DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkatesh et al. (US 2022/0255609 A1). Regarding claim 17, Venkatesh et al. discloses a channel state information receiving method, comprising: transmitting configuration information; transmitting a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) according to the configuration information; and receiving channel state information (CSI) (Para 4 teaches “The CSI-RS (SRS) is transmitted over a DL (UL) system bandwidth part and used at the UE (gNB) for CSI acquisition “), the CSI comprising a precoding matrix indicator for indicating a precoding matrix, wherein the precoding matrix is determined according to a-set vectors, the set vectors comprises a first group of vectors, the first group of vectors comprises L first vectors, each first vector of the L first vectors corresponds to a port of the CSI-RS, and L is a positive integer(Claim 1 discloses “calculating a precoding matrix for a number of antenna ports of the network node and configured subbands; the precoding matrix being based on a first codebook and on a second codebook and a set of combination coefficients for complex scaling/combining one or more of vectors selected from the first codebook and the second codebook, wherein the first codebook contains one or more transmit-side spatial beam components/vectors of the precoding matrix and the second codebook contains one or more delay components/vectors of the precoding matrix;” ), wherein the set vectors further comprises a second group of vectors, the second group of vectors comprises M,, second vectors, each element in each second vector of the M,, second vectors corresponds to a precoding matrix, and M, is a positive integer. (Claim 1 discloses “calculating a precoding matrix for a number of antenna ports of the network node and configured subbands; the precoding matrix being based on a first codebook and on a second codebook and a set of combination coefficients for complex scaling/combining one or more of vectors selected from the first codebook and the second codebook, wherein the first codebook contains one or more transmit-side spatial beam components/vectors of the precoding matrix and the second codebook contains one or more delay components/vectors of the precoding matrix;”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 33, 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatesh et al. (US 2022/0255609 A1) in view of Faxer et al. (US 2023/0224006 A1). Regarding claims 1, 33, Venkatesh et al. et al. discloses a channel state information reporting method, comprising: receiving configuration information; receiving a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) according to the configuration information; and reporting channel state information (CSI) according to the CSI-RS (Para 4 teaches “The CSI-RS (SRS) is transmitted over a DL (UL) system bandwidth part and used at the UE (gNB) for CSI acquisition “), the CSI comprising a precoding matrix indicator for indicating a precoding matrix, wherein the precoding matrix is determined according to a-set vectors, the set vectors comprises a first group of vectors, the first group of vectors comprises L first vectors, each first vector of the L first vectors corresponds to a port of the CSI-RS, and L is a positive integer (Claim 1 discloses “calculating a precoding matrix for a number of antenna ports of the network node and configured subbands; the precoding matrix being based on a first codebook and on a second codebook and a set of combination coefficients for complex scaling/combining one or more of vectors selected from the first codebook and the second codebook, wherein the first codebook contains one or more transmit-side spatial beam components/vectors of the precoding matrix and the second codebook contains one or more delay components/vectors of the precoding matrix;” ) ,wherein the set vectors further comprises a second group of vectors, the second group of vectors comprises M, second vectors, each element in each second vector of the M, second vectors corresponds to a precoding matrix, and M, is a positive integer (Claim 1 discloses “calculating a precoding matrix for a number of antenna ports of the network node and configured subbands; the precoding matrix being based on a first codebook and on a second codebook and a set of combination coefficients for complex scaling/combining one or more of vectors selected from the first codebook and the second codebook, wherein the first codebook contains one or more transmit-side spatial beam components/vectors of the precoding matrix and the second codebook contains one or more delay components/vectors of the precoding matrix;”). Venkatesh et al. does not disclose a method further comprising: determining whether to report bit mapping information according to M, and KNZ .wherein the bit mapping information is used to indicate, in a non-zero bit, reported coefficients in first coefficients, the first coefficients comprise coefficients used to combine the set vectors as a precoding matrix wherein KNZ is a number of coefficients reported to a network. However Faxer et al. discloses a method further comprising: determining whether to report bit mapping information according to M,, and KNZ .wherein the bit mapping information is used to indicate, in a non-zero bit, reported coefficients in first coefficients, the first coefficients comprise coefficients used to combine the set vectors as a precoding matrix wherein KNZ is a number of coefficients reported to a network (Para 227-231 teaches of reporting non zero coefficients in the first and second set of coefficients. “Each non-zero coefficient may be quantized and represented using N bits. In this example embodiment, wireless device 510 may be instructed to only include up to K.sub.0 coefficients in the CSI report (e.g., through configuration as part of the CSI report configuration), and to force (or assume) the other, non-reported, coefficients to be zero. In one example implementation, wireless device 510 would select the K.sub.0 non-zero coefficients as those with the strongest amplitude after applying the amplitude quantization. However, according to the assumption/example, there may be 2LM−K.sub.1 coefficient that may have been quantized to zero. In such a scenario, wireless device 510 then indicates, in the other quantities separately encoded in CSI Part 1, how many of the K.sub.0 coefficients are actually non-zero.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of reporting non zero coefficients in the precoding matrix of Faxer et al. with the system of Venkatesh et al. in order to provide a system to reduce feedback overhead and allowing for faster matrix operations and potentially lower power consumption.
Regarding claims 3, 35, Venkatesh et al. discloses a method, further comprising: determining whether to report the bit mapping information according to a rank of the precoding matrix (Claim 1 discloses “ reporting, to the network node, a Channel State Information (CSI) feedback and/or a Precoder Matrix Indicator (PMI) and/or a PMI/Rank Indicator (PMI/RI) used to indicate the precoding matrix for configured antenna ports and subbands”). Regarding claims 5, 36, Venkatesh et al. discloses a method, further comprising: determining a number of reported coefficients in the first coefficients according to a rank of the precoding matrix (Claim 1 discloses “reporting, to the network node, a Channel State Information (CSI) feedback and/or a Precoder Matrix Indicator (PMI) and/or a PMI/Rank Indicator (PMI/RI) used to indicate the precoding matrix for configured antenna ports and subbands, wherein the report contains a bitmap for indicating at least selected delay vectors and spatial beam vectors associated with non-zero combining coefficients of said set of combination coefficients.”). Regarding claim 9, Venkatesh et al. discloses a method, further comprising wherein the configuration information comprises a CSI-RS resource, and a number of antenna ports of the CSI-RS resource is P; the method further comprises: selecting 2L antenna ports from P antenna ports and reporting the 2L antenna ports; the 2L antenna ports are mapped to L first vectors. (Claim 1 discloses “calculating a precoding matrix for a number of antenna ports of the network node and configured subbands; the precoding matrix being based on a first codebook and on a second codebook and a set of combination coefficients for complex scaling/combining one or more of vectors selected from the first codebook and the second codebook, wherein the first codebook contains one or more transmit-side spatial beam components/vectors of the precoding matrix and the second codebook contains one or more delay components/vectors of the precoding matrix;”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467