability and precision of the vessel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adams US 5,505,155 teaches a submarine with deployable thrusters that pivot to provide horizontal or vertical propulsion.
Kent US 3,521,589, Lee US 9,193,424 and Schubert US 3,598,074 teach submersible vehicles with pivoting thrusters.
Alsager US 3,030,910, Fontanille US 5,152,240 and Fontanille US 7,146,921 teach deployable thrusters for submersible vehicles.
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615