DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 6-8, 14, and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 July 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/267,556 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach an overlapping composition but do not include a limitation wherein a proportion of the area fulfilling one of the conditions is met. However applicant’s copending claims teach a overlapping microstructure, an overlapping composition, overlapping mechanical properties, and a processing schedule with times and temperatures that overlap the conditions in the instant claims disclosed as providing the wire rod having the claimed condition met. The claim limitations not enumerated in the copending claims would have flowed naturally from following the copending claims. Regarding the dependent claims, applicant’s copending application teaches the limitations required as well. For example instant claim 2 overlaps the range in copending claim 1, instant claim 3 overlaps copending claim 2, and so on.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “improved strength and fatigue limit” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improved” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In this case there is no basis to determine what is meant by “improved strength and fatigue limit.” No values of either strength or fatigue limit are claimed, nor is there any description as to what is being improved upon. The point of infringement of claim 1 cannot be determined and the claim is indefinite. Each of claims 2-5 depends from claim 1 and is also indefinite. Claim 9 also recites ““improved strength and fatigue limit” and is indefinite for the same reasons. Each of claims 10-13 depends from claim 9 and is also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120291927 A1 (hereinafter “Hashimura”).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimura teaches a high strength steel wire for a spring (title). Hashimura teaches a steel wire rod having an overlapping composition, which has an overlapping microstructure (see EXAMPLES, [0033]-[0043] claim 1). The composition of Hashimura is compared with the claimed composition in the chart below (Values in mass percent).
Element
Claim 1
Hashimura
C
Si
Mn
Cr
P
S
Al
N
Mo
W
V
Nb
Fe/impurity
0.6-0.7
2.0-2.5
0.2-0.7
0.9-1.5
0.015 or less
0.01 or less
0.01 or less
0.01 or less
0.25 or less
0.25 or less
0.05-0.2
0.05 or less
Balance
0.67-0.9
2.0-3.5
0.5-1.2
1.3-2.5
0.025 or less
0.025 or less
0.0005-0.003
0.003-0.007
0.05-0.30
0.05-0.30
0.03-0.10
0.015 or less
Balance
The composition of the steel wire rod of Hashimura overlaps the claimed compositional ranges, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of filing to have selected a composition in the range as claimed because Hashimura teaches the same utility over an overlapping range. Applicant is further directed to MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding wherein Mn+Cr ≤ 1.8 and 0.05 at% Mo+W ≤0.15 at%, Hashimura does not teach these features. However, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the selection of the proportions of elements would appear to require no more than routine investigation by those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Austin, et al., 149 USPQ 685, 688.
Hashimura teaches that the steel wire prevents segregation of elements ([0134]-[0136]). Regarding wherein the wherein a proportion of the area fulfilling one of the conditions is met, Hashimura does not teach this feature. However Hashimura teaches a steel wire with overlapping composition, with overlapping microstructure, and used for springs. The features not contemplated by the prior art would have flowed naturally from following the teachings of the art.
Regarding claim 2, Hashimura teaches that the steel includes pearlite as claimed ([0140]).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimura teaches that a prior austenite grain size number is 10 or more (abstract), overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, Hashimura teaches that a circle equivalent size of undissolved carbides is below 0.2 microns (see abstract), overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Hashimura does not teach a tensile strength of the wire rod prior to drawing with reduction at 35% or more, and only measures after the drawing ([0040]). However Hashimura teaches a steel wire with overlapping composition, with overlapping microstructure, and used for springs. The features not contemplated by the prior art would have flowed naturally from following the teachings of the art.
Regarding claim 9, Hashimura is applied to the claim as a stated above. Hashimura teaches a steel wire rod having overlapping composition. Hashimura teaches that the steel would have a structure of mostly tempered martensite with 15% or less of austenite in some conditions (see [0138]).
Regarding claim 10, Hashimura teaches that a prior austenite grain size number is 10 or more (abstract), overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, Hashimura teaches that a circle equivalent size of undissolved carbides is below 0.2 microns (see abstract), overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, The features not contemplated by the prior art would have flowed naturally from following the teachings of the art.
Regarding claim 13, Hashimura teaches that the wire has a strength of over 2100 MPa ([0040]). The reduction amount is not specified. However the reduction is considered to be a product-by-process limitation in this case. MPEP 2113. In this case Hashimura teaches an overlapping composition ,microstructure, strength, and use for the wire. The reduction, by itself, is not sufficient to patentably distinguish where the structure and composition and strength values would overlap.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1759