DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 and 13-16 in the reply filed on 1/14/26 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/1/23 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tervo (US 2017/0315346 A1).
Re. Claim 1, Tervo discloses an apparatus 10 (Fig. 1; [0017]) comprising:
a waveguide 36 having an in-coupler 32 and an out-coupler 34 (Figs. 1-2; [0021], [0023]), the waveguide 36 having a first surface and an opposite second surface, the waveguide 36 providing at least one optical path from the in-coupler 32 to the out-coupler 34 (Fig. 2; [0028]);
wherein the in-coupler 32 comprises a first diffraction grating 42 with a first grating vector on the first surface and a second diffraction grating 44 with a second grating vector on the second surface (Figs. 1-2; [0023]), and wherein at least one of the first and second grating vectors is not oriented along any of the optical paths from the in-coupler 32 to the out-coupler 34 (Fig. 3; [0032]-[0033]).
Re. Claim 4, Tervo discloses the in-coupler 32 is configured to couple incident light along at least one of the optical paths using a non-zero diffractive order of the first diffraction grating 42 and a non-zero diffractive order of the second diffraction grating 44 ([0025]).
Re. Claim 7, Tervo discloses the in-coupler 32 is configured to couple incident light along at least one of the optical paths using a non-zero diffractive order of the first diffraction grating 42 and the zeroth diffractive order of the second diffraction grating 44 ([0025]).
Re. Claim 8, Tervo discloses the second diffraction grating 44 has a grating period shorter than a wavelength of incident light (e.g., visible light) in the waveguide 36 ([0017], [0033]).
Re. Claim 13, Tervo discloses a method comprising:
directing incident light B0 on an in-coupler 32 of a waveguide 36 (Figs. 1-2; [0017]-[0019]), the in-coupler 32 comprising a first diffraction grating 42 with a first grating vector on the first surface and a second diffraction grating 44 with a second grating vector on the second surface (Figs. 1-2; [0023]), and wherein at least one of the first and second grating vectors is not oriented along any of the optical paths from the in-coupler 32 to the out-coupler 34 (Fig. 3; [0032]); and
diffracting the incident light to a non-zero diffractive order with the first diffraction grating 42 ([0025]); and
reflecting the diffracted light with the second diffraction grating 44 (Fig. 2; [0025]).
Re. Claim 14, Tervo discloses the in-coupler 32 is configured to couple incident light along at least one of the optical paths using a non-zero diffractive order of the first diffraction grating 42 and a non-zero diffractive order of the second diffraction grating 44 ([0025]).
Re. Claim 15, Tervo discloses the in-coupler 32 is configured to couple incident light along at least one of the optical paths using a non-zero diffractive order of the first diffraction grating 42 and the zeroth diffractive order of the second diffraction grating 44 ([0025]).
Re. Claim 16, Tervo discloses the second diffraction grating 44 has a grating period shorter than a wavelength of the incident light (e.g., visible light) in the waveguide 36 ([0017], [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tervo (US 2017/0315346 A1).
Re. Claim 2, Tervo discloses the apparatus as discussed above, but fails to disclose an arrangement wherein the first grating vector has an angle of between 80° and 100° from at least one of the optical paths.
The claimed arrangement would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claim 3, Tervo discloses the apparatus as discussed above, but fails to disclose an arrangement wherein the second grating vector has an angle of between 35° and 55° with respect to the first grating vector.
The claimed arrangement would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claim 5, Tervo discloses the apparatus as discussed above, but fails to disclose an arrangement wherein the first grating vector has an angle within 10° of at least one of the optical paths.
The claimed arrangement would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claim 6, Tervo discloses the apparatus as discussed above, but fails to disclose an arrangement wherein the second grating vector has an angle between 45° and 90° with respect to the first grating vector.
The claimed arrangement would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claim 9, Tervo discloses the apparatus as discussed above, but fails to disclose an arrangement wherein the second diffraction grating has a grating period less than 300nm.
The claimed arrangement would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claim 10, Tervo discloses the apparatus as discussed above, but fails to disclose an arrangement wherein at least one of the gratings comprises silicon grating elements.
The claimed arrangement would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 2/4/26