DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/1/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure filed 12/1/2023 is objected to because it does not commence on a separate sheet apart from other text in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 16, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 13 Line 2, “an activated actuator” should be revised to “the activated actuator” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 16 Lines 2-3, “inserted into or above/below the handle” should be revised to “inserted into the handle, above the handle, or below the handle” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 16 Line 4, “removed from the handle or from above/below the handle” should be revised to “removed from the handle, from above the handle, or from below the handle” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 19 Line 3, “to stop substance” should be revised to “to stop fire extinguishing substance” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 20 Lines 2-3, “along the floor of a space” should be revised to “along a floor of a space” to ensure clarity in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The “safety mechanism” in Claims 11-15, which uses the generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure; and
The “communication unit” in Claims 11, 17, and 19, which uses the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “safety mechanism” in Claims 11-15 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0050 of the Specification which states, “The safety mechanism 6 may comprise a switch, knob, wheel or the like, which can be moved between at least two different positions/states, a second state/position wherein the handle can be activated and a first state/position wherein the handle is prevented from being activated. The safety mechanism 6 may, alternatively, comprise a safety pin 116 as illustrated in Figs 3, 4 and 5”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “safety mechanism” in Claims 11-15 to be a switch, knob, wheel, pin, or equivalents thereof.
The “communication unit” in Claims 11, 17, and 19 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0059 of the Specification which states, “The communication unit 8 may be arranged to receive an activation signal via a wireless signal, such as via Wifi, mobile networks, e.g. 3G, 4G, 5G, or combinations thereof. The signal may be alternatively, or in addition, be a signal from a fire detector or smoke detector or from a person, e.g. through a mobile app, which has been notified that there is a fire”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “communication unit” in Claims 11, 17, and 19 to be an electronic controller and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is indefinite because Lines 2-3 state “the handle activator is connected to the actuator through a handle activation wire” and there is improper antecedent basis for “the handle activator” in the claim. It is not clear if a handle activator was intended to be previously recited or not or if Claim 14 is intended to depend from a different claim. For the purpose of examination, Claim 14 Lines 2-3 will be interpreted to state “a handle activator is connected to the actuator through a handle activation wire”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2017086202-A to Hanada et al. (“Hanada”).
As to Claim 11, Hanada discloses a fire extinguishing system (See Figs. 2 and 7 showing the entire system) comprising:
a fire extinguisher (#1) comprising:
an outlet (#5),
a container (#3), which is arranged to contain an agent that upon discharge through said outlet forms a fire extinguishing substance suitable for extinguishing a fire (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0006 disclosing extinguishant),
a handle (#7), configured such that upon activation thereof fire extinguishing substance is discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0041), and
a safety mechanism (#8a, which is shown in Fig. 10 being a structure equivalent to a pin that connects to #8) with two states (See a first state in Fig. 8a and a second state in Fig. 9b), wherein when the safety mechanism is in a first state (See Fig. 8a) manual activation of said handle is prevented (See Fig. 8 and Machine Translation of Paragraph 0036) and when in a second state manual activation of said handle is allowed (See Fig. 9b and Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0037-0039), and
a control module (#40, #23, #23a, #22, #20, and #8, not including #8a. See Annotated Fig. 9a) comprising a communication unit (#40, which is equivalent to an electronic controller) and an actuator (#23, #23a, #22, #20, and #8), wherein:
the actuator is connected to the safety mechanism (See Fig. 9a, #8 of the actuator is connected to the safety mechanism that is the pin #8a),
the communication unit upon receipt of an activation signal is configured to activate the actuator (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0032-0034, a signal from a button activates the actuator by having #41 drive #23), and
the activated actuator is configured to cause the safety mechanism to change from its first state into its second state and to thereafter actuate the handle, thereby causing fire extinguishing substance to be discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher (See Figs. 9a and 9b and See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0037-0041).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada further discloses wherein the actuator comprises a spring (#20), wherein when the spring is in an extended state the safety mechanism is arranged in the first state (See Fig. 3 and Fig. 8a), and when the spring is caused into a compressed state the safety mechanism is arranged to change into its second state (See Figs. 9a and 9b).
As to Claim 13, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada discloses the fire extinguishing system further comprising a handle activator (#27 and #25) connected between the actuator and the handle (See Fig. 9a), wherein when an activated actuator has caused the safety mechanism to change from its first state into its second state the handle is arranged to be activated by said handle activator (See Figs. 9a and 9b), such that fire extinguishing substance is discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0037-0041).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada further discloses wherein the safety mechanism comprises a safety pin (See #8a in Fig. 9 which is equivalent to a pin), wherein when at least a portion of the safety pin is inserted into or above/below the handle, the safety mechanism is arranged to be in the first state (See the first state in Fig. #8a where the pin #8a is inserted into the handle #7), and when said safety pin is removed from the handle or from above/below the handle the safety mechanism is arranged to be in the second state (See the second state in Fig. #9a where the pin #8a is removed from #7).
As to Claim 18, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada discloses the fire extinguishing system further comprising a camera (#48) arranged at the fire extinguisher (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0035 which discloses that camera #48 is installed at a place where #1 is installed, thus the camera #48 is installed “at the fire extinguisher” as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanada.
As to Claim 14, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 12 above, Hanada further discloses wherein a handle activator (#27 and #25) is connected to the actuator through a handle activation wire (#27), wherein upon activation of the actuator the handle activator wire is arranged to be pulled by the spring being compressed (See Fig. 9a and Fig. 9b showing #27 at least being partially pulled up by #20 via #22), such that the safety mechanism is changed from its first state to its second state (See Fig. 9a) and the handle activator is caused to act on the handle such that fire extinguishing substance is discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher (See Fig. 9b).
Regarding Claim 14, Hanada does not disclose wherein the safety mechanism is connected to the actuator through a safety mechanism wire and the safety mechanism wire is arranged to be pulled by the spring being compressed (See Figs. 9a and 9b. The safety mechanism #8a is connected to the actuator at #8, however details of the connection between #8 and #8a are not shown).
However, Hanada already discloses wherein a wire used to connect the actuator to the handle activator (See Fig. 9 showing #23a of the actuator connected to #25 using wire #27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 14 above such that the safety mechanism #8a is connected to the actuator at #8 using a safety mechanism wire, since doing so would utilize a known connection configuration taught by Hanada to attach the safety mechanism to the actuator without modifying overall operation of the fire extinguishing system. Making such a modification would result in the safety mechanism wire being arranged to be pulled by spring #20 when it is compressed (See Figs. 9a and 9b).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 13 above, Hanada further discloses wherein the handle activator is connected to the actuator through a handle activation wire (#27), wherein upon activation of the actuator the handle activator wire is arranged to be pulled by the spring being compressed (See Fig. 9a and Fig. 9b showing #27 at least being partially pulled up by #20 via #22), such that the safety mechanism is changed from its first state to its second state (See Fig. 9a) and the handle activator is caused to act on the handle such that fire extinguishing substance is discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher (See Fig. 9b).
Regarding Claim 15, Hanada does not disclose wherein the safety mechanism is connected to the actuator through a safety mechanism wire and the safety mechanism wire is arranged to be pulled by the spring being compressed (See Figs. 9a and 9b. The safety mechanism #8a is connected to the actuator at #8, however details of the connection between #8 and #8a are not shown).
However, Hanada already discloses wherein a wire used to connect the actuator to the handle activator (See Fig. 9 showing #23a of the actuator connected to #25 using wire #27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 15 above such that the safety mechanism #8a is connected to the actuator at #8 using a safety mechanism wire, since doing so would utilize a known connection configuration taught by Hanada to attach the safety mechanism to the actuator without modifying overall operation of the fire extinguishing system. Making such a modification would result in the safety mechanism wire being arranged to be pulled by spring #20 when it is compressed (See Figs. 9a and 9b).
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanada in view of CN-112206440-A to Jin (“Jin”).
Regarding Claim 17, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada does not specifically disclose wherein the communication unit is arranged to receive an activation signal via a wireless signal (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0032-0034, a wireless signal is not disclosed).
However, Jin discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 1), a fire extinguishing system (See Fig. 2) comprising a communication unit (#8) that is arranged to receive an activation signal via a wireless signal (See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above such that the communication unit is arranged to receive an activation signal via a wireless signal as taught by Jin, since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing remote control of the fire extinguishing system (See Jin Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 20, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada does not disclose wherein the fire extinguisher system is provided with one or more wheels such that the fire extinguisher system is moveable along the floor of a space in which the fire extinguishing system is provided.
However, Jin further discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 1), a fire extinguishing system (See Fig. 2) that is provided with one or more wheels (See multiple wheels in Fig. 2) such that the fire extinguisher system is moveable along a floor of a space in which the fire extinguishing system is provided (See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above such that the fire extinguisher system is provided with one or more wheels such that the fire extinguisher system is moveable along a floor of a space in which the fire extinguishing system is provided as taught by Jin, since doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating locating the fire extinguishing system to a desired target area in a large space (See Jin Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 5).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanada in view of US Patent 4,561,459 to Jackman (“Jackman”).
Regarding Claim 19, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above, Hanada does not specifically disclose wherein the communication unit, upon receiving a deactivation signal, is arranged to deactivate the actuator, wherein the actuator is arranged to stop substance from being discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0037 discloses an activation signal but does not disclose a deactivation signal).
However, Jackman discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Col. 1 Lines 5-6), a fire extinguishing system (See Figs. 9-10) comprising a communication unit (#61 “radio receiver”), wherein the communication unit, upon receiving a deactivation signal, is arranged to deactivate an actuator (#43), wherein the actuator is arranged to stop fire extinguishing substance from being discharged through an outlet of a fire extinguisher (See Col. 5 Lines 60-65 disclosing rotating motor #43 in a reverse direction which is equivalent to deactivating motor #43, which closes a valve that prevents fire extinguishing substance from being discharged from a fire hydrant.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Hanada as applied to Claim 11 above such that the communication unit of Hanada, upon receiving a reversing deactivation signal, is arranged to deactivate the actuator, wherein the actuator is arranged to stop substance from being discharged through the outlet of the fire extinguisher by including an opening and closing valve as part of the actuator, since doing so would yield the predictable result of having the ability to selectively stop fire extinguishing substance from being dispensed from the fire extinguisher.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 September 10, 2025