DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/064778 filed 31 May 2022. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application IN202111024601 filed 2 June 2021.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 2, 4-11, and 17-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3, 12-16, and 20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmunds et al. (WO 2020/084075).
Edmunds teaches the following structure P2 which reads on the racemic mixture of the elected species of instant claims 1, 3, 12-15, and 20 (pg 68, lns 1-5). The structure of P2 is a racemic mixture and thus necessarily comprises both the R and the S configurations, by definition, however Edmunds teaches that an enantiomer thereof can be prepared (pg 2, lns 8-9). The compounds of formula (I) can be in free form or the form of salts (pg 40, lns 8-9). The desired pure enantiomer can be obtained by known methods (pg 40, lns 27-42). The composition of Edmunds can be insecticidal and can comprise a compound of formula (I) (structure P2) or an enantiomer thereof as well as an auxiliary or diluent (pg 24, lns 10-15), thus rendering obvious instant claims 1, 3, 12-16, and 20.
Regarding instant claim 20, the claim comprises a product-by-process limitation. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (See MPEP 2113 (I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on page 14 of their remarks that Edmunds does not disclose P2 in any enantiomerically pure or enriched form nor does it disclose a pesticidal composition thereof.
In response, Edmunds teaches that each other their inventive compounds can be resolved to an enantiomerically pure version using processes known in the art. Moreover, these enantiomers may then be used in an insecticidal composition with additional agents such as diluents. As such, an insecticidal composition comprising one enantiomer of P2 would have been obvious.
The Applicant argues, on pages 15-16 of their remarks, that surprisingly the racemic compound of P2 has 0% mortality rate against Diabrotica balteata but 80-100% mortality rate when individual enantiomers of P2 are tested. The Applicant further argues that Examples B12, B13, B14, and B15 in the specification provide similar results for activity of pure enantiomers compared to lack of activity for the racemic mixture.
In response, while these results do appear to be unexpected, the data is specific to only the example compounds in the specification against only a few bacterial agents. The instant claims are broader to a wider range of compounds with variable sidechains as well as their salts, stereoisomers, enantiomers, tautomers, or N-oxides. As such, the claims are not commensurate in scope with the showing of unexpected results. There is a fundamental requirement that must be met before secondary considerations can carry the day. "For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention." Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Takai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists."); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 ("[l]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent."); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the data in the cited examples do not amount to unexpected results that are sufficient in overcoming the full breadth of the pending obviousness rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613