DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 11-13, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iinuma et al. (JP 2006-147662) in view of Uchida et al. (US 2010/0233476) and Yoshida et al. (JP 2007-314596).
Note: citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘662 mailed 9/30/2025 and citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘596 provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claims 1-3, 11-13, and 20:
Iinuma discloses a copper-clad laminate comprising a copper foil and a flexible insulating layer of polyimide [abstract; 0001; 0009; 0015]. The copper foil surface has a surface roughness Ra of 0.3-3.0 µm [0025]. The copper foil is further treated with a silane coupling agent [0024].
Iinuma is silent with regard to the thickness of the silane coupling agent layer.
Thickness values of a silane coupling agent layer falling within the scope of the claimed range were known in the art to have utility. For example, Uchida discloses a laminate comprising a copper foil and a polyimide film substrate [0001]. The copper foil is preferably treated with a silane coupling agent layer having a thickness of 1-50 nm [0025].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use thickness values of the silane coupling agent layer known in the art to be useful to improving adhesion, including 1-50 nm as taught by Uchida. Such thicknesses in combination with Iinuma’s teaching of Ra results in relative values overlapping with the claimed range (e.g., at an Ra of 0.3 µm, a thickness that is 0.05 times such value is 0.015 µm or 15 nm). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Iinuma is silent with regard to a polyimide film having a benzoxazole structure.
Such polymers were known in the art to have utility. For example, Yoshida discloses a polyimide film useful for copper-clad laminates having a high tensile modulus and other desirable properties [abstract; 0001; 0005-0006]. The polyimide is formed from an aromatic dianhydride and a diamine having a benzoxazole skeleton [0008-0022; 0029-0035].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known polyimides, including those taught by Yoshida, for their known properties as the polyimide of Iinuma’s copper-clad laminate.
Iinuma is silent with regard to the adhesive strengths corresponding to present F0 and Ft.
Given that Iinuma in view of Uchida and Yoshida discloses a laminate comprising the same materials as used in the present invention, the examiner submits the prior art laminate inherently has the claimed properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 17-18:
Iinuma teaches wiring boards comprising the laminate [0008]. The examiner submits the electronic devices are broadly “heating units” as claimed because electronic devices generate heat during operation.
Claim(s) 6, 10, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iinuma et al. (JP 2006-147662) in view of Uchida et al. (US 2010/0233476) and Yoshida et al. (JP 2007-314596) as applied above, and further in view of Okuyama et al. (US 2017/0225433).
Regarding claims 6, 10, 15, and 19:
Iinuma in view of Uchida and Yoshida discloses a laminate as previously explained.
The references are silent with regard to a probe and a solar cell as claimed.
Such electronic devices were known in the art to have utility. For example, Okuyama discloses a laminate comprising a polymer film, a silane coupling agent applied to the polymer film, and an inorganic substrate [0001; 0021]. The polymer film is heat resistant [0055]. The inorganic substrate comprises metal [0061; 0065]. Okuyama discloses the laminate can be used in electronic devices, including a probe and solar cell [0151-0152; 0162].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the prior art laminate in known products, including a probe and solar cell, to provide such products as desired for a given end use.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iinuma et al. (JP 2006-147662) in view of Uchida et al. (US 2010/0233476) and Yoshida et al. (JP 2007-314596) as applied above, and further in view of Kawakusu (US 2013/0310486).
Regarding claims 7 and 16:
Iinuma in view of Uchida and Yoshida discloses a laminate as previously explained.
The references are silent with regard to a flat cable.
Such electronic devices were known in the art. For example, Kawakusu discloses a flexible metal-clad laminate comprising a polyimide layer and a metal layer [0003]. The reference acknowledges such laminates are widely used in electronics [0004]. Kawakusu teaches a flat cable is a suitable use for such a laminate [0176].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the prior art laminate in known products, including a flat cable, to provide such products as desired for a given end use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Provisional rejections based on Application No. 18/569,909 have been withdrawn because the application is no longer copending with the present application.
Applicant argues Iinuma, Uchida, and Kawakusu fail to disclose a polyimide comprising a benzoxazole structure (p8). Applicant further argues that while Okuyama discloses such a polymer, it fails to provide a rationale to modify the teachings of Iinuma to incorporate the polymer (p8). Additionally, Applicant argues the claimed polyimide unexpectedly provides improved properties of high elastic modulus, low heat shrinkability, low coefficient of thermal expansion, and high heat resistance (p7-8).
As explained in the new rejections above, while the examiner agrees Iinuma, Uchida, and Kawakusu are silent with regard to the claimed polyimide, such polymers were known in the art to have utility to provide high tensile modulus and other desirable properties as taught by Yoshida. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this polymer for these known reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787