DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 1 December 2023 is acknowledged. New claims 26-45 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 26-41, drawn to photocurable resin composition.
Group II, claim(s) 42-43, drawn to method for crosslinking resin composition.
Group III, claim(s) 44-45, drawn to a crosslinked polymer.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the photocurable resin composition as recited in claim 26, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Yang et al., “Thiol-Ene Elastomers Derived from Biobased Phenolic Acids with Varying Functionality,” Macromolecules 49, 7737-7748 (2016), JP 2010-083918 A (“Oda”), and GB 586,539 A (“Wingfoot”). As set forth below, Yang, Oda, and Wingfoot each teach the composition recited by claim 26.
During a telephone conversation with Jonathan Roberts on 23 July 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 26-41. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 42-45 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 28 recites the broad recitation “a substituted oxygen moiety”, and the claim also recites “such as an ether, ester, ketone or aldehyde,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 29 and 34 recite that one or both of R1 and R2 comprise an alkene moiety. This definition fails to define R1 and R2 in the case that either one of these does not comprise an alkene moiety. Dependent claim 30 fails to define R2 in the case that it does not comprise an alkene moiety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-30, 32, 34, and 36-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al., “Thiol-Ene Elastomers Derived from Biobased Phenolic Acids with Varying Functionality,” Macromolecules 49, 7737-7748 (2016) (“Yang”).
As to claims 26 and 27, Yang teaches a reaction mixture of allylated salicylic acid (aSA) and a photoinitiator (p. 7739, table 1). Referring to Fig. 2, p. 7740, aSA is a salicylic acid monomer having two allyl groups, thus photocrosslinkable groups, and is derived from salicylic acid, thus a drug derived monomer, specifically NSAID derivative as required by claim 27.
As to claim 32, aSA has the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, R1 comprises an alkene moiety, and n is 1.
As to claims 37-39, Yang teaches aSA and a photoinitiator. The oligomer is optional under claim 26.
As to claim 40, the compositions include PETMP (p. 7739, Table 1), a crosslinker.
As to claim 41, aSA has two photocrosslinkable alkene moieties. The oligomer is optional under claim 26.
As to claim 28, Yang teaches a reaction mixture of allylated salicylic acid (aSA) and a photoinitiator (p. 7739, table 1). Referring to Fig. 2, p. 7740, aSA is a salicylic acid , thus NSAID derived monomer having two alkene groups, having the recited formula, where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, Z is 0, R comprises an alkene moiety, Y5 is a substituted ether moiety.
As to claims 29, 34, and 36, Yang teaches a reaction mixture of allylated salicylic acid (aSA) and a photoinitiator (p. 7739, table 1). Referring to Fig. 2, p. 7740, aSA meets the general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen as required by claims 29 and 34, and both R1 and R2 comprise an alkene moiety, and is the same as compound (ii) of claim 36.
As to claim 30, aSA meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, R2 comprises an alkene moiety, and m is 1.
Claim(s) 26-31, 34, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2010-083918 A (“Oda”).
A partial machine translation is enclosed.
As to claims 26 and 27, Oda teaches an active energy ray curable composition having a photopolymerization initiator and a perfume and/or masking agent (translation, p. 2). Among the masking agents taught is 5-hexenyl salicylate and 2-heptenyl salicylate (translation, p. 3). While not called a monomer, this compound is a salicylic acid, thus drug, thus NSAID derived compound as required by claims 26 and 27, having an alkene moiety, thus photocrosslinkable moiety.
As to claims 37-39, as discussed with respect to claim 26, Oda teaches a photoinitiator and a monomer as recited. The oligomer is optional under claim 26.
As to claim 28, Oda teaches an active energy ray curable composition having a photopolymerization initiator and a perfume and/or masking agent (translation, p. 2). Among the masking agents taught is 5-hexenyl salicylate and 2-heptenyl salicylate (translation, p. 3). While not called a monomer, this compound is a salicylic acid, thus drug, thus NSAID derived compound, having an alkene moiety. 5-hexenyl salicylate meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, Y5 is a hydroxyl moiety, Z is 0, and R is an alkene moiety.
As to claims 29 and 34, Oda teaches an active energy ray curable composition having a photopolymerization initiator and a perfume and/or masking agent (translation, p. 2). Among the masking agents taught is 5-hexenyl salicylate and 2-heptenyl salicylate (translation, p. 3). While not called a monomer, this compound is a salicylic acid derivative. Furthermore, 5-hexenyl salicylate meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen as required by claims 29 and 34, and R1 comprises an alkene moiety.
As to claims 30 and 31, 5-hexenyl salicylate meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, m is 4, and R2 is hydrogen.
Claims 26-30, 33, 34, 36-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 586,539 A (“Wingfoot”) as evidenced by US 3,884,702 (“Koshimo”).
The additional reference is used to demonstrate a certain recited feature of the claims is inherent in the primary reference. See MPEP 2131.01.
As to claims 26 and 27, Wingfoot teaches a composition having a polymerizable aromatic carbonate. As one example, Wingfoot teaches a monomer derived from an allyl salicylate, thus a salicylate, thus drug derived monomer, allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate, having the structure
(p. 1, ll. 55-65), thus an NSAID drug derived monomer (as required by claim 27) having two photocrosslinkable moieties. Wingfoot teaches a composition of the allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate with benzoyl peroxide (2:40-50). While not described as a photoinitiator, benzoyl peroxide is known to be a photopolymerization initiator, as evidenced by Koshimo, 6:65-70. As such, it is reasonable to conclude the composition is photocurable, especially where Wingfoot teaches the composition may be ultraviolet polymerized with or without catalyst (2:110-115).
As to claim 33, allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, p is 1, and R1 comprises an alkene group.
As to claims 37-39, as outlined with respect to claim 26, Wingfoot teaches the recited monomer and photoinitiator. The oligomer is optional under claim 26.
As to claim 41, allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate has two alkene moieties. The oligomer is optional.
As to claim 28, Wingfoot teaches a composition having a polymerizable aromatic carbonate. As one example, Wingfoot teaches a monomer derived from an allyl salicylate, thus a salicylate, thus drug derived monomer, allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate, having the structure
(p. 1, ll. 55-65), thus an NSAID drug derived monomer having two photocrosslinkable moieties. The allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, Z is 0, R comprises an alkene group, and Y5 is a substituted oxygen group,
Wingfoot teaches a composition of the allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate with benzoyl peroxide (2:40-50). While not described as a photoinitiator, benzoyl peroxide is known to be a photopolymerization initiator, as evidenced by Koshimo, 6:65-70. As such, it is reasonable to conclude the composition is photocurable, especially where Wingfoot teaches the composition may be ultraviolet polymerized with or without catalyst (2:110-115).
As to claims 29, 34, and 36, Wingfoot teaches a composition having a polymerizable aromatic carbonate. As one example, Wingfoot teaches a monomer derived from an allyl salicylate, thus a salicylic acid derived monomer, allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate, having the structure
(p. 1, ll. 55-65). The allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate meets the recited general formula where Y1-Y4 are hydrogen, and R1 and R2 each comprise an alkene moiety as required by claims 29 and 34. The structure is the same as compound (iii) of claim 36.
Wingfoot teaches a composition of the allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate with benzoyl peroxide (2:40-50). While not described as a photoinitiator, benzoyl peroxide is known to be a photopolymerization initiator, as evidenced by Koshimo, 6:65-70. As such, it is reasonable to conclude the composition is photocurable, especially where Wingfoot teaches the composition may be ultraviolet polymerized with or without catalyst (2:110-115).
As to claim 30, allyl o-carballoxyphenyl carbonate meets the recited general formula where m is 1 and R2 comprises an alkene moiety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2010-083918 A (“Oda”).
The discussion of Oda with respect to claim 26 is incorporated by reference.
While not exemplified, Oda teaches that the masking agent may be one or more of 5-hexenyl salicylate and 2-heptenyl salicylate (translation, pp. 3, 10). Since both of these are drug derived monomers having a photopolymerizable alkene group, Oda contemplates compositions having two such monomers in combination.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 586,539 A (“Wingfoot”) as evidenced by US 3,884,702 (“Koshimo”).
The discussion of Wingfoot with respect to claim 26 is incorporated by reference.
As to claim 40, while not exemplified, Wingfoot teaches that the photopolymerization may occur in the presence or absence of solvent (2:99-115), a diluent, and thus the use of diluent is obvious as suggested by Wingfoot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Goldberg (US 3,290,270) teaches polymerizable compositions of (meth)acryloxy functionalized salicylic acid derivatives.
/KREGG T BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764