DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 12-23-2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12-23-2025.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, “thermalization means” and in claim 2, “means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “thermalization means” in claims 2-6 and “means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane” in claims 7-11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 recites “a heat transfer liquid”. This should be --the heat transfer liquid--, since claim 3 already recites “a heat transfer liquid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a series of conduits” in line 2 and “a first series of conduits” in line 3. It is unclear if these conduits are part of the “at least one conduit” as recited in claim 3, or if these are separate conduits.
Claim 11 recites “the heat transfer fluid is cooling or heating”. It is unclear if this is attempting to recite a method step in the apparatus claim, or if it is attempting to recite a certain property of the heat transfer fluid or of the at least one conduit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luquain ‘800 (US 2015/0202800 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Luquain ‘800 teaches a shaping tool (¶ [0037]; Figs. 3-4) comprising a membrane made of a polymer material (first stacking 1+second stacking 3, Figs. 3-4; ¶ [0039], [0041], [0043], [0063], [0115]), said membrane having a shaping surface (top or bottom surface, capable of shaping, Figs. 3-4), and a thermalization means inserted into said membrane (heat carrying fluid circuit 2, Figs. 1-4; ¶ [0040], [0112], [0114], [0116]).
Regarding claim 2, Luquain ‘800 further teaches means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane (“reinforcing fibers”, ¶ [0054]; “carbon fibers”, ¶ [0113]).
Regarding claim 3, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the thermalization means comprise at least one conduit traversing the membrane according to a profile of the membrane and wherein a heat transfer liquid flows (heat carrying fluid circuit 2, Figs. 1-4; ¶ [0040], [0112], [0114], [0116]).
Regarding claim 4, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the thermalization means comprise a series of conduits traversing the membrane according to said profile and wherein the heat transfer liquid flows, these conduits extending parallel to each other (straight, parallel conduits of the circuit 2, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the heat transfer fluid in two adjacent conduits flows in opposite directions (Figs. 1-2 - Since the conduits are connected in series, adjacent conduits are capable of having heat transfer fluid flow in opposite directions. It is noted that this is a functional limitation that describes what the apparatus does, rather than what it is, and thus it is interpreted as a capability of the recited elements. See MPEP 2173.05(g).).
Regarding claim 6, Luquain ‘800 further teaches a series of conduits extending in a direction orthogonal to a direction wherein a first series of conduits extend (Fig. 2 - the straight conduits define a first series of conduits, and the curved conduits define another series of conduits, wherein the straight conduits extend in a left-right direction as illustrated, and the curved conduits extend in an up-down direction as illustrated, wherein the two directions are orthogonal).
Regarding claim 8, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane comprise metallic or carbon-based fibers (¶ [0054], [0113]).
Regarding claim 9, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane comprise a textile (“reinforcing fibers”, ¶ [0039]-[0040], [0054], “fabric”, ¶ [0070]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 10, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the textile is compose of metal fibers (¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 11, Luquain ‘800 further teaches the heat transfer fluid is cooling or heating (¶ [0040], [0121)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luquain ‘800 (US 2015/0202800 A1) in view of Siltamaki ‘256 (US 2022/0234256 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Luquain ‘800 is silent regarding the means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane comprising metallic or carbon-based particles embedded in the polymer material. In analogous art of shaping tool materials, Siltamaki ‘256 suggests embedding metallic or carbon-based particles in a polymer material as part of a shaping tool for the benefit of adjusting thermal conductivity and/or permittivity of a tool, and potentially enabling the tool to be heated by an electromagnetic field (¶ [0008], [0020]-[0026]). Siltamaki ‘256 recognizes the use of both fibers (as used by Luquain ‘800) and particles, and suggests they may be used in combination (¶ [0008], [0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Luquain ‘800 by making the means for increasing the thermal conductivity of the membrane comprise metallic or carbon-based particles embedded in the polymer material for the benefit of adjusting thermal conductivity and/or permittivity of the tool, and potentially enabling the tool to be heated by an electromagnetic field, as suggested by Siltamaki ‘256.
Conclusion
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741