DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on March 16, 2026.
Restrictions/Elections.
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-7 and 10-13) in the reply filed on March 16, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a).
Applicant election of the following species:
as the compound of Formula (I) is also acknowledged.
However, in order to accelerate prosecution, the examination was expanded to the entire genus of Formula (I).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 8-9 and 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 16, 2026.
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/096734 filed on 06/02/2022 and claims priority to foreign application PCT/CN2021/098067 filed on 06/02/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 encompass compounds of general Formula (I):
M.P.E.P. #2163 states: “An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention….one must define a compound by ‘whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it’. A lack of adequate written description issue also arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process”.
In Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc), the Federal Circuit stated that “the hallmark of written description is disclosure.” A specification adequately describes an invention when it “reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Id. at 1351. “A ‘mere wish or plan’ for obtaining the claimed invention is not adequate written description.” Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs, 636 F.3d 1341, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an actual invention, not merely an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See, e.g., In re Wilder, 22 USPQ 369, 372-3 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (holding that a claim was not adequately described because the specification did ‘little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate’). This matter is of particular importance in the evaluation of claims drawn to a chemical genus which identifies a core compound bearing variable substituents. It has been held that “a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds, and yet the question may still remain whether the specification...demonstrates that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus” with such breadth. Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2D 1161, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2010). An adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials. Id., quoting Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
However, merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species. Ariad, 94 USPQ2D at 1171. 35 U.S. C. 112, first paragraph, requires a description of the invention that “clearly allow[s] persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the inventor invented what is claimed.” Ariad at 1172, quoting Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555 (1562-63) (Fed. Cir. 1991) (emphasis added). A sufficient disclosure is one which reasonably conveys to one having ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date of the application in question. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563. The description must reasonably describe the invention, not simply indicate a result which one might achieve if one actually made the invention. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568. To properly evaluate whether an applicant has complied with the written description requirement therefore requires an analysis of whether the skilled artisan would recognize, from the description provided, the applicants were in possession of sufficient compounds representing the full breadth of diversity of the genus claimed.
A description of a chemical genus will usually comprise a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the members of the genus, which features constitute substantial portion of the genus. See Univ. of California vs. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ 2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). This is analogous to enablement of a genus under section 112 first, by showing enablement of a representative number of species within the genus. A chemical genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient number of species to reflect the variation within that genus.
Here, applicants have claimed an extraordinarily large genus of chemical compounds encompassed by general Formula (I). The specification discloses a list of 25 compounds that are encompassed by the general Formula (I) of (see pages 69-84 of the specification).
R1a is always -C(=O)-NRxaRxb, wherein Rxa and Rxb are always C1-C4 alkyl,
Y1 is always O
U is always N
R2 is always H
n1 is always 2,
n2, n3 and n4 are always 1
R4 is always C1-5 alkyl, and
R3 is most of the time -CH2-CH2-CH2-NR-CH2-CH2-X-R’, wherein R is H or Me, X is O or S and R’ is Me, CF3, CF2, etc.
The size of the genus claimed is phenomenal, against which the applicants have offered evidence of being in possession of 25 compounds (see pages 69-84] of the specification). This small set of compounds cannot be viewed as being reasonably representative of the genus of compounds of Formula I in its claimed scope because no readily apparent combination of identifying characteristics is provided, other than the disclosure of those specific species as examples of the claimed genus, and in no way either represent the breadth of variable moieties which applicants have claimed, nor permit the skilled artisan to recognize that such claim breadth was actually in the applicants possession as of the time of filing the instant application.
Given the broad scope of the claimed subject matter, Applicant has not provided sufficient written description that would allow the skilled in the art to recognize that Applicant was in possession of most the compounds of the above general Formula I claimed.
In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested that applicant amends the claims by narrowing Formula (I) closer to the 25 compounds made in the specification, wherein:
R1a is -C(=O)-NRxaRxb, wherein Rxa and Rxb are C1-C4 alkyl,
Y1 is O
U is N
R2 is H
n1 is 2,
n2, n3 and n4 are 1
R4 is C1-5 alkyl, and
R3 is most of the time -CH2-CH2-CH2-NR-CH2-CH2-X-R’, wherein R is H or Me, X is O or S and R’ is Me, CF3, CF2, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cai et. al. (US 12,473,295).
The applied reference has a common applicant/inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claims 1-7 Cai teaches the compounds of Formula (I):
(see bottom of column 3)
And more specifically, compounds from columns 205 through 428 which anticipate the structural limitations of claims 1-7, like for example:
(see claim 1).
For claims 10-13, Cai teaches that the compounds can be used for the treatment of leukemia (see abstract for example).
Further, the statement “for use as a medicament” is considered an intended use and does not add any new limitation to the claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. V. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (fed. Cir. 2002). “The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2) Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daskalakis et. al. (US 2024/0261292)
The applied reference has a common applicant/inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claims 1-7 Daskalakis teaches the compounds of Formula (I):
(see abstract)
And more specifically, the following compound:
(see claim 15).
For claims 10-13, Daskalakis teaches that the compounds can be used for the treatment of leukemia (see [0001]).
Further, the statement “for use as a medicament” is considered an intended use and does not add any new limitation to the claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. V. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (fed. Cir. 2002). “The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
3) Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cai et. al. (WO 2022/262796, December 22, 2022)
The applied reference has a common applicant/inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claims 1-7 Cai teaches the following compound:
(see claim 1)
For claims 10-13, Daskalakis teaches that the compounds can be used for the treatment of leukemia (see claim 10).
Further, the statement “for use as a medicament” is considered an intended use and does not add any new limitation to the claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. V. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (fed. Cir. 2002). “The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
4) Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daskalakis et. al. (US 2025/0302840
The applied reference has a common applicant/inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claims 1-7 Daskalakis teaches the compounds of Formula (I):
(see abstract)
And more specifically, the following compound:
(see claim 17).
For claims 10-13, Daskalakis teaches that the compounds can be used for the treatment of leukemia (see [0003]).
Further, the statement “for use as a medicament” is considered an intended use and does not add any new limitation to the claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. V. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (fed. Cir. 2002). “The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Double Patenting
1) Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,473,295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of claims 1-8 of the ‘295 patent anticipates all the structural limitations of instant claims 1-7 and 10-13.
2) Claims 1-7 and 10-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/560,233 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of claims 1-3 of the ‘233 application anticipates all the structural limitations of instant claims 1-7 and 10-13.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
3) Claims 1-7 and 10-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/560,242 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of claims 1-3 of the ‘242 application anticipates all the structural limitations of instant claims 1-7 and 10-13.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
March 18, 2026.