Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/1/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riva Reggiori (Riva) et al. (US 2020/0397054 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Riva teaches an aerosol-generating device (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 10) comprising a housing (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 22) with an accommodation space (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 24), a heater (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 26) to heat the aerosol generating article, a temperature sensor (Para. [0043]) to measure the temperate of the heater, a battery (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 30) to supply power, and a processor (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 38). The processor is fully capable of obtaining at least one of data associated with an initial temperature of the heater, which is measured through the temperature sensor and data associated with a final heating profile of the heater and control power supply from the battery to the heater based on the obtained data (Para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Riva teaches that the aerosol-generating device comprises a memory storing data (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 36) associated with the temperature of the heater (Para. [0065]) and the processor is configured to control the power to the heater based on the temperature of the heating element (Para. [0072]) and would be capable of doing so when the heating profile is both under and above a preset temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Riva teaches that the processor is configured to control the power to the heater based on the temperature of the heating element (Para. [0072]) and would be capable of obtaining data regarding time to the temperature increase past the preset temperature.
Regarding claim 4, Riva teaches that the processor is configured to control the power to the heater based on the temperature of the heating element (Para. [0072]) and can use a second feedback loop (Para. [0074]) that can correspond to a second temperature profile.
Regarding claim 5, Riva teaches that the processor is configured to control the power to the heater based on the temperature of the heating element (Para. [0072]) and can use a second feedback loop (Para. [0074]) that can correspond to a second temperature profile and would be capable of the second temperature profile having a longer total preheating time than the first profile.
Regarding claim 6, Riva teaches that the processor is configured to control the power to the heater based on the temperature of the heating element (Para. [0072]) and can use a second feedback loop (Para. [0074]) that can correspond to a second temperature profile and would be capable of the second temperature profile having a shorter temperature decrease section than the final profile.
Regarding claim 7, Riva teaches that the processor is configured to control the power to the heater based on the temperature of the heating element (Para. [0072]) and would be capable of maintaining the initial temperature of the heater and then increase that temperature.
Regarding claim 8, Riva teaches that the processor obtains the first time through back-calculation (Para. [0092]), which is a type of wind-up controlling (Instant Specification; Para. [0135]).
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749