DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on July 8, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “of a combined amount of polymers A and B” should be added to the claim to give it a basis.
Regarding claim 12, please delete the limitation following the phrase “preferably from”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(i) as being anticipated by Lu et al (US 5,776,604).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 10 and 14, Lu teaches an aqueous coating composition comprising (Example 1):
38 % by weight of an ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer which reads on polymer A
5.9 % by weight of an acrylic polymer which reads on polymer B
15.6% by weight of a calcium carbonate which is 100% calcium carbonate
It is noted that the wax is not mandatorily present.
Regarding claim 2-3, the ratio of polymer A to polymer B is 38:5.9 or 6.44:1 which is within the recited range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US 5,776,604).
Regarding claims 1-8, 10 and 14, Lu teaches an aqueous (col. 5, lines 35-40) coating composition (col. 4, lines 50-55) comprising: from 20 to 80 % by weight of a binder composition (col. 3, lines 5-15) which is a mixture of an acrylic polymer (which reads on polymer B) and ethylene-acrylic polymer (which reads on polymer A). The ratio of the amount of A:B is 95:5 to 50:50 (col. 3) which reads on the claimed ratio. The composition also a particulate additive in the amount from 20 to 80 % (col. 3, lines 30-40) of which 5 to 70% (col. 3, lines 65-67) can be calcium carbonate (col. 3, lines 55-60). This means that the amount of calcium carbonate can be calculated to range from 1 to 56 % by weight. It is noted that the wax is optional.
Lu fails to specifically exemplify the recited coating. However, Lu discloses each of the components of the composition and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the coating composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the compositions suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the compositions suggested by Lu, including the claimed composition. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Lu to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would have been nothing more than using known components in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Lu teaches that polymer B is an acrylic polymer which contains acrylic acid or methacrylic acid monomers (col. 2, lines 35-50) as well as C1-C16 alkyl acrylate (col. 2, lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches that the ethylene acrylic acid copolymer can have 15 % acrylic acid (col. 2, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 15, Lu teaches that the aqueous coating composition has a solids content that ranges from 10 to 80 % (col. 5, lines 30-40).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US 5,776,604) in view of Buri et al (US 2015/0315366)
The discussion regarding Lu in paragraph 8 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 13, Lu teaches that the calcium carbonate have particle sizes rarely smaller than 1 micron (col. 3, lines 50-60). However, Lu fails to explicitly teach that the calcium carbonate has a weight-median particle size d50 of 0.1 to 15 microns.
Buri teaches an aqueous coating material (Abstract) which contains calcium carbonate with a weight-median particle size d50 from 0.1 to 50 microns ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the calcium carbonate of Lu have the weight median particle size as taught by Buri. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having a coating with good mechanical properties (Buri, [0172]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-14 of copending Application No. 18/566,377 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach an aqueous coating composition with the same polymer A and polymer B and a calcium carbonate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764