DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: C (See Figure 2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “15” has been used to designate both an inlet line and an outlet line (See Figure 2) and reference character “A” has been used to designate both a compartment and an anion exchange membrane (See Figure 2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 17, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0020625 A1 to Byszewski et al. (Byszewski)
As to claim 1, Byszewski teaches a process for removing heat stable amine salts from a contaminated aqueous amine solution comprising passing a feedstream of the contaminated aqueous amine solution comprising an amine in salt form having heat stable anions associated therewith to an electrodialysis zone having a cathode compartment, an anode compartment and at least one repeat unit, wherein the at least one repeat unit comprises: an anion source compartment disposed between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment, an amine solution compartment (combined feed and product compartment) for receiving the feedstream and disposed between the anion source compartment and the anode compartment, and a waste compartment disposed between the amine solution compartment and the anode compartment; passing an anion source stream to the anion source compartment, the anion source stream comprising an anion source that provides anions for balancing the heat stable anions; applying a direct current potential transversely across each compartment, the current being effective to cause (i) amine cations to dissociate from the amine in salt form in the amine solution compartment; (ii) the anions to dissociate from the anion source in the anion source compartment and pass into the amine solution compartment; (iii) heat stable anions to dissociate from the amine in salt form in the amine solution compartment and pass into the waste compartment; discharging from the amine solution compartment a product stream comprising at least a portion of the amine in free base form or in a regenerable form in which the level of heat stable amine salts has been lowered with respect to the contaminated aqueous solution; discharging from the anion source compartment an anion source depleted stream having an anion source concentration that has been lowered with respect to the anion source stream (Paragraphs 0015-0019; Figure 3). Byszewski further teaches that that the anion concentration in the anion stream is controlled and adjusted by addition of anions to an anion source recirculation tank, thus that the concentration is monitored in some way and anions are added to the anion source stream such that the amount of anions are added in accordance with the monitored concentration to a set point (Paragraphs 0061 and 0071; Figure 1).
As to claim 5, Byszewski teaches the method of claim 1. Byszewski further teaches that passing the anion source stream to the anion source compartment comprises feeding the anion source depleted source stream to a source tank (6) and discharging a replenished anion source stream from the source tank (27) for supplying to the anion source compartment (Paragraphs 0061 and 0071; Figure 1).
As to claim 6, Byszewski teaches the method of claim 5. Byszewski further teaches that the adding comprising supplying a concentrated anion source stream comprises the anions (7/28) to the source tank (Paragraphs 0061 and 0071; Figure 1).
As to claims 17, 18, 19 and 20, Byszewski teaches the method of claim 1. Byszewski further teaches that the anion source is a base, such as alkali metal hydroxides, a salt, such as alkali metal salts or an acid (Claims 10, 11 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of US 2020/0038803 A1 to Xu et al. (Xu).
As to claims 3, 9 and 10, Byszewski teaches the process of claim 1. However, Byszewski is silent as to specifically how the concentration is monitored. However, Xu also discusses the regeneration of amine solutions and teaches that conductivity sensors are utilized to monitor the parameters (Paragraph 0013, 0043 and 0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a conductivity sensor to measure the concentration of Byszewski with the expectation of effectively measuring as taught by Xu. Xu further teaches that the conductivity sensors can be located at the output (i.e. inline) or in the source tank (Paragraph 0013, 0043 and 0061).
As to claims 7 and 8, Byszewski teaches the process of claim 6. Byszewski further teaches that adding the anions to the source is performed via a pipe (28) (Paragraphs 0061; Figure 1). However, Byszewski fails to specifically teach how this pipe is operated and thus fails to teach any valve or pump. However, Xu also discusses the regeneration of amine solutions via electrodialysis and teaches that the flow of solutions throughout the process occurs via pumps in connection with controllers connected to the sensors to achieve automatic control (Paragraphs 0013, 0043 and 0061; Claim 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a pump connected with an automatic control system to add the anions to the source in order to allow for the addition to occur automatically as taught by Xu.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,624,535 to Tsuchikawa et al. (Tsuchikawa).
As to claim 4, Byszewski teaches the process of claim 1. However, Byszewski fails to specifically teach the configuration of the concentration sensor. However, Tsuchikawa also discusses measuring concentrations in electrolytic solutions and teaches that a density sensor can be utilized to detect the concentration (Column 3, Lines 21-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a density sensor to measure the concentration with the expectation of effectively measuring as taught by Tsuchikawa.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2004/0045836 A1 to Tseng (Tseng).
As to claim 11, Byszewski teaches the process of claim 1. However, Byszewski fails to teach specifically where or how the monitoring of the concentration occurs. However, Tseng also discusses measuring in electrolytic processes and teaches that an effective way to measure parameters is to take samples (Paragraph 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to measure the concentration of the anion source depleted stream by taking a sample with the reasonable expectation of effectively measuring as taught by Tseng.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0339198 A1 to Mikawa et al. (Mikawa).
As to claim 12, Byszewski teaches the process of claim 1. Byszewski further teaches discharging a waste stream (24) from the waste compartment, the waste stream comprising a salt and heat stable anions dissociated from the amine in salt form and removing a portion (30) (Paragraphs 0052; Figure 1). However, Byszewski fails to further teach that a concentration of the waste stream is monitored to control the removal of this portion. However, Mikawa also discusses circulating throughout a compartment in an electrodialysis cell and teaches that the concentration of the solution should be monitored in order to maintain a predetermined concentration in order to maintain suitable processing performance for a long time (Paragraph 0111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to monitor the concentration of the circulating waste stream in order to maintain the concentration, including operating the removal, in order to maintain suitable processing performance for a long time as taught by Mikawa.
As to claim 16, the combination of Byszewski and Mikawa teaches the process of claim 12. Mikawa further teaches that the monitoring of the parameter is performed in-line in the stream (Paragraph 0111).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Byszewski and Mikawa as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2014/0197029 A1 to Sparrow et al. (Sparrow).
As to claim 14, the combination of Byszewski and Mikawa teaches the process of claim 12. However, Mikawa fails to specifically teach the configuration of the concentration sensor. However, Sparrow also discusses measuring salt concentration in electrodialysis processes and teaches that the salt concentration can be measured by a conductivity sensor (Paragraph 0080). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a conductivity sensor to measure the concentration with the expectation of effectively measuring as taught by Sparrow.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Byszewski and Mikawa as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Tsuchikawa.
As to claim 15, the combination of Byszewski and Mikawa teaches the process of claim 12. However, Mikawa fails to specifically teach the configuration of the concentration sensor. However, Tsuchikawa also discusses measuring concentrations in electrolytic solutions and teaches that a density sensor can be utilized to detect the concentration (Column 3, Lines 21-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a density sensor to measure the concentration with the expectation of effectively measuring as taught by Tsuchikawa.
Claims 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski and Mikawa.
As to claim 21, Byszewski teaches a process for removing heat stable amine salts from a contaminated aqueous amine solution comprising passing a feedstream of the contaminated aqueous amine solution comprising an amine in salt form having heat stable anions associated therewith to an electrodialysis zone having a cathode compartment, an anode compartment and at least one repeat unit, wherein the at least one repeat unit comprises: an anion source compartment disposed between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment, an amine solution compartment (combined feed and product compartment) for receiving the feedstream and disposed between the anion source compartment and the anode compartment, and a waste compartment disposed between the amine solution compartment and the anode compartment; passing an anion source stream to the anion source compartment, the anion source stream comprising an anion source that provides anions for balancing the heat stable anions; applying a direct current potential transversely across each compartment, the current being effective to cause (i) amine cations to dissociate from the amine in salt form in the amine solution compartment; (ii) the anions to dissociate from the anion source in the anion source compartment and pass into the amine solution compartment; (iii) heat stable anions to dissociate from the amine in salt form in the amine solution compartment and pass into the waste compartment; discharging from the amine solution compartment a product stream comprising at least a portion of the amine in free base form or in a regenerable form in which the level of heat stable amine salts has been lowered with respect to the contaminated aqueous solution; discharging from the anion source compartment an anion source depleted stream having an anion source concentration that has been lowered with respect to the anion source stream (Paragraphs 0015-0019; Figure 3).
Byszewski further teaches discharging a waste stream (24) from the waste compartment, the waste stream comprising a salt and heat stable anions dissociated from the amine in salt form and removing a portion (30) and recycling a portion (25) (Paragraphs 0052; Figure 1). However, Byszewski fails to further teach that a concentration of the waste stream is monitored to control the removal of this portion. However, Mikawa also discusses circulating throughout a compartment in an electrodialysis cell and teaches that the concentration of the solution should be monitored in order to maintain a predetermined concentration in order to maintain suitable processing performance for a long time (Paragraph 0111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to monitor the concentration of the circulating waste stream in order to maintain the concentration, including operating the removal and the recycle, in order to maintain suitable processing performance for a long time as taught by Mikawa.
As to claim 26, Byszewski teaches a process for removing heat stable amine salts from a contaminated aqueous amine solution, the process comprising: passing a feedstream comprising an amine in salt form having heat stable amine anions associated therewith to an electrodialysis zone having a cathode compartment, an anode compartment and at least one repeat unit, the at least one repeat unit comprising: an amine solution compartment receiving the feedstream and disposed between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment, a waste compartment disposed between the amine solution compartment and the anode compartment, and a bi-polar membrane disposed between the amine solution compartment and the waste compartment; applying a direct current potential transversely across each compartment, said current being effective to cause (1 ) amine cations to dissociate from the amine in salt form in the amine solution compartment, (2) hydroxyl anions to be generated in the bi- polar membrane and pass into the amine solution compartment, (3) heat stable anions to dissociate from the amine in salt form in the amine solution compartment and pass into the waste compartment, and (4) protons to be generated in the bi-polar membrane and pass into the waste compartment; discharging a product stream from the amine solution compartment, the product stream comprising at least in part an amine in free base form in which the level of heat stable amine salts has been lowered; discharging a waste stream from the waste compartment, the waste stream comprising an acid resulting from the association of the protons generated in the bi-polar membrane and the heat stable anions that dissociated from the amine in salt form (Paragraphs 0019-0022; Figure 4).
Byszewski further teaches discharging a waste stream (24) from the waste compartment, the waste stream comprising a salt and heat stable anions dissociated from the amine in salt form and removing a portion (30) and recycling a portion (25) (Paragraphs 0052; Figure 1). However, Byszewski fails to further teach that a concentration of the waste stream is monitored to control the removal of this portion. However, Mikawa also discusses circulating throughout a compartment in an electrodialysis cell and teaches that the concentration of the solution should be monitored in order to maintain a predetermined concentration in order to maintain suitable processing performance for a long time (Paragraph 0111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to monitor the concentration of the circulating waste stream in order to maintain the concentration, including operating the removal and the recycle, in order to maintain suitable processing performance for a long time as taught by Mikawa.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794