DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IV (Fig.13) in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant further discussed that claims 1-15 read on the elected species.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Dubuit (US 2019/0105925).
Regarding claim 1, Dubuit teaches a pretreatment device (figs.1-3) pretreating at least one container (5) with a longitudinal axis (Δ) having an outer surface (7 of 5) to be subjected to ink jet digital printing (printheads 41), wherein the pretreatment device comprises one or more plasma emitters (15,17), a table (13) supporting at least one support spindle, the spindle (61A-61D) supporting said at least one container (5), wherein said table (13) has a rotation axis (Δ2), wherein said at least one spindle (61A-61D) has an axis (D1-D4) oriented radially with respect to said rotation axis (Δ2) of said table (13), wherein said table (13) is configured to carry and park said at least one spindle (61A-61D) at an exposure position (position under 15 and/or 17) in which said outer surface (7) of said at least one container (5) is exposed to plasma emitted from the one or more plasma emitters (15,17) (paragraphs 0022,0040,0046,0051,0059, 0062,0064,0075-0077).
Regarding claim 2, Dubuit further teaches wherein said exposure position (position under 15 and/or 17 figs.1-3) at said least one spindle (61A-61D) is rotatable around its axis for the progressive exposure to the plasma of said outer surface of said at least one container (paragraphs 0009,0040,0062,0078).
Regarding claim 10, Dubuit further teaches an ink jet digital printing machine (19 including 41 figs.1-3) for printing on said at least one container (5), comprising the pretreatment device according to claim 1 (figs.1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Dubuit further teaches further comprising at least one printing station (station under 41 figs.1-3) provided with at least one printing head (41), wherein said table (13) is configured to carry and park said at least one spindle (61A-61D) at said at least one printing station in which said at least one spindle (61A-61D) is rotatable around its axis, wherein said at least one spindle (61A-61D) parked at said at least one printing station has its axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of said at least one printing head (41), the ink jet digital printing machine (figs.1-3) further comprising a pretreatment station (station under 15 and/or 17) in which said pretreatment device (15 and/or 17) is positioned, and wherein said table (13) is configured to carry and park said at least one spindle (61A-61D) at said at least one pretreatment station (station under 15 and/or 17) before carrying and parking said at least one spindle at said at least one printing station (station under 41) (figs.1-3, paragraphs 0054,0074-0077).
Regarding claim 14, Dubuit further teaches wherein said table (13 figs.1-3) has a vertical rotation axis (figs.1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubuit (US 2019/0105925) in view of Till (US 2016/0221328) and/or Lestrange et al.(US 2018/0304643) and/or Wilson, II et al. (US 2004/0091633).
Regarding claim 3, Dubuit further teaches plasma emitter (15 figs.1-3) whose position is configured to be adjustable relative to the surface of the container (5).
Dubuit does not explicitly teaches arranging plasma emitters comprising composable plasma emitting modules.
However, Till teaches pretreatment unit (3 figs.2,3;15 fig.6) configured to pretreat the outer surface of container (1), and wherein the pretreatment unit (3 figs.2,3;15 fig.6) includes plurality of plasma emitting modules (7).
Similarly, Lestrange et al teaches pretreatment unit (172 fig.1) configured to treat the outer surface of container (120), and wherein the pretreatment unit (172) includes plurality of treatment emitting modules (156,160,164) arranged around the container (120).
Similarly, Wilson, II et al teaches pretreatment unit (320,322,328 fig.4) configured to treat the outer surface of container (cup on 304), and wherein the pretreatment unit includes plurality of treatment emitting modules (320,322,328) arranged around the container (fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include plurality of plasm emitting modules in Dubuit based on the teachings of Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al for instance to be able to uniform plasma treatment more quickly and with less movements of elements.
Regarding claim 4, Dubuit as modified by Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al further teaches wherein said plasma emitting modules (15 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 7 figs.2,3, 6 of Till; 156,160,164 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; 320,322,328 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) are arranged in succession in a direction of the axis of the spindle (61A-61D figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 23 figs.6 of Till; 116 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; spindle of 304 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) and consecutive modules in the direction of the axis of the spindle have a section of overlap in the direction of the axis of the spindle (figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above;figs.2,3, 6 of Till; fig.1 of Lestrange et al; fig.4 of Wilson, II et al).
Regarding claim 5, Dubuit as modified by Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al further teaches wherein first plasma emitting modules (15 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 7 figs.2,3, 6 of Till; 156,160,164 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; 320,322,328 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) of the plasma emitting modules are arranged at a first angular position around the axis of said spindle (D1-D4 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 23 figs.6 of Till; 116 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; spindle of 304 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) parked in said exposure position.
Regarding claim 6, Dubuit as modified by Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al further teaches further comprising a direction variation means (paragraph 0051, figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 24,25 figs.6 of Till; 168 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) for varying an emission direction of said first plasma emitting modules.
Regarding claim 7, Dubuit as modified by Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al further teaches further comprising a distance variation means (paragraph 0051, figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 24,25 figs.6 of Till; 168 in directions C-P and/or P in fig.1 of Lestrange et al; fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) for varying a radial distance of said first plasma emitting modules from the axis of said spindle parked in said exposure position.
Regarding claim 8, Dubuit as modified by Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al further teaches further comprising one or more second plasma emitting modules (second one of 15 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; second one of 7 figs.2,3, 6 of Till; second one of 156,160,164 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; second one of 320,322,328 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) arranged at a second angular position around the axis of said spindle (D1-D4 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 23 figs.6 of Till; 116 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; spindle of 304 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) parked in said exposure position.
Regarding claim 9, Dubuit as modified by Till and/or Lestrange et al and/or Wilson, II et al further teaches wherein said first emitting modules (15 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; 7 figs.2,3, 6 of Till; 156,160,164 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; 320,322,328 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) are in a position diametrically opposite of said one or more second modules (second one of 15 figs.1-3 of Dubuit as modified above; second one of 7 figs.2,3, 6 of Till; second one of 156,160,164 fig.1 of Lestrange et al; second one of 320,322,328 fig.4 of Wilson, II et al) with respect to the axis of said spindle (fig.4 of Wilson, II et al).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubuit (US 2019/0105925) in view of Mayer et al. (EP3678790) and/or Weber et al. (US 2023/0058773).
Regarding claim 15, Dubuit further teaches said pre-treatment station (station under 15 and/or 17 figs.1-3).
Dubuit does not explicitly teaches a container cooling station comprising at least one cooling module including a cooling compressed air emission pipe and a heated air suction pipe, in that said spindle can be parked at said cooling station with said axis of said spindle parallel to an axis of the emission pipe and to an axis of the suction pipe.
However, Mayer et al teaches a container cooling station (figs.1,2) comprising at least one cooling module including a cooling compressed air (11) emission pipe (12) and a heated air suction pipe (exhaust pipe attached to the suction device 15), the containers (2) are configured to be parked at said cooling station, in that the container carrier (3), the emission pipe (12) and the suction pipe (exhaust pipe attached to the suction device 15) extends in parallel to each other (figs.1,2).
Similarly, Weber et al teaches providing a container cooling station downstream of said pre-treatment station (3) (fig.1, paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a cooling station in Dubuit based on the teaching of Mayer et al and/or Weber et al for instance to adjust the temperature of the containers to appropriate level in preparation for subsequent processes such as printing on the containers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12,13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853