DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 10/22/2025. Claims 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, and 32 have been amended. Claims 14-33 are present for examination.
The claims objects to claims 20 and 28 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 16, 18-20, 24, and 26-28 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 with respect to the limitation “in accordance with a terminal device satisfying a predetermined size stretching condition based on a version identification of the terminal device” recited in the amended claim 14 with respect to Li have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: Li discloses using a terminal identifier to obtain information of the target terminal as an image influencing factor. If the original resolution included in the information of the target terminal is not same as the target resolution corresponding to current game scene, the original resolution will be changed to the target resolution. However, those skilled in the art would understand that resolution change based on the terminal identifier is not equivalent to size stretching operation based on the version identification of the terminal device. Thus, Li does not disclose the size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed and the condition to perform the size stretching operation, which is "in accordance with a terminal device satisfying a predetermined size stretching condition based on a version identification of the terminal device." (See Remarks filed on 10/22/2025, p. 12, 1st para.)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The specification of the current application only discloses only some examples of version identification of a terminal device such as Android 8.0, and version 8.0, version below 8.0, etc. (see Specification, paras. [0066]-[0068]). However, the disclosure does not provide a clear definition about a version identification of a terminal device. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a version identification of a terminal device can be interpreted as information identifying a terminal device because the terminal device is a version of the type of devices, and can also be the information about the model of the terminal device as a version.
Li discloses a version identification of a terminal device. For example, Li, Translation, para. [n0080], discloses a terminal identifier of a target terminal is obtained, and information of the target terminal can be obtained according to the terminal identifier: display screen information of the target terminal, network delay factors related to the target terminal, and Bluetooth information of the target terminal. A terminal identifier is corresponding to a version identification of the terminal device because it identified the terminal model, as explained in Li, Translation, para. [n0081], disclosing the identification of the terminal can be the terminal model, which can be used to obtain the display screen information such as the resolution of the display screen, the size of the display screen, etc. Therefore, the terminal identifier can correspond to a version identification of the terminal device because it identifies the terminal device and/or the model (or version) of the terminal to provide the display screen information.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 19, 20, 22-24, 27, 28, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication CN109164994A to Gao in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 113015021A to Li.
Regarding claim 14, Gao discloses A method for media file processing (Gao, para. [0007]), comprising:
obtaining a media file to be displayed and determining a display size corresponding to the media file to be displayed (Gao, para. [0048], disclosing A/V input unit to receive audio or video signals, the A/V input unit includes the graphic processor processing image data of obtained still picture or a video, the processed image frame may be stored in the memory, para. [0060], disclosing receiving a display instruction carrying information about an object to be displayed and a display size of the object to be displayed, para. [0061], disclosing the user needs to browse the object to be displayed from the cloud, locally on the device, para. [0062], disclosing the objects to be displayed include media files text documents etc. such as pictures, visualization files, etc., the display size information of the object to be displayed is information representing the display size of the object to be displayed);
in accordance with a determination that the display size is smaller than an interface size of a front-end display interface, performing a size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed based on the interface size to obtain a target media file (Gao, para. [0063], disclosing obtaining screen size information of the smart wearable device, para. [0065], disclosing according to the display size information of the object to be displayed and the screen size information of the smart wearable device, a target display strategy is matched from the correspondence between the preset display size information of the object to be displayed, the screen size information of the smart wearable device and the display strategy, para. [0079], disclosing when the horizontal width of the object to be displayed is smaller than the horizontal width of the screen of the smart wearable device, and the vertical height of the object to be displayed is smaller than the vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, the display strategy includes determining the magnification ratio of the object to be displayed according to the horizontal width and vertical height of the object to be displayed, and the horizontal width and vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, and enlarging the object to be displayed according to the magnification ratio and displaying it on the screen of the smart wearable device); and
transmitting the target media file to the display interface for display (Gao, para. [0079], disclosing when the horizontal width of the object to be displayed is smaller than the horizontal width of the screen of the smart wearable device, and the vertical height of the object to be displayed is smaller than the vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, the display strategy includes determining the magnification ratio of the object to be displayed according to the horizontal width and vertical height of the object to be displayed, and the horizontal width and vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, and enlarging the object to be displayed according to the magnification ratio and displaying it on the screen of the smart wearable device).
However, Gao does not expressly disclose in accordance with a terminal device satisfying a predetermined size stretching condition based on a version identification of the terminal device.
On the other hand, Li discloses in accordance with a terminal device satisfying a predetermined size stretching condition based on a version identification of the terminal device, obtaining a media file to be displayed and determining a display size corresponding to the media file to be displayed (Li, para. [n0080], disclosing a scene identifier corresponding to a current game scene and a terminal identifier of a target terminal displaying the current game scene is obtained, obtaining information of the target terminal according to the terminal identifier: display screen information of the target terminal, etc., which will be determined as an image quality influencing factor, para. [n0081], disclosing the identification of the terminal can include the terminal model, the display screen information can include resolution and the size of the display screen, etc., para. [n0085], disclosing obtaining the target resolution corresponding to the current game scene (the resolution of the screen displayed on the game terminal), para. [n0087], disclosing the original resolution of the image is obtained, para. [0088], disclosing determining whether the original resolution is consistent with the target resolution, para. [n0089], disclosing when the original resolution is inconsistent with the target resolution, the resolution of the image is changed to the target resolution, para. [n0090], disclosing adjusting the image with the original resolution to the target image with the target resolution, para. [n0091], disclosing the target image is rendered and encoded to obtain a target video stream, indicating the terminal identifier can correspond to the version identification of the terminal device, the resolution consistency/inconsistency can correspond to a predetermined size stretching condition based on the target resolution obtained based on the terminal identifier as the version identification, when inconsistency satisfies the condition, the target resolution as the display size corresponding to the media file to be displayed is determined, the rendering and encoding of the target image to obtain a target video stream indicates the media file to be displayed is obtained).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Gao and Li. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a solution for adaptively determining the resolution of a terminal display screen based on big data, as suggested by Li (see Li, para. [n0078]).
Regarding claim 15, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the performing a size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed based on the interface size comprises: performing a size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed by means of linear interpolation based on the interface size (Gao, para. [0079], disclosing when the horizontal width of the object to be displayed is smaller than the horizontal width of the screen of the smart wearable device, and the vertical height of the object to be displayed is smaller than the vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, the display strategy includes determining the magnification ratio of the object to be displayed according to the horizontal width and vertical height of the object to be displayed, and the horizontal width and vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, and enlarging the object to be displayed according to the magnification ratio and displaying it on the screen of the smart wearable device, enlarging the object to be displayed according to the magnification ratio indicates the enlarging is a size stretching operation by means of linear interpolation based on the magnification ratio obtained based on the screen size corresponding to the interface size).
Regarding claim 16, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the performing a size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed based on the interface size comprises: stretching the display size of the media file to be displayed to be consistent with the interface size to obtain the target media file (Gao, para. [0079], disclosing when the horizontal width of the object to be displayed is smaller than the horizontal width of the screen of the smart wearable device, and the vertical height of the object to be displayed is smaller than the vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, the display strategy includes determining the magnification ratio of the object to be displayed according to the horizontal width and vertical height of the object to be displayed, and the horizontal width and vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, and enlarging the object to be displayed according to the magnification ratio and displaying it on the screen of the smart wearable device, when determining the magnification ratio of the object to be displayed, the horizontal width and vertical height of the object to be displayed can be enlarged in equal proportion, indicating stretching the display size of the media file (object) to be displayed based on the magnification ratio is consistent with the interface size).
Regarding claim 19, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14, wherein after the obtaining a media file to be displayed and determining a display size corresponding to the media file to be displayed, the method further comprises: in accordance with a determination that the display size is equal to the interface size of the front-end display interface, transmitting the media file to be displayed to the terminal device for display (Gao, para. [0080], disclosing when the horizontal width of the object to be displayed is equal to the horizontal width of the screen of the smart wearable device, and the vertical height of the object to be displayed is equal to the vertical height of the screen of the smart wearable device, the display strategy includes displaying the object to be displayed on the screen of the smart wearable device according to the horizontal width and the vertical height of the object to be displayed, and for example, when the object is a picture to be displayed having the same width and height as the screen, the picture is directly displayed on the screen of the smart wearable device without scaling the picture).
Regarding claim 20, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a media file playing instruction (Gao, para. [0060], disclosing receiving a display instruction carrying information about an object to be displayed and a display size of the object to be displayed), the media file playing instruction comprising the version identification of the terminal device (Li, para. [n0080], disclosing a scene identifier corresponding to a current game scene and a terminal identifier of a target terminal displaying the current game scene is obtained, indicating the terminal identifier can correspond to a version identifier of the target terminal as the terminal device because the terminal identifier identifies the terminal device, which is a version of the terminal. Also, Li, para. [n0081], discloses the terminal identification includes the terminal model, which indicates the terminal version.); and in accordance with the terminal device unsatisfying the predetermined size stretching condition, obtaining a media file to be displayed and transmitting the media file to be displayed to the display interface for display (Li, para. [n0089], disclosing when the original resolution is consistent with the target resolution, keep the resolution of the image unchanged, para. [n0090], disclosing adjusting the image with the original resolution to the target image with the target resolution, para. [n0091], disclosing the target image is rendered and encoded to obtain a target video stream, para. [n0093], disclosing the target video stream is sent to the target terminal, indicating the resolution consistent unsatisfies the predetermined size stretching condition (being inconsistent), the target video stream can correspond to the media file to be displayed is obtained, and transmitted to be target terminal as the display interface for display). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Gao and Li. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a solution for adaptively determining the resolution of a terminal display screen based on big data, as suggested by Li (see Li, para. [n0078]).
Regarding claim 22, it recites similar limitations of claim 14 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 14 rejection is applied to reject claim 22. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 23, it recites similar limitations of claim 15 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 15 rejection is applied to reject claim 23. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 24, it recites similar limitations of claim 16 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 16 rejection is applied to reject claim 24. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 27, it recites similar limitations of claim 19 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 19 rejection is applied to reject claim 27. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 28, it recites similar limitations of claim 20 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 20 rejection is applied to reject claim 28. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 30, it recites similar limitations of claim 14 but in non-transitory computer readable storage medium form. The rationale of claim 14 rejection is applied to reject claim 30. In addition, Gao discloses a memory (Gao, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 31, it recites similar limitations of claim 15 but in non-transitory computer readable storage medium form. The rationale of claim 15 rejection is applied to reject claim 31. In addition, Gao discloses a memory (Gao, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 32, it recites similar limitations of claim 16 but in non-transitory computer readable storage medium form. The rationale of claim 16 rejection is applied to reject claim 32. In addition, Gao discloses a memory (Gao, para. [0054], memory).
Claim(s) 17, 25, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Li as applied to claims 14, 22, and 30 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 10,026,147 B1 to Labour et al.
Regarding claim 17, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14. However, Gao or Li does not expressly disclose wherein the obtaining a media file to be displayed, comprises: invoking an original rendering buffer interface using a predetermined output rendering interface; and receiving the media file to be displayed which is output from the original rendering buffer interface, wherein the output rendering interface is created using opengl.
On the other hand, Labour discloses wherein the obtaining a media file to be displayed, comprises: invoking an original rendering buffer interface using a predetermined output rendering interface (Labour, col. 8, lines 50-57, disclosing rendering images by executing rendering commands from the command buffer using a direct interface with the GPU and/or an interface with a rendering engine such as an OpenGL renderer, the rendered image may then be displayed as an output for the application, indicating the interface of the command buffer with a rendering engine can correspond to an original rendering buffer interface being invoked to render the images, and the rendering engine such as an OpenGL renderer can correspond to a predetermined output rendering interface); and receiving the media file to be displayed which is output from the original rendering buffer interface (Labour, col. 8, lines 50-57, disclosing rendering images by executing rendering commands from the command buffer using a direct interface with the GPU and/or an interface with a rendering engine such as an OpenGL renderer, the rendered image may then be displayed as an output for the application, indicating the rendered image can correspond to the media file to be displayed which is received from the interface of the command buffer with the OpenGL renderer corresponding to the original rendering buffer interface), wherein the output rendering interface is created using opengl (Labour, col. 8, lines 50-57, disclosing rendering images by executing rendering commands from the command buffer using a direct interface with the GPU and/or an interface with a rendering engine such as an OpenGL renderer, the rendered image may then be displayed as an output for the application, indicating OpenGL renderer can correspond to the output rendering interface created using OpenGL).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Gao in view of Li with Labour. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve performance by storing rendering commands, as suggested by Labour, col. 9, lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 25, it recites similar limitations of claim 17 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 17 rejection is applied to reject claim 25. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Regarding claim 33, it recites similar limitations of claim 17 but in non-transitory computer readable storage medium form. The rationale of claim 17 rejection is applied to reject claim 33. In addition, Gao discloses a memory (Gao, para. [0054], memory).
Claim(s) 18 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Li as applied to claims 14 and 22 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. 20140307174 A1 to Zhu.
Regarding claim 18, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14. However, Gao or Li does not expressly disclose wherein the transmitting the target media file to the display interface for display comprises: transmitting the target media file to a predetermined new rendering buffer; and transmitting a notification message to a terminal device to cause the predetermined front-end player to obtain the target media file from the new rendering buffer to perform a rendering operation and display.
On the other hand, Zhu discloses wherein the transmitting the target media file to the display interface for display comprises: transmitting the target media file to a predetermined new rendering buffer (Zhu, para. [0083], disclosing transfer the image data to a designated memory address); and transmitting a notification message to a terminal device to cause the predetermined front-end player to obtain the target media file from the new rendering buffer to perform a rendering operation and display (Zhu, para. [0084], disclosing after transferring the image data, sends a notification and passes information about memory address where the image data is stored to the reproduction control unit, para. [0085], disclosing passing the information to the rendering unit and instructs the rendering unit to perform rendering, the rendering unit fetches the image data, processes the image data, and instructs the rendering operation unit to perform rendering, the rendering operation unit performs rendering on the display screen to display the image).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Gao in view of Li and Zhu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide continuous display and prevent a screen of the display from going blank, as suggested by Zhu (see Zhu, para. [0009] and para. [0109]).
Regarding claim 26, it recites similar limitations of claim 18 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 18 rejection is applied to reject claim 26. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Claim(s) 21 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Li as applied to claims 14 and 22 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. 20210382610 A1 to Prasad et al.
Regarding claim 21, Gao in view of Li discloses the method of claim 14. However, Gao or Li does not expressly disclose wherein after the performing a size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed based on the interface size, the method further comprises: performing a rendering operation on the media file to be displayed of which size is stretched, to obtain the target media file.
On the other hand, Prasad discloses wherein after the performing a size stretching operation on the media file to be displayed, the method further comprises: performing a rendering operation on the media file to be displayed of which size is stretched, to obtain the target media file (Prasad, para. [0089], disclosing modifying or increasing the size of a selected digital pictorial image and rendering the enlarged digital pictorial image of the increased size, indicating after performing the enlargement of the size of the image as the media file to be displayed, a rendering is performed on the media file to be displayed of which size is enlarged/stretched, to obtain the target media file).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Gao in view of Li and Prasad. The suggestion/motivation would have been for enhancing an expression of a digital pictorial image, as suggested by Prasad (see Prasad, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 29, it recites similar limitations of claim 21 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 21 rejection is applied to reject claim 29. In addition, Gao discloses at least one processor and a memory (Gao, para. [0048], GPU, para. [0054], memory).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIXIA DU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611