DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 141, 144, 146, 149, 151, and 154 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. US (2020/0366363).
Regarding Claim 141, LI discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 1, mmW repeater 140 & Fig. 3 i.e., repeater 300), comprising: at least one processor (see Para [0015] i.e., one or more processors of a millimeter wave repeater); and at least one memory storing instructions (see Para [0015]) that, when executed by the at least one processor (see Para [0015] i.e., The one or more instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a millimeter wave repeater), cause the apparatus (see Fig. 3) at least to: receive, from a donor network node (see Fig. 7 i.e., base station 110), at least one of transmit beam information for an access link transmit beam of a network element (see Fig. 7 i.e., repeater 140 (i.e., “network element”) & Para’s [0071-0073] i.e., an anchor base station may correspond to a base station 110 which may be a IAB donor base station, [0092] i.e., As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700), [0093] i.e., the configuration may include an indication of one or more beamforming configurations to be used by the repeater 140 to receive and/or relay communications, such as a beam parameter…Additionally, the configuration may indicate multiple beams to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 for relaying a reference signal that is received by the millimeter wave repeater 140 via a single beam, & [0098])
and corresponding activation time periods, (see Para’s [0094] i.e., the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval (i.e., “activation time period”) & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource) via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140 (i.e., time resources may be “activation time periods”)
and receive beam information for an access link receive beam of the network element (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0106-0108] i.e., base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., a UE 120) and a second set of resources to be used by the repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., the base station), & [0109-0112] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a beam) via which the uplink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the uplink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and corresponding activation time periods, (see Para’s [0108] i.e., the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval (i.e., “activation time period”) & [0111] i.e., time resources)
wherein there is a mapping between transmission of a downlink channel and signal over backhaul downlink beam and transmission over the access link transmit beam, (see Para’s [0098] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a beam) via which the downlink reference signal is received (i.e., received via a downlink channel) by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and between receiving over the access link receive beam and receiving of an uplink channel and signal over backhaul uplink beam; (see Para [0111] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a beam) via which the uplink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 (i.e., received via an uplink channel), and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of beams) via which the uplink reference signal (i.e., received via an uplink channel), is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and perform one or more of amplifying and transmitting one or more downlink signals and channels on the access link transmit beam of the network element (see Para’s [0043] i.e., frequency channel, [0045] i.e., repeater 140 may receive a signal from a base station 110, may amplify the signal, and may transmit the amplified signal to one or more UEs 102, [0061], [0081], [0098] & [0111]), or amplifying and transmitting over a backhaul link one or more uplink signals and channels received from the access link receive beam of the network element.
Regarding Claim 144, LI discloses the apparatus according to claim 141, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform at least one of: when the signals to be transmitted comprise synchronization signal blocks, receiving a configuration that comprises scheduling of resources for the synchronization signal blocks and a periodicity of the synchronization signal blocks; when the signals to be transmitted comprise system information block, receiving a configuration of scheduling information for the system information block; for an initial access procedure, receiving a resource allocation and periodicity for a random access channel occasion, and a receiver beam configuration for the random access channel occasion; for a random access procedure, receiving configurations for a first message and a second message that comprise a resource allocation and a transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel for downlink control information and a physical downlink shared channel for the first message, and a resource allocation and a receive beam for physical uplink shared channel for the second message; when the signals to be transmitted comprise downlink data, receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation and an access link transmit beams for a physical downlink control channel and a physical downlink shared channel, and a resource allocation and an access link receive beam for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement; when the signals to be received comprise uplink data, receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation and an access link transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel and a resource allocation and an access link receive beam for a physical uplink shared channel;
when the signals to be transmitted comprise a channel state information reference signal (see Para [0094] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS)), receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation for the channel state information reference signal (see Para’s [0092-0094] i.e., a base station may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by the repeater 140 for beam management & [0098] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit one or more CSI-RSs to the repeater via a corresponding one or more beams according to the configuration…the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140) and an access link transmit beam configuration for the channel state information reference signal; (see Para’s [0092-0094] & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
or when the signals to be received comprise sounding reference signals, receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation for the sounding reference signals and an access link receive beam configuration for the sounding reference signals.
Regarding Claim 146, LI discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 2 i.e., base station 110 & Fig. 7 i.e., base station 110 & Para’s [0014], [0036], & [0047-0048]), comprising: at least one processor (see Para [0014] i.e., one or more processors of a base station); and at least one memory storing instructions (see Para [0014]) that, when executed by the at least one processor (see Para [0014] i.e., a non-transitory computer-readable medium may store one or more instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a base station, may cause the one or more processors to), cause the apparatus at least to: transmit at least one of transmit beam information for an access link transmit beam of a repeater, (see Fig. 7 i.e., repeater 140 (i.e., “network element”) & Para’s [0092] i.e., As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700), [0093] i.e., the configuration may include an indication of one or more beamforming configurations to be used by the repeater 140 to receive and/or relay communications, such as a beam parameter…Additionally, the configuration may indicate multiple beams to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 for relaying a reference signal that is received by the millimeter wave repeater 140 via a single beam, & [0098])
and corresponding activation time periods (see Para’s [0094] i.e., the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval (i.e., “activation time period”) & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource) via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140 (i.e., time resources may be “activation time periods”)
and receive beam information for an access link receive beam of the repeater (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0106-0108] i.e., base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., a UE 120) and a second set of resources to be used by the repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., the base station), & [0109-0112] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a beam) via which the uplink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the uplink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and corresponding activation time periods, (see Para’s [0108] i.e., the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval (i.e., “activation time period”) & [0111] i.e., time resources)
wherein there is a mapping between transmission of a downlink channel and signal over backhaul downlink beam and transmission over the access link transmit beam, (see Para’s [0098] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a beam) via which the downlink reference signal is received (i.e., received via a downlink channel) by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and between receiving over the access link receive beam and receiving of an uplink channel and signal over backhaul uplink beam, (see Para [0111] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a beam) via which the uplink reference signal is received (i.e., “received via an uplink channel”) by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of beams) via which the uplink reference signal is to be relayed (i.e., “received via an uplink channel”) by the repeater 140)
and perform one or more of transmitting one or more downlink signals and channels on a backhaul link transmit beam to be forwarded by the repeater on an access link transmit beam of the repeater, (see Para’s [0043] i.e., frequency channel, [0045], [0061], [0074] i.e., backhaul link, [0081], [0098] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit one or more downlink reference signals (i.e., via a channel) to the repeater (e.g., using one beam for each downlink reference signal)… For each downlink reference signal received via a beam, the repeater may relay that downlink reference signal via multiple Tx beams of the repeater & [0111]) or receiving one or more amplified uplink signals and channels on a backhaul link receive beam that was received by the repeater from an access link receive beam of the repeater.
Regarding Claim 149, LI discloses the apparatus according to claim 146, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform at least one of: when the signals to be transmitted by the repeater comprise synchronization signal blocks, transmitting a configuration that comprises scheduling of resources for the synchronization signal blocks and a periodicity of the synchronization signal blocks; when the signals to be transmitted by the repeater comprise a system information block, transmitting a configuration of scheduling information for the system information block; for an initial access procedure, transmitting a resource allocation and periodicity for a random access channel occasion, and a receiver beam configuration for the random access channel occasion; for a random access procedure, transmitting configurations for a first message and a second message that comprise a resource allocation and a transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel for downlink control information and a physical downlink shared channel for the first message, and a resource allocation and a receive beam for a physical uplink shared channel for the second message; when the signals to be transmitted by the repeater comprising downlink data, transmitting a configuration comprising a resource allocation and an access link transmit beams for a physical downlink control channel and a physical downlink shared channel, and a resource allocation and an access link receive beam for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement/non- acknowledgement; when the signals to be received by the repeater comprises uplink data, transmitting a configuration comprising a resource allocation and an access link transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel and a resource allocation and an access link receive beam for a physical uplink shared channel;
when the signals to be transmitted by the repeater comprise a channel state information reference signal (see Para [0094] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS)), transmitting a configuration comprising resource allocation for the channel state information reference signal (see Para’s [0092-0094] i.e., a base station may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by the repeater 140 for beam management & [0098] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit one or more CSI-RSs to the repeater via a corresponding one or more beams according to the configuration…the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140) and an access link transmit beam configuration for the channel state information reference signal; (see Para’s [0092-0094] & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
;or when the signals to be received by the repeater comprises sounding reference signals, transmitting a configuration comprising a resource allocation for the sounding reference signals and an access link receive beam configuration for the sounding reference signals.
Regarding Claim 151, LI discloses a method, comprising: receive, from a donor network node (see Fig. 7 i.e., base station 110), at least one of transmit beam information for an access link transmit beam of a network element (see Fig. 7 i.e., repeater 140 (i.e., “network element”) & Para’s [0071-0073] i.e., an anchor base station may correspond to a base station 110 which may be a IAB donor base station, [0092] i.e., As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700), [0093] i.e., the configuration may include an indication of one or more beamforming configurations to be used by the repeater 140 to receive and/or relay communications, such as a beam parameter…Additionally, the configuration may indicate multiple beams to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 for relaying a reference signal that is received by the millimeter wave repeater 140 via a single beam, & [0098])
and corresponding activation time periods, (see Para’s [0094] i.e., the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval (i.e., “activation time period”) & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource) via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140 (i.e., time resources may be “activation time periods”)
and receive beam information for an access link receive beam of the network element (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0106-0108] i.e., base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., a UE 120) and a second set of resources to be used by the repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., the base station), & [0109-0112] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a beam) via which the uplink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the uplink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and corresponding activation time periods, (see Para’s [0108] i.e., the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval (i.e., “activation time period”) & [0111] i.e., time resources)
wherein there is a mapping between transmission of a downlink channel and signal over backhaul downlink beam and transmission over the access link transmit beam, (see Para’s [0098] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a beam) via which the downlink reference signal is received (i.e., received via a downlink channel) by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and between receiving over the access link receive beam and receiving of an uplink channel and signal over backhaul uplink beam; (see Para [0111] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a beam) via which the uplink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 (i.e., received via an uplink channel), and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of beams) via which the uplink reference signal (i.e., received via an uplink channel), is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
and perform one or more of amplifying and transmitting one or more downlink signals and channels on the access link transmit beam of the network element (see Para’s [0043] i.e., frequency channel, [0045] i.e., repeater 140 may receive a signal from a base station 110, may amplify the signal, and may transmit the amplified signal to one or more UEs 102, [0061], [0081], [0098] & [0111]), or amplifying and transmitting over a backhaul link one or more uplink signals and channels received from the access link receive beam of the network element.
Regarding Claim 154, LI discloses the method according to claim 151, further comprises at least one of: when the signals to be transmitted comprise synchronization signal blocks, receiving a configuration that comprises scheduling of resources for the synchronization signal blocks and a periodicity of the synchronization signal blocks; when the signals to be transmitted comprise system information block, receiving a configuration of scheduling information for the system information block; for an initial access procedure, receiving a resource allocation and periodicity for a random access channel occasion, and a receiver beam configuration for the random access channel occasion; for a random access procedure, receiving configurations for a first message and a second message that comprise a resource allocation and a transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel for downlink control information and a physical downlink shared channel for the first message, and a resource allocation and a receive beam for physical uplink shared channel for the second message; when the signals to be transmitted comprise downlink data, receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation and an access link transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel and a physical downlink shared channel, and a resource allocation and an access link receive beam for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement; when the signals to be received comprise uplink data, receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation and an access link transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel and a resource allocation and an access link receive beam for a physical uplink shared channel;
when the signals to be transmitted comprise a channel state information reference signal (see Para [0094] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS)), receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation for the channel state information reference signal (see Para’s [0092-0094] i.e., a base station may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by the repeater 140 for beam management & [0098] i.e., the base station 110 may transmit one or more CSI-RSs to the repeater via a corresponding one or more beams according to the configuration…the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140) and an access link transmit beam configuration for the channel state information reference signal; (see Para’s [0092-0094] & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an Rx resource via which the downlink reference signal is received by the repeater 140, and a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140)
or when the signals to be received comprise sounding reference signals, receiving a configuration comprising a resource allocation for the sounding reference signals and an access link receive beam configuration for the sounding reference signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 142-143, 147-148, and 152-153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2020/0366363) in view of Abedini et al. US (2021/0036762).
Regarding Claims 142, 147, and 152 LI discloses the apparatuses and method according to claims 141, 146, and 151, wherein the transmit beam information comprises a dynamic transmit beam allocation comprising a transmit beam (see Para’s [0092-0094] & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a set of Tx resources (e.g., a set of beams) via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140) and timing of a physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared channel (see Para’s [0043] i.e., frequency channel may be used for carrying the reference signal, [0094] & [0098] i.e., the configuration may indicate a time resource via which the downlink reference signal is received and a set of time resources via which the downlink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140), but does not explicitly disclose timing of a physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Abedini et al. US (2021/0036762).
Abedini discloses a dynamic transmit beam allocation comprising a transmit beam (see Para’s [0104-0105] i.e., transmitting a configuration directing a first wireless device to utilize receive beams to receive RF signals from the network entity and to utilize transmit beams to forward RF signals to at least one second wireless device) and timing of a physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared channel (see Para’s [0065] i.e., PDSCH, [0073] i.e., RMSI can be transmitted on PDSCH, [0110], & [0120] i.e., the gNB 1410 may provide the repeater 1430 with information to use for generating and transmitting SSBs/RMSI... this information may also include (e.g., time resources)).
(Abedini suggests the configuration information is sent to the repeater in order for the repeater to determine the transmit and receive beams used for properly forwarding the RF signals received from the network entity via the PDSCH to a second wireless device such as a UE (see Para’s [0105] & [0120])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the dynamic transmit beam allocation comprising a transmit beam and timing of the reference signals to be sent on a channel as disclosed in LI to comprise dynamic transmit beam allocation comprising a transmit beam and timing of a physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared channel as disclosed in Abedini, because the motivation lies in Abedini that the configuration information is sent to the repeater in order for the repeater to determine the transmit and receive beams used for properly forwarding the RF signals received from the network entity via the PDSCH to a second wireless device such as a UE.
Regarding Claims 143, 148, and 153, LI discloses the apparatuses and method according to claims 141, 146, and 151 wherein the receive beam information comprises a dynamic receive beam allocation that comprises a receive beam (see Para’s [0106-0108] & [0111] i.e., the configuration may indicate a correspondence between an RX resource e.g., a beam via which the uplink reference signal is received by the repeater 140 and a set of Tx resources e.g., a set of beams via which the uplink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140) and timing of a physical uplink control channel or a physical uplink shared channel allocated by the donor network node, (see Para’s [0043] i.e., frequency channel may be used for carrying the reference signal & [0111] i.e., time resources via which the uplink reference signal is to be relayed by the repeater 140), but does not explicitly disclose timing of a physical uplink control channel or a physical uplink shared channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Abedini et al. US (2021/0036762).
Abedini discloses a dynamic receive beam allocation that comprises a receive beam (see Para’s [0104-0105] i.e., transmitting a configuration directing a first wireless device to utilize receive beams to receive RF signals from the network entity and to utilize transmit beams to forward RF signals to at least one second wireless device & [0124] i.e., control information may include an indication or resources, beams, transmit/receive directions) and timing of a physical uplink control channel or a physical uplink shared channel (see Para’s [0067] i.e., UE transmits on PUSCH, [0118], [0120] i.e., the gNB 1410 may provide the repeater 1430 with information to use for generating and transmitting SSBs/RMSI... this information may also include (e.g., time resources), & [0124] i.e., control information sent from gNB to repeater may include indication of resources, beams, transmit/receive directions).
(Abedini suggests the configuration information is sent to the repeater in order for the repeater to determine the beams used for properly forwarding the RF signals to the network entity via the PUSCH (see Para’s [0067], [0105], [0118], & [0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the dynamic transmit beam allocation comprising a receive beam and timing of the reference signals to be sent on a channel as disclosed in LI to comprise dynamic transmit beam allocation comprising a receive beam and timing of a physical uplink control channel or a physical uplink shared channel as disclosed in Abedini, because the motivation lies in Abedini that the configuration information is sent to the repeater in order for the repeater to determine the beams used for properly forwarding the RF signals to the network entity via the PUSCH.
Claims 145, 150, and 155 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2020/0366363) in view of Abedini et al. US (2021/0036762), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2014/0098721).
Regarding Claims 145 and 155, LI discloses the apparatus and method according to claims 141 and 151, but does not disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to, for a random access procedure, receive a configuration for a third message that comprises a resource allocation and a transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel for downlink control information and a physical downlink shared channel for the third message. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Abedini et al. US (2021/0036762).
Abedini discloses causing an apparatus at least to, for a random access procedure, receive a configuration for a third message that comprises a resource allocation and a transmit beam for a physical downlink control channel for downlink control information and a physical downlink shared channel for the third message (see Para’s [0110] i.e., PDCCH (i.e., includes control information) and PDSCH…repeater to generate these channels & [0124] i.e., the gNB 1510 may send control information to command the repeater 1530 to relay additional RACH-related messages (RACH MSG2/3/4) (i.e., message 3 may be the “third message”) between the gNB 1510 and the UE 1520 involved in the current RACH procedure. This control information may, for example, include an indication of resources (i.e., “resource allocation”), beams (i.e., “transmit beam”), transmit/receive direction, to be used for receiving, amplifying, and forwarding the corresponding signals)
(Abedini suggests the repeater provides greater assistance in an access procedure, by monitoring for RACH-related transmissions which results in reduced processing load on the gNB (see Para [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the repeater disclosed in LI to be configured to receive the configuration for a third message for a random access procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Abedini, because the motivation lies in Abedini that the repeater provides greater assistance in an access procedure, by monitoring for RACH-related transmissions which results in reduced processing load on the gNB.
While LI discloses a resource allocation and a receive beam for relaying communication between the repeater and the UE (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0092], [0098] i.e., Rx resource, & [0111] i.e. Rx resource), the combination of LI in view of Abedini does not disclose the resource allocation and the receive beam is for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chen et al. US (2014/0098721).
Chen discloses a repeater for relaying communication between the repeater and a UE which performs hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (see Para’s [0017] i.e., To check whether a base station or repeater has received data sent by a user equipment successfully, the UE sends PUSCH data and receives an acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) message, that is, HARQ-ACK feedback for PUSCH transmission on a physical HARQ Indication channel & [0019]).
(Chen suggests hybrid automatic repeat request feedback is used for determining whether the UE or repeater has successfully received the downlink or uplink data, (see Para’s [0017] & [0019])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the resource allocation and the receive beam for relaying communication between the repeater and the UE as disclosed in LI in view of Abedini to be used for performing hybrid automatic repeat request feedback as performed between the repeater and the UE as disclosed in Chen, which results in the resource allocation and the receive beam for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback, because the motivation lies in Chen that hybrid automatic repeat request feedback is used for determining whether the UE or repeater has successfully received the downlink or uplink data.
Regarding Claim 150, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 145. Therefore claim 150 is rejected as obvious over the combination of LI in view of Abedini, and further in view of Chen as in claim 145.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461