Examiner’s Note
Providing supporting paragraph(s) for each limitation of amended/new claim(s) in Remarks is strongly requested for clear and definite claim interpretations by Examiner (e.g., to avoid rejections under 35 U.S.C § 112(a) “Lack of written description”)
Applicant can schedule interviews (via Automated Interview Request (AIR)) at any stage of the prosecution (e.g., Non-Final, Final, and After-Final) to discuss any issues related to, for example, rejections under 35 U.S.C § 101 and § 102/103, for moving toward allowance.
If a limitation has bold brackets (i.e. [·]) around claim languages, the bracketed claim languages indicate that they have not been taught yet by the current prior art reference but they will be taught by another prior art reference afterwards.
If a limitation has one or more bold underlines, the one or more bold underlined claim languages indicate that they are taught by the current prior art reference, while the one or more non-underlined claim languages indicate that they have been taught already by one or more previous art references.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for the PCT application filed on 06/07/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, regarding 35 USC § 101, Applicant contends:
“This process continues "until the number of decision rules whose conditions are satisfied reaches K (K is a natural number of not less than 2)" (non-limiting paragraph [0051])”, “This is a computational operation that cannot be performed mentally, especially when dealing with large numbers of training examples and complex rule conditions” and “Instead, claim 1 claims a mechanism: identifying K top-ranked applicable decision rules in descending order, using their predicted values to calculate a prediction result, and optimizing the decision list based on training performance. This is a concrete improvement to the structure and operation of a decision-list model, not a mere mathematical principle.”
“As described in non-limiting paragraph [0054], "By subjecting a plurality of candidate lists to the above-described process of evaluating prediction accuracy of a candidate list, it is possible to specify a candidate list having the highest prediction accuracy, and to determine, as the decision list to be output, the candidate list having the highest prediction accuracy." This ensures the model is configured to achieve the improved prediction performance” and “The "at least one processor" element does not make the claim generic. The processor is executing the specific prediction and list determining processes that define the improvement. The claim is not directed to a generic computer performing routine functions; it is directed to a computer programmed to execute the claimed prediction and optimization processes.”
“The claimed use of K>=2 rules is a departure from conventional practice. The claimed combination is not merely a routine or well-understood activity in the industry - it is a specific improvement that solves a recognized technical problem”, “Claim 1 provides tangible benefits that are not inherent to the abstract idea itself. By using K>=2 rules instead of one, the claim improves prediction accuracy (non-limiting paragraph [0028]). By identifying the rules in descending order, the claim provides a clear, deterministic mechanism for selecting which rules to use (non-limiting paragraph [0051]). By optimizing the list based on training results, the claim ensures that the model achieves the best possible performance (non limiting paragraph [0054]). And by maintaining the decision-list structure, the claim preserves interpretability (non-limiting paragraph [0003])” and “The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that claims directed to specific improvements to computer technology are patent-eligible, even when they involve generic computer hardware.”
Examiner’s response:
The examiner understands the applicant’s assertion.
However, it appears that each processing step is just applying the abstract idea to a general field of endeavor with additional elements. In addition, improvements to technology or technical field are not necessarily reflected in the claims. Thus, the claim does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The examiner understands the applicant’s assertion “This process continues "until the number of decision rules whose conditions are satisfied reaches K (K is a natural number of not less than 2)" (non-limiting paragraph [0051])”, “This is a computational operation that cannot be performed mentally, especially when dealing with large numbers of training examples and complex rule conditions” and “Instead, claim 1 claims a mechanism: identifying K top-ranked applicable decision rules in descending order, using their predicted values to calculate a prediction result, and optimizing the decision list based on training performance. This is a concrete improvement to the structure and operation of a decision-list model, not a mere mathematical principle.”
However, the claim does not elaborate with specificities how to train prediction models using the K top-ranked decision rules based on training examples included in a training example set. Instead, the claim just elaborates calculating a prediction result and determining a decision list. In addition, it is not clear how the process continues "until the number of decision rules whose conditions are satisfied reaches K (K is a natural number of not less than 2). Elaborating them with more specificities may help overcome the present rejections. Even though the claim has computational operations, it can be interpreted as abstract ideas, as rejected under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101. Furthermore, even though the claim may show a mechanism (identifying K top-ranked applicable decision rules in descending order, using their predicted values to calculate a prediction result, and optimizing the decision list based on training performance), it is not clear how the mechanism provides improvements in light of the specification. Providing specific paragraphs stating technical improvements and elaborating the mechanism with more specificities may help overcome the present rejections.
The examiner understands the applicant’s assertion “As described in non-limiting paragraph [0054], "By subjecting a plurality of candidate lists to the above-described process of evaluating prediction accuracy of a candidate list, it is possible to specify a candidate list having the highest prediction accuracy, and to determine, as the decision list to be output, the candidate list having the highest prediction accuracy." This ensures the model is configured to achieve the improved prediction performance” and “The "at least one processor" element does not make the claim generic. The processor is executing the specific prediction and list determining processes that define the improvement. The claim is not directed to a generic computer performing routine functions; it is directed to a computer programmed to execute the claimed prediction and optimization processes.”
However, achieving an improved prediction performance does not always provide technical improvements. Elaborating technical details with more specificities to show the claims reflect the asserted improvement may help overcome the present rejections. The claim may be directed to a computer programmed to execute the claimed prediction and optimization processes, but it is still not clear how the prediction and optimization processes provide improvements.
The examiner understands the applicant’s assertion “The claimed use of K>=2 rules is a departure from conventional practice. The claimed combination is not merely a routine or well-understood activity in the industry - it is a specific improvement that solves a recognized technical problem”, “Claim 1 provides tangible benefits that are not inherent to the abstract idea itself. By using K>=2 rules instead of one, the claim improves prediction accuracy (non-limiting paragraph [0028]). By identifying the rules in descending order, the claim provides a clear, deterministic mechanism for selecting which rules to use (non-limiting paragraph [0051]). By optimizing the list based on training results, the claim ensures that the model achieves the best possible performance (non limiting paragraph [0054]). And by maintaining the decision-list structure, the claim preserves interpretability (non-limiting paragraph [0003])” and “The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that claims directed to specific improvements to computer technology are patent-eligible, even when they involve generic computer hardware.”
However, as rejected under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, e.g., FRIEDMAN teaches multiple rules, and it is not clear why using multiple rules is a specific improvement that solves a recognized technical problem. Even though using multiple rules may improve prediction accuracy, it doesn’t appear that the recited claims provide specificities of how to improve the prediction accuracy based on the multiple rules. In addition, it is not clear why/how the claims are directed to specific improvements to computer technology by involving generic computer hardware.
Currently, the limitations do not clearly show e.g., improvements in computer technology and improvements to other technical fields. Rather, the improvements in Remarks are about just improving the abstract ideas of the independent claims. It doesn’t seem that the specification and/or the independent claims clearly show how the inventive concept of the claims enables improvements and how they are tied together. The applicant may need to amend the claims to show how the claim languages and improvements are tied together.
To find a valid improvement to a technology, MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) says the specification must explain the improvement and that the claim must reflect the disclosed improvement. Furthermore, the improvement should not be merely a consequence of the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(a). An improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement to technology.
For at least these reasons, Applicant's arguments are not convincing.
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 USC § 102/103 with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to amended limitation(s) that has/have not been previously examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 3 recite(s) the limitation “the number of conditions” (line 5). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear what it is referring to. It appears that it needs to read “a number of conditions” or something else. For the purposes of examination, “a number of conditions” is used.
Claim(s) 3 each recite(s) limitations that raise issues of indefiniteness as set forth above, and their dependent claims are rejected at least based on their direct and/or indirect dependency from the claims listed above. Appropriate explanation and/or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1
Step 1: “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?”
The claim is directed to a system. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
a prediction process of calculating a prediction result with use of predicted values of, among decision rules included in a decision list composed of the decision rules extracted from a decision rule set that is a set of decision rules each of which is a combination of a condition and a predicted value for a case where the condition is satisfied, K (K is a natural number of not less than 2) top-ranked decision rules whose conditions are satisfied by one of training examples included in a training example set, the K top-ranked decision rules being identified in descending order in the decision list; and (i.e., mathematical concept)
a list determining process of determining, from among a plurality of the decision lists generated from the decision rule set, a decision list to be output, the determining being made on a basis of a prediction result calculated for the training examples included in the training example set. (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
An information processing apparatus: including at least one processor, the at least one processor executing: (well-understood, routine, and conventional generic computer and/or model, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, the claimed inventions simply append well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, both when viewed independently and as an ordered combination, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, (e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry). Therefore, no.
Regarding claim 2
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
the prediction process calculates, with use of the decision list represented by a variable indicative of a position in the decision list at which position a decision rule included in the decision rule set is located, a value of an objective function including an error term indicative of an error of the prediction result; and (i.e., mathematical concept)
the list determining process determines the decision list to be output by repeatedly carrying out a process of updating the variable on a basis of the calculated value of the objective function until the value of the objective function satisfies a predetermined condition. (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
The claim does not add any additional elements (Step 2A Prong 2) or significantly more (Step 2B).
Regarding claim 3
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
the prediction process calculates the value of the objective function including (i) a constraint term relating to a number of decision rules included in the decision list or (ii) a constraint term relating to the number of conditions included in the decision rules included in the decision list. (i.e., mathematical concept)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
The claim does not add any additional elements (Step 2A Prong 2) or significantly more (Step 2B).
Regarding claim 4
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?” The claim recites the abstract idea identified above regarding claim 2. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
the variable includes, for each of the training examples included in the training example set, variables indicative of the K decision rules which are a first to K-th decision rules in the decision list and whose conditions are satisfied by one of the training examples (a particular type or source of model/data, Field of Use and Technological Environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, no.
Regarding claim 5
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
the prediction process calculates the prediction result with use of the value of the K, the value having been accepted by the acceptance process. (i.e., mathematical concept)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
an acceptance process of accepting setting of a value of the K, wherein (insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, no.
Regarding claim 6
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
a decision rule set generating process of (a) generating a decision rule by extracting, from at least one decision tree included in a decision tree set including the at least one decision tree, each condition appearing on a path from a root to a leaf of the at least one decision tree and (b) generating the decision rule set including the generated decision rule. (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
The claim does not add any additional elements (Step 2A Prong 2) or significantly more (Step 2B).
Regarding claim 7
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
a rank setting process of ranking the decision rules included in the decision rule set, (i.e., mental process)
wherein the prediction process calculates the prediction result with use of the K top- ranked predicted values (i.e., mathematical concept)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Therefore, no.
The claim does not add any additional elements (Step 2A Prong 2) or significantly more (Step 2B).
Regarding claim 8
Step 1: “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?”
The claim is directed to a composition of matter. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
the rank setting process ranks the decision rules on a basis of differences between the predicted values for the training examples satisfying conditions of the decision rules and a predicted value to be compared (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
The claim does not add any additional elements (Step 2A Prong 2) or significantly more (Step 2B).
Regarding claim 9
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
a prediction process of calculating a prediction result with use of predicted values of, among decision rules included in a decision list composed of the decision rules each of which is a combination of a condition and a predicted value for a case where the condition is satisfied, K (K is a natural number of not less than 2) top-ranked decision rules whose conditions are satisfied by the input data the K top-ranked decision rules being identified in descending order in the decision list (i.e., mathematical concept)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
An information processing apparatus including at least one processor, the at least one processor executing: (well-understood, routine, and conventional generic computer and/or model, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
an input data acquiring process of acquiring input data to be subjected to prediction; and (insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, no.
Regarding claim 10
The claim is rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 11
The claim is rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudin et al. (Learning customized and optimized lists of rules with mathematical programming) in view of FRIEDMAN et al. (PREDICTIVE LEARNING VIA RULE ENSEMBLES)
Regarding claim 1
Rudin teaches
An information processing apparatus: including at least one processor, the at least one processor executing:
(Rudin [sec(s) 6] “For all baseline methods, we used the Weka (Hall et al, 2009) software package on a Mac-Book Pro with 2.53 GHz Intel i5 core processor. Several of the algorithms have no parameters to tune (AdaBoost, logistic regression). Heuristics were used to set some of the parameters for SVM (C=1, RBF kernel parameter = 1/#Features), though we report results from SVM for many possible parameter values for all datasets in Table 11 in Appendix A. Default parameters were used for random forests.”;)
a prediction process of calculating a prediction result with use of predicted values of,
(Rudin [sec(s) 1] “The selection and order of these rules determines accuracy. The fractions reported between parentheses are empirical conditional probabilities of making a correct prediction for a given rule.”;)
among decision rules included in a decision list composed of the decision rules extracted from a decision rule set that is a set of decision rules each of which is a combination of a condition and a predicted value for a case where the condition is satisfied,
(Rudin [sec(s) 1] “Our method for producing rule lists works in two steps, like an associative classification technique: first, in Step 1, a set of “IF-THEN” association rules with high support and high confidence are mined using a rule-mining algorithm, and second, in Step 2 we learn the ordering of the rules from data to form a sparse and accurate decision list. We use discrete optimization techniques that are designed to handle the combinatorial explosion caused by a combinatorially increasing number of possible rules, and an exponentially increasing number of ways to order them. We provide two mathematical programming formulations: one for mining the rules, and the other for ordering them. Each of the two formulations can be used independently; for instance it is possible to use our formulation for learning the ordering of rules when the rules themselves were generated from a separate rule mining algorithm. Alternatively, it is possible to use our rule mining algorithm for examining rules that might be individually interesting. Both are mixed-integer linear programs: constraints and the objective are linear in the decision variables.”;)
K (K is a natural number [of not less than 2]) top-ranked decision rule[s] whose conditions are satisfied by one of training examples included in a training example set, the K top-ranked decision rule[s being identified in descending] order in the decision list; and
(Rudin [sec(s) 1] “Our goal is to produce non-black-box machine learning models comprised of logical IF-THEN rule statements. We want these models to be easily customizable by the user, and to have training performance that is optimized. … The selection and order of these rules determines accuracy. The fractions reported between parentheses are empirical conditional probabilities of making a correct prediction for a given rule. For instance, the empirical conditional probability 30/35 for the second rule means that 35 observations did not satisfy the first rule, but satisfied the second rule. Of those, in 30 observations the emergency room was at capacity. The order of rules is important because in a given situation, the rule that makes the prediction is the first rule that applies to it.” [sec(s) Abs] “We introduce a mathematical programming approach to building rule lists, which are a type of interpretable, nonlinear, and logical machine learning classifier involving IF-THEN rules.” [sec(s) 1] “Our method for producing rule lists works in two steps, like an associative classification technique: first, in Step 1, a set of “IF-THEN” association rules with high support and high confidence are mined using a rule-mining algorithm, and second, in Step 2 we learn the ordering of the rules from data to form a sparse and accurate decision list. … We provide two mathematical programming formulations: one for mining the rules, and the other for ordering them. Each of the two formulations can be used independently; for instance it is possible to use our formulation for learning the ordering of rules when the rules themselves were generated from a separate rule mining algorithm. Alternatively, it is possible to use our rule mining algorithm for examining rules that might be individually interesting. Both are mixed-integer linear programs: constraints and the objective are linear in the decision variables.”;)
a list determining process of determining, from among a plurality of the decision lists generated from the decision rule set, a decision list to be output, the determining being made on a basis of a prediction result calculated for the training examples included in the training example set.
(Rudin [sec(s) Abs] “We introduce a mathematical programming approach to building rule lists, which are a type of interpretable, nonlinear, and logical machine learning classifier involving IF-THEN rules. Unlike traditional decision tree algorithms like CART and C5.0, this method does not use greedy splitting and pruning. Instead, it aims to fully optimize a combination of accuracy and sparsity, obeying user-defined constraints. This method is useful for producing non-black-box predictive models, and has the benefit of a clear user-defined tradeoff between training accuracy and sparsity.” [sec(s) 1] “Our method for producing rule lists works in two steps, like an associative classification technique: first, in Step 1, a set of “IF-THEN” association rules with high support and high confidence are mined using a rule-mining algorithm, and second, in Step 2 we learn the ordering of the rules from data to form a sparse and accurate decision list. We use discrete optimization techniques that are designed to handle the combinatorial explosion caused by a combinatorially increasing number of possible rules, and an exponentially increasing number of ways to order them. We provide two mathematical programming formulations: one for mining the rules, and the other for ordering them. Each of the two formulations can be used independently; for instance it is possible to use our formulation for learning the ordering of rules when the rules themselves were generated from a separate rule mining algorithm. Alternatively, it is possible to use our rule mining algorithm for examining rules that might be individually interesting. Both are mixed-integer linear programs: constraints and the objective are linear in the decision variables.”;)
However, the combination of Rudin does not appear to explicitly teach:
K (K is a natural number [of not less than 2]) top-ranked decision rule[s] whose conditions are satisfied by one of training examples included in a training example set, the K top-ranked decision rule[s being identified in descending] order in the decision list; and
FRIEDMAN teaches
K (K is a natural number of not less than 2) top-ranked decision rules whose conditions are satisfied by one of training examples included in a training example set, the K top-ranked decision rules being identified in descending order in the decision list; and
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) Abs] “General regression and classification models are constructed as linear combinations of simple rules derived from the data. Each rule consists of a conjunction of a small number of simple statements concerning the values of individual input variables.” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.” [sec(s) 3] “Rule based ensembles. The base learners considered here are simple rules. Let Sj be the set of all possible values for input variable xj, xj ∈ Sj, and sjm be a specified subset of those values, sjm⊆ Sj. Then each base learner takes the form of a conjunctive rule (6)
, where I(·) is an indicator of the truth of its argument. Each such base learner assumes two values rm(x) ∈{0,1}. It is nonzero when all of the input variables realize values that are simultaneously within their respective subsets {xj ∈ sjm}n1.” [sec(s) 6] “A commonly used measure of relevance or importance Ik of any predictor in a linear model such as (25) is the absolute value of the coefficient of the correspond ing standardized predictor. For rules, this becomes (28)
, where sk is the rule support (12). … The importance measures (28) and (29) are global in that they reflect the average influence of each predictor over the distribution of all joint input variable values.”; e.g., “measure of relevance or importance” read(s) on “descending order”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Rudin with the top-ranked decision rules of FRIEDMAN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine in order to provide a accuracy which is competitive with the best tree based ensembles, and automatically identify the variables that are involved in interactions with other variables, the strength and degree of those interactions, as well as the identities of the other variables with which they interact.
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) Abs] “Techniques are presented for automatically identifying those variables that are involved in interactions with other variables, the strength and degree of those interactions, as well as the identities of the other variables with which they interact. Graphical representations are used to visualize both main and interaction effects” [sec(s) 4] “The results presented in Figure 2 suggest that the rule based approach to ensemble learning described in Section 3 produces accuracy comparable to that based on decision trees. Other tree based ensemble methods including bagging and random forests were compared to those presented here (MART, ISLE) in Friedman and Popescu(2003), and seen to exhibit somewhat lower accuracy over these 100 regression and classification data sets. Thus, rule based ensembles appear to be competitive in accuracy with the best tree based ensembles.”)
Regarding claim 2
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 1.
Rudin further teaches
the prediction process calculates, with use of the decision list represented by a variable indicative of a position in the decision list at which position a decision rule included in the decision rule set is located, a value of an objective function including an error term indicative of an error of the prediction result; and
(Rudin [sec(s) Abs] “We introduce a mathematical programming approach to building rule lists, which are a type of interpretable, nonlinear, and logical machine learning classifier involving IF-THEN rules. Unlike traditional decision tree algorithms like CART and C5.0, this method does not use greedy splitting and pruning. Instead, it aims to fully optimize a combination of accuracy and sparsity, obeying user-defined constraints. This method is useful for producing non-black-box predictive models, and has the benefit of a clear user-defined tradeoff between training accuracy and sparsity.” [sec(s) 1] “Our method for producing rule lists works in two steps, like an associative classification technique: first, in Step 1, a set of “IF-THEN” association rules with high support and high confidence are mined using a rule-mining algorithm, and second, in Step 2 we learn the ordering of the rules from data to form a sparse and accurate decision list. We use discrete optimization techniques that are designed to handle the combinatorial explosion caused by a combinatorially increasing number of possible rules, and an exponentially increasing number of ways to order them. We provide two mathematical programming formulations: one for mining the rules, and the other for ordering them. Each of the two formulations can be used independently; for instance it is possible to use our formulation for learning the ordering of rules when the rules themselves were generated from a separate rule mining algorithm. Alternatively, it is possible to use our rule mining algorithm for examining rules that might be individually interesting. Both are mixed-integer linear programs: constraints and the objective are linear in the decision variables.”;)
the list determining process determines the decision list to be output by repeatedly carrying out a process of updating the variable on a basis of the calculated value of the objective function until the value of the objective function satisfies a predetermined condition.
(Rudin [sec(s) Abs] “We introduce a mathematical programming approach to building rule lists, which are a type of interpretable, nonlinear, and logical machine learning classifier involving IF-THEN rules. Unlike traditional decision tree algorithms like CART and C5.0, this method does not use greedy splitting and pruning. Instead, it aims to fully optimize a combination of accuracy and sparsity, obeying user-defined constraints. This method is useful for producing non-black-box predictive models, and has the benefit of a clear user-defined tradeoff between training accuracy and sparsity.” [sec(s) 1] “Our method for producing rule lists works in two steps, like an associative classification technique: first, in Step 1, a set of “IF-THEN” association rules with high support and high confidence are mined using a rule-mining algorithm, and second, in Step 2 we learn the ordering of the rules from data to form a sparse and accurate decision list. We use discrete optimization techniques that are designed to handle the combinatorial explosion caused by a combinatorially increasing number of possible rules, and an exponentially increasing number of ways to order them. We provide two mathematical programming formulations: one for mining the rules, and the other for ordering them. Each of the two formulations can be used independently; for instance it is possible to use our formulation for learning the ordering of rules when the rules themselves were generated from a separate rule mining algorithm. Alternatively, it is possible to use our rule mining algorithm for examining rules that might be individually interesting. Both are mixed-integer linear programs: constraints and the objective are linear in the decision variables.”;)
Regarding claim 3
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 2.
Rudin further teaches
the prediction process calculates the value of the objective function including (i) a constraint term relating to a number of decision rules included in the decision list or (ii) a constraint term relating to the number of conditions included in the decision rules included in the decision list.
(Rudin [sec(s) Abs] “We introduce a mathematical programming approach to building rule lists, which are a type of interpretable, nonlinear, and logical machine learning classifier involving IF-THEN rules. Unlike traditional decision tree algorithms like CART and C5.0, this method does not use greedy splitting and pruning. Instead, it aims to fully optimize a combination of accuracy and sparsity, obeying user-defined constraints. This method is useful for producing non-black-box predictive models, and has the benefit of a clear user-defined tradeoff between training accuracy and sparsity.” [sec(s) 1] “Our method for producing rule lists works in two steps, like an associative classification technique: first, in Step 1, a set of “IF-THEN” association rules with high support and high confidence are mined using a rule-mining algorithm, and second, in Step 2 we learn the ordering of the rules from data to form a sparse and accurate decision list. We use discrete optimization techniques that are designed to handle the combinatorial explosion caused by a combinatorially increasing number of possible rules, and an exponentially increasing number of ways to order them. We provide two mathematical programming formulations: one for mining the rules, and the other for ordering them. Each of the two formulations can be used independently; for instance it is possible to use our formulation for learning the ordering of rules when the rules themselves were generated from a separate rule mining algorithm. Alternatively, it is possible to use our rule mining algorithm for examining rules that might be individually interesting. Both are mixed-integer linear programs: constraints and the objective are linear in the decision variables.”;)
Regarding claim 4
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 2.
FRIEDMAN further teaches
the variable includes, for each of the training examples included in the training example set, variables indicative of the K decision rules which are a first to K-th decision rules in the decision list and whose conditions are satisfied by one of the training examples.
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) Abs] “General regression and classification models are constructed as linear combinations of simple rules derived from the data. Each rule consists of a conjunction of a small number of simple statements concerning the values of individual input variables.” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.” [sec(s) 3] “Rule based ensembles. The base learners considered here are simple rules. Let Sj be the set of all possible values for input variable xj, xj ∈ Sj, and sjm be a specified subset of those values, sjm⊆ Sj. Then each base learner takes the form of a conjunctive rule (6)
, where I(·) is an indicator of the truth of its argument. Each such base learner assumes two values rm(x) ∈{0,1}. It is nonzero when all of the input variables realize values that are simultaneously within their respective subsets {xj ∈ sjm}n1.”;)
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN is combinable with FRIEDMAN for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 1.
Rudin further teaches
an acceptance process of accepting setting of a value of the K, wherein
(Rudin [sec(s) Abs] “We introduce a mathematical programming approach to building rule lists, which are a type of interpretable, nonlinear, and logical machine learning classifier involving IF-THEN rules. Unlike traditional decision tree algorithms like CART and C5.0, this method does not use greedy splitting and pruning. Instead, it aims to fully optimize a combination of accuracy and sparsity, obeying user-defined constraints. This method is useful for producing non-black-box predictive models, and has the benefit of a clear user-defined tradeoff between training accuracy and sparsity.” [sec(s) 2] “These issues illustrate where mathematical programming has a clear advantage; it allows us to fully optimize the selection and order of rules to be accurate, sparse, and obey user-defined constraints. There is a tradeoff: classical methods are very fast but not very accurate, and work on large datasets, but it can be difficult to customize them to obey user-defined constraints.”; Note that FRIEDMAN teaches “K”.)
FRIEDMAN further teaches
the prediction process calculates the prediction result with use of the value of the K, the value having been accepted by the acceptance process.
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) Abs] “General regression and classification models are constructed as linear combinations of simple rules derived from the data. Each rule consists of a conjunction of a small number of simple statements concerning the values of individual input variables.” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.” [sec(s) 3] “Rule based ensembles. The base learners considered here are simple rules. Let Sj be the set of all possible values for input variable xj, xj ∈ Sj, and sjm be a specified subset of those values, sjm⊆ Sj. Then each base learner takes the form of a conjunctive rule (6)
, where I(·) is an indicator of the truth of its argument. Each such base learner assumes two values rm(x) ∈{0,1}. It is nonzero when all of the input variables realize values that are simultaneously within their respective subsets {xj ∈ sjm}n1.”;)
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN is combinable with FRIEDMAN for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 1.
FRIEDMAN further teaches
a decision rule set generating process of (a) generating a decision rule by extracting, from at least one decision tree included in a decision tree set including the at least one decision tree, each condition appearing on a path from a root to a leaf of the at least one decision tree and (b) generating the decision rule set including the generated decision rule.
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) 3.1] “The approach used here is to view a decision tree as defining a collection of rules and take advantage of existing fast algorithms for producing decision tree ensembles. That is, decision trees are used as the base learner f(x;p) in Algorithm 1. Each node (interior and terminal) of each resulting tree fm(x) produces a rule of the form (7).” [sec(s) 3] “Rule based ensembles. The base learners considered here are simple rules. Let Sj be the set of all possible values for input variable xj, xj ∈ Sj, and sjm be a specified subset of those values, sjm⊆ Sj. Then each base learner takes the form of a conjunctive rule (6)
, where I(·) is an indicator of the truth of its argument. Each such base learner assumes two values rm(x) ∈{0,1}. It is nonzero when all of the input variables realize values that are simultaneously within their respective subsets {xj ∈ sjm}n1.” [sec(s) 3.2] “The total number of rules is (8)
, where tm is the number of terminal nodes for the mth tree” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.” [sec(s) Abs] “General regression and classification models are constructed as linear combinations of simple rules derived from the data. Each rule consists of a conjunction of a small number of simple statements concerning the values of individual input variables. These rule ensembles are shown to produce predictive accuracy comparable to the best methods.”;)
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN is combinable with FRIEDMAN for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 1.
FRIEDMAN further teaches
a rank setting process of ranking the decision rules included in the decision rule set,
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) 6] “A commonly used measure of relevance or importance Ik of any predictor in a linear model such as (25) is the absolute value of the coefficient of the corresponding standardized predictor. For rules, this becomes (28)
, where sk is the rule support (12). … The importance measures (28) and (29) are global in that they reflect the average influence of each predictor over the distribution of all joint input variable values. A corresponding local measure of influence at each point x in that space is for rules (7)” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.”;)
wherein the prediction process calculates the prediction result with use of the K top-ranked predicted values.
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) 3.1] “The approach used here is to view a decision tree as defining a collection of rules and take advantage of existing fast algorithms for producing decision tree ensembles. That is, decision trees are used as the base learner f(x;p) in Algorithm 1. Each node (interior and terminal) of each resulting tree fm(x) produces a rule of the form (7).” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.” [sec(s) Abs] “General regression and classification models are constructed as linear combinations of simple rules derived from the data. Each rule consists of a conjunction of a small number of simple statements concerning the values of individual input variables. These rule ensembles are shown to produce predictive accuracy comparable to the best methods.”;)
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN is combinable with FRIEDMAN for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 7.
FRIEDMAN further teaches
the rank setting means process ranks the decision rules on a basis of differences between the predicted values for the training examples satisfying conditions of the decision rules and a predicted value to be compared.
(FRIEDMAN [sec(s) 3] “Rule based ensembles. The base learners considered here are simple rules. Let Sj be the set of all possible values for input variable xj, xj ∈ Sj, and sjm be a specified subset of those values, sjm⊆ Sj. Then each base learner takes the form of a conjunctive rule (6)
, where I(·) is an indicator of the truth of its argument. Each such base learner assumes two values rm(x) ∈{0,1}. It is nonzero when all of the input variables realize values that are simultaneously within their respective subsets {xj ∈ sjm}n1.” [sec(s) 6] “sk is the rule support (12). … The importance measures (28) and (29) are global in that they reflect the average influence of each predictor over the distribution of all joint input variable values. A corresponding local measure of influence at each point x in that space is for rules (7) (30)
” [sec(s) 2] “Ensemble learning. Learning ensembles have emerged as being among the most powerful learning methods [see Breiman (1996, 2001), Freund and Schapire (1996), Friedman (2001)]. Their structural model takes the form (3)
, where M is the size of the ensemble and each ensemble member (“base learner”) fm(x) is a different function of the input variables x derived from the training data. Ensemble predictions F(x) are taken to be a linear combination of the predictions.”;)
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN is combinable with FRIEDMAN for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9
The claim is rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
In addition, Rudin further teaches
an input data acquiring process of acquiring input data to be subjected to prediction;
(Rudin [sec(s) 3] “The input to the rule-ordering algorithm includes a training set of labeled observations {(xi,yi)}mi=1, with observations xi ∈ X, and labels yi ∈ {−1,1} (in the example, “at capacity” might be assigned the label +1). The method here can be generalized to the multi-class setting easily. Also given as input is a collection of rules, which comes from a rule mining algorithm, or if the problem is small enough, we can input all possible rules below a certain size. R is the total number of rules available. Starting from the top of the list, each rule r evaluates each observation xi to determine whether it applies, meaning that the “IF” condition is met, and if so, the rule assigns a predicted label of either-1 or 1. We define an m×Rmatrix of parameters A, called the applies matrix.”;)
Regarding claim 10
The claim is rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding claim 11
The combination of Rudin, FRIEDMAN teaches claim 1.
In addition, the claim is rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEHWAN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2129