DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 6, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claim 1-3) in the reply filed on August 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that that “Mayousse” (cited in the restriction requirement and provided by Applicant on and IDS) was misunderstood as the characterization is of Ir-Ru oxides which have a lattice parameter of 4.500 Å, which is below the claimed threshold.
This is not found persuasive because the recitation of Ir-xRuyTazO2 is within Mayousse and thus can be relied upon. Additionally, regarding the lattice constant, similar mateirals (i.e. Ir-Ru-oxides and Ir-Ru-Ta-oxides) have similar lattice parameters, and thus should be approximately the same. In fact the teaching of Mayousse et al., teaches that the placement of material within the lattice increases the lattice parameter, and thus Ir-Ru-Ta-oxides should have a lattice larger than 4.500 Å (placement of Sn, instead of Ta) (fig. 3). At the very least, it has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie rejection is properly established when the difference in the range or value is minor. Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). Claims that differ from the prior art only by slightly different (non-overlapping) ranges are prima facie obvious without a showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art. (In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935,1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Also see MPEP §2144.05(I). Thus, lack of unity is present.
Additionally, “Performance of a PEM water electrolysis cell using IrxRuyTazO2 electrocatalysts for the oxygen evolution electrode” (Marshall et al.) (relied upon below; see the rejection to claim 1), further shows lack of unity, as it shows the claimed material, and confirms that the lattice a has close values to similar oxides, yielding values close to the claimed value (such that lack of unity is still present) (see section 3.2 on p 2322).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed December 1, 2023 and June 11, 2026 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
The drawings received December 1, 2023 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: having “in an amount in the range of and including 1 to 15 atomic %” (line 2); this language is awkward. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rutile crystal structure" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since claims 2-3 are dependent upon claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the range" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Performance of a PEM water electrolysis cell using IrxRuyTazO2 electrocatalysts for the oxygen evolution electrode” (Marshall et al.).
As to claim 1, Marshall et al. each an oxygen evolution reaction catalyst, wherein the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst is an oxide material comprising iridium, tantalum and ruthenium (title):
wherein the oxygen evolution catalyst comprises a crystalline oxide phase having the rutile crystal structure (section 3.2 on p 2322);
wherein the crystalline oxide phase has a lattice parameter a is close to those for IrO-2 or RuO2 (0.4498 nm (4.498 Å) and 0.4491 nm (4.491 Å), respectively) (section 3.2 on p 2322).
Marshall et al do not teach that the lattice a parameter is greater than 4.510 Å.
However, the values set forth above (and values close to those) are close to that of the claimed invention. It has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie rejection is properly established when the difference in the range or value is minor. Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). Claims that differ from the prior art only by slightly different (non-overlapping) ranges are prima facie obvious without a showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art. (In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935,1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Also see MPEP §2144.05(I).
As to claim 2, Marshall et al. teaches of IrxRuyTazO2 wherein (x + y + z = 1) (section 2.1 on p 2321). Thus, Marshall et al. overlaps that ruthenium is present in an amount in the range of and including 1 to 15 atomic % based on the total atomic percent of iridium, tantalum and ruthenium species in the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst. “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” See MPEP §2144.05(I). (Note: An alternative rejection is set forth below, demarked by *).
*Alternatively, claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall et al., as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2019/0330059 (Takanabe et al.).
As to claim 2, Marshall et al. teaches of IrxRuyTazO2 wherein (x + y + z = 1) (section2.1 on p 2321), wherein at the very least Ru at 0.2 mol % (20 atomic % based on the total atomic percent of iridium, tantalum, and ruthenium) is exemplified (fig. 2).
In this alternative rejection, this teaching does not render obvious the claimed amount of ruthenium (1-15 atomic %).
However, Takanabe et al. teach the use of Ru have high costs and limited availability (para 0031). Therefore, the motivation for using as little Ru as possible is to reduce cost of the catalyst. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed (as applicable to AIA applications) to minimize the amount of Ru used is minimized (i.e. 1-15 atomic %) in order to reduce cost of the catalyst.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall et al., as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 2017/0244109 (O’Malley et al.).
As to claim 3, Marshall et al. teach of wanting an optimum regarding active surface area (abs).
However, Marshall et al. do not teach the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst has a BET surface area of at least 30 m2/g.
However, O’Malley et al, in a similar filed of invention (iridium oxide for oxygen evolution reaction catalyst) (abs), teaches the catalyst has a BET surface area of ≥ 50 m2/g facilitates the oxygen evolution reaction (para 0018-0019). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed (as applicable to AIA applications) to have an oxygen evolution reaction catalyst with a BET surface area of ≥ 50 m2/g facilitates the oxygen evolution reaction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/566372 in view of Marshall et al.
The pertinent copending claim is provided below.
Copending claim 1 reads on currently pending claims 1 and 3, the only difference being the presence of ruthenium. However, Marshall et al. teaches that the addition of Ru (with Ir and Ta in an oxide) allows for more activity (introduction on p 2320, right column).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Note: No other prior art is considered pertinent.
/EUGENIA WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759